Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Naturalist's Cloud Forest Haven

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bath Adjoining The Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve

Our house is located on 40 acres of private property that abuts the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve and is one of the last private homes before the Reserve. More than half our land is in primary cloud forest, but there is a large clearing below the house that is perfect for viewing wildlife. In fact, because our place is contiguous to more than 110,000 acres of protected forest, you’re likely to see many more animals here than in most other places in the Monteverde zone. White-faced monkeys, howler monkeys, coatis, gray fox, armadillos, and agoutis are all commonly seen on our land, and several cloud forest specialists, including resplendent quetzals, black guans and brocket deer are also often seen near the house.

The house was built in the mid-1980s by the current owner. In 1981, he visited Monteverde for the first time and during his stay, he and two other biologists had a picnic on the property, taking in the spectacular view of the forest and the Gulf of Nicoya in the distance. A week later, his friends called to tell him that the parcel was for sale and asked if he would like to become a part owner. The three of them purchased the property later that year from one of the original Quaker farmers and since then, each owner has built a house or cabin on the land. None of the dwellings are in sight of the others, which gives you a very private experience.

The house itself is located on a hillside at the end of a 500-foot driveway. It was designed with lots of large, picture windows to bring in plenty of natural light and is oriented toward the southwest with dramatic views of the Gulf of Nicoya and the forest canopy below.

The downstairs includes a living room with a wood stove, a dining room, kitchen, two box seats, a large bathroom and a small utility room with a washer and dryer. There’s also a long front porch, where you can sit looking out at the Gulf of Nicoya and watch up to nine species of hummingbirds visit the feeders. The upstairs includes a roofed balcony and two good-sized bedrooms, one with a queen-sized bed and the other with two full beds. At our place, you will be well away from the bustle of Santa Elena and the main road. You will be able to go to sleep to the sounds of katydids, cicadas, frogs and wake up to chorusing black-bellied wood quail and dueting gray-breasted wood wrens.

Public buses pass by at the bottom of the driveway several times each day and taxis are available at any time. There are several good restaurants just a few miles away as well as a small grocery store and a few gift/coffee shops. The entrance to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve is just a ten minute walk from our house. But, of course, that could be much longer if you're looking at wildlife or plants!

If you’d like, we can help you arrange to have a talented local cook or cleaning service visit during your stay.

Recommendations for local guides upon request.

More Details

Property Manager
Fred Morrison or Laurie Sanders
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2017

About Fred Morrison or Laurie Sanders

We live in Massachusetts for most of the year, but we spend a portion of each year in Monteverde. Fred first visited Monteverde in 1981; Laurie came in 1986. Since then, we have both worked on different biology projects in the area (bellbirds, quetzals, dragonflies) and for a short stint, Laurie worked as a guide in the Reserve. We got married in 1994 and in 2000, our daughter was born. Since 2004, we have led more than three dozen natural history trips to Costa Rica.

Fred is now retired from a career as a science teacher, but is currently studying native bees in MA and working with others on electronic field guides to the dragonflies and damselflies of Costa Rica and Ecuador.

Laurie produces natural history features for public radio and for ten years, prepared a weekly natural history series called Field Notes which aired on WFCR 88.5 FM in Amherst, MA. Some of her previous stories can be heard on Living on Earth. She currently works as a private environmental consultant.

Fred Morrison or Laurie Sanders purchased this house in 1981

Why Fred Morrison or Laurie Sanders chose Puntarenas

This is a very special piece of property because it borders the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve and is one of the last houses before the Reserve entrance. At nearly 5,000 feet in elevation, at times the property is literally bathed in the clouds, with mists from the Caribbean blowing west toward the Pacific.

What makes this house unique

Quiet, private and extraordinary wildlife opportunities.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We absolutely loved the house and its location. Everything was just perfect. We really enjoyed the area.
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Monteverde House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The bathroom is on the first floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • This house comfortably sleeps 4-6 people. There are 2 bedrooms upstairs. There are also two box seats downstairs that could be used for sleeping.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

Naturalist's Cloud Forest Haven
average rating of 4.883721 based on 46 reviews
5

A Monteverde Dream

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here with 4 of our friends and we had a blast!!! The house is a cozy cabin style place but there was plenty of room for 6 of us to sleep and live comfortably. The view from the porch is epic looking out over the Gulfo de Nicoya, and the hummingbird feeder on the second story is a unique experience. I am talking like 12 species of hummingbird flying right up in your face!! Also, plenty of coatis and agoutis climbing the house and meandering through the yard. We saw more wildlife at the house than in Monteverde reserve, but if you want to hit the park bright and early in the morning this is the perfect spot to stay! The park entrance is a 10 minute walk up the road. We also went to Curi Cancha reserve which we highly recommend...about a 20 minute walk down the hill. Not too far from town and a great walk if you grab a cab back up to the house. And last but not least was the amazing staff!! Raul helped us with anything we needed including restaurant recommendations and booking a shuttle back to San Jose. He was one of the friendliest people we met on our whole trip! And I cannot recommend the food provided by Lillian enough!! Everything was so delicious we had her cook for us twice!!! I plan to definitely stay here again if I make it back to Monteverde!

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Extremely peaceful, hummingbirds like I have never experienced!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay here !!!the well equipped kitchen the comfy beds and pillows, fluffy towels lots of hooks and storage. Most of all the outdoor space. The massive grassy area in front of the house for climbing up and down lying on the hill watching the clouds float by. Most of all we loved the paths at the back and every day we went to see the massive trees..a wonderland of plants and bugs, the smell of the forest..... I can't imagine the grief the owners must feel when some of those giants fall.

We saw all the regulars..coatis and agouti and the resident tarantula and a quetzal..at the park.

Roul was wonderful and very informative.

We will be back !!!

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ellicott City, MD, USA
5

beautiful home at the best possible location to see wildlife and enjoy nature and quiet!

  • 5 of 5

This home is wonderful! I highly recommend it! Plenty of room, and best location to see lots of wildlife. You don't have to enter the park, you're there! Raoul is a super host there. We ordered a dinner and it was very good also. Short walk to coffee, park entrance. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful view but had some issues

  • 3 of 5

The house is a rustic two story cabin on the side of a mountain with a lovely view out the front over the Nicoya Pennisula. While it was fairly clean and the kitchen well equipped, there were a few things that we were disappointed with. There were three of us staying, my sister, elderly mother and myself. It was not very clear that the only bathroom in the house is downstairs while the two bedrooms are upstairs. Our mother ended up sleeping on a foam couch downstairs for three nights as a result. So not recommended for anyone with mobility issues. We were also given wood for the stove but there was no kindling or other means of lighting the fire since the wood was either green or damp so we had to layer up as it is cool and damp in the Cloud Forest and the house. There were only three bath towels and one wash cloth for three people so we ended up using kitchen towels for hand towels. There were also some type if small red stinging bugs in one of the upstairs bedding, that bit me several times during the night. Very uncomfortable. Cabin could use some overallbupdating. Our stay was not all bad as we enjoyed feeding the many hummingbirds and had the the recommended cook do two meals which were very good. Would recommend for those without mobility issues and who like a more rustic down to nature experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ginger, It’s a shame that your experience at our place was not all that you'd hoped for. We understand that the weather was awful during your stay and in fact, January 2017 had some of the worst wind and rain in many years. Regarding your comments: * The wood stove can be tricky to light and we're sorry to hear that you weren't able to get a fire going. We wish you’d contacted our house manager to help you. * Concerning hand towels, there are lots of extras in the upstairs closet and we regret that you didn’t find them and were inconvenienced. * We've edited our VRBO website so that it's clear that the one bathroom is on the first floor and the bedrooms are on the second floor. * As for the insect bites, we were very surprised and sorry to hear about that. We have no idea what caused them, but have spoken to our cleaning staff.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Naturalist's Cloud Forest Home

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I had visited the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve nine years earlier and loved it. We chose to rent this house because of its close proximity to the reserve (just 10 minutes away by car and about 15 minutes on foot). We greatly enjoyed watching the racoon-like coatis scamping around the property several times a day and all the birds, especially all the brightly colored hummingbirds that came to feeders hanging off the open porch off the second floor. The house itself was roomy, but not as comfortable as one would expect for the price we paid: the kitchen was a bit rustic (although well supplied with pots & pans, cutlery, etc.), the shower weak, and (due to the stormy weather we experienced) power outages almost a nightly occurrence. Most disappointing was the terrible weather we had for three of the four days of our stay, for which the owners of course bear no responsibility. The storms were so fierce that they kept us awake at night. And the Cloud Forest Reserve was actually closed for three days straight due to high winds and fallen branches blocking the trail. We had planned to stay for a week, but left after only four days, once we were finally able to visit the reserve. We might have stayed longer, but the roads leading to Santa Elena and the reserve for so bad that it made side excursions long and difficult. We had, for example, planned to visit the area around Arenal, but gave up the idea after driving part of the road that would have taken us there.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mary and Bruno, We were sorry to read your review and learn that our place did not meet your expectations and that you suffered through unusually severe winds, cold rain and power outages. You were there during some of the worst weather to hit the region in years. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the hummingbirds, saw some coatis and liked Lillian’s cooking. In regard to your comments…. * We recently received permission from the local water association to install a new, much bigger water tank in the forest above our house, which will mean much better water pressure in the future. As to the cost of the house, we're sorry you thought it was high for what you got. The price does include the housekeeping fees and our property manager is always on-call to help with lighting the wood stove, getting extra firewood and other kinds of trouble-shooting. We hope that you found better weather elsewhere in Costa Rica.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Stay in Monteverde

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 7 really enjoyed our time in Casa Colibri. Being right next to the Cloudforest, we could enjoy the beauty of the area from the comfort of the covered deck watching the hummingbirds slurp up the sugar water while the kids found an armadillo, birds, coati, etc in the front yard. We also enjoyed the short hike up and around the back of the property, walking down to town (with cab rides back up), and enjoying the delicious food Lillian provided. Best of all was the great support provided by Laurie as we planned our Costa Rican adventure. She helped us realize that renting a car was not needed (or even desirable) and set us up with a driver to take us from Manuel Antonio to La Fortuna, asked Raul to arrange the taxi/boat/taxi from La Fortuna to Monteverde, and Jose to bring us back to the airport. Raul could not have been more helpful once we arrived and we enjoyed getting to know his son. He and our granddaughter are the same age, both in bilingual schools so they could chat in English and Spanish. Being in a house for 3 nights after hotel life was a great change of pace and most welcome. Many thanks to all. Kendra and Jim

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Rates & Availability

Monteverde House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Dry Season/Peak
Dec 18 2016 - May 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$180
$1,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Green
May 16 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$160
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$180
$1,000
$3,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

One of the most popular destinations in Costa Rica, the Monteverde area now includes plenty of options to keep you occupied during your stay (guided nature walks, ziplining, night hikes, language schools, bat museums, orchid gardens, shopping, etc.) But alternatively, you may just want to relax on one of the porches and watch hummingbirds at the feeder, or go birding in the front pasture, or take a walk along the back trail.

There is a notebook in the house that lists our recommendations for the area.

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties