Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Warm, Welcoming, Nicely Appointed And Steps To The Beach

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 baths, kitchen, dining area, livingroom. 1200 sq ft

As owners, we are adamant about clean. This could be your home away from home at the beach. Just bring yourself, your clothes and your food (or enjoy nearby restaurants). You will find this apartment to be well maintained. With 1200 square feet, you will have room to spread out.

Linens and towels are provided. In the living room there is a flat screen television, an electric fireplace, and comfortable seating. Each of the bedrooms has a comfortable queen bed as well as plenty of closet and drawer space. The kitchen is well appointed for those who enjoy cooking. There is a washer and dryer in the laundry area. The entry provides easy access with no stairs. A second door opens on to a patio and large lawn surrounded by trees and shrubs. From the front door, walk along a short path to the private stairs to miles of public beach. This is parking for 3 cars.

More Details

Owner
Helene Spitzer and Judy Clark
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2017

Why Helene Spitzer and Judy Clark chose Coastal Oregon

For over 30 years we have been visiting the Oregon Coast. We had stayed in a lot of places over that time. For over 30 years we looked a the possibility of purchasing a coastal property. In approximately 2009 we were introduced to this property. We stayed here, loved it and made it the 'go to' place. In 2013 the previous owners told us they were going to sell. We were just in the right place at the right time. Our coastal dream has become a reality.

What makes this apartment unique

Location, location. We have a very short path to steps to 7 miles of beach. Located just 2 miles from Yachats, we have ready access to great restaurants and shops. Cape Perpetual is just 4 miles south where we can hike to our hearts delight. Waldport is just 6 miles north where we rent a boat and go crabbing. We are central to the Newport Aquarium, the Sea Lion Caves and many light houses.

check out: http://yachatsoregon.org/ and https://goyachats.com

Map

Nearest Golf
22 Miles
Sandpines
Nearest Motorway
75 Metres
Highway 101 N
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
miles of sandy beach
Car: necessary

Yachats is known as the 'Gem of the Oregon Coast'. Per Wikipedia: Yachats is a small coastal city in Lincoln County, Oregon, United States. According to Oregon Geographic Names, the name comes from the Siletz language, and means 'dark water at the foot of the mountain'. There is a range of differing etymologies, however. William Bright says the name comes from the Alsea placename. At the 2010 census, the city's population was 690. In 2007, Budget Travel magazine named Yachats one of the 'Ten Coolest Small Towns of the U.S.A.', and Yachats was chosen among the top 10 U.S. up-and-coming vacation destinations by Virtualtourist. In 2011, Arthur Frommer, founder of Frommer's Travel Guides, listed Yachats number seven among his ten favorite vacation destinations in the world.

Enjoy quaint shops, fine restaurants, a wonderful bakery, a brew and farm store and more. Heceta Head and Yaquina Lighthouses are close by. Nearby Cape Perpetua offers amazing views, a visitor center with informational programs, access to tide pools and hiking. Sea Lion Caves are a short drive. Nearby Waldport offers crabbing, clamming and fishing. Boat rentals are available form McKinley Marina.

From your front door simply walk along a path and go down private stairs to miles of public beach (clamming is possible). Newport (just 22 miles) has a Historic Bayfront (shops, restaurants, fresh fish and live crab in season), a marina chartes for deep sea fishing and whale watching, and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. Many art galleries within minutes. Many hiking trails are available close-by.

Amenities

Yachats Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , main bath accessible to all guests
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , opens to both bedroom 2 and
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , shares bath # 2 with bedroom # 2
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , shares bathroom # with bedroom # 2
  • queen bed with bathroom down the hall
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
Notes:
there is a port-a-crib available

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Warm, Welcoming, Nicely Appointed And Steps To The Beach
average rating of 4.75 based on 28 reviews
5

Beautiful piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5

The house was secluded and steps away from amazing beach. My elderly parents were able to easily maneuver the home. It was welcoming, clean and we felt right at home. Only one drawback- we could hear the people and dogs upstairs during day it was fine- night time was a little annoying. No other complaints. Can't wait to stay there again. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Yellowstone National Park, WY
5

Comfortable Stay for humans and dogs

  • 5 of 5

This was an excellent place to stay, close to a quiet beach. We had a couple dogs with us who enjoyed walking the beach. Tile floor was easy to clean, though definitely bring slippers as it is chilly on bare feet! WiFi is weird and somewhat slow as I was trying to complete schoolwork, so I had to let my professor know the assignment would be late. Kitchen has everything you could need and plenty of dishes.

I would definitely recommend this home to anyone looking for a quiet, comfortable stay away from the throngs in Lincoln City.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Aaron. We are glad you enjoyed yourself. We agree about the quiet of our environment vs the area up north. I am sorry to hear you had a challenge with the internet. Charter must have been having an issue. Our usual speed is 55 Mbps. We hope you will visit again! Judy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, Great house!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I enjoyed a wonderfully relaxed week at your home on the coast. Everything we needed was here, including the peace and quite! Thank you for a pleasant get-away location.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean spacious property

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay here. The grass yard was great for the dogs and a short walk on the trail to the beach. The stairs were sturdy and strong. The beach was long and expansive. We want to come back and explore more of the Yachats area and trails. The playground at Yachats was wonderful for the grandson and just a couple mile drive south of the property.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kathy, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We welcome 4-legged family members. Why would you leave home and 'have' to leave a member behind. We understand that not all dogs are travelers, but when they are, they should get to go if you want. Yachats and surrounds is great for kids. Tide pools, the aquarium, the visitor center at Cape Perpetua State Park, Light Houses, The Sea Lion Caves and just playing in the sand on the beach. We hope when you return, you will choose The SeaHorse again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice down stairs

  • 2 of 5

Think this could be a nice place if the renter upstairs had no children. Light was pour in the dinning area for games and doing craft activities. Kitchen small but usable.

Things sometimes happen: Upstairs bathroom pipe broke and drained on lower unit we were in. Maintenance took a long time to arrive after saying he would arrive in 1/2 hour. We had to mop floor up with towels, no mop could be found.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kathye, Ouch! our first 2 rating. We regret you were inconvenienced by the broken pipe. Our maintenance person does the best he can to respond to emergencies. We did ask the upstairs guests to refrain from using the shower so that you would not be further inconvenienced. We do not provide a mop because we do not expect guests to clean. Re: children. In our 3 1/2 years of ownership, this is the first time this reported to be a problem (including us staying downstairs with kids upstairs). I am glad this only lasted for 2 of your 5 night stay. There is really a pretty amazing 3 stage sound combatting system (3 layers: ceiling-space-solid layer-space to the floor above). They must have been exceptionally loud children...so sorry. Regarding the light. We do provide a floor lamp which can be moved to the table or any other place you need more light. We hope you enjoyed our great rates. We hope you liked the fact we could be responsive regarding your request to adjust your dates for your stay. We try to accommodate guests and make their stay seamless. We obviously fell short here. Again, we apologize.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The accommodations were exactly what I expected.

  • 5 of 5

The place was so clean and had everything we needed. The owners were incredibly nice when I spoke to them!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. We are glad it was all you had hoped. Please do return!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $75
Pet Fee $25

Special winter monthly rate. November 1 - February 28 $2000 includes weekly cleaning.
holiday rates Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years 3 night minimum. $150 per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.