check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Totally Remodeled 2nd Floor Ocean Front Condo- Free Wifi- Fully Air Conditioned

30 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 9 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 9 nights


Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

1br 1ba Decorator Ocean Front Condo - Fully Equipped For A Comfortable Stay

You have just found your perfect place in paradise. A condo as beautiful as Hawaii located just 30 Ft. from the water with incredible year round views awaits your arrival. To see what we mean, be sure to view the 360 video tour. The link for the video is located below the map, and above the photos where 'Link to our other rentals' and 'Link to 360 Video Tour' appears. A picture is worth a thousand words, and a video is worth a thousand pictures!

Some places are cheap, some are really nice, and some are available when you want it. Choose two! This is one of the top units at the Kona Reef, direct ocean front, and has air conditioning throughout the unit. In addition, it has all the upgrades you would hope for like granite counters, beautiful Koa wood doors and trim, walk in shower, sunken lighting, and a view that can only be described as fantastic. Yes, it is very affordable, too.

After flying thousands of miles to get to paradise, the last thing you want is a shabby unit that was cheap (for a reason). This gem has over 80,000 dollars in upgrades and will please the most discriminating traveler. Not only will you feel like home, you will want it to be your home away from home for years to come.

The bedroom has a comfortable king bed, with koa wood closet doors, and plenty of room. While it does get a good ocean breeze, it is also air conditioned.

The bath is very modern, with a modern vanity and a beautiful walk in shower. It was totally upgraded in 2012 and looks fantastic.

The kitchen has all high end appliances, tasteful granite counter tops, and all the small appliances you could hope for, and then some. There is a range, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and a large capacity refrigerator and bottom freezer, all accented by Koa wood cabinetry.

The living area has a large screen TV, a dining area, a computer work station, sofa, and chairs. AN inflatable queen bed is available. Step out of the living area to the spacious lanai and you are just 30 ft from the ocean. This is truly a place that you can enjoy while you relax.

A washer and dryer is located right in the unit, behind Koa wood doors, and of course this unit is equipped with high speed internet access (WiFi) and gives you free calling throughout the islands and the mainland.

The Kona Reef is just a block and a half from town, so you can easily stroll to the restaurants, shops, or farmers market without having to load up the car every time. You can also enjoy our ocean front pool, spa and BBQ area which is a great place to relax and enjoy a Kona sunset.

We have a number of units at the Kona Reef and are likely to be able to fill your needs. We have three two bedroom ocean front units available, and three 1 bedroom ocean front units available. We also have 9 ocean view 1 bedroom units. So if a particular unit is not available for the dates you need, one of our others is probably available.

Of course if you have any questions prior to making your reservation, we are more than happy to help. Just call us at 888-269-3229 from 9AM to 7PM Pacific time.

We look forward to your stay, and also look forward to your return as most of our guests do. Mahalo, and we hope to see you soon at the Kona Reef.

Haw Reg # W-04022844-02 (R) (B)

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Ken or Dia Peters
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2016
Call Manager

About Ken or Dia Peters

Licensed as a Hawaii Broker, and also an owner of vacation rentals at the Kona Reef, Ken has the knowledge vacation rentals second to none. If you are interested in owning a piece of paradise, Ken can answer all of your questions.

Why Ken or Dia Peters chose Kona Coast

There is no better location in Kona than the Kona Reef. It is just 1 1/2 blocks to town. It is considered to be one of the best locations for a stay in Kona.

What makes this condo unique

Only a block and a half to town, this oceanfront complex is moderately priced and is the ideal location in Kona.


based on 30 traveler reviews

Totally Remodeled 2nd Floor Ocean Front Condo- Free Wifi- Fully Air Conditioned
average rating of 4.8 based on 30 reviews

AC and View!!

  • 5 of 5

D-17 was a wonderful "home away from home" for our six day stay. The AC in the living room and bedroom were wonderful!! Loved being on the second floor with a secure feeling and a great view. It was nice to park right in front of the stairs and be inside the unit in a matter of seconds!! Was a little disappointed with the lack of pantry items such as: spices, oil, baggies, foil. Also, would have enjoyed to have a radio or "boom box" to listen to Hawaiian music. There are no binoculars in the unit as well. Lauren in the office was a real sweetheart. She loaned us some garlic powder and offered us some foil. She explained that company run units cannot leave any food (spices, etc) in the units. Their pair of binoculars were currently loaned out. The office also rents really nice Tommy Bahama type beach chairs for $5 a day.

The storage on the patio has some umbrellas, a couple chairs, and some other beach type items. We left a "noodle" to be used for future guests. There is also a nice size ice chest in the closet. I would highly recommend this unit mainly because of the fabulous AC units.

We did most of our food shopping at Wal Mart and Sack N Save. Bought some wonderful, fresh ahi for sashimi at Sack N Save. The Mai Tai's at Don the Beachcomber are wonderful, going during happy hour 4-6 as the prices are reasonable. Great place to watch the sunset!! Avoid Hugo's on the Rocks... not that good. We LOVED Humpy's!!! BEST cheeseburger!!!!

Beaches: our two favorite were Kua Bay and 69. Get to beach 69 early for some great snorkeling!!

Enjoy your stay in wonderful D-17!! Don't forget to ask the office (F3) for anything!!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for providing your comments. We are glad that you were able to enjoy AC throughout the unit, and this is one of only a few that have AC throughout, since most only have a wall AC in the living room. Sorry about not providing pantry items like spices etc, but understand that for sanitary and safety reasons we do not leave open food items in the unit for a guest, hoping they are not contaminated with something. The modern world is a bit difficult, kids are not even safe with Halloween candy anymore! However, the office is always happy to provide items when requested. We look forward to your return in the very near future, and again appreciate your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Waco, Texas

Nice Stay

  • 3 of 5

We stayed in the Kona Reef condo for 3 nights. The condo is right on the water and within walking distance to Kona's restaurants and shopping. The weather during our stay was warmer than usual, which wouldn't have been a problem except the AC in the living room didn't work. There were fans available, but we didn't open the curtain to enjoy the view because the setting sun made it unbearably warm in the living room. The AC in the bedroom worked fine.

Complaints were made to the timeshare managers but they said the owners have known for 2 weeks already and hadn't given authorization to replace the unit (or something like that). I sent a message to the owner but they said they knew nothing about it. Maybe with this review someone will do something to fix it for the comfort of other guests.

The condo and the complex are nice. If the AC in the living room would've worked this would've been a fantastic stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give your comments. Apparently you got bad information about the AC unit in the living room. It failed on Wednesday, they technician came the same day and the choice was to wait on parts or to replace the unit with a new one. A NEW unit was ordered, and shipped by air. It arrived and was installed on Monday. There was not a two week delay, there was no "waiting for approval" and being an island, there is no way to have a unit faster than having it flown in. We do our best to always pay attention to anything that malfunctions, and with nearly 100,000 in upgrades invested for guest comfort would obviously not leave an item for two weeks that was not working properly. Nothing could have been done any faster than it was. From the time of the malfunction until it was replaced consisted of three working days. That is pretty good for being on an island. Thank you for staying with us, and we do hope you will be able to return in the near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Could not have been better!!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you, Ken and Dia for allowing Steve and I to stay at your wonderful condo. Everything was perfect and our entire vacation summed up as the one to beat. What a wonderful island to explore. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are always delighted when a guest appreciates the time and effort that was devoted to make this one of the top three or four units at the Kona Reef. With AC throughout the unit, a spectacular view of the ocean just 30 Ft. away, and all the upgrades to the interior, the is truly one of the most desirable condos at the Kona Reef. We will look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Outstanding view. Room was great.

  • 5 of 5

Excellent. No complaints. Would recommend our room to snyone

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the stunning view and everything about the condo. We provide one of the nicest units at the Kona Reef, fully equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay and one of the few that has AC throughout the unit. We look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego, CA

Great Little Kailua-Kona Condo

  • 5 of 5

I researched rental condos A LOT looking for good location, clean accommodation, close to the water with very little noise but I wanted to see and hear ocean and surf. This condo was perfect and met all of those requirements. There were only two of us in the condo but there was an air mattress you could set up in the main living space if you had more than two people. I am a picky traveler but would recommend this newly remodeled condo. The views are fun and entertaining!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed this condo which is one of the top two or three units at the Kona Reef. We always try to provide everything needed for a comfortable stay and look forward to the majority of our guests returning time after time. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kelowna, B.C., Canada

Beautiful ocean front Condo.

  • 4 of 5

Had a problem when we first arrived with the plumbing, but Management went over and above to rectify the issue. They were very helpful and pleasant.

The grounds were immaculate as well as the pool. Would definitely recommend the Kona Reef Resort as a destination vacation. Very close to downtown Kona with lots of restaurants and shops. Beautiful walk day or night.

Sue & Stan

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenient location and the great view from the condo. We do our best to provide a luxurious condo, fully equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay. We look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Kona International (KOA)
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Nearest Restaurant
250 Metres
In Kona Town - Numerous Restaurants
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Honl's Beach Park
Car: not necessary

The volcano is 92 miles away - 2 1/2 hour drive time. Hilo is about 2 hours by the northern route, and 3 hours by the southern route.


Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
2016/17 Peak Season
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
June/July Special
Jun 15 2017 - Aug 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Ironman Competition
Oct 4 2017 - Oct 18 2017
9 night minimum stay
2017/18 Peak Season
Nov 1 2017 - Apr 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning and Preparation $99 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Pool and spa hours are posted. No glass in pool area, children under 12 are not allowed in the spa. Reservation dates are held for you while others are turned away. In event of cancellation, only amounts recovered by re-booking would be eligible for refund.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 620 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Tiled walk in shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen inflatable bed - not sofa sleeper
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties