check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Burri Hans

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: german, None!

3 CHILDREN UNDER 16 YEARS ARE ACCOMPANIED BY AT LEAST 2 ADULTS FREE!

20 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type farmhouse

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Rothenburg Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

Up to 5 persons, 2 bedrooms, kitchen, garden patio, animals, active farm

Base price: 2 adults AND 3 children under 16 years.

1 night 250 Swiss francs

2 nights 350 Swiss francs

3 nights 450 Swiss francs

4 nights 550 Swiss francs

5 nights 650 Swiss francs

6 nights 700 Swiss francs

7 nights 700 Swiss francs

8 nights 800 Swiss francs

etc.

These prices are final cleaning, parking, linen, taxes and service charges etc. all included.

Each additional adult extra costs 25 Swiss francs per night. 3 Children under 16 are free.

We are renting out our Spycher (former granary) renovated five years ago, built in the year 1781. The venerable building has a fully fitted kitchen in the ground floor with dining table, ceramic hob, oven, microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. On the first floor there is a double bedroom and toilet with shower. Three additional single beds are available in the attic. Behind the Spycher is a garden patio for our guests with an open fireplace and seats/ lounge. You can borrow bicycles and toys from us for free. About more than 100 animals live on the farm, especially cattle and pigs. We live on agriculture and tourism. Visitors in the barn, on the field or in the forest are always welcome. The house is ideal for peace-seeking adults, seniors or families with lively kids! Please visit our website for more information and pictures or contact us!

Directions, if travelling by car:

From Basel: Highway A2/E35 towards Lucerne / Gotthard, exit Rothenburg!

From Zurich: Highway A4/E41 towards Lucerne, diversion Rotsee Highway A2/E35 towards Basel, exit Rothenburg!

From Chiasso: Highway A2/E35 towards Basel, exit Rothenburg!

At Rothenburg exit follow the sign towards Beromünster. Stay on the main road until about 500 metres towards the village of Rothenburg 'Toni's Zoo' and the agricultural machinery workshop 'MEYER' will become visible. 100 metres after these properties take left on the side street 'Wurmistrasse', follow the sign 'Hinderfeld'. Drive on this road up to approximately 2 kilometres. Shortly before the buildings of the farm near the highway rest area 'Lucerne-Neuenkirch' swing to the right in to the farm’s driveway, please watch for the sign 'Hinderfeld'. After another 300 metres you have reached your destination. Welcome to Hinderfeld!

Directions, if travelling by public transport:

Take the train from any direction to the Lucerne central railway station. Leave the railway station and head towards the bus terminal. The bus company 'Auto-AG Rothenburg' connects you to the lines 50, 51 and 52 to the town 'Sandplatten'. Go back there about 200 metres along the main road until a hiking trail sign 'Autobahnraststätte' (highway restaurant) points to a dirt road. After a kilometre this road comes to an end and you come to your destination! Of course we pick you up with your luggage from the bus stop! Hearty welcome!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Burri Hans (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: german, None!

Reviews

4.9
based on 20 traveler reviews

3 CHILDREN UNDER 16 YEARS ARE ACCOMPANIED BY AT LEAST 2 ADULTS FREE!
average rating of 4.9 based on 20 reviews
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
5

Down to Earth Peaceful Bliss

  • 5 of 5

Loved the views and the quiet peaceful environment. I stayed with my son and a colleague as we visited Lucern. We drove into Lucern each day and parked at the Transportation Museum. Although we didn't meet the owner until our last night, the facility was very clean and perfect for our stay. We arrived and my son and I played ping pong outside next to the goats with a view of the Alps. What more could a mom ask for! I'm hoping to return someday with my husband and friends. I will look for availability here first. The bike/walking trails are all around and I know my husband loves to do both. Great place for family, couples, or anyone who likes a peaceful bliss close to travel adventures. The second bedroom does require agile navigation with winding stairs. Not good for older generation or less agile adults. Awesome for kids! I'm a teacher in the states and wish I could afford to bring all my students here. Great price as well. Switzerland is very expensive. If you are traveling from another country, bring groceries.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
5

Beautiful experience for our family

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here in the fall and had a lovely time with our three children. We spent some of the weekend exploring Lucerne and some of the weekend on the farm, where our kids roamed the property, played with the goats, on the trampoline, and helped in the barn. The little farm chalet was so sweet and we were very comfortable. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Apple Valley, Minnesota
5

Authentic and Charming

  • 5 of 5

Be booked this adorable little house for our honeymoon. It was a little hard to find at first. Google directions in advance. The family was so kind to us. We loved our 3 days stay it added a real authenticity to our trip and was a peaceful get away from the city. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fort Worth TX
5

My favorite stay during our month in Switzerland

  • 5 of 5

After two weeks in the mountains, our legs needed a rest. First, the location: it was just outside of bustling Lucerne; it was a peaceful getaway, yet not remote. We so much enjoyed walking on a beautiful smooth path, with lush green grass on either side, a few people working in their barns or backyard gardens, to the bus stop. Buses were very frequent and took us to the center of Lucern in about 15 minutes. We had the relaxation of not using a car (during our whole month actually).

The accommodation: This former granary was wonderful. I felt like I was in the movie "Elf" because all the finishing of the building was so beautifully done. There are two of us. And each of us had a large, spotlessly clean pine wardrobe to ourselves. It was so nice to have a place for everything.

The fully equipped kitchen was downstairs. We could sip our morning coffee out on the front porch area.

What was going on around us: when we weren't off sightseeing, we were able to enjoy the workings of the farm. The owner's beautiful cows strolled past, to and from pasture at various times.

Feelings: I felt so peaceful in this place, surrounded by beauty and very hard-working, wonderful and kind people. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Owners

  • 5 of 5

Thank you to both Hans and his wonderful partner. We spent three days here with our two children aged 10 and 8. We really enjoyed the house, the farm and the whole environment. So much better than staying in a hotel in Lucerne. We could enjoy the farm, the comfortable house and the fresh air. We went to mount titlis and the owners were kind enough to lend us their winter clothes for the top of the mountain. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Sammamish, WA
5

Rural yet close to sights and nature paths.

  • 5 of 5

We came with our grandchildren and had a most wonderful experience. Hans included us in many activities in the barn feeding and milking the cows. Two calves were born while we were there. Bike paths are nearby and we used the bicycles Hans has on hand to explore wooded paths. The house has only a small gathering place but a well appointed kitchen. Absolutely charming.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Kilometres
Zurich-Kloten
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Max, music bar, Sempach station, various bars
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
Golf club Lake Sempach, Rastenmoos, Golf Oberkirch
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Sempach station, Rothenburg
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Rothenburg, Sempach
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Mövenpick, highway restaurant Neuenkirch
Nearest Ski
50 Kilometres
Many within a circumference of an hour’s drive by
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres
Lake Sempach
Car: not necessary

Surrounded by meadows and forests our farmhouse is located somewhat secluded in Rothenburg, suburban community of Lucerne. Despite the quiet, rural location of the house you can reach the historic old towns Lucerne, Sempach and Sursee in just few minutes. The Switzerland’s Museum of Transport, Culture and Convention Centre of Lucerne, a variety of museums and exhibitions, and more are waiting there for you. The swimming beaches of the great water bodies Lake Lucerne, Lake Sempach, Lake Zug, Lake Baldegg and Lake Hallwil are very easily reachable. Likewise, the many mountains that you see from the courtyard in a single beautiful panorama: Pilatus, Rigi, Titlis, Bürgenstock and Stanserhorn to name just a few of over 50 peaks. Plenty of shops can be found in the region, from small village shops to huge shopping mall with 80 stores. Playgrounds, zoos, restaurants, golf courses, sports airfields, sports facilities and, and ..... you will find everything here!

Other activities: Almost everything is possible!

Golf: In close proximity (less than 30 minutes) there are 10 golf courses, including the Lake Sempach golf course in Hildisrieden.

Skiing: Within an hour’s drive by car all ski resorts in central Switzerland can be reached. Including even Engelberg, Andermatt, Mythenregion, Stoos, Sörenberg, Titlis, Melchseefrutt and and and and ...... Toboggan runs, ski slopes, winter hiking trails, snowshoeing tracks, ski jumping ramps, ice fields ..... We have everything in the region!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rothenburg Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CHF
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$103
$567
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $26 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Grundgebühr $155

Normalbelegung: 2 Erwachsene und max. 3 Kinder unter 16 Jahre. Überbelegung: Mehr als 2 Erwachsene, mehr als 3 Kinder unter 16 Jahre:
Plus 25 SFr. pro Erwachsenen, plus 1 SFr. pro Altersjahr und Nacht des ältesten Kindes. Maximal 6 Erwachsene und 1Kleinkind! Mindestaufenthaltsdauer: Grundsätzlich eine Woche. Kürzere Aufenthalte nach Absprache möglich! 1. Nacht 250 SFr., jede weitere 100 SFr.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rothenburg Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 50 m²
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • The bathroom is located upstairs next to the bedroom 1. It's not very big but has a toilet, sink and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single
  • Spycher is not very big. Therefore it is suitable for max. 4 adults or 2 adults with max. 5 children, including an infant in a crib!
Entertainment:
  • Radio
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Total furnishing is suited to match this ancient building. Almost everything is made of wood, there were hardly any wood preservatives used.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties