Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Luxurious penthous maisonette with 2 sun decks, sea view

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,184 sq. ft.
Property type apartment


About the property

120 m², 2 terraces, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large living/dining room, metro

The very well-lit 120 m2 roof deck apartment offers space for up to 6 people. Here we are dealing with an apartment with attractive paintings and a modern, but cozy atmosphere. The apartment was completely luxuriously renovated in 2004. There is an elevator. From two secluded roof decks with southern fora, you can enjoy a stunning view above the roofs of Barcelona and the newest architectural attraction, the Torre Agbar, and the Mediterranean Sea. 3 bedrooms: the 3 rooms have day light and are located on the upper level.

Siegbert Herbach
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2018


Fort Pienc Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1184 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Luxury
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • With 2 bathrooms, you can get ready quicker in the morning. The larger bathroom on the top floor offers a spacious shower and a sink, WC and different storage options. The 2nd smaller bathroom is equipped with a shower, sink and WC. On the lower floor of the apartment you will find the kitchen and a stylish and modernly furnished dining and living room. Her you will find a cozy sofa for 4 people and 3 comfortable chairs and high-quality antique and modern furniture. A satellite TV and stereo with CD are available. A massive dining table for 6 people offers a view of the patio and the sea and provides for sociable and loving atmosphere.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
  • Bedroom 1 has a cozy double bed and its own satellite TV. Bedroom 2 has 2 single beds, a large, mirrored wardrobe and also its own TV. Bedroom 3 with a pull-out sofa for 2 extra people. Room 2 and 3 offer entrance to the upper sunny patio. Their ceilings have a slight angle, because this is the upper apartment. The lower patio (accessible from the living/dining room) offers you the option of enjoying Spanish specialties in the middle of southern plants. Appropriate patio furniture is available. The large kitchen is completely equipped with everything that you need for your holiday. There are 2 luxuriously equipped bathrooms. The patio apartment is located on the top floor of the building in the city district Eixamples near the Sagrada Familia.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Sand Box
  • Terrace
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
The lower floor presents a stylish open-plan living/dining area, as well as the kitchen. You will find a comfortable sofa and armchair, a third TV with satellite, tiled floors and quality furniture. There is also a dining set so you may enjoy mealtimes indoors. If you prefer to eat outdoors you can enjoy the second terrace which has patio furniture and a variety of plants, accessible from the living room. The large kitchen is completely equipped with the things you need for a self-catering holiday. A short journey to the city centre will bring you to the excellent markets and delicatessens that Barcelona offers. There is a Metro station conveniently located right in front of the building, and it only takes around 8 minutes to get to Las Ramblas. There is a large corridor when you enter the apartment, ideal for keeping your luggage. Situated in a typical building of the area, in the attic with a lift.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(78 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
14% Complete
10% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Luxurious penthous maisonette with 2 sun decks, sea view
average rating of 4.576923 based on 78 reviews
San Francisco,CA USA

Nice apartment with issues

  • 3 of 5

Our biggest problem was that on arrival we were told that the parking was not in the building but that we had to find our own parking in a public garage. If you read in the general description of the unit it lists garage and also parking. We could not have known from that that we had to go and find our own. After a long ride and not speaking the language, this was not an easy task. We finally had to find street parking, feeding the meter until the next morning. All in all that was the worst part of our visit. Do not think you will have easy available parking. While the manager Danielle did try to advise us it did not work out very well.

Secondly the air conditioner on the second floor does not work properly. It was so hot upstairs that we ended up sleeping on the couch in the front room. Our other complaints were many of the same things we've read on other reviews, a shower downstairs where the door doesn't close properly so that there is water all over the floor and the most peculiar fix to a toilet seat that would not stay up. It was held up by a string and a pipe clamp. The apartment was clean, the size adequate and the location was great for visiting Sagrada Familia. Other sites required a taxi or metro ride.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

To be repeated!

  • 5 of 5

We want to thank Mr.Herbach for the wunderfull time we had at his apartment. The place was recomadated by some german friends we have who stayed there last year in December. We read the reviews and were actually a bit worried, as some are not so postive. Arriving though, we were welcomed by a very friendly person who explained us everything we needed for our stay. The area is also great, near the sagrada familia. The most stunning part we thought are the 2 terraces, yes the upper one only can be acsesed through a small window, but that we know is tipical in spain, also the lower ceiling, as this is an attic apartment. We now understand some of the reviews, cause maybe in some countries this concept is not very common, but we travel a lot, especially through spain, and are used to this tipical things, which makes everything for us more authentic,.To our releif everything was as our friends told us and as expected, maybe the sofa bed can be a bit uncomfortable as this is situated in a connecting room, but then again this is clearly explained on the website, so no hidden surprises. We really felt one af the locals and surelly will be back next year. Thanks Mr. Herbach.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This 'Penthouse Apartment' is far from luxurious.

  • 2 of 5

This 'Penthouse Apartment' is far from luxurious, I would rate it 2.5 stars. Our first impression was ok, it is in a reasonable location close to the metro and only 3 stops to the centre of Barcelona, there is a good supermarket across the road. When we entered the main foyer area there was a stale smell, not very pleasant at all, the apartment it's self is rather worn and grubby (not like the photos) and the sofa and cushions need a good clean to remove the stains. There are really only 2 bedrooms, one large room has been divided to make two so you have to walk through one to enter the other. There is a sun deck accessible from this bedroom through a small door but it is only approx. 1 metre high!!! So crawl through. The other divided bedroom has a sloping ceiling making it impossible to stand straight at one end if you are over 1.4 metres tall, but there was an air conditioner. Our friends stayed in these bedrooms and we had the other one, this room had two single beds pushed together and a large mirrored wardrobe, the room was very hot (no aircond here) the bed linen was cheap and worn, additional bedding was available but the pillows and sheets I wouldn't give to a charity, they should be thrown out. The bathroom upstairs was ok with a good shower, downstairs the shower was so small you had to leave the doors open to use it, the WC was in the corner ,the lid hit the wall so it would not stay upright and rested against your back. How they could ask us to pay a guarantee for this place is beyond us. There are better places in Barcelona, give this one a miss.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Regarding clients review; First of all it's not very pleasant to receive a review like this, especially taking in consideration that we are still waiting for a part of the rent. Client made reservation for 2pax, but at check in mentioned that they would have family coming over, which was not calculated for. Bedlinnen and towels was provided for 2. So the check in person had to improvise to provide client with more towels and bedlinnen. She had not counted on this so gave client for the extra pax the older towels and bedlinnen for the moment. It was then accorded that she would send the cleaning over with the new bedlinnen as soon as she was ready to pay the difference for the extra visitors. Unfortunatelly this we are still waiting! It's also not nice to read that client complaints about the features of the apartment. Everything , "lower ceiling, sun deck which is accesible through bedroom", is cleary explained in the "Features" at the web site, so I suggest that client reads better before making the reservation instead of complaining about things which are more then obvious. Then client complaints about the small bathroom that she had to leave the door open, of course as she had the whole door taken out! Normally we take part of the damage deposit for this matters, but as they claimed it was an accident, the check in person waived this, so quiet unpleasant to hear that she was surprised to even have to pay a guarantee as she didn't even paid the extra pax suplement. Obviously client is right in one thing, that "it gives better places in Barcelona", however, not for the price they paid! Before client came we had a 1 month reservation of a famous Canadian painter who stayed at my place, and was totally and utterly satisfied, but then again, she mentioned she would have family and friends visiting and paid for this, so she not had to make up a bad review to not have to pay the pending ammount!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Lewiston, New York

October, 9, 2016

  • 5 of 5

I rented Sigi's flat for the month of September and have only good things to say. For the first 2 weeks my family visited and for the last 2 weeks I spent many wonderful hours on the balcony doing watercolor painting. The location of the flat is in a nice, safe, residential district, but close to all of the wonderful sights to see in Barcelona. The LaSagrada Familia was a fantastic church that was an easy walk from the flat and one could never visit it enough to absorb its beauty. Barcelona is a beautiful destination and I would recommend staying in the flat to anyone. You will have all the amenities of home and gracious Danielle to help with any questions or concerns while you are there. Enjoy!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Not a luxurious penthouse!

  • 2 of 5

On line photo's do not do the place justice, obviously taken with a wide angled lens by a professional photographer wearing rose tinted spectacles to enhance the lack of space.

When finding the Appartment...we had no idea it was within a mini shopping centre and the smell leading from the entrance door into the lift and up to the Appartment door was awful.

Living area small but adequate, bedrooms as advertised are totally inadequate, the two smaller ones have a very low and sloping ceiling, this requires any normal sized adult to crouch when inside either room. Each of these bedrooms has one small floor level window, (approximately 1 metre by 0.6 metre) that leads out to the upper patio area, as these windows are the only means of access to the patio it requires any normal sized person to crawl on hands and knees to access the patio. Both bedrooms are also joined together requiring access through the first to reach the second, meaning a complete lack of privacy.

All bedrooms come with some bedding, usually single quilt covers and one bottom sheet, very minimal.

The stairs are very narrow with a part handrail at the bottom and top, but nothing in between when turning the tight corner. In our case we had to empty suitcases prior to ascending stairs due to this corner. Top handrail is fixed to the floor and wall but is very shaky. Of the two light fittings that light the stairway, one does not work and the other is switched on within the upper bathroom, which means negotiating the stairs in the dark first to switch this light on, or leaving the light on most of the time.

Entrance hall light did not work either, both lights reported on first day, no one turned up to fix them during the whole week.

When using the TV we could not access any channels on the cable network, leaving the normal free to air channels for viewing but infrequently channel not available is displayed on these.

Automatic shutter door from living room to patio does not work, this means light and noise enter if someone is sleeping on the camp bed here.

Neither shower doors, in the upper and lower bathrooms, close correctly.

Cleaning implements are inadequate, one mop, one dustpan, no broom however.

No kitchen sink plug

Would not recommend this apartment for anyone over forty years of age or 160mm in height, and obviously we would not be using this apartment again.

Very disappointed with this Appartment.

Sent from my

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So, as the owner of the property I like to comment on this as well, I was also totally shocked of what I found at the apartment. My check in agent refunded the damage deposit the night before, clients were very insisting on it, said it was due to their early morning flight, so as a courtesy she did, thinking all would be ok. She especificaly told the clients to wash the dishes and take out the garbage, unfortunately neither was done. When I came in the apartment the next day, garbage was spread out everywhere and none of the dishes were done, all piled up in the kitchen. Clients complained about not having a kitchen sink tap, but as the apartment has a dishwasher that doesn't make any sense, now we realised why, cause they broke the dishwasher. Technician came by the next week and found all pieces of broken glass threw out the whole conduct of the machine, so obviously that explains why dishes weren't done and the tap was just the excuse. Anyway I wish on forehand that I would have known what kind of people would have come so I never would have accepted them in the first place. I am renting my apartment through fewo/homraway for years now and never ever had a situation like this, it's really a pity though that they changed the concept regarding it's bookings, which implies no pre contact with the clients anymore before actual booking like that you can at least decided if clients are educated people or not. I really hope that none of the other owners have to keep up with clients like that, cause it's a real shame and it cost me a lot of stress have the apartment ready for the next reservation, beside the fact of all the lies they tell in order to justify their misbehaviour. The strangest thing is that my check in agent received a mail from clients during their stay writing that everything was wonderful at the apartment......??!!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
London, UK

Good view in Barcelona

  • 4 of 5

Everything is as listed in the description, but be aware the attic room ceiling is very low. The 2 smaller attic bedrooms are connected, so also be aware there is not really any privacy as you have to walk through bedroom #3 from bedroom #2 to get out to the hallway. There is a single rollaway bed downstairs. The master bedroom was a reasonable size, just off the hallway from the bath.

One full bath is upstairs with all the bedrooms and the other is downstairs off the reception.

You are on the top floor of the building and the view is very nice.

The lobby of the building that you have to walk through to the elevator smells like dog pee and we had to hold our noses each time.

The lady who manages the apartment was out of town and had a friend meet us and give the keys.

We had no complaints about the apartment other than it was very hot and we were instructed not to use the main a/c unit. The previous renters had reported it leaking water, so we were asked not to use it so as not to cause damage to the apartment. Since it was the weekend, they were unable to get the unit repaired during our stay.

There is a small a/c unit upstairs, but it struggled to cool the one small bedroom, and did nothing for the other bedrooms or the downstairs area. Since it was so hot, leaving the windows open was no help.

We asked about compensation, but were told by the friend that we'd have to get in touch with the manager by email and ask her.

Later, after we returned home, the manager wrote and told us there was confusion, that we were not told we could not use the a/c. That it still worked, just leaked water. This is not the case. We were asked not to use it because of the leaking water and the fact that it could damage the apartment. We were trying to be good tenants and not cause any damage to the owner's property.

The shower stall in the downstairs bathroom leaked water all over the floor, so we all used the upstairs bath for showering. We notified the manager of this issue as well.

Mr. Herbach has offered us a free weekend in his apartment to makeup for the inconvenience. I doubt if we'll be traveling back to Barcelona from the US just to use a free weekend. We expected a refund of a portion of the rent as we had rented an air conditioned apartment.

We understand that it could not have been repaired, but feel we should have been compensated.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
800 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Barcelona City

Direct in the center of Barcelona, very centrally located and still with the metro right in front of your house, only 800 m to the beach, next to the famous church Sagrada Familia, shopping facilities, restaurants, shopping in front of the door. This district forms the geographic center of the city. Here you will find the quadratic structure of houses in blocks, each 100 meters long - typical for Barcelona. There is an unending selection of shops, markets, restaurants, cafes, etc. Furthermore, most galleries and buildings are from the 18th century. Here you can can feel comfortable with your family and from here you can discover the attractions of the city together.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $1.23
Endreinigung $98.16

Die hier angegebenen Preise sind reine Grundpreise. Der Preis berechnet sich nach der Personenzahl: Grundpreis zuzüglich 40,00€ pro Personin der Woche,beziehungsweise 10,00€ pro Tag. Die Endreinigung kostet 80,00 €. Eine Schadenskaution € 300,00 als eine Garantie auf die Wohnung, welche bei Ankunft beglichen werden muß und bei Abreise ohne jegliche Schäden zurückerstatten.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund