Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Uniqe experience, discover Iceland, apartment in city centre Reykjavik - unit 1

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 592 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

Description

unit 1

Privacy, private entrance, no tiring steps to walk up after a long day out. Clean, comfortable and spacious, high ceilings. Free to park if you have your own car but so easy to be with out a car. Bus station just few m away. Walking distance to everything Reykjavik has to offer. Great location for pick up/drop off for your day trips.


About the property

Laugavegur, Centre, Reykjavik

This lovely 55m sq, this one bedroom apartment is both comfortable and clean. Only one step up, the ground floor has special double, noise reduction glass in windows and high ceilings. We offer the best speed Fiber Optic WiFi connection available in Iceland.

Our unit is in a GREATlocation to be on foot. Situated in the heart of Reykjavík. EASY access to all the attractions the city center offers.

We are only few m away from Hotel Hlemmur Square where the price is over 1.800E pr week in June for 15 m sq double room, or at Hotel 101 Reykjavik few m away where the prices are from 2.600 Euros pr week for a 40 m square.

24/7 Supermarket shops, bars and restaurants just few steps away. Few minute walk and you have all the main restaurants. A wonderful warm outdoor swimming pool with hot tubs and steam bath, the national theater, cinemas, museums and tourist information. This apartment has fully equipped kitchen, nice bathroom , fully fitted to accommodate 4 people.

This should come to no surprise, but Iceland is number one on the Human Development Index and has been vote the most livable country in the world.

From our powerful nature to the streets of Reykjavík, Iceland is literally bursting with energy like never before. That’s why now isn’t a time to stay away, this is a time to get closer.

Clean and safe: The capital city of Reykjavik, with its 190,000 inhabitants, is probably one of the cleanest and safest cities in the world. Its plentiful resources of geothermal energy ensure clean air and unpolluted water giving both citizens and visitors a unique sense of liveliness and contentment. Reykjavik has become recognized for its pure energy, thriving culture, sparkling night-life and creative atmosphere.

One of the benefits of visiting a small city is that you never have to walk very far to get to where you’re going. With its long easy-going main street (Laugavegur), Reykjavik offers diversity to tourists at a friendly pace with quaint boutiques, book stores, galleries, delis, cafes and restaurants dotting the historic downtown area.

This should come to no surprise, but Iceland is number one on the Human Development Index and has been vote the most livable country in the world.

Land of contrasts: The island of contrasts, where heaven and earth meet, and where the Sagas of the Vikings were written, a land of glaciers, erupting volcanoes and the magnificent midnight sun. In Iceland you will find everything you need to make your vacation, conference or incentive successful and memorable. Hotels, conference facilities, support services and modern comforts are as good as anywhere in the rest of Western Europe. There is a multitude of bars and fine restaurants in Reykjavík.

More Details

Owner
Berta Gudjons
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, Icelandic
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

About Berta Gudjons

I am born and bread in Iceland. A Yoga teacher and a mother of 3 children. Now I live part of the year in France . I love to be in Iceland as much as possible. The longer I stay in a foreign country the more I see how special and beautiful my own country is. So clean, so pure, so save and so much space for everyone.

Namaste! Berta

Berta Gudjons purchased this apartment in 2002

Why Berta Gudjons chose Reykjavik

Great location both to explore what this beautiful city has to offer and for your drop offs after your trips outside the city. Free parking if you have your own car. You will love the center of Reykjavik, so full of life and very creative. Being able to walk everywhere, easy shopping for food will not only safe you money but a lot of time. Only few minute walk and you are by the sea overlooking the bay and our proud and joy the mountain ESJAN. You can easily jump on a bus if you want to go out of town. The bus station is only few meters away. In this apartment I have created a cosy and warm home away from home. A place I love to stay my self when I am in Iceland.

Our flat has the perfect location to enjoy everything the city has to offer. This area is on the edge of postal code 101 the most-central area/postal code of the city.It will give you the opportunity to walk to everywhere and still be in a comfortable distance from the party zone and night life area.

Grocery shops just few m away open 24/7 . Free parking at the back of the building

Reykjavik is an extremely nice city full of culture, good restaurants and sights - and close to wonderful nature. The city's populations is small (only 122.000 in the city itself, 202.000 in the metropolitan area), but as an European capital there is a lot going on within and around the city. We live in walking distance from many of Reykjavik's best known landmarks, museums and restaurants - and right by the harbor with its great view, seafood restaurant, micro-brewery, bars and cafe's. From the harbor/port area you can also take the ferry out to Viðey island, do various sightseeing tours on boat and and go whale watching. There are good walking & running paths that go from our neighborhood along Reykjavik's beautiful shoreline. One path takes you out of the city to the Grótta lighthouse (30 min walk, there is a hidden hot tub there by the sea) and another through the city (by Harpa Concert House) and so much more...

What makes this apartment unique

Privacy, private entrance for unit 1 and entrance through community entrance for unit 2. No tiring steps to walk up after a long day out. Free and easy parking if you have your own car, but here it's also so easy to be with out a car. So easy to get picked up and dropped off after your day trips out of Reykjavik. This location makes it so easy and convinent to enjoy on foot everything Reykjavik has to offer. Please join my Facebook page name: Reykjavik centre holiday rentals, where I share my favorite photos and links in Iceland. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Reykjavik-centre-holiday-rentals

Map

Ban Thai
"This place is one of the best Thai food restaurant in Iceland. It's just opposite our unit, ..."
Nearest Airport
42 Kilometres
Keflavik airport 40 min. away
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
many
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Grotta
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Hringbraut
Nearest Restaurant
3 Metres
Ban Thai, Yummy Yummy Thai food, Hlemmur Suare
Nearest Ski
50 Kilometres
Blafjoll
Nearest Beach
15 Kilometres
Nautholsvik
Car: not necessary

This cosy,clean and well maintained apartment is located on the main road in Reykjavik 'Laugavegur' but on the quieter end. Away from the noise from the night-life, still situated in the heart of Reykjavík with easy access to all the attractions of the city centre. The closest supermarket you can view from your entrance door open 24/7 Few minutes walking and you have all the main restaurants, a wonderful warm outdoor swimming pools with hot tubs and steam baths, the national theatre, cinemas, museums and tourist information. Easy, free parking if you want to rent a car.

Comparing price on accommodation in Reykjavik : our unit's are over 50 msq. price for one week in high season, for up to 4 people is around 910€ . Price in a 3 star hotel only few m away your pay over 1.800€ for double room.in June

Stands Out

What makes Iceland stand out as a venue is its unique natural beauty and absence of pollution. Dramatic volcano and glacier scenery-and conversely, action packed incentives are there waiting to be enjoyed by visitors. Reykjavík, the capital city is next door to nature. Iceland is only about a 3-hour flight from most European cities and 5 hours from the North American.

Other Activities: Family Park in Laugardalur is just 10 min. walk

Golf: Iceland not entirely white, it’s greener than you think.

People always say those Vikings were pulling a fast one when they called us Iceland and not Greenland but now we have even greater reason than ever to be called Green Iceland! Over 70% of our total energy consumption is from hydro- and geothermal sources and Reykjavik was the site for the world’s first commercial hydrogen refuelling station, opened in 2003.

Continually looking for the next big thing, we are extending Iceland’s green credentials from land to water, with Reykjavik whale-watching company - ‘Elding – adventure at sea’ unveiling the first commercial vessel to trial the use of hydrogen in April. Shame it isn’t helium, we could have had some macho sailors with high- pitched voices.

Ski: Hiking n Iceland

The Hengill/Nesjavellir area in South Iceland is an outdoor sports paradise, with a variety of 160 km of marked and challenging hiking and biking trails in a region of high-temperature geothermal areas, hot springs, volcanic craters, lava fields, rivers and lakes. Besides hiking and mountain biking, you can also go fishing on Lake Þingvallavatn (Iceland's largest lake), visit Þingvellir National Park, tour the Hengill geothermal power plant and go horseback riding

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Notes

Note: minimum rental 7 nights. To confirm your booking we ask you to pay 30% by Paypal and the rest 4 weeks before your arrival + security deposit of 200 € which are returned to you not later than one week after your departure, minus any possible damage.

Note : cost of cleaning in the end of your stay and cost of linen + towels is 70€ for 2 pers and 90 € for 3- 4 pers.


Amenities

Hlíðar Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 592 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • Unit 1 offers a bath tub with a shower. Unit 2 offers only a shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 child bed , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • a child's cot available on request. a pull out sofa in the living area
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Singles
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Ground floor(one step up) entrance from Laugavegur. This lovely one bedroom flat is situated right in the centre of Reykjavík by Hlemmur bus central. Warm and welcoming, the flat is fully fitted to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Plenty of free parking behind the house. We have two units in the same buidling, similar size and decoration. Unit 1 has a bath tub/shower. Unit 2 has only shower. The area around has many interesting sights within walking distance, for example: Laugavegur, shopping street; Hallgrimskirkja, Iceland's tallest church; Kjarvalsstadir, museum/gallery; Asmundarsafn, sculpture museum; Laugardalur, valley; a seaside walking path; and many more... Within 2 minutes walking distance you will also find a lovely cafe, a delicious pizzeria, a supermarkets nearby and a free car parking is behind the house.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

47% Complete
47% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
unit 1
average rating of 4.347826 based on 23 reviews
4

Convenient location

  • 4 of 5

Lovely stay. We had everything we needed. The apartment is very convenient to walk into the city as well as very close to many bus lines and tour pick ups. It got really warm in the aprtment as we had beautiful warm weather and no rain during our stay (can't complain about that!). Not many of the windows open and being on the first floor we weren't comfortable leaving windows open while we were gone or sleeping. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Heidi for a good review and for chooshing my unit.. It's rare that people complain about heat.. l am happy to hear you were lucky with the weather. I hope the fan helped and you can turn down or off each radiator. Thank you for being the perfect guests l can recommend to other hosts. My best wishes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The property is in a GREAT location and ideal for anyone who is looking to explore Reykjavik.

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was pleasant and in a wonderful location. We had a bit of a problem getting into the building and the apartment was missing a few necessities when we arrived, but after these first few hiccups, the rest of our stay was beautiful.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Andrew thank you so much for your kind generous review, great that you liked the location, it makes things so easy when you are travelling with a baby. In spite of of the little hiccup in the beginning we are grateful for your understanding and happy we could sort it out quickly when our house keeper took ill. My best wishes for the future and always welcome again. Regards Berta
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Stayed at condo July 1-8th and it was exactly as pictured. Amazing location!

  • 4 of 5

This was our first visit to Iceland and we chose this condo due to past positive reviews and great communication with the owner before our trip. She was very helpful. When we arrived we found the condo clean and exactly as described. We were able to walk everywhere in downtown Reykjavik. Loved that the restaurants and shopping and sights were so close but yet we could return to our condo at night in a fairly quiet area. It is a ground level condo on a street so voices of people walking by were quite loud at times. We were glad we brought ear plugs and eye masks to get a good night's rest. The bed and pillows were very comfortable! We slept well. Check In and check out directions were detailed and helpful. We ate some meals at the condo and had no complaints with how it was stocked. Seemed to have everything you need. The only thing we were disappointed in was the parking situation. One of the reasons we liked this condo was because it included parking. But when we got there we realized there weren't designated spaces and it was first come first serve. This turned out to be an issue for us because we were out sight seeing for long days and when we returned in the evening it was difficult to find parking. Again, this is after 10 pm but it was still a hassle we were not expecting based on past reviews. We were eventually able to find street parking, but had to be up before 9 to move the car or start paying. One night we drove around for quite awhile before finding any street parking near the condo. We notified the owner and she was apologetic and stated that she was going to be talking to the building or area board about marking or reserving spaces. Some drivers were also simply not courteous and taking up two spaces when parking. Which made a difference here. It was not a deal breaker for us and now that the ad will be updated future guests will know parking is not guaranteed. We loved loved Iceland! And would definitely stay at Berta's condo again. Can't beat the location and it completely met our needs. Home away from home. Thanks Berta!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Julie for your lovely and fair review. You were the perfect guests. So happy you liked the location and the condo felt like a home away from home. Cant beat that, true. Thank you for pointing out the problem with the parking, l have updated my instruction sheet. .It's the first time we need to face this problem. It's about time the the building mark their spaces. Reykjavik has been getting so popular in a short time..we need to adjust to the fact that Reykjavik is getting SO big. Next time you need to come and see the Northern Lights. Welcome again to your home in Iceland
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Apartment, Good location

  • 4 of 5

Overall the place was great. It served our needs in terms of a comfortable place to stay and spend nights and easy access to leave Reykjavik to travel. Berta was very flexible with check in and out which was great. My only complaint would be that the bed was not the most comfortable, but I don't know if this was a standard mattress for Iceland.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Melissa for your positive review, our guests really like the comfort of the location. We are really aiming to get a 5 stars reviews Your constructive critic will help us do better. Yes it's common to use IKEA beds in Iceland but I agree with you the US style beds/mattresses are much more comfortable and we will change soonest possible.. My best regards Berta
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, Cool, Classy and near the sites in Reykjavik.

  • 5 of 5

Great little cleanervous apartment just out side the trendy part of Reykjavik. The owner is very kind and the accommodations are perfect for a young family (though 4 adults were a little squished). It is near enough the main roads that you can explore the sights just outside of Reykjavik with ease as well!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dea for your positive review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Welcome again. Bless, bless as we say in Iceland
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Location, location, location...excellent!

  • 4 of 5

Our trip to Iceland was wonderful. The apartment was exactly what we needed for 5 nights. It was comfortable & within minutes walking to stores and restaurants. Parking (although an icy parking lot) was free! Using our GPS updated with Iceland maps, it was convenient to drive to all major attractions, including Blue Lagoon, Golden Circle, Black Sand Beach, Grotta Lighthouse (where we saw the Northern Lights!). We had our breakfast there every morning. I was happy with the electric hot pot for tea and the press coffee maker. The electric converter in the tv cabinet worked better than my converter (mine was square and wasn't long enough for the circle). Before leaving the US, I was concerned about the warmth of apartments in chilly, windy Iceland. It was hot and we learned Icelandic people just open the window to let in some air (like your Grandmothers old apartment buildings!). The cold water is delicious! The hot water (everywhere) does have a sulphuric smell but you enjoy that it stays hot through your long shower! I would recommend this apartment.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

You might like these similar properties