Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Renovated Cabin. Modern Amenities. Pet Friendly with Fenced Yard.

Bedrooms 2
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Fireplace
  • Hot Tub
  • children welcome


About the property

2 bedroom cottage across from lake. Hot Tub, WiFi, 2 High Def TV's, Cable.

Enjoy lake views from our recently renovated cabin, just steps from the lake, one mile from the village, and three miles from Snow Summit.

The cabin combines the comfort of a high-end home with the charm of a mountain retreat.

Ask about military, honeymoon, and fall discounts.

----- COMFORT -----

*Hot Tub

*Master bedroom with King bed and high-definition television.

*Fully fenced backyard.

*High speed WiFi.

*Central heat.

*Keurig Coffee Maker (please remember to bring K-Cups!)

*Propane BBQ.

*Linens and towels.


----- CHARM -----

*Lake Views from the living room and front bedroom.

*Original wood floors, freshly sanded and refinished.

*Tongue and groove plank ceilings.

*Professionally decorated, with new couches and beds and arts and crafts era handmade wood furnishings.


*40" wall mounted, flat screen, high definition television in the living room with Premium Cable (no movie packages) and TiVo DVR recorder.

*32' wall mounted, high definition, flat screen, television in the master bedroom. Bedroom television does not have cable but does have Amazon Prime and Netflix.

*Netflix and Pandora stream to both televisions.

----- COZY BEDROOMS -----

The cabin comfortably sleeps four adults.

The master bedroom (in the rear) has a King bed, high definition television, and overlooks the back yard.

The front bedroom has a Queen bed and partial lake view.

The living room has a double sleeper sofa.

To ensure the comfort of all guests, 4 person maximum occupancy.

Cleanliness is important to us! Mattresses and pillows are encased in protective/hypoallergenic covering that gets bleached regularly, then covered with sheets and pillow cases that are also bleached between each visit.

If you need extra sheets for any reason, please let me know. There are extra sheets stored throughout the house and we are happy to point you to them.


The kitchen has been fully upgraded, with new appliances, granite counter tops, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. The cabinets are stocked with pots, pans, plates and bowls, flatware, and baking tools. The dining table seats four with the leaf extended (extra chairs are stored under the bed in the front bedroom or can be brought in from the backyard).

----- PETS WELCOME -----

We warmly welcome your friendly pets at no additional cost. The back and side yards are fully fenced. The cabin is just steps from the lake.

We apologize, but for liability reasons we require that all dogs stay in the house, in the yard, or on leash. Aggressive dogs are prohibited.

*** For larger parties, we are pleased to offer the adjacent property, the Bears' Lair!!! ****

VRBO Listing # 892145

Discounts available if you book both properties.

If you have any concern about whether the Snow Den is large enough for your party, then we strongly recommend the Bear's Lair!


If you are interested in using a boat for all or part of your stay, please inquire about our 2016 Malibu Wakesetter VLX with surfgate and extra ballast (awesome for wakesurfing).

Boat rental is $300/hour (2 hour minimum) and subject to the availability of our captain (boat cannot be rented without captain on board). Rental price includes driver, use of equipment (wakeboard, wakesurf board, inner tube, life jackets, ropes, etc.), and gas. Full release of liability is required.


Open flames of any sort- including but not limited to bonfires or fire pits- are illegal and strictly prohibited. We will cooperate with local police and fire departments in prosecuting any guest who violates this. We want to keep our home, and our neighbors' homes, safe.

We do not warranty that household electronics, including the hot tub, will work. We have many guests and some are not as careful as you would be with these items. If something is not working we will try to replace it as soon as possible, but we are not able to offer further refunds. If something major breaks (hot tub, stove, refrigerator, wifi, living room television) we will also give you 20% off your next visit or allow you to cancel the remainder of your stay at no charge.

We do not have full time staff. If the cabin is out of toilet paper, please buy some and we will happily reimburse you. If the BBQ is out of propane, please take the tank to the 711, have it refilled, and we will reimburse you. If we are out of salt . . .well, you get the idea. We try to keep the cabin well stocked, but we cannot promise it will be restocked on a regular basis. What we can promise is we will reimburse for anything you buy for the house and will respond quickly to any issues.


If you are a licensed contractor or other licensed building professional, we are looking for someone to install a fence at our neighboring property and would be happy to trade a week at the cabin for the work (we pay for material).

If you have a vacation rental in Santa Barbara, Las Vegas, Park City, Hawaii, London, Paris, or any other awesome destination, please inquire about housing swaps! We are open to adding additional payment to make the swap work.

----DISCOUNTS ----

10% discount for active military.

Third night free (subject to availability) for a pre- or post deployment visit; if you let us know when booking, we are happy to offer a free night when available as a thank you for your service. If we don't have availability, or you don't have time, let us know anyway and we will figure something out.


To prevent fraud and eliminate any ambiguity about the content of discussions, we require that all communication be in writing through the VRBO messaging application and/or by text message (if by text message, please specify the property about which you are messaging us). If you have an emergency that requires immediate communication with us, please text us. Please do not contact us using the number posted on the house as that number does not receive texts and phone calls go to our local contact, not the owners. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 30, 2017

About Christina

Alex and Christina live on the beach in Los Angeles with their three Siberian Huskies. They met in law school, got engaged 9 months later, and have been married since 2004. Alex enjoys snow boarding and surfing and is passionate about conservation. He is actively involved with several animal rescue organizations, with a particular focus on elephants. Christina grew up in the Tahoe foothills, but, at 36, is still learning to ski. She loves reading and going to the spa, and completed her first marathon in 2014.

Christina purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Christina chose Big Bear

No one wants to vacation in a grubby or dated house. The Snow Den has been newly renovated, with all new appliances, high end furnishings, resort-style amenities, and up-to-date technology. The cabin's rustic charm was preserved by restoring the original wood floors, adding tongue and grove ceilings, and furnishing the house with locally made wood furnishings.

A special note for families with pets:

We are pet-friendly people and this is a pet-friendly house.

The backyard is fully fenced. We do not charge a pet fee. The house is close to the lake, which is a real treat for dogs who enjoy chasing birds and splashing (we recommend an extendable leash to keep everyone safe; it's all fun and games until a bird gets hurt). We do NOT recommend this house for families with allergies to dog fur, since it is a dog friendly home. The cabin is also less than a mile from a snowy hill and park that is great for hiking.

What makes this cottage unique

Dog friendly with fully fenced back yard

Available for rent with neighboring property for large groups!

Walking distance to the lake, with lake views.

One mile from the village.

Three miles from Snow Summit.

Fully modernized, with new appliances and furnishings; high definition, wall mounted televisions; Tivo; Wii; and high speed WiFi.

Optional boat rental, at almost half the price charged by local marinas in a newer and faster ski and wakeboard boat.


Honeymoon package: $1,250 for one week, includes champagne and couples massage (fall and spring rate).

Lake Package: $1,500 for one week, includes use of Malibu VLX for half day (subject to availability of captain).

***Prices subject to availability and do not include tax. Offers not available on peak weekends or holidays***


Big Bear Lake Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View
  • Rural
  • Village ...
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Front Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Rear bedroom with King memory foam bed and high definition television. Front bedroom with Queen bed and partial lake view.
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
In home massages can be arranged for an extra fee- just ask! Wakeboard/water ski boat available for rental. Larger parties, please inquire about our neighboring rental, the Bears' Lair!


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

Renovated Cabin. Modern Amenities. Pet Friendly with Fenced Yard.
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 55 reviews

cozy cabin

  • 2 of 5

The cabin was nice but the TV's were not working. I was interested in the cabin because I wanted my dogs to be able to play in the snow in a yard and I relax and watch TV. We arrived at 4 on Friday and the TV's were not fixed until 11:15am the next morning. The directions on how to use them are in correct as well.

The yard was nice and secure and the dogs and kids had fun I was just expecting that the cabin would have been in full working order before we arrived.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Rebecca- We are sorry we were not able to accommodate your request for a full night's refund because the prior guest had moved the HDMI cord from the living room into the bedroom. We had hoped that rushing over a replacement HDMI cord the next day, after you told us you wouldn't even know what one looked liked, would be enough to salvage your trip, but from the many unsuccessful demands for a refund you have made to us and VRBO, we understand that asking you to move a cord from one room to another was a significant burden. We were surprised, however, to read that neither television worked because you wrote us that same day that your brother had enjoyed watching Netflix on the bedroom television. Next time, we would suggest you stay at a hotel as they do tend to be more generous with the sorts of discounts you seemed to want. Thank you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Big Bear Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a nice time at this cabin with our 2 large dogs that we decided to stay an extra day! Everything was so charming and comfortable. We spent most of our time hiking, walking with the dogs by the lake & sledding. It was so wonderful to come home and relax in the jacuzzi while looking at the stars. We also used the outdoor BBQ, which needed a little cleaning, but worked perfectly! We will absolutely come back to visit this cabin again!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming and well-maintained house

  • 5 of 5

Nothing but positive things to say about this cabin. We're a family of four (two young kids) traveling with two dogs, and it was the perfect space for our needs. The house was warm and cozy and supplied everything we needed. The location is great (close enough to the commercial drag and Big Bear Village that we would have walked there had we not been traveling with young kids, but far enough away to be peaceful. We arrived the day after a massive snowstorm and found the driveway plowed and easy to navigate.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Snow Storm Affected Our Stay

  • 4 of 5

The Snow Den Cabin is absolutely as described. It is comfortable and clean. However, the recent storm last weekend made for a treacherous endeavor to get up the long narrow driveway. There are literally four to five foot snowbanks on either side and no room to turn around at the top where the cabin is. My husband would have to back down each time we left the cabin. In addition to the driveway, the back yard has four to five foot of snow in it as well. I brought steaks to bbq, but I never saw the bbq under the snow. Even the table and chairs had a foot of snow on top of them. My husband, son and nephew did enjoy the hot tub after snowboarding for the day.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great little cabin.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time in our snow den. After the snow, the next morning there were bear paw prints outside of the house, very cool. Just the right size for a small family. Thank you, Joe.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun Time and Cozy Place

  • 5 of 5

Place was clean and cute. Everything you need just like home is there. The owners even made sure we were ok when a snow storm came through during our stay. They offered to help us if we needed help during the storm. They went above and beyond.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Big Bear Lake Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

*Saturday night visits must be accompanied by another night (either Friday or Sunday) at the weekend rate. The third night is priced at the standard weekly rate. If you want to make a Saturday and Sunday night reservation, we add an additional charge (normally $100 or $149) to the room rate for Sunday night to convert it into a weekend night. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Friday and Saturday night visits are, by default, priced properly.

*Please notify us if you are a repeat visitor; we are happy to waive the deposit for return guests.

*$400 deposit required for guests under 26; contact us for exceptions.

*Reservations not secured until first payment is made.

*Minimum Stay:
3 Night - MLK, President's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day & July 4
4 Night - Thanksgiving
5 Night- Christmas, New Year's

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Nearest Airport
58 Miles
Ontario Airport
Nearest Golf
5.6 Miles
Big Bear Mountain Golf
Nearest Ski
3.1 Miles
Snow Summit
Car: recommended


Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties