check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Scott Botel-Barnard

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Cottage In The Heart Of Great Barrington

6 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Great Barrington Cottage Rental Photos and Description

With the Great Barrington Cottage as your base you can explore the Berkshires.

The ideal location for your stay in the Berkshires, this charming cottage is set on a quiet hillside street within walking distance of all that Great Barrington has to offer. Walk to all the downtown shops, restaurants, the movie triplex, Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center, live music venues, the River Walk, even the Library!

The cottage is furnished with an eye to comfort and design,and includes linens, kitchen gear and tableware. There are three Bedrooms all with queen size beds. The Living Room has an HD TV with cable and Blu-ray/DVD player, CD player, radio and comfortable seating. The eat-in country Kitchen seats six around the table. Nearby is the gas-burning cast iron stove and a cozy leather sofa. The cooking area is completely equipped with stainless steel gas range, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker and grinder, toaster, food processer, mixer and blender. For outdoor enjoyment there is wicker furniture on the Front Porch and Adirondack chairs and a gas grill on the lower level Patio. And you’ll still be able to stay connected with our in-home WiFi.

We also have a beautiful and newly finished Basement Garden Room with french doors opening onto the Patio. It has it's own private Bathroom, queen size futon/sofa, flatscreen TV, and electric fireplace

With the Great Barrington Cottage as your base you can explore the Berkshires. Enjoy Tanglewood, The Norman Rockwell Museum, Berkshire Theatre Festival, skiing at Butternut and Catamount, hiking trails, swimming at Lake Mansfield, and the many historic and cultural sites.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Scott Botel-Barnard (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Scott Botel-Barnard

Scott is an architect and Ann is a teacher and we love the natural beauty of Great Barrington, hiking, the cultural activities and the great restuarants and local farm fresh food at the markets. The Berkshire Coop is in walking distance to our house and we are frequent visitors.

Scott Botel-Barnard purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Scott Botel-Barnard chose Berkshires

This cottage is charming, has wonderful light and a beautiful setting. We love sitting on our porch, or reading by the fire from our gas cast iron stove. At night the sky is filled with stars, and all is quiet and peaceful.

What makes this cottage unique

We are in walking distance to town. We enjoy attending events at the Mahaiwe Theater, seeing movies at the Triplex Cinema, having coffee at Ruby's or enjoying pastries at Patisserie Lenox in the center of town. This is a real town with a wonderful library, hardware store, Martin's - the best breakfast in town, and the best Japanese restuarant we have eaten in - Bizen. We love the small gourmet resturant Allium, homemade pasta at Fiori and the great pubs in town, all within waking distance of our house. There are a few different venues to listen to live music right in town. We walk to the Berkshire Coop and buy groceries, choose exotic cheeses at Rubiners Cheese shop. The Farmers Market that runs from mid May through October on Saturday mornings is a must. Once we discovered The Music Store, we were hooked on this town, a place to buy ukuleles and string instruments of all kinds. There is also an art supply store and three different high end toy stores, plus let us not forget the best hand crafted ice cream - SoCo. Within a twenty minute driving distance are cute towns, Tanglewood, the Norman Rockwell Museum and the Hancock Shaker Village. There are so many high quality theater productions within twenty minutes, that there are too many to list. For skiers, it is a ten minute drive to Ski Butternut and about fifteen minutes to Catamount Mountain.

Reviews

4.8
based on 6 traveler reviews

Cottage In The Heart Of Great Barrington
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
5

Great home in a great location.

  • 5 of 5

We loved everything at the house. 3 full bedrooms upstairs and a great living space down.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house, great location, great house!!

  • 5 of 5

This 3 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath home was absolutely perfect for our family of 4 ski week getaway. Tucked right off of Main Street in beautiful Great Barrington; we were in the absolute best location you could ask for! The house is so charming and special. As an interior designer; I appreciated every nook and cranny of this little gem. There was every accommodation you could think of in this house from Netflix, cable, great library of DVDs, comfortable beds, washer/dryer, fantastic eat-in kitchen and cozy family room with a 1/2 bath right on the main floor. The full bath upstairs was shared by me, my husband and 2 boys... Although used to having our own bathrooms back home; this totally worked...and there was no shortage of hot water:) A welcome folder upon our arrival and a call to make sure we arrived safely was just the finishing touches to our stay at this wonderful house. We will definitely be coming back....

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Charming, cozy, in the heart of Great Barrington!

  • 5 of 5

Our two families really enjoyed our stay at this lovely, cozy, and very clean cottage. It is located in the heart of Great Barrington and an easy 5-7 minute walk to the food co-op and many boutique shops, cafes, restaurants and the cheese shop, which we love! The owners were very responsive and helpful while booking the property. We had no issues at all during our stay. We are looking to book another stay in 2015!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute and cozy home close to Butternut and town!

  • 4 of 5

Our family enjoyed all the amenities we would have at home: the kitchen was fully equipped, plenty of board games for the family, the beds were comfy and inviting, wi-fi and bluetooth worked well, and most importantly, the home was well-heated. Thank you Ann and Scott for a lovely winter stay!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect winter getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My husband & two young kids stayed at the cottage in January, and we had a wonderful time! It was super clean, cozy, and had everything we needed for our stay. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the house is outfitted with all the essentials. We loved cooking in the kitchen and enjoyed warming up by the cozy gas stove. They even had a nice selection of toys and books for the kids. The owners are very helpful and were available to answer any questions we had. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Philadelphia, PA
5

Cozy, relaxing and great for families

  • 5 of 5

We stayed with our three year old and had a wonderful vacation. The cottage was clean and comfortable. We loved that it was easy to cook but there were also so many great restaurants nearby. From the bedrooms there is a beautiful view of the sunset over the mountains and the town. Our daughter loved walking to the playgrounds and to get ice cream. Great hikes, lots to do, and friendly neighbors. Very quiet and relaxing.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
53 Miles
Albany, NY or Hartford, CT
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Castle Street, The Well, 20 Railroad, Gypsy Joint
Nearest Golf
43 Miles
Egremont Golf, Wyanteneck Golf
Nearest Train
34 Miles
Wassaic or Hudson New York
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Rt. 7
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Martins, Allium, Fiori, Bizen, Aroma, 20 Railroad
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Ski Butternut
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lake Mansfield
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Great Barrington Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Property Damage Protection $99
cleaning fee $150
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Great Barrington Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On the second floor adjacent the bedrooms.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Powder Room on the first floor.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Located in the finished basement with heated floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Each of the three bedrooms on the second floor has a queen size bed. The Master Bedroom has a flat screen HD television with a DVD player and cable including HBO. Each bedroom has an iHome that includes a clock and a iPhone or iPod player. There is also a Finished Basement garden room with a queen sized futon and a flat screen HD television and its own full Bathroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
Notes:
There is a charming covered front porch with a wicker sofa and wicker rocker. The street is a quiet, hillside street that ends at a wooded lot with a scenic path.

Partner Offers