Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Surf Side Cottage with patio, Two Kings Suites, Bunk Cave & 70 steps to sand!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Kings + 2 bunks + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

You will love our Surf Side cottage which is just steps to the sand and surf! We are located just off the Boardwalk, sixty steps to the sand at 726 Dover Court in South Mission Beach where is is still close to the attractions, but far enough to feel like you have your own calm seaside neighborhood and quieter beach! Four doors from the shore near the corner of Ocean Front Walk and Dover Court. Bright and sunny cottage style unit with remodeled kitchen, bamboo flooring, a washer/dryer in unit and a TWO KING BEDROOMS AND TWO BATHS! PLUS A NAP CAVE WITH TWO TWIN BEDS EACH WITH THEIR OWN TV /DVD . With the sofa sleeper we can accommodate up to 8 in beds.

726 Dover Court is in South Mission just south of the Roller Coaster. Ground level, Single-level, and also has a great outdoor patio which is about 15 x 20 feet in size! An outdoor room you will not find easily elsewhere for this value!!! Enjoy grilling and dining while just steps away from the deep blue sea, the boardwalk, sandy beach, and surf! Close to the action, yet quiet and a few doors away for a more peaceful stay.

It is located at 726 Dover Ct. San Diego CA 92109

Your kids can play in the ocean right in front of lifeguard tower #12 which is located right out on the beach where you will set up your day at the beach!

Two KING Suites to choose from here plus two bunks and one queen bed sofa sleeper in the living room. Extra guests will enjoy the quality Sofa/Futon in living room, always a favorite place to sleep with the TV, DVD and VCR remotes in hand. Lots of windows give this Beach House character and a Beach Cottage feel.

The IN UNIT washer and dryer will help you pack lightly.

Plenty of bike parking too.

Breakfast Bar connects living and kitchen area.

Take advantage of the off season when the sunsets are the best and so are the rates!!! Save money and visit us in the off season where you can stay just three

We prefer to communicate through VRBO EMAIL please.

Email US FOR A RESPONSE WITHIN A FEW MINUTES AND NEVER MORE THAN AN OVERNIGHT REPLY. WE ARE FAST AND EFFICIENT AND ALSO AVAILABLE Via TEXT ALSO

Responses and quotes are sent out daily during normal business hours.

Check out all of the extra photos! Compare with others! This is the best value in Mission Beach! We would love to have you visit us! We want you to come back again and again... and you will!

Keywords: Cottage

More Details

Owner
Sharon and Curt Davis
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2017

About Sharon and Curt Davis

Curt and Sharon Davis

Work hard! Play hard! We love the beach and decided this was a good combination of both!

Sharon and Curt Davis purchased this cottage in 2000

Why Sharon and Curt Davis chose San Diego County

We prefer to get away from the busy boardwalk and be just a few doors in from the crowd for a more relaxed beach visit. We like the prices off the boardwalk as they are always a better value and we are not afraid to walk 200 feet to the beach.

What makes this cottage unique

Single level and the PATIO!!! We love how clean and easy this beach house is. We love the open kitchen design as I can watch the kids and cook easily. the patio is our outdoor room and we just love that the most. We have a back door that leads right into the kitchen from the parking spot. The same back door provides a short cut into the bath and saves on sandy feet issues. The full size laundry is right inside that same bath, so it makes things easier here. It also has the best, wide parking spot ever FOR OUR SUV!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Loved this place! We especially loved the big patio and new kitchen! Very convenient location, so close to the beach and sunsets.
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Mission Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 2 bunk bed
  • King size beds (2) Two King Beds! TWO KING BEDS PLUS ONE SLEEPER SOFA PLUS TWO BUNK BEDS! SLEEPS 8 MAX! BEST FOR SIX ! Two Baths! Private Laundry with full size stackable washer and dryer. Bring Two couples and put the extra guests on the sofa sleeper or in the two bunks clevering built-in to what we call the NAP CAVE!! Charming Beachy Bedrooms can be found in your Sand Castle!, Child Beds (1) Pack and Play crib is available upon request., Baby Cribs (1) Fold away crib is available upon request, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Living Room Couch is a great futon for watching movies or sleeping extra guests or family members too!
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Remodeled with new decor and new flooring and two master suites to choose from PLUS NAP CAVE WITH TWO BUNKS AND SOFA SLEEPER ! SLEEPS 6 TO 8!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(58 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
29% Complete
8% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
Surf Side Cottage with patio, Two Kings Suites, Bunk Cave & 70 steps to sand!
average rating of 4.3103447 based on 61 reviews
4

Fabulous location for families!

  • 4 of 5

Amazing location with a great patio for enjoying the sound of the waves and beautiful San Diego weather. House is outdated though and desperately needs new mattresses. The beds are very worn and have sink holes making a good night's sleep impossible. A little TLC with cleaning (mold on curtains and in bathrooms) and some new mattresses would make this place a GEM!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, TX
4

Great spot for families!

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay, great location, great price. Overall the place just needs a deep clean....but it's a beach rental, so that's to be expected. The outdoor patio was great to relax on in the evenings. The pics make it look a little bigger than it is, but that's the case with any place on VRBO. Our son loved the tucked away bunks! We'd happily stay here again!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scottsdale, AZ USA
5

Quaint Cottage

  • 5 of 5

I love staying at Sharon and Curt's quaint cottage. It's clean and nicely decorated with a beach motif. The well stocked kitchen has plenty of dishes, glasses and pots/pans if you are in the mood to cook. The large patio is to die for and that is where we spent a lot of time visiting with old and new friends. The beach is right down the sidewalk easily accessible in minutes. This part of the beach is not crowded which makes it extra special. Restaurants, shopping and golf are very close or head up to Del Mar for a day at the races. Sharon and Curt go out of their way to make your stay with them enjoyable. We should know as we have been coming back time after time for over 17 years. It's our go to place to relax and have a good time

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house by the beach

  • 5 of 5

Rented the house in August for our vacation. Stayed many years here in south mission and this house is definitely one I would return too. Great location along with quite neighbors. This two bedroom two bath down stairs house is a great place.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good location/patio. Needs to be updated!

  • 3 of 5

I will give this property a 3 only because location is good and nice patio, although the fire pit doesn't work. Although there has been some cheap remodeling done fresh painted walls and updated flooring would be nice. Bedding very worn and dingy. mattresses on the bunks were worse than dorm ones, hard and you could feel the coils! Basics missing like drinking glasses, bath mats, clean sponge. I would give cleanliness between a 2-3. Old rusty shower curtain pole and hooks, window screens torn, filthy floor fans, dirty walls, inside kitchen drawers lots of food crumbs. I recommend new paint, flooring and deep cleaning. Fix screens so flies can't get in. Fix fire pit. New patio table and chairs. Fresh, new bedding! I have two rentals and cleanliness is key and less clutter when renting out vacation homes.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great input and yes, it was a long summer and lots of action wore this place out a bit. All issues addressed and solved. Fire pit was not advertised as it is difficult to operate. It was a surprise feature, but we had to take it out as guests could not figure out how to operate it most of the time due to the difficult propane ignitor.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A pleasant beach house

  • 4 of 5

Convenient location on South Mission. Everything was very clean upon arrival. Communication prior to arrival was prompt and detailed.

Kitchen was well provisioned with all that you'd need for beyond-the-basics food prep. The knives were dull but I've been renting beach houses for twenty-some years and all have had dull knives. I usually bring my own but this time I forgot.

The patio is spacious with enough seating for your crew and some visitors too.

The house directly across the walkway had a very spirited party on Fourth of July and I was told by long-time renters in the area that this party was common on 4th of July but that the rest of the trip would be reasonably quiet; they were correct about the rest of the trip.

The washing machine and dryer were very quiet units which is nice in a relatively small house. However the front loading washing machine seems to have some issues with completing a wash cycle without prompting it a time or two by hitting the start button. I thought it may have been due to overloading but the condition occurred with very small and normal loads.

I have been in many rentals that have required appliance repair or complete replacement..it just happens with well used household items in rentals.

For the price and location, this rental is a good value and pleasant place to be for a week. I'd bet we'll be back if the owners will have us.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are welcome anytime Tim. Thanks for the tips on the washer and dryer. We just replaced them. We are in the process of notifying the owners next door regarding unruly party on the 4th. Next year should be a significant improvement. Robin (Team Davis)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Lindberg field
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Beachcomber and the Pennant
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Coronado
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Mission Bay Golf Course
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Amtrack
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Interstate 8 and 5
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Gabianos,
Nearest Ski
200 Miles
Mission Bay Aquatic Center
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Mission Beach
Car: recommended

Great Location in Mellow South Mission! Not too close to the crowds, but close enough to be convenient and easy. Bike rentals, kayak rentals, sail boats rentals are all nearby. Amusement Park, Market and restaurants all within 2 to 3 block walk.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning & Reservation $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.5%

Please read rules carefully!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.