Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Relax and enjoy Florida summer! Dates still available!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,250 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Br, 2 Bath, Salt Water Canal Front With Heated Salt Water Pool And Lanai

Come enjoy this restful and spacious 4 BR, 2 bath home that sits on a Gulf access salt water canal. Home has open floor plan with high ceilings, split floor plan with large master bedroom and bath and additional 3 bedrooms and spare bath. You will love the large kitchen with stainless steel appliances, granite counters and center island for preparing those delicious meals! Enjoy dinner and a swim on the lanai with the heated salt water pool, gas grill and patio furniture overlooking quiet canal. Be amused at the mullets jumping out of the water and be awed by the Western exposure sunset from the lanai or eat in dining area. Home has formal dining room, eat in dining area, sitting area and spacious living room. Living room has 55' 3D smart TV with 3D DVD's available for nightly entertainment. Three other rooms also have TV's with Dish Network satellite and wifi. Master bedroom has king bed and sitting area with separate master bath complete with roomy shower, soaking tub, his and hers walk-in closets and his and hers sinks. Spare bedrooms two and three have queen beds, one with with TV. Fourth bedroom has daybed with trundle that can also serve as a kid's getaway with books, games, TV, DVD player and Wii with games. Outdoor activities also include four bikes with bike trails along Veteran's highway, double kayak and 2 single kayaks. There is a floating dock also if you wanted to rent a boat (boat seen in pictures is not available for renter use) as well as a nice fishing spot. Pool also has child gate available for added safety. Home is conveniently located 30 minutes from Fort Myers airport, Fort Myers beach and 35 minutes from beautiful Sanibel Island. Cape Coral also has it's own beach and community center as well as marinas and boat rentals. There are some great restaurants, a mall and plenty of shopping within 15 minutes. We hope you will come and find out why we chose this house as our 'home away from home' and place of rest. Life is a journey that brings along with it busyness and stress. Here is a place you can unwind, relax and enjoy. Come to Journey's Rest Villa to rest, relax and reconnect with those most important in your life.


Owner
Tammy Chandler
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 20, 2017

About Tammy Chandler

We have lived in New York since being married 30 years ago and are inching our way to living in a MUCH warmer climate! We have used vrbo for family vacations for about 10 years and had wonderful experiences with them so we naturally wanted to list our home on vrbo for those times we can't be there. We both got certified to scuba dive in the last couple years, enjoy the outdoors and value our down time with family. Some of our most precious memories were those years we spent a week together at various homes throughout Florida with our four children. We hope that our home will also make some memories that you will cherish for a very long time!

Tammy Chandler purchased this house in 2013

Why Tammy Chandler chose Cape Coral

We looked at 20 houses in 2 days when we visited Cape Coral in July and this house was number 20 and when we walked in it was a big WOW for us and the realtor! We felt this was a home that others would find welcoming, comfortable, and fun! We wanted a home on a salt water canal, with a pool, within an hour of an international airport, within a couple hours of diving and within half an hour of the beach. So this house hit the mark! We have set it up with families in mind, to be nice but comfortable and inviting. We hope that you will find it to be a great place to rest, relax and reconnect with those most precious to you!

Amenities

Pelican House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Spare bath that opens to lanai and pool, closet, large sink
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Master bath, walk in shower, soaking tub, his & hers sinks
  • Master bath is large and spacious with enclosed toilet, soaking candle, large standup shower, his and hers sinks, linen closet, and walk in closet. All bathrooms have towels, hand towels and wash cloths as well as beach towels for outdoor use. Bathrooms also have spare linens and large sinks with cabinets for storage and personal items
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Warm and comfortable queen bed with large closet
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Nice mission style queen bed and large closet, tv
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Large master BR with sitting area, tv, private pool entry
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 4thBR/kid's room with twin & trundle, tv, games
  • Large, spacious master bedroom in separate wing of house with private large bathroom, TV, sitting area for reading, private entrance to pool/lanai area for privacy and a romantic getaway! All bedrooms with spare sheets, large closet space and ample room to rest, relax and reconnect. Port-a- crib also provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Very quiet area of Cape Coral on gulf access salt water canal. No homes across canal. A great place to relax and unwind but close to beaches, great sunsets, shopping, dining and airport. The home features a spacious open floor plan with high ceilings, lots of window and plenty of room for spreading out and enjoying your vacation. Four bedrooms and 2 baths gives the home sleeping for 6. The heated pool has also been converted to salt water which is easier on the skin and more natural. Lights in the pool and on the lanai make it possible to swim all hours. There is also a kid's gate that is easily assembled to protect your little ones from wandering in the pool. The home also has a security system that allows you to know when doors are being opened for added protection of the little ones. Life jackets are available for boating. There are floating lounges for the pool.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
10% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Relax and enjoy Florida summer! Dates still available!
average rating of 4.8 based on 20 reviews
5

Thought the house was great and pool and kayaking we're fun. Seen an alligator on kayak adventure

  • 5 of 5

Thought the house was great and pool and kayaking we're fun. Seen an alligator on kayak adventure. Would definitely rent this home again. House manager was very helpful when needed.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your time at Journey's Rest and got to enjoy the pool and kayaks! Kayaking is one of my very favorite things to do when I am there. Glad you got to see the gators too.... although they make me nervous when I'm kayaking! Hope to see you again in the future.... until then, be blessed! Al and Tammy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fort Smith, AR
5

Perfect peaceful getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This house is great! Minutes away from various beaches and restaurants. The salt water pool is fun and well maintained. The house is clean and Tammy and Jill are easy to work with. We had a blast and will be staying here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
W.Chesterfield N.H.
5

Spacious House and Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Our vacation was all that we expected. This home is well equipped with so much room and the pool was excellent, along with the weather. The kitchen has every appliance you would need to get your day started and then the gas grill was there for any BBQ dinners.

We loved our stay so much, that we have booked again for next year!

Thank You Tammy for the Welcome basket, that was a nice surprise!

Janet & Norman

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Janet and Norman for the great review. We were very happy to have you at Journey's Rest and so very glad you enjoyed your time there! We have tried to have all the accessories available so people can come and enjoy their stay.... plus I like to cook so having a well-stocked kitchen is important to me! We look forward to having you again next year! In the meantime..... enjoy your time back home through the summer knowing you have a winter retrieve! Tammy and Al
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, Oregon
5

Spacious House in Great Condition with lots of Perks

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for about a week, loved the size of the house and layout with great separation between the master and other rooms. Used the kayaks and saw an alligator in the canal on our trip and tried to catch some fish off the dock with the provided fishing rods. Jumping fish everyday in the canal... wish they would have landed on my hook. Swam daily in the heated pool and cooked 2 dinners on the gas grill. Fourth stay at a VRBO property and this was by far the best experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Journey's Rest! We also love watching the fish jump and occasionally see a gator in the canal. In January we also had manatees at the end of the dock! You never know what you will see!! Please keep us in mind for future trips to Cape Coral!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing home!

  • 5 of 5

This property was very well kept, clean, inviting, spacious, and comfortable. We really enjoyed the pool because it was maintained using salt water, and not chlorine. The pool was really clean and maintained well. The area around the home was quiet and peaceful. It was a really nice change of scenery from our busy lives. You could see the fish jumping in the canal fro m the pool and it was entertaining. We really liked the electronics, especially the kids using the Wii. There was a variety of movies available to watch using the 3-D technology, which was fun. The kitchen was fully equipped with utensils and very well stocked on items that you mean to live there for however long you are staying. The home manager, Jill was very helpful and nice. We are extremely satisfied that we chose this property because it was a great time!

-Agnes and Tom

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your time at journey's rest and were able to take advantage of the pool, wii, and 3d movies! I am also glad you felt you had the amenities in the kitchen.... I like to cook so tried to think of what would be beneficial to those who also like to cook!! I hope that you are settling well back into life and please keep us in mind for the next time!! Al and Tammy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very beautiful home, well thought out amenities.

  • 4 of 5

Over all we loved staying at this location. It was a very beautiful home with great amenities. However, there were a few minor issues. To start, the way sound travels in the home and the security chime made it very uncomfortable at times. Especially when other family members have different sleep patterns. Last but not least , we were only able to use the pool once during our eight day stay. It appeared that the pool pump was not working properly. After several times of reporting the issue to the property manager she stated that she sent someone out to fix the problem. However, we didn't see evidence of anyone actually coming out. Long story short, on the last day of our stay we basically resorted in manueling dipping water out of the pool so that the water levels would be just below the skimmer basket for improved circulation. We also figure out a creative way of getting the tiny ants out of the pool. Besides these little issues, it was a great stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry for the troubles you had with the pool! We were there a few weeks before you and initially the level was high also but after my husband got in there and jumped around a little the levels were back to normal... My house manager called me right away after getting your text on that Wednesday and I called our pool service immediately also. They had someone at the house on Tuesday morning during your stay (they are intentionally quiet and try not to be seen or heard and usually come early in the morning). Unfortunately they did not notice the water level or bugs.... I requested that they send someone out to adjust the level of the pool which is supposed to be regulated with by an autofiller, however, they did not send someone until Monday after you left which I did not realize until this past week. Unfortunately you were there during a very rainy time and Florida rains can be fast and furious and result in pool water levels being higher than normal. We have looked into the bug situation and from what I understand, occasionally there are swarms of "no see 'ems", or these little bugs that are small and able to come through the screen. We have not had that situation before that I am aware of. It seems to be ok now per my house manager and the renters who followed you. So I apologize that there was not more that I could have done, but please know that my house manager was keeping me in the loop and also contacting our pool service to try to amend the situation. As for the noise, the tile floors and openness of the main living areas do tend to allow for the sound to travel. We had added the living room area rug in hopes that would help. I will also have my manager make people aware that the security chime can be turned off. For those with younger kids, it is a nice extra safety feature to prevent kids from going out without supervision but I understand that it can be annoying if that is not needed. I will add that to the check in information so thank you for your feedback regarding this. I am glad that otherwise you enjoyed your stay and hope you were able to get some good family time, as that is so important! Thanks again for spending time at Journey's Rest and we wish the best to you and your family! Tammy and Al
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Fort Myers International airport (RSW)
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Palmetto Pines Country Club
Nearest Motorway
11 Miles
I 75
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Cape Coral Beach
Car: necessary

Pine Island within 15 minutes and Sanibel Island within 30 minutes. Salt water and fresh water fishing. Eco park with kayaking and biking. Everglades within 45 minutes. Fort Myers within 30 minutes. Lots of great restaurants and sunsets to see!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties