check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

House Of The Dancing Monkeys! Luxury Jungle Oasis with Private Pool!

12 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


El Cerro Villa Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 3.5 Bathroom, Sleeps 7

This superb vacation rental comprises of 2 remodeled villas set on half an acre of untouched rainforest. In total there are 3 Master Suites, each with it's own private bathroom, 3 large covered patio areas perfect for relaxing and enjoying the daily 'Monkey Show' (they might be a little late some days but they always come!) and of course, a wonderfully inviting private pool - with no prying eyes it's up to you how close to nature you want to get here!

With 3 bedrooms, 3.5 bath property is the epitome of private, luxury, jungle living. These 2 villas are literally resting in the rain forest surrounded by all the flora and fauna that makes Costa Rica famous and such a popular vacation destination.

In front of each villa is a large covered patio area with a large outdoor dining space, BBQ and rocking chairs. The villas are connected by a beautiful teardrop pool and surrounded by a spacious deck area. Just the place to relax after a hard day working on that vacation tan!

The entire property has been refurbished to an excellent standard from the modern custom fitted kitchen with granite worktops and new state of the art appliances & equipment, to the 400 thread count cotton sheets, orthopedic mattresses and hand painted artwork by renowned local artist, Adrian Valli.

Located near the town of Quepos on the Central Pacific Coast, about 2.5 - 3 hours drive from San Jose International Airport, it is easy to get here. It's a beautiful drive and even more relaxing if you take a private shuttle and start your vacation being treated like rock stars! Don't forget to stop to take the tour of the Crocodile Bridge at Tarcoles (about an hour from San Jose) and remember to stop for lunch at the seaside town of Jacó where you'll find some great bargains and delicious food!

Imagine your own private villa located within the heart of the rain forest next to one of the top 12 rated parks in the world, Manuel Antonio National Park!

At Villa Monos Bailarines (Home of the Dancing Monkeys), you are conveniently located within minutes of some of the most beautiful white sand beaches, and access to some of the best activities you can experience in a lifetime.

-We ask guests not to use our laundry services as our Costa Rican machines can be delicate. However, if you do have any personal items that you wish to have washed, please let us know and our maids would be happy to do it for you, free of charge.

Safe & exciting white water rafting, zip lining over the jungle canopy, crocodile tours, riding quads across rugged trails, surfing in the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean and great deep sea fishing beyond your wildest expectations! Catch a tuna or mahi mahi and have one of the many world class restaurants cook your catch that night for dinner!

Costa Rica is one of the best family or romantic getaways anywhere. If you are looking for an affordable adventure in a country so safe they don't even have an army(!), then catch the next flight to San Jose International Airport (SJO) and you'll be in your villa in time to watch the dancing monkeys while enjoying open air dining.

Costa Rica: Welcome to the most ecologically sound country on planet Earth.

Come for big adventures and lasting memories!

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Amy Irving
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 9, 2016
Call Manager

About Amy Irving

I originally came to Costa Rica on a sabbatical from a busy job in London, England. I intended to stay 3 months but after 7 years I'm still here - What happened?! Well, Costa Rica happened. With so many amazing things to do & see it really is a hard place to leave, be warned! Now I get to live in paradise, hike in the jungle, swim & surf in our beautiful warm ocean, rappel down waterfalls, raft rapids, zip-line through the jungle canopy, and so much more. Lucky me!!! With the help of great friends, I manage vacation villas & run a boutique vacation planning business, My Vacation Costa Rica. We specialize in giving our guests the personal touch & between us, we guide you through all aspects of planning your vacation & make sure you only experience the best of the best - so come us in paradise and start enjoying the pura vida life!

Amy Irving purchased this villa in 2013

Why Amy Irving chose Quepos

Villa Monos Bailarines is a truly delightful villa! Nestled in the jungle, it's surrounded by all of our wonderful Costa Rican flora and fauna. The private pool is the perfect place to cool off and watch the monkeys play.

The villa has the added benefit of a second "villita", comprising of a large bedroom and private bathroom. This makes an ideally private space for extended family, nanny or friends to stay.

The property as a whole really is a luxury oasis of peace & calm in nature!

What makes this villa unique

The second villa provides a very private space for extended family members, nanny or friends to stay.

*The property is incredibly secluded and is situated within a private secure development.

There is some much outdoor space to enjoy you will have first hand experience of jungle living


based on 12 traveler reviews

House Of The Dancing Monkeys! Luxury Jungle Oasis with Private Pool!
average rating of 4.75 based on 12 reviews

Wonderful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with my family-ages ranging between early 30s and 60-and we all loved it! We had great concierge service, it's not too far from the bus but very private and safe. The layout is fantastic! This is truly a great place to stay, you can't go wrong!

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing jungle hideaway!

  • 5 of 5

This house, Hazel (the concierge) and the suggestions she made were the highlights of our vacation.

Amy was great to work with also, we booked in a hurry and she replied quickly and was very helpful. We stayed for 4 nights and everything was perfect!

The guide Hazel booked for us (Henry) was perfect with young kids and we saw things we would have walked right by had he not been there. The massages we had were great and the Chefs we had were also fantastic. In fact having the chefs come saved us money on food. We had leftovers for 2 days which saved us from having to eat out (which is expensive).

We had our almost 3 year old with us and it was good for her too. She loved the pool and the monkeys swinging through the trees.

Only drawback was the driveway was rugged but it also helped with the jungle ambiance.

We will be back!!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Mixed Bag - Beautiful location, but theft from villa

  • 2 of 5

This review has two parts. The first about the house and location and the second covering some service issues with the property owners. For starters, the house, the lead up and planning was top notch. Hazel took great care to plan out all our activities (zip lining, rappelling, surfing, nature walks) and make sure our stay would be memorable. We did multiple tours (which I've reviewed separately) and even arranged a local chef to come cook for us. The house has two beautiful villas and pool and is a great place to come back to after a day of activities.

But there was one major issue that left us with a very negative feeling about our accommodations and hosts. During our stay we had multiple items, including a camera, 3 pair of nice sunglasses, money from 3 different wallets and hair dryer (yes, a hair dryer) stolen from the villa. As part of the "service" a cleaning person comes every other day. There was also a private chef who had access to our villa. We informed Hazel of the multiple thefts and she in turn said she'd take it up with the owner and cleaning team. We never got any resolution or response back from the property owner, whom we contacted separately. Hazel told us we could file a police report on the day we were leaving which I found quite laughable. We haven't heard back from Hazel or the property owner since our stay. It was a disappointing way to end our visit given everything about the place was beautiful. Unfortunately the service of the property owner fell down quite flat which means I would not recommend. As someone who's booked accommodations and activities in 19 countries I've never been a victim of theft.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and for highlighting how wonderful the property is. It really is one of the nicest places to stay here in MA. We are very sorry for the experience you had regarding missing items & that this has marred an otherwise positive experience. We strive to provide our clients with the highest level of service, both in the planning stage & during their stay. As previously explained, we do not pay for good reviews nor pay to suppress bad reviews. For this reason we declined your offer of paying you $650 to suppress the review you have submitted here. I also want to be clear that NEVER before have we had a theft from this villa nor have we since your departure. As with travelling in any country, we advise our guests to take precautionary measures such as locking doors & using safes provided to ensure a safe and enjoyable vacation. Below I have covered some points we feel address issues that have negatively impacted your stay. Report Missing KEYS Immediately On Check Out, we discovered a main door key was missing. We changed all the locks immediately. As standard we charge a fee of $150 for lost keys however, as a goodwill gesture we have waived this fee. Report Missing Items Immediately You reported you’d left your camera & sunglasses in a restaurant 2 days later. Hazel did everything she could to find these for you but without success. In cases like this, time is of the essence. At the end of your stay, you reported these same items were missing from the villa. Use Security Safes Provided: There are security safes provided in all our villas. We ask that you use the safes to store any valuables or cash. We are baffled that your children’s hidden wallets ($50 & $20) were raided when valuable electronics were left untouched. Contact your Property Manager At any point during your stay you can always contact your Property Manager who will gladly come to meet you. You requested a meeting a few hours before your late check out. Apologies I was not free to see you at that moment. Sadly 2 hours earlier I was in the office 10 mins away. Again, we are sorry for your negative experience but feel given the unusual circumstances of missing items, delay in reporting missing items, unreported missing key & the time you gave us to react to these issues, we really did have our hands tied somewhat. I hope I’ve managed to address your concerns here, & going forward you have many more exciting adventures filled with only good experiences
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Sacramento, CA U.S.A.

Amazing and tons of fun!

  • 5 of 5

We didn't want to ever leave this amazing country or our beautiful villa! It was centrally located in one of the most beautiful places we'd ever been, surrounded by jungle, visited by monkeys and a toucan one morning and just overall very relaxing and peaceful! We could have stayed forever! Amy and her staff were extremely helpful and set up all our side adventures; river rafting, ATV riding, hikes in the national park and just about anything we needed. There were wonderful restaurants close by, the beach just minutes away and more to do than we had time to do it. We'd definitely recommend this villa to all of our family and friends!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful, relaxing, comfortable ..... very hard to leave!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Villa Monos Bailarines (House of Dancing Monkeys) for seven nights in January 2015. It was amazing! We should have stayed longer. My wife and I and three friends (two women and one male) all in our 60’s had a wonderful time at this beautiful property and surrounding area. Amy was very helpful with providing information and helping us to make our decision. Hazel was extremely helpful. We chose not to rent a car and relied on shuttle vans, local buses and taxis while in Costa Rica. Hazel arranged for a shuttle van to pick us up at our hotel in Alajuela and drive us to the house and met us on arrival. During our stay, she was always just a phone call or e-mail away whenever we had a question or needed something. Hazel also arranged tours for us and shuttles to our other locations. Everything was perfect. The vehicles were comfortable, safe and the drivers and guides very professional and accommodating. The house is in a very quiet and private area. The pool and patio were terrific and the house was very clean and comfortable. Two bedrooms are in the main house on the second floor. The master bedroom was spacious and comfortable for my wife and I. The second bedroom had two beds which were excellent for our two women friends. A very large shared deck off the bedrooms was perfect for the girls to do their morning yoga or just sit and enjoy the peace. Our male friend stayed in the small private cottage that is very close. All bedrooms were excellent and had air conditioning. Everything worked well and was as advertised. There are 50 steps down a stone staircase from the parking lot to the house but the walk is worth the trip up and down. It is an easy ~7 minute walk down the road to the main road where you can catch a bus or flag a cab to either Quepos or Manual Antonio. There are 4 very good restaurants within a 5 to 15 minute short pleasant walk. The house has a phone so cabs can be called. There are many other excellent restaurants within a short cab ride away. It is a safe area and the local people are very friendly and helpful. Hazel, if you happen to read this, thank you so much for all your help.

Ken, Winnipeg, Manitoba

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Ottawa, Canada

Luxurious high quality rental

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at House of the Dancing Monkeys with two families including 3 teenagers. The two villas are tastefully furnished, spotless and have a well equipped kitchen for cooking up some great holiday meals. We had access to the laundry facilities which was very convenient.

Our concierge was very helpful booking tours for us, helping us navigate in Quepos and Manual Antonio and giving us tips about local culture and customs. The villas were well maintained with very regular cleaning, pool and maintenance staff attending to every detail. We had regular visits from monkeys who entertained us with their playful antics.

We didn't have a car but were able to easily get to Manual Antonio and Quepos by local bus. Also, the tour companies booked by our concierge picked us up in air conditioned vans at the door of the villa. Overall, it was an exceptional holiday rental for two families. We were very impressed with the attentive service, high quality furnishings and amenties and lovely outdoor patio with dipping pool, barbeque and gorgeous dining area. Thanks to the staff at House of the Dancing Monkeys for making our 1 week stay so pleasurable. Will definitely recommend this villa to friends, family and colleagues.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
160 Kilometres
Juan Santamaria Airport (SJO)
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
70 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Routa 27
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
2.5 Kilometres
Manuel Antonio Beach /Manuel Antonio National Park
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

El Cerro Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Green Season 2016
Aug 27 2016 - Nov 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 25 2016
7 night minimum stay
Mid Season 2016
Nov 26 2016 - Dec 20 2016
3 night minimum stay
Christmas 2016
Dec 22 2016 - Dec 27 2016
6 night minimum stay
New Year 2016/17
Dec 28 2016 - Jan 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.0%

Additional Rates:

Presidents Week 2016 - $ 2,695
Easter Week 2016 - $ 2,575
contact us: | us tel: +1.646.895.7871 | cr tel: +506.2777.6846

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


El Cerro Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , En Suite to Bedroom #1
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , En Suite to Bedroom #2
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , En Suite to Bedroom #3
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Suite #1
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 2 x Twin beds lock together to form a King
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Master Suite #3
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties