check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Whale Pod Chalet and Buddha Cottage on Oaks Bluff

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
1 - 2 nights

Description

Pender Island Chalet Rental Photos and Description

Private large spacious home and unique cottage with ocean front mountain views

Whale Pod Chalet sits high above the ocean on the oaks bluff: The view takes your breathe away. You are overlooking the Swanson Channel. This magnificent panoramic view starts at the San Juan Islands and moves onward to the Olympic Peninsula, Victoria, southern Vancouver Island. It stretches as far north as Nanaimo, the Canadian Gulf Islands, over to the mountains of the lower mainland and south to Mount Baker! This 360 degree view is one of the most spectacular views that beautiful British Columbia can offer. The ocean down below is home to a pod of orca whales, who can be seen up close from the chalet and cottage above, using the binoculars and telescopes situated within the structures. Your viewing pleasure is increased by eagles and birds, ferries, boats of many types , the surrounding forest. The fresh, clean ocean front air reawakens your senses. The buildings themselves also offer a unique and comforting experience. Whale Pod Chalet is 4 stories of awesome, hand built by the owner. It offers an amazing sundeck, a hot tub, an incredible amount of sleeping space with 6 bedrooms, a loft and a den. There are 3 bathrooms, including a shower, and two baths, one very large. It comes with a fully stocked kitchen, unique furnishing, and plenty of interesting items to enjoy. With all of this included Whale Pod Chalet is still very spacious and flowing. The location and design of this chalet offers its guests a wide open experience.

The Buddha Cottage is located a short distance down the hill from Whale Pod Chalet, and offers an experience very different. Instead of the all-around, open view, you are more tucked in. The yard offers tropical plants, 5 majestic ponds and waterfalls that flows through the yard and creates a very serene atmosphere. The natural beauty of the land around compliments this unique setting. From the large and spacious deck you get an ocean front view. There 5 queen beds all together, 3 in house, and two cabins outside. The bathroom offers a jet tub and shower. Two of the in house beds fold up so that this cottage can be flowing during day and cozy at night.

NOTE: Whale Pod Chalet and Buddha Cottage are available individually or together. We are available for weddings, retreats, and other events. Availability posted on this site is for Whale Pod Chalet only. For Buddha cottage availability contact by phone or email. Thank you

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Kevin
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
August 12, 2016
Call Owner

About Kevin

I was raised on the east coast of Canada. I grew up living close with the land. I spent many years traveling all over the planet. I am passionate about farming, current specializing in garlic and tomatoes. I express myself through building, most of the wood used to build structures was selectively harvested wood milled from property. I am looking to expand the vision of Whale Pod Chalet and Buddha Cottage. I plan to do this by incorporating more activities and amenities for the guests; such as spirit and health retreats, nature activities, water sports, weddings and reunions.

Kevin purchased this chalet in 1978

Why Kevin chose British Columbia Gulf Islands

The breathtaking views and uniquness of the buildings. Large property perfect for picture perfect and memorable weddings and able to house large amounts of guests.

What makes this chalet unique

Whale watching, panoramic far stretching view, on a bluff high above ocean, buildings beautifully designed

Rate reflect: a minimum of 10 people

Guestbook comments from the owner

It is such a big and open house that no matter how many people are with you, you feel relaxed. We were two groups of children and parents getting away from the City. Kevin, the owner, made the kids laugh and we enjoyed the hospitality. Definitely a must stay on Pender Island.
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Whale Pod Chalet and Buddha Cottage on Oaks Bluff
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 22 reviews
5

Amazing place for an easy-going family get-together

  • 5 of 5

We just finished renting both the chalet & the cottage for a week in late September to hold a small wedding (17 people in attendance). We were able to have the ceremony on the property (in the garden near the cottage) and then enjoy a week relaxing with family and friends. It was absolutely perfect for our needs: spacious, affordable, very private, with incredible views (we saw orcas from the property 3 separate times in one week) and a very easy-going, reasonable, flexible owner. The cottage is newer and fancier than the chalet, but both buildings have great views and were built thoughtfully in tune with the surroundings. The cottage is great for writing, yoga, and feels very peaceful and luxurious. The chalet is great for large, easy-going groups who don't mind a "lived-in" feel; some bedrooms are fancier and have better views than others, but the house has so much space everyone was able to relax and fully enjoy. Our group loved the whole property - one family member already arranged to rent it again next summer! Big kitchen and tables for family meals and board games, several decks, a hot tub with amazing views, many nooks and crannies to escape to. Pender Island has a lot to offer - we spent hours at Brooks Point and could have spent more. The summer farmer's market on Saturday is popular. We went hiking, kayaking/stand-up paddle boarding, visited various beaches...but really most of our time was spent relaxing with family and friends in the chalet. It is not easy to find a property this big on the Gulf Islands for this price. I know because I looked very hard! Excited to go back next summer.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One of our most favorite vacation spots of all times!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at this property 5 or 6 different times over the last 12 years and I can say it is our absolute favorite place to vacation. The house is big enough for extended family or friends, is comfortable if not luxurious, and you could not ask for more spectacular views. The whole vibe of the place is relax, relax, relax:-) Kevin was very accommodating and quite the interesting guy himself. I read other emails that speak negatively about this property and if you are looking for top of the line super modern this may not be the vacation spot for you but if you are looking for friendly locals, a great home owner and one of the most relaxing and glorious vacation homes ever this is the spot for you. So many great beaches to explore on the island! Stop in at the marina and buy live crab, live prawns that were the sweetest we have ever had or fresh fish catch of the day or charter a boat and fish or crab yourself. Our kids never had any problem finding something fun to do on island and they have fond memories of vacationing here! It was my stepfathers favorite place on earth and we are scheduling a date to return and release his ashes from this wonderful home away from home!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
4

Spectacular Views

  • 4 of 5

I rented the house and cottage for 9 nights for an annual knitting retreat in June. After 15 years on another island, the knitters voted that this was the best yet. Kevin was most agreeable and helpful with moving beds around to get the right combination of single and twin rooms. Lots and lots of extra clean sheets in the linen room. Towels were high quality and abundant, far superior to those provided in most rentals. Chef was generally pleased with the kitchen. Next year we will see about more shelves for food storage. We were providing gourmet meals 5 times a day for a week so had far more food and supplies than most groups would have.

The 35-45 age group went for long hikes each morning before breakfast, older ones tended to take their early morning coffee out to the sunny east-facing decks. So there was something for everyone before the serious knitting began on even more decks.

Yes, there is work to be done on the property, which is why I gave it four stars and not five. Kevin is trying hard to make improvements, but it is very difficult to get stable, reliable help on the islands. "Island Time" is very real, workers just don't turn up if the fishing is good, the hay needs cutting, or a child is sick. It's just not the same as renting a large house in Scotland where the family retainers live in a cottage on the property, or in Mexico with a caretaker catering to your needs. We are returning in June next year as this is the best self-catering property on the Gulf Islands and Southern Vancouver Island for a large group, and the pleasantest owner - and I have looked!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

RUN!

  • 1 of 5

If you're thinking of renting this place, run away as fast as you can. Place is very dated and needs tons of work. Beds and bedding smell so bad I had to sleep in my clothes so it wouldn't touch my skin. Gross.

Not like the pictures at all. Only thing nice is the view.

I highly discourage anyone renting this place. Certainly not worth the money he's asking!

Glad to be out of there! Will never return!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Customers failed to pay for the booking would not listen to reason had received a bogus contract showed them over 30 pages of correspondence with the person that actually booked and I have notes from all phone conversations. I lost $2000 with this booking I believe it was premeditated fraud
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Not impressed

  • 2 of 5

Well just spent 4 days there and that was more than plenty. The photos on the website are deceiving. Not as nice as it looks in those pics. Not as clean as it should be for the price. Sheets weren't even changed on one of the beds in the chalet. Property not kept up very nicely either. Nothing to do on this island especially if you bring kids along. Some locals not very friendly at all. Over all nothing what I expected. Very disappointed. will never go back The cottage was nice. Best thing there were the views.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Breathtaking.

  • 5 of 5

My 14 friends and i rented this house for 4 days in December and were blown away. As for location, This house sits on top of a cliff looking over the water and islands, a beautiful view to wake up to every morning. Also, there wasn't any neighbors close by which meant lots of privacy, which was great. Inside, the house was also fantastic, nothing too out dated, or too modern. As for furniture and beds, everything was clean, and very comfortable. We never felt too crowded as there was 4 floors with plenty of space. I had no complaints about this house except the wifi was iffy at times, but from my understanding, he has gotten that fixed. This house would be more than amazing for a family or friend getaway. This house would also be great if you want to just party for days on end without stopping, plenty of decks looking over the water for smoking joints aswell ;). We will 100% be staying in this house again next year. 10/10

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Victoria International Airport
Nearest Barpub
20 Kilometres
Poets Cove
Nearest Ferry
20 Kilometres
B.C. Ferries info phone 1-888-223-3779
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Pender Island Golf 250-629-6659 Disk Golf 27 hole
Nearest Train
30 Kilometres
VIA Rail 1-800-842-7245
Nearest Motorway
30 Kilometres
Pat Bay Highway via Ferry
Nearest Restaurant
10 Kilometres
Pender Sushi 250-629-6263
Nearest Ski
150 Kilometres
Mount Washington
Nearest Beach
5 Kilometres
over 30 public beachs within 5 to 30 kilometers
Car: recommended

Rates & Availability

Pender Island Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
winter
Jan 5 2017 - Mar 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$228
$1,405
$3,798
 
 
spring
Mar 2 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$304
$1,899
$68,364
 
 
summer
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$342
$2,355
$9,115
 
 
low
Oct 1 2017 - Dec 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$266
$1,633
$68,364
 
 
Xmas
Dec 19 2017 - Jan 3 2018
2 night minimum stay
$304
$2,127
$5,317
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$304
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $95 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $380
Pet Fee $38
Tax Rate 5.0%

PLEASE CONTACT OWNER FOR PRICING

We cater for small weddings up to 50 people, in combination of the lodge and Buddha Cottage. We also do yoga, spiritual retreats, whale watching and whatever your interest is. Please call toll free 1-866-228-4397 . Our professional staff can accommodate all your needs including catering, boat charters, counselors, planners, massage etc. Thank you for your interest in our property.

$500 damage/cleaning deposit low season/weekends
$1000 damage/cleaning deposit high season/special events

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Amenities

Pender Island Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 24 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Buddha - toilet , tub , shower
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • China suite - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Loft - 1 queen
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (5), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2), Murphy Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis
  • 1 bicycles
  • 25 garden chairs
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties