check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Kristine Peterson

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Beachfront condo in Ma'alaea!

17 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Maui Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 bed, 1 bath, oceanfront condo in the heart of Ma'alaea!

Our condo is DIRECT OCEANFRONT, BEACHFRONT! You can't get any closer to the ocean than our condo! Maalaea village is a gem with its central location and its fantastic trade winds. They provide a cooling breeze that keeps the temperatures just right, we also have a timer controlled A/C just in case the cross breeze in the unit isn't enough for you. Ceiling fan in the living room too.

From the lanai, gaze out and watch the sun rise over Haleakala (House of the Sun), the long dormant 10,000 foot volcano. Watch green sea turtles bobbing up for air and rolling in the surf, even sunning themselves on the beach. In the winter months (Nov-April) you will have a front row seat to breaching whales as they come back to the islands to give birth and nurse their young in the warm Hawaiian waters. In the summer months during a good south swell, you can watch surfers on the legendary surf break “Freight Trains”, the world’s fastest surfable wave.

We welcome families and children we provide a pack and play, high chair and beach toys upon request to make your trip over easier and lighter! We can also provide a queen size air mattress if you need any extra sleeping arrangements. Just ask.

Beautifully landscaped grounds with the solar heated pool and Jacuzzi, it will make any stress you have brought with you melt away. Slip into to the pool and enjoy the ocean view while you relax in the Maui sun.

The kitchen has a Sub-Zero refrigerator, Dacor oven and is fully equipped with cooking utensils, pots, pans, blender and all of the other basic supplies to comfortably enjoy cooking and eating in. There is also a great BBQ area oceanfront so you can enjoy the view while you cook up some delicious food!

Our Master Suite is styled to resemble a luxury hotel. We use 100% white cotton 550 thread count sheets, king size pillow top mattress king size down pillows (hyper allergenic upon request). You will be climbing into heaven after a day of exploring our stunning island.

Our bathrooms are beautifully tiled with a clean updated and stylish look. 100% cotton white bath towels and hand towels are of course provided.

Enjoy a meal on the private lanai or just sit out and enjoy the view with some Maui grown coffee.

At the end of our cul-de-sac is Sugar Beach, 3-4 minute walk from the unit, the longest stretch of sandy beach on Maui. 5 miles of secluded sand to walk, run and beachcomb. You won’t find any crowds here because access to the beach is protected from the road by the bird-filled-ponds of Kealia Wildlife Refuge. It is so amazing to walk this beach and literally feel like you have it all to yourself!

A 5 minute walk in the opposite direction takes you to Maalaea Harbor where you will find a small grocery store, deli, craft market, restaurants and the Maui Ocean Center (Maui’s #1 tourist attraction), the Pacific Whale Foundation, miniature golf, shopping and most of the ocean activities available on Maui (sunset dinner cruises, deep sea fishing, snorkeling tours & whale watching).

Centrally located Maalaea, makes getting anywhere on the island easy. 15 minutes from the airport, a 5 minute drive south and you are in the long village of Kihei and a bit further, the resorts of Wailea. Twenty minutes to the west is the old whaling village of Lahaina, with it’s magnificent Banyan Tree and shopping galleries. You couldn’t be in a better location to explore all Maui has to offer.

Other perks include:

~Beach towels

~Beach chairs

~Beach umbrella

~Cooler

~Free parking

~Free WiFi

~Washer and Dryer inside the unit

~50" Flatscreen tv

~Blue Ray Player

~2 Kayaks to launch off of the back yard (24 hour advance request with a signed waiver)

Plan on packing personal toiletry items. Since we supply the initial supply of paper towels, toilet paper, and other dispensable items to get you started on your vacation, you should plan a trip to the grocery store to replenish these items, as you need them.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kristine Peterson (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Why Kristine Peterson chose Maui

Ma’alaea Banyans is an oceanfront complex located in the Ma’alaea Harbor with breathtaking views of Lana’i, just 20 steps away from the waters edge. The property has a pool, jacuzzi and BBQ area that overlooks the ocean.

What makes this condo unique

You can watch the whales play from your living room or even better, on your lanai while enjoying the beautiful view of dormant Haleakala.

Reviews

4.1
based on 17 traveler reviews

Beachfront condo in Ma'alaea!
average rating of 4.0588236 based on 17 reviews
bernardsville, NJ
5

Excellent Condo, View and Owner

  • 5 of 5

Great location and a great view. The beach is a few feet away and you can wash your sandy feet off as there is a faucet outside. We saw multiple turtles right off the beach. Bird watchers can see many different species. The rooms are amazing and the bed is extremely comfortable. Lanai view was awesome and there are many nice flowers near the complex.

The condo was spotless and Kristine is a wonderful person to work with. 5 stars out of 5!

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Like a little slice of heaven!

  • 5 of 5

Wow, where to begin! This property is a true gem. It is well equipped, furnished beautifully, and in a GREAT location on the island. It is centrally located and is a short drive to most anything (the harbor with all the ocean activities, great restaurants, shopping, other island attractions). The neighbors are kind and quiet. The parking lot always had plenty of space. The views of the bay and the mountain are incredible (the pictures hardly do it justice)! It's steps from a private beach where sea turtles regularly frequent (a highlight of our trip for sure). The owner, Kristine, is a top-notch person who is honest, welcoming, helpful, generous, and responsive. If we come to Maui again (which after the amazing time we had there, we would most definitely love to) we want to stay in this exact same condo! I can't rate the experience high enough! A+

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Somewhat satisfactory. See comments.

  • 3 of 5

A few things were noticed upon arrival. A broken lamp shade, a smoke alarm missing and a large chip in glass stove top. Shade and alarm were addressed. Unit was clean, but looked like some remodeling was unfinished. Also the only TV was in the bedroom. Not very convenient for watching the Super Bowl!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, We are sorry the tv in the bedroom was an inconvenience but we advertise it that way in our listing so it shouldn't have been a surprise, we want everyone to be happy while staying with us. I will change the listing to make it more clear. We have several units on Maui and we like to shake it up a little, we try to understand not everyone likes the same thing. Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice location and view - condo could use some TLC

  • 3 of 5

The Ma'Alaea Banyans condo is located in a great part of Maui, with a great ocean view and a short five-minute walk to the Sugar beach - we really enjoyed this convenient access to a beautiful, quiet beach area - a *great* place for long, relaxing walks. The grounds also featured a nice little pool and hot tub, and was generally pretty quiet and relaxing, even during the very busy holiday week.

If you're spending most of your time sight-seeing, this location is a great little spot for a home base, with a fairly short drive to the sights especially compared to Lahaina or Wailea. We enjoyed a fantastic cruise with Trilogy at the nearby Ma'Alaea Harbor, and drove to several other activities, such as a snorkeling tour with Kayak Olowalu and zipline at the Maui Tropical plantation. We also drove to the Lavender farm to enjoy the gorgeous views. In the evenings, we would eat at one of the many restaurants in Kihei or Wailea. The harbor area has a convenience store for getting ice and other small necessities, in case you don't want to make a longer trip to the Safeway or Whole Foods stores.

The condo itself needs a little TLC in several ways - several of the lamps' lightbulbs were burned out (which made it very dark in the evenings), the bathroom seemed to be missing several towel holders (you could see where they used to be, but they had obviously fallen off or had been removed but never replaced), the ceiling lights in the bathroom appeared to have paint peeling off around each light, and the corner of the Master Bedroom looked like there had been a bit of a leak or flood in the corner by the window.

The kitchen area is very pretty and served our purposes, which was to prepare a simple breakfast and make sandwiches for lunch now and then. However the bar area wasn't very comfortable to eat in since the bar stools were too high in comparison to the bar itself. Seating in the living room isn't super comfortable either, as the small chairs are more decorative than useful. We spent most of our time on the lanai, enjoying that fantastic ocean view.

If you need to do laundry, the washer (which is in the kitchen cupboard next to the sink) and the dryer (in the cupboard beneath the microwave) are both very quiet and efficient, and won't disturb you at all. Since there wasn't a dishwasher, we purchased paper plates and plastic cups to use, and that worked great.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Horrible

  • 2 of 5

We stayed there last week.

The good : decorated nice, nice view , has washer drier in room , area is close to a lot

The Bad : air conditioners do not work esp one in bed room, it was full of dust I could not stop coughing the whole stay, the building is gross literally I didn't want to say there while you walk up to your room in a very dark hallway, room didn't feel clean .

Overall for price I would have coughed up a few hundred bucks more and stayed in a hotel. On the beach . We tried to do this thinking we weren't going to be in the room at all which is true .

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, We are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced. In your welcome email and in the welcome book on the first page we ask that you look over your accommodations and if there is ANY problem no matter how small we ask you contact us within the first 24 hours and we will take care of it. I didn't hear from you but I truly wish you had called or emailed me because I can assure you both of your issues would have been handled immediately. We pride ourselves on how clean our rooms are and I personally take care of any issues within 24 hours of it being reported. This past month Maui has been experiencing record high heat and humidity (hottest since 1997) so if the air conditioning wasn't cooling as well as it should have I do apologize. I had an HVAC company come out and they looked the unit over and said its running great. He thinks it was just so hot that week it was having a hard time keeping up with the island heat. We are sorry and hope you had a great trip regardless of the hiccups! Thank you again for staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Quiet w/ a non-touristy feel.

  • 4 of 5

What a great place to have a laidback, peaceful, adult vacation. It was very quiet with no crowds and very few kids while I was there. I often had the little pocket of beach out front to myself. The pool area was quiet and clean. The condo decor is better than anything else I saw on VRBO and the kitchen was well supplied for cooking.

Ma'alaea is a great place to stay on the island because it's not super touristy and you can quickly and easily get to any other part of the island from there. I walked down the street and hung out at Haycraft Park beach which had a lot of local families playing and enjoying the day. And I walked multiple times to Ma'alaea General Store at the harbor for lunch and coffee.

Stay in Ma'alaea and just visit all the other areas. I went all over in my little rental car. The island is so easy to navigate! And here's a pro-tip for all of you who are wondering what in the world to do between 11 a.m. checkout and your evening flight : spend all morning at the beach and pool, then check out and go wander around the Maui Ocean Center at the harbor. Then grab lunch somewhere and in the afternoon make your way to the mall to catch a movie. By then you should be ready to go to the airport!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
OGG/Kahalui
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Several bars in walking distance
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Lahaina to Lanai
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Several Golf Courses under 15 min away
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Hi-30
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Several restaurants in walking distance
Nearest Beach
Sugar Beach, located at the end of the street
Car: recommended

Ma'alaea Banyans is located on the longest stretch of white beach in Maui and directly behind a turtle refuge. Here's some of our favorite activities: Golfing, Fishing, Hiking, Windsurfing, Paddle Boarding, Kayaking, Miniature Golf, Rock Climbing, Maui Ocean Center Aquarium, Snorkling, ATV Tours, Helicopter Ride.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Maalaea Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
OFF PEAK 2016
Apr 16 2016 - Nov 14 2016
1 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
PEAK SEASON 2016
Nov 15 2016 - Apr 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
OFF PEAK 2017
Apr 16 2017 - Nov 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
PEAK 2017
Nov 15 2017 - Apr 15 2018
5 night minimum stay
$225
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $150
Tax Rate 13.42%

Please no Change overs on July 4, Thanksgiving, Dec 24,25,31 or Jan 1 to allow our staff to enjoy holidays with their families.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Maui Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 555 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Quality 100% white cotton towels
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Quality 100% soft white cotton linens. We offer an air mattress for the living room for extra guests if you have them.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ma’alaea Banyans is an oceanfront complex located in the Ma’alaea Harbor with breathtaking views of Lana’i, just 20 steps away from the waters edge. The property has a pool, jacuzzi and BBQ area that overlooks the ocean. The condo is newly furnished with island chic home décor. Ideal for 2 people.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties