check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Ron and Kareen Haskin

Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Lush Jungle Hideaway!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hilo House Rental Photos and Description

Lush Jungle Hideaway

Bamboo Hideaway

Enter our lush private driveway to our private one and a half acre “Bamboo Hideaway” . Our beautiful tropical landscaping has many varieties of bamboo swinging in the breeze. Within the large, private yard,there are multitudes of flowering plants, as well as fruit trees such as tangerine, star fruit, banana, lemon, avocado, mango,jabotacaba,breadfruit, sernon cherry, lychee, coffee, lilikoi, macadamia nut and many more.

Cook a homemade meal in the fully equipped kitchen or outside on the charcoal BBQ. Enjoy your meal in doors or on one of the two Lanai‘s, then go for a stroll in the gardens or relax in the hot tub. If you have a large group and need more beds we have another 2 bedrooms and 1 bath downstairs that can be rented separately or as one rental. The downstairs is wheelchair accessible. If interested call the owner at 808 2170802

There is a farmers market and grocery store approximately 4 miles away , open everyday.

And our local Hilo market is open on Wednesdays and Saturdays and the Makuu farmers + market is open Sunday

Easy access to main Hyw 130 takes you to all the sites.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Ron and Kareen Haskin (Owner)
Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Ron and Kareen Haskin

My husband and I came and fell in love with the big island in 2005. We have traveled the world and truly find this to be paradise on earth.

Ron and Kareen Haskin purchased this house in 2005

Why Ron and Kareen Haskin chose Hilo District

This property features peace and serenity. You will be surrounded with tropical flowers, greenery,fruit trees and bamboo. It has a separate unit that sleeps 6 downstairs that's not included in the rates, but is available. Huge lanai for parties such as weddings and we have caterers,minister, professional photographers and florists available or you can have it all to yourself.

We love this area because there is so much to see and do so close. Great snorkeling and when you've spent a couple of hours enjoying the beautiful fish and coral you can jump in the car and go down a mile or so to the warm ponds that is like bath tub warm. Hiking in the jungles around here is just what you dreamed it would be. I could go on and on about my wonderful adventures here and the fabulous things I seen. The whales, turtles,and dolphins, the volcano and the beautiful flows to the sea, tropical gardens. Our zoo is free and besides the animals and birds it is a gorgeous tropical garden. Many beautiful beaches for all the different water sports and simply relaxing. What can I say, this is heaven on earth.i

What makes this house unique

Budget friendly, beautiful spacious home away from home. Close to most popular sight seeing areas, great for weddings,family reunions etc. Oh and from the large lanai the view is of a sea of white orchids. Morning coffee or tea couldn't have a better setting.So you're in the jungle and centrally located to lots of great things.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)
Lush Jungle Hideaway!
average rating of 4.529412 based on 17 reviews
1

Rodent in the house

  • 1 of 5

We liked the property but unfortunately saw a mouse the second day we were there and left. We had to move to a property on the other side of the island as nothing that could accommodate our party and our budget was available nearby. The owner refunded the balance for our stay but charged us for cleaning the property. We asked for the cleaning costs back as we did not create the problem and we were being charged cleaning fees at the new place as well as losing vacation time and incurring additional transportation costs. She then accused us of lying/scamming and damaging the property; however she did not respond to our request for specifics regarding the alleged damage. Additionally she said we left the place a mess and left a mound of laundry. We cleaned before we left and have pictures of the mouse droppings; we believe the damage she alleged was the hole from which we saw the mouse emerge, and the mound of laundry was simply the bedding which which stripped before we left. Her response was extremely disappointing as we had not even mentioned the other issues--broken ceiling fan in the main room (she provided a fan), no television access (apparently a computer is needed to access the tv), underside of kitchen counter dropping to the floor due to termite damage, spider webs in the living room, a dirty coffee cup and pot, and hardened creamer. While the property was not as clean as we would have liked, we would have stayed there as we really liked the overall ambiance and location; however the presence of the mouse droppings in the drawer and on the pillows made the property uninhabitable to us.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I refunded her money for the balance of days then went to check the house and found no evidence of a mouse plus it was torn up then the cleaning crew searchedfinding the complaints unfounded. I believe they did not read anything about the items supplied. Wi- Fi only. You supply your own food. There is more I won't get into it, however I have put out a notice to other vacation rental owners about this group.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gilroy, CA
5

An amazing and unique place to stay

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here in April and had just a great time. We love the very peaceful atmosphere of the place and the solitude it offered. Getting to use the hot tub without any disturbance was also a very nice benefit. Everything was very clean and the big kitchen offered everything you'd need to entertain guests or just yourselves.

Kareem and Ron were super friendly and gracious hosts during our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good place close enough to Hilo, beaches, and Volcanoes NP

  • 4 of 5

We had a large group staying at this house. The owner went out to his way to furnish us with mattresses for everybody and an extra porta potty. The house was clean, it had all the necessary kitchen and bath stuff, and the 20 somethings sure enjoyed the hot tub. I personally liked the large yard and the jungle feeling.

The pictures of the house are exactly what you get.

Nice place, I would go there again and can certainly recommend to others.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property, well equipped.

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect place for us to stay-centrally located, very clean property, quiet neighborhood. Absolutely everything you need to cook and relax is there. The owners were helpful and available to us.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great hideaway with true tropical ambiance

  • 5 of 5

Wow! The perfect place to feel as if you were in a jungle, complete with geckos and frogs! We loved having fresh fruit from our hosts upon arrival. So many things to see and do on the Hilo side of the island. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
BALMA (FRANCE)
5

Stay in bamboo hideway

  • 5 of 5

We spent 3 nights in this beautiful house and it was terrific. The house, the garden were wonderful and kareen takes care or her guests.

Everything needed in the kitchen, in the bathroom or in the bedrooms were there, Nothing was missing. We didn't use the hot tub, by lack or time but maybe we'll try another time.

We made a different trip every day and bamboo hideway is a really good place to discover puna area and hawaiian volcanoes park.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15.5 Miles
Hilo Airport, Kekuanaoa Street, Hilo, HI
Nearest Barpub
8.4 Miles
15-2942 Pahoa Village Rd Pahoa, HI 96778
Nearest Golf
11.3 Miles
340 Haihai St Hilo, HI 96720
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Hwy 130
Nearest Restaurant
8.6 Miles
15-2969 Pahoa Village Rd, Pāhoa, HI
Nearest Ski
84 Miles
58 Kohala Mountain Rd, Waimea, HI ‎
Nearest Beach
17.6 Miles
Richardson Beach Park, Hilo, HI

We are so central to the sights on this side of the island and you will enjoy the most authentic Hawaiian lifestyle and aloha. We love Pahoa for its simplicity and country charm. Wednesday night at Uncle Roberts is the most loving family aloha I've experienced on all the islands.There is so much more for those wanting to step back to a simpler slower time, come and share the aloha.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hilo House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$110
$745
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

The rates are $110 per night plus $10 for each additional person.
Credit Card will be kept on file in lieu of deposit and will be charged for missing,damaged or broken items.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hilo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Living room has 2 twin beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Weddings and minister available

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties