check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Neil Johnstone

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Stunning 3 Bed villa,St James.West Coast Barbados, private pool, child friendly

8 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 9 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Prospect Villa Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms,3 bathrooms, sleeps 6 adults + child friendly,pool,play area

This charming villa on the west coast of Barbados is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Hummingbird Lane is set amidst well landscaped gardens with a large pool, just a 5 minute walk to the Caribbean Sea where water sports and picnic areas are found, the supermarket, chemist, deli etc are a 5 minute walk away. The house boasts 3 large air-conditioned bedrooms 2 with en-suite bathrooms, the largest bedroom opens onto a balcony with breathtaking views of the ocean. On the ground floor is another bathroom, fully equipped kitchen/laundry, open plan lounge/diner with vaulted ceilings leading onto a covered veranda with great views of the gardens and the ocean ideal for al fresco dining. The house has it's own private pool and sun lounging area and immaculately kept private gardens.

.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Neil Johnstone (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great holiday at 14 Hummingbird the house is just lovely and had everything we needed, the gardens and views are beautiful, the staffs were very friendly and helpful. l we will definitely be booking again and recommending the property to our friends and family. We look forward to our next visit, Thanks again Mr & Mrs Johnson(Sweden) This was the best holiday we have had the location is great everything is close by and the house and gardens are beautiful, we are hoping to get married in Barbados next year and would like to rent the house and look into having the ceremony in the garden, thanks once again. Louise and Colin (London).
Nov 2007
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 8 traveler reviews

Stunning 3 Bed villa,St James.West Coast Barbados, private pool, child friendly
average rating of 4.875 based on 9 reviews
5

Lovely villa in a great location

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely villa, with great facilities for children, in particular infants. We just got back from a two week stay here with the grandparents. There is a travel cot and high chair at the villa which makes life a lot easier as well as a stair gate, which we used on the veranda to stop our 18 month old from being able to get out into the garden.

Neil, I hadn't realised how many toys you had here. Which again are great for children. There are lovely views from the garden and the kitchen facilities are wonderful. The blender was particularly useful for pina coladas! The kitchen scales meant we could make a birthday cake for my mother in law.

Jourdan's supermarket is just down the road and has a good range of products and there is another supermarket at Sunset Crest.

For great cocktails, head to Zaccios down by Sunset Crest, they are half price between 4 and 6. It is a great places to watch the sun come down!

Linda, the maid was lovely and really helpful.

It was also great to have the beach towels there and the laundry facilities were wonderful, especially with having a little one there.

Also there are extension leads there which mean that you don't need to take plug adaptors with you for your electrical items.

Roti Den, just down the road towards Holetown is well worth a visit, Rotis are around £4 and are huge! I would recommend the chicken and potato ones, but they have different meats and also do vegetarian ones.

Best of Barbados at the Chattel village in Holetown is worth a visit for souveniers, they have some lovely prints of the island.

There is an ice cream van which comes around the neighbourhood, they sell Bico ice cream (think along the lines of Haagen Daas or Ben and Jerry's), which is lovely, Coconut, Maple Almond and Chocolate were well liked by the group!

All in all, great villa, wonderful location, there is a beach at the bottom of the hill and Linda is wonderful, I would fully recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Claire. I'm so pleased you had a great holiday and enjoyed the house. It's great to know that all our hard work on making the villa a home from home for our guests is enjoyed and appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

LOVED IT!!

  • 5 of 5

We spent almost 3 weeks at this beautiful villa and loved every second! It comfortably accommodates 6 people both inside and out with loads of space and everything you need for the perfect holiday. Both the villa and the pool were cleaned regularly throughout our stay and the towels and sheets washed and changed very frequently! It is about 5-10 minutes walk to beautiful Fitts Beach and although the hill up to the villa is quite steep it is good exercise for walking off those rum punches! Also means the villa affords lovely sea views. It was lovely to sit outside in the evening (which is under shelter if it rains - which it hardly did for us!) and use the gas barbecue and overlook the lit pool. No need to go out and visit expensive restaurants! Garden big enough for our boys to play in (aged 8 & 9) - to kick a ball around, etc. while we lazed on the sunbeds by the pool (may just suggest a couple more cushions for the sunbeds if the villa is full). Really easy to travel up and down the coast on the local buses which you can pick up at the bottom of the hill. We all had a lovely time and hope to return one day when money allows!! Thank you!! Mel & Gary & Josh (9) & Jake (8) Dyos, Elise Baugh, Nikki Baugh & Abi Williams (1)

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the review.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

July 2009 Summer Holiday

  • 5 of 5

This was our third visit to Barbados but the first time we had booked a villa and we were not disappointed. The villa was accurately described and was very spacious and well maintained. The maid visited a couple of times a week and ensured everything was spotless when she left.

The pool area and garden was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed chilling with a cool beer - just perfect. You can see the Carribean sea from the villa which is at the bottom of the hill - climbing back up the hill is the only slight drawback as there is a very steep incline in the middle.

Public transport easily accessible at the bottom of the hill, supermarket within walking distance (recommend bulk purchase and get the supermarket shuttle bus back to the villa as this saves having to struggle up the hill).

Went into Bridgetown and Holetown a few times, island tour and swimming with the turtles - just brilliant. We also seen the moneys near the villa on one occasion (typical though we didn't have our camera).

We decided not to hire a car and managed to get around the island reasonably well, however if someone in the party has walking difficulties or if you have children you may find it beneficial to hire a car, or of course use the local taxi service.

Our ideal holiday is very laid back and relaxing rather than clubbing. Lots of things to do within reasonable travelling distance but we didn't participate in a lot of these activities as we were more than happy chilling in the villa.

Felt very, very relaxed after our holiday - it was one of the few places where we could have enjoyed staying for another week.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
belfast Northern Ireland
4

holiday of a lifetime

  • 4 of 5

We have spent just over 2 weeks at this villa and it is superb. The facilities includung the pool are excellent and it was well used. The beach towels and shower towels left are an excellent idea. The location is really good apart from the hill up to the house but it walked off the lovely meals we had in holetown- elbow room is good for a fun night cooking your own food on lava stones - surfside and zacchios and ragamuffins are all reasonably priced. A trip to swim with the turtles is a must. We went with a local guy Roddy (number in vistors book) he was fantastic and took just us and went into the water with us to take underwater photos. He also took us on 2 fishing trips - tuna; makeral and baracuda were caught and cooked on bbq. Had a car for 3 days and was lovely to see around the island. Friday night at oistins is fantastic and the local buses(yellow ones) are so much fun and only 50p a journey anywhere. Fantastic holiday was had - weather glorious - villa superb- beaches to dream of and friendly people.Will be back!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Darlington, England
5

An enjoyable stay.

  • 5 of 5

An enjoyable stay at Hummingbird Lane was had by the party of 4 adults. House and gardens were as described and the view was spectacular. The hill up to the house was rather tiring especially in the heat, therefore I would recommend hiring a car. However, we used the services of William the local taxi driver who was friendly and accommodating, he made our stay! The local beaches were clean and never busy. Boat trip to see the turtles and snorkeling was a highlight together with the weekly fish-fry at Oistons. I would visit this villa again and would certainly recomend it for its get-away-from-it-all character, away from the main tourist areas.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Surrey, UK
5

Great Holiday in Barbados

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying in your villa in Barbados. It was jut the right size and the pool was a huge hit with the kids. The location was also perfect for our needs and exploring the island. We found Jackie (manager) and Linda (Cleaner) very efficient and although we didn’t manage to get hold of your babysitter, Jackie recommended another lady called Glendeen, who was lovely.

I have rented a number of villas for various holidays in the past and we found yours the best with regard to management. The advice I got from you was great and it was lovely to be able to arrive at the villa with groceries in the fridge and basic household provisions such as laundry powder and washing up liquid provided. Its the little things that make life that bit easier when you have arrived dazed and confused off a flight.

The villa was great for our two young children (aged 2 1/2 and 1 yr). We felt safe having them play in the house and in the garden. The house was well maintained and we were able to arrange for the cleaner to come a couple of extra times so we didn't have clean up.

We felt the villa was a good price, which is also important in these credit crunch times. I would certainly recommend the villa to others.

We tried a number of restaurants for lunch and dinnrer. Would recommend the Tides restaurant ( v expensive though) or Il Tempio for an evening meal - has some reasonably priced options on the menu. For a blow out lunch would definitely recommend the Lone Star. We took the kids there and the staff were great even though we made a bit of a mess - the food was excellent. We liked the local food at Marshalls too.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Grantley adams
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Bridgetown
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Car: not necessary

Hummingbird Lane is located on the west coast of Barbados in Prospect St.James it is a 5 minute walk to the beach and 5 minutes to shops, bars etc. We are situated 5 minutes from Sandy Lane Golf Course. There are many attractions available for adults and children, swimming, scuba diving, boating, tropical island gardens, go-karting, quad biking etc. The sandy beaches are ideal for lazy days in the sun or you can relax next to your own private pool at the house. A maid will visit twice each week to ensure you are comfortable and to change linens etc.

Other Activities: There are many other activites and places of interest to visit.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Prospect Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
OFF PEAK
May 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
9 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
PEAK
Dec 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
9 night minimum stay
$253
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

**** MINIMUM 9 NIGHT STAY****
MAJOR CREDIT CARDS & PAYPAL ACCEPTED. (Fees may apply)
Payment to be made in pounds sterling.
Payment to be made in pounds sterling only.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Prospect Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Safe
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • En-Suite - toilet , shower , basin
    en-suite - toilet , shower , basin
    en-suite - toilet , shower , basin
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • MASTER BEDROOM - 1 queen , BALCONY, AIR CONDITIONING
    DOUBLE BEDROOM - 1 queen , AIR CONDITIONING
    TWIN BEDROOM - 2 twin/ single , AIR CONDITIONING
  • Two travel cots, a stair gate, high chair and car seat are all available at no extra charge.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Child's Swing
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • 14 garden chairs
  • 8 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There are many children’s facilities including an outside play area. The maid generally visits once a week.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties