check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Jen & Don Colbert

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Enjoy the WV mountains, golf, hiking, fishing and new Alpine Lake resort pool.

12 Reviews
Sleeps15
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

West Virginia House Rental Photos and Description

Large Chalet in the West Virginia Mountains, the Perfect Place For Large Group

Discover for yourself relaxing in Chalet III in the West Virginia Alleghenies resort community of Alpine Lake... a secure award-winning community on 2,000 heavily wooded acres with a fish stocked 150-acre lake...all at 2,800' elevation. Just 18 miles from Deep Creek Lake and Wisp Ski Resort. Guests do not need a permit to fish on the resort's Alpine Lake. The chalet is close to lodge and is located next to golf course by the second fairway. Guests may use all the resort amenities. Nearby white water rafting on the Cheat River with Cheat River Outfitters.

During the winter months a groomed cross country ski trail awaits you as the golf course has been transformed. The trail passes behind the house on the second fairway.

The resort's 18-hole Alpine Lake golf course was chosen by Golf Traveler magazine as being a top-50 'scenic & friendly' destination in the U.S.

Chalet III was completely renovated in 2012, with new flooring, appliances, four fireplaces, an expansive gathering area on top floor with vaulted ceiling, skylights and a wet bar. Decks are on all sides of the chalet. Each bedroom has a private bath.

Extras: 4 person sauna, 4 fireplaces (2 wood burning/2 gas), fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher, microwave, washer & dryer, flat screen TVs, DVD, gas grill, rainfall shower, instant hot water, wet bar, reading nook with book collection, deck furniture, hammock, patio heater, game table, pool table, Pack N Play, and ironing board. Cable TV and DSL Wireless Internet. Other than the use of the gas grill, all outside burning is prohibited.

Check in time is 4 PM & check out time is 11 AM.

Minimum age requirement to rent is 25.

Alpine Lake is a resort where you can get away from it all, relax and enjoy the resort amenities.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jen & Don Colbert (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jen & Don Colbert

We lived in Maryland for many years and enjoy vacationing in West Virginia. Alpine Lake is a resort where you can get away from it all, relax and enjoy the resort amenities such as the beautiful golf course.

Jen & Don Colbert purchased this house in 2007

What makes this house unique

Renters are free to use all resort amenities to include the gym, tennis courts, pool, golf course, swimming beach at lake and the Alpine Lake club house.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Jennifer,



We had a great time this weekend at your Alpine Lake Chalet! What a beautiful place and it is so peaceful. The kids made use of the tennis courts, basketball, and the game room at the lodge. We had a picnic at the beach and the younger ones enjoyed the water and sand. We all did a little fishing, hiking and enjoyed the pool table and games at your place. The guys played a round of golf. It was just so enjoyable sitting on the deck and watching the golfers go by. Thank you for providing us with such a nice place to get away for the weekend!



My Best,

Beth
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.2
based on 12 traveler reviews

Enjoy the WV mountains, golf, hiking, fishing and new Alpine Lake resort pool.
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 13 reviews
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
5

Golf Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Excellent

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for coming back each year! We're happy to hear you enjoy our home. Jen & Don
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

Thank you

  • 5 of 5

Thank you very much for opening your home to us. Everyone pulled me aside at one point during our stay and thanked me for finding such an "amazing home" to enjoy our time in WV. Everything worked out perfectly. Thank you again!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our home. We take a lot of pride in it and like to hear when families have enjoyed their stay. Jen & Don
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
1

House not ready to be rented - health issues

  • 1 of 5

While the booking process and checkin process was smooth, once we got to the house we found this:

- house was unfinished and seemed like it's in the middle of renovations with various closet/ storage doors not being able to close, unfinished paint, and lose wood on most doors

- OLD FURNITURE - cloth and suede sofas that accumulated dust from ages.

- Cleanliness not up to par - spider webs in most rooms roofs and floor corners. Kids were not able to sleep even after cleaning them myself. We told owners, they sent cleaning lady who came and said we can't clean until you leave.

- Old linens and pillows - dirty linens and old pillows. Not comfortable

- worn out mattresses - while a couple mattresses were bearable, rest were like sleeping on box spring

- overall lighting dim

- no blinds except in rooms

- No AC only heat. And humidifiers don't help

- Damp and mold smell on basement. And again humidifiers not helping

- no community pool as it was under construction

- the overall layout of the visit is a little maze-like. Not open model as you may interpret from pictures.

Overall If owner cleaned house linens spider webs and took care of dampness and mold, even then his should should br rented with care.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We tried our best to accommodate you during your stay. We even sent out the cleaning staff to take care of your requests immediately. Prior to renting homes in the future, please read what is offered in the VRBO advertisement so you are not disappointed. We don't have any health issues and find that comment slanderous. - The home was fully renovated 4 years ago, in damp weather in the woods of West Virginia, sometimes doors stick. - All our furniture was purchased new 3 years ago. - We sent our cleaning staff to address your needs. When we spoke on the phone you said they had. - The one spider web you pointed out to the cleaning staff was taken care of in your presence. - We have reviewed the linens and pillows and replaced those that were worn. - The mattresses are only 3 years old. Some are firm, as that is how we like them. - I have no response for your concern over dim lighting, we think it is fine. - That is correct, we have no blinds, except for in the bedrooms. There is no need for them. We can’t see the neighbors and prefer to look out through the large widows at nature. - We don’t have AC and do not advertise that we do. - Two humidifiers in the basement take the dampness out of the air. However on a rainy weekend, like the one you had, this home in the woods can feel damp. - We do not advertise a community pool. There is a roped off/life guarded swimming area at the lake. - If you look at the floor plans, you will see our home is an open concept.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 12
morgantown wv
1

health issues

  • 1 of 5

This house is in a great location and has excellent social space (great room, deck, etc). We thoroughly enjoyed that aspect of the house. However, the basement poses health risks. Mold was evident throughout. The room with the bunkbeds had no windows and no air flow (i.e. no A/C). The smell of mold was so strong that our family moved all the beds into the main basement room to sleep where there were windows. In addition, three of the bunk "beds" are actually box springs, so in effect, one of the bedrooms was entirely useless. The other bedrooms/bathrooms in the basement also had a strong musty smell and mold was present. Be advised if you plan to rent this house during the warmer/wetter months.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have gone through the home to ensure mold is not present and thoroughly re-cleaned just in case. We have replaced the bed and lamp that your guests broke.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 14
5

Ski Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for president's day weekend and it was the perfect chalet for a group of 15 friends to spend the holiday together. Some of us went skiing at Wisp, only 18 miles away, while some of us enjoyed the cross country skiing available right at Alpine Lake resort. The chalet was well furnished and equipped to house all 15 of us. We fit everyone in the living room to watch a movie and we had enough chairs in the dining room for meals together. It was beautiful decorated and extremely well kept - you could also tell everything was also very recently refurbished, which was a plus.

The chalet is at a bottom of a hill and caused us some problems when it had snowed - I'd recommend driving a car with all wheel drive or 4 wheel drive.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0
4

Family Get Away ( Dec )

  • 4 of 5

First of all we enjoyed our time at the cabin. As my wife and i carried our children into the cabin first thing i noticed that the basement floor are very dirty. We looked for a broom so we are comfortable with our children playing on the floor. ( the only broom we found all weekend was straw broom off porch ). The grill works great. The cabin is nice and cozy. We loved all the bathrooms. ( the handy man did a awesome job our oven didn't work and he had it fixed in few hours.) this is the only reason this isn't a 3 star review.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your vacation. We are very fortunate to have a local maintenance man on call 24/7. We apologize for the floors and will talk to our cleaning crew to ensure it doesn't happen again. We hope to see you back at Chalet III.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Morgantown WV
Nearest Barpub
Alpine Lake Resort Lodge
Nearest Golf
Alpine Lake Resort
Nearest Restaurant
Alpine Lake Resort Lodge
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Wisp Resort
Nearest Beach
Alpine Lake Resort
Car: necessary

The chalet is located in Alpine Lake Resort near Terra Alta, West Virginia. Guests enjoy full resort amenities. 18 miles from Wisp and Deep Creek.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Terra Alta House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
Jul 2 2016 - Aug 27 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,650
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
$1,650
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 12.0%

You must be 25 years of age to rent the property. If you can not show a valid government i.d. with your age at check in your reservation will be cancelled and you will forfeit 100% of your rental fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

West Virginia House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5436 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Upstairs Bathroom - toilet
    Upstairs Master - toilet , shower , Rain shower
    Downstairs Bathroom - toilet
    Bathroom in Bedroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom in Bedroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom in Bedroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 4 - 3 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Property owners and guests may enjoy Alpine Lake Resort lake beach and boat house access, tennis, pickleball, and basketball on our newly renovated courts however, they may find it difficult to concentrate on the game with the spectacular mountain and lake views. Four tennis courts are available for your enjoyment as well as a covered picnic area and horseshoe pits.

Partner Offers