Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Mountain Views, Stonework, many Upgrades,Great location, 5 BR, 5+acres

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Custom Built, Minutes to Shopping & Attractions, Relaxing, Decks, Easy Access

This custom mountain home has 5 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, and many upgrades.

Easy access with paved driveway, with beautiful mountain views and close to the scenoc town of West Jefferson which is less than 5 minutes away with dining, shopping, and historic sites.

Our home has granite counter tops, stainless appliances, gas fireplace, beautiful wood throughout home, large deck and also a lower patio over looking mountains, a stone and wood covered entrance way. Satellite, internet, free wi-fi, home phone, and 6 HDTV's.

Full size washer/dryer in laundry room.

Recreation room with pool table, board games, and books.

A great place to relax with plenty of things to do within a short drive. 5 minutes from downtown West Jefferson shopping. Many other attractions close by including the

New River, Churches of the Frescoes, Blowing Rock, Boone, Blue Ridge Parkway and the list goes on :)

9/1/2015 Newly added entirely paved driveway and parking areas. Never have to touch gravel getting to our home!

Unlike some other listings we do not charge extra per guest which can often be $20 per guest/day for over 6 people (we still do limit guests to a total of 10 people) and we also do not charge an admin fee for booking.

**Please contact us by pressing blue SEND EMAIL button (middle right side) after looking at posted information, and calendar and rates which are kept up to date and after reviewing house rules and rental agreement which can be downloaded after pressing BOOK IT button, (this will not take funds at this time). We will then answer any questions you may have and also ask you some questions before accepting your reservation.** Otherwise your booking may get automatically declined within 24 hours

We rent to families only with primary renters at least 30 years of age.

More Details

Owner
Kathy& Steve
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 26, 2017

About Kathy& Steve

Family of 5. Husband, wife, and 3 girls ranging in age from 15 to 22 years of age living near Charlotte, NC.

We enjoy the North Carolina Mountains and the South Carolina Beaches and are fortunate enough to have properties in both locations (all listed on VRBO #'s 335239, 412912, 866526 ,and now this one 503406 ).

We try to spend our travel time relaxing at the different locations when not having to do the less fun things like working to pay for the homes and going to school :)

Kathy& Steve purchased this house in 2013

Why Kathy& Steve chose Buck Mountain

In 'Our Point of View' this home is the place to be when wanting to enjoy the Blue Ridge Mountains. Home is custom built, full of everything you could need on vacation, on a beautiful private mountainside lot where feel away from it all and yet be able to be back into civilization within minutes.

We hope you choose to stay with us as our guests for your next family vacation.

What makes this house unique

We have listed quite a few things our home has in this listing, and it has many beautiful features. Best thing is to look at our attached photos because seeing is believing.

We have been dealing with renting our homes on VRBO for several years now and we know how to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

You can look at our other listings and read the feedback on how we care for our homes and our guests (VRBO #'s 503406, 335239, 866526, and 412912).

Map

New River State Park
Ashe County Cheese Company
"Cheese processing and store"
Blue Ridge Parkway
Appalachian Ski Mountain
Virginia Creeper Trail
Tweetsie Railroad
Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant
Boondocks Brewing
Mountain Aire Golf Club
The Hotel Tavern
Grandfather Mountain
Mystery Hill
Mount Jefferson State Park
Our Daily Bread Delicatessen
New River Outdoor Adventures
Shatley Springs Inn
Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor
Watauga Lake Winery
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Tri Cities Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Town of West Jefferson
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Mountain Aire
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Highway 221
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Town of West Jefferson
Nearest Ski
29 Miles
Appalachian Ski
Car: necessary

Located near the Blue Ridge Parkway and close to Boone, NC. Also near Churches of the Frescos and West Jefferson's Cheese Factory :) 5 Minutes from Town of West Jefferson with shopping, restaurants, etc.

Amenities

Buck Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Rentals to families only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , master bathroom main level, twin sinks
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , upper level full bathroom with sink
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , main level half bathroom with sink
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , lower level full bathroom with sink
  • Upper end features
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Lowel Level right side bedroom
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom on main level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Lower level left side bedroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Upper level left side bedroom
    Bedroom 5 - 1 bunk bed , Upper level RS BR Bunkbed with twin on upper & full on lower
  • See photos for pictures of bedrooms. Rustic, elegant look, nicely appointed, and comfortable.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Hot tub pictured in photos is NOT available for guest use. Being in the mountains we are unable to maintain it on a weekly basis to ensure safety and cleanliness.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Mountain Views, Stonework, many Upgrades,Great location, 5 BR, 5+acres
average rating of 4.888889 based on 27 reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
5

Beautiful, clean, and lovely cabin surrounded by lovely views and close to town!

  • 5 of 5

Our trip to Kathy and Steve’s cabin was wonderful! The cabin was very large and easily accommodated our large party! The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed to start our vacation! We had a quick question and needed to call Kathy, she answered quickly from the number provided, and was very pleasant and helpful to speak with. The kids enjoyed the large variety of games and the adults enjoyed the outdoor fire station, as well as the convenience to the town of West Jefferson! The cabin views were nice, and although there were some neighbor cabins in the distance, you felt secluded and tucked away in the mountains. Our family enjoyed our stay and the overall quality exceeded our expectations! We will definitely be booking this cabin again! We would also highly recommend visiting Frosty’s Tree Farm, only 7 miles away! We had an amazing Christmas experience there with the kids!

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful House, Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect house and location for our family's annual Thanksgiving trip. The house was everything we needed, size wise and location. Just a 5 minute drive to West Jefferson, which is a beautiful friendly little town. The game room was a big hit with the entire family. The only negative things about the stay was the fact that guests cannot use the hot tub, and the fact that the house is fully automated which means that the owners can control things such as heating/air, etc. from their home. Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely consider renting this house again.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent house!

  • 5 of 5

The house was very nice and a great location for us. The pictures do not do it justice. We rode the Virginia Creeper trail one day and the New River trail the following day and the house location was within an hour or less to both. Thanks so much to Kathy & Steve for sharing their lovely house with us. We will be back for sure.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nick. We really enjoyed you staying and appreciate the kind words. We took your advice and updated some photos and even just added a new video walk through of the house. Hope to see you again soon. Kathy& Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful Mountain Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

A lovely home with all the amenities sitting atop a mountain looking down over a peaceful valley. It just does not get much better!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you John. Hope you visit us again in the mountains or at the beach :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

facility was clean, well stocked

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the visit very much. The pool table was a hit for everyone.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Well designed and comfortable mountain house close to West Jefferson

  • 4 of 5

The house comfortably accommodated our 10 person/two family trip with large kitchen/eating areas and bedrooms spread across 3 floors. The large deck had nice views of the mountains. Pool table was also popular entertainment. Location was close to West Jefferson restaurants/retail and good base camp for trips to Boone, Grayson Highlands and the Creeper trail. Only recommendation for improvements are having a hot tub (not working at our visit) and an outdoor fire pit area.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed the house. We were happy to work with you on your last minute reservation due to weather conditions at your home. On items recommended- the house is not advertised as having a hot tub and was never represented that way. The one that is there is not for guest use, due to us not visiting frequently enough to keep chemicals and water levels in check.The other is the fire pit, which we will not have due to fire risk being in a rustic setting and having an issue with one a couple years ago,. Neither of these items did we claim to offer on discussing the reservation- actually we stated at time of booking request we did not have a hut tub available. Glad you had a great time at our home and look forward to you visiting again. Kathy& Steve.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Towels,Linens,& Clean $97 + Tax
Clean towels provided $1 + Tax
Clean linens provided $1 + Tax
Departure Clean provided $1 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Towels and linens are provided along with light home departure cleaning and washing of towels and linens for only $100 and is not optional. This ensures all our guests have a great stay in a clean home that meets high standards.

Our home is a non smoking property with maximum occupancy of 11 people total.

In winter months a 4 wheel drive vehicle is recommended.

Rental terms need to be read, signed and emailed back to us with copy of drivers license before your reservation is accepted and before we approve stay. This paperwork can be viewed by pressing the yellow BOOK NOW button then pressing the BOOK IT button in yellow. When on that page click on the rental agreement and house rules (located above the BOOK WITH CONFIDENCE paragraph). Please let us know if have any questions.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.