Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fabulous Wine Country Retreat On Russian River - 2 Miles To Healdsburg Plaza

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 1.5 Bath, Beach Access, Hot Tub

Down a quiet lane lined with towering redwood trees lies the Redwood River Retreat, a fantastic Wine Country getaway that is just steps from the Russian river, yet only two miles from the historic, upscale and charming downtown Healdsburg. Whether you're heading to the river with a group of friends or planning a family vacation, you'll be very comfortable in its tastefully decorated rooms.

The vaulted ceiling and glass doors let plenty of light into the open living room, featuring a large screen television, stereo system and high speed internet. The fully-equipped kitchen and dining area adjoin the living room to create a wonderfully bright and open space for entertaining. Glass doors lead from the kitchen onto the patio featuring a large gas bbq and dining furniture that make entertaining easy. Unwind after a day of wine tasting and sightseeing with a relaxing soak in the hot tub. Just steps from the house you will find a stairway leading you right to the river's edge, where you can enjoy swimming, canoeing and kayaking.

The main floor features a bedroom with a queen bed. The bathroom features an antique claw foot bathtub for your relaxation. Upstairs is a guest bedroom with a comfortable full size bed that shares a half bath with another room with a futon that makes into a full size bed. The two small rooms are separated by a desk area with a computer. This immaculately maintained home provides plenty of quality linens and a laundry room with washer and dryer.

This fabulous river home with hot tub, beach access and other wonderful amenities is the perfect place for your family or group of friends. Its prime location on the Russian river just five minutes from the downtown Healdsburg plaza allows easy access to all the activities and attractions wine country has to offer. In Healdsburg you will discover a variety of charming boutiques, art galleries and antique shops. After shopping, enjoy the finest, fresh local foods at one of the many restaurants. The beautiful scenery and lovely weather make bicycling and hiking popular activities in the area. You can also take a wine tasting tour of the many vineyards and award-winning wineries surrounding Healdsburg.

Maximum occupancy is 6 guests

Maximum number of vehicles is 3

Quiet hours are 10:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.

No outdoor amplified sound is allowed

TOT No. 2284N

More Details

Property Manager
Debra McCann
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 18, 2017


Healdsburg House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Play Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Fabulous Wine Country Retreat On Russian River - 2 Miles To Healdsburg Plaza
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews

Underwhelmed and Mislead

  • 2 of 5

I was quite unimpressed with this home. By looking at the photos of the property, I was with the understanding that it was located on the river, it is not, you have to walk down the road and down a path to gain access which all other residents can use as well. The home itself is suffering from plenty of deferred maintenance. Drywall seams coming apart, loose door handles, etc... The bed was the worst I have slept on, jabbed by hard springs all night, I woke up with the worst achy back. The living room furniture and rug absolutely wreak of urine, so much so that the chairs were unusable. There is no television service, so you need to suffice with the supply of DVD's there or use a netflilx or hulu account if you have one. The Hot Tub has a greenish tint to the watter and a funky smell, having a hot tub of my own, I was quite turned off to this, but did fix it with their chemicles in the shed.

Our time in Healdsburg was amazing, the house... not so much.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay, and naturally, we are concerned. Your post here comes as a surprise, since we have had positive feedback until now. We wish you had made some mention of issues during your stay so that we could have resolved them immediately. That said, we would like to address your comments to allay any lingering concerns. First, it’s important to be clear that there has never been any intent to mislead potential guests in the house description. The house is located literally across the street from the river, just a very short walk away from the path down to the beach. The description does not say that the house is right on the river nor that there is cable TV. The rental agreement and house instructions -- sent prior to check-in -- make both of these facts clear. The comment concerning drywall refers to a 12-inch place on the kitchen ceiling that was damaged during recent heavy rains. We are sorry the unsightly spot was present for your stay due to scheduling difficulty in getting it repaired. However, the repair is now complete. We feel that the allegation that the home is not well-maintained based on this spot and a couple loose door handles is neither fair nor accurate. Regarding the spa, we contacted the pool service and confirmed that it had been recently serviced, and in fact had been drained, cleaned, and all the jets replaced less than two weeks before your stay. The condition of the spa was excellent prior to and following your stay. It is regularly serviced, and we have had no reports of the water being discolored or odorous. Moving forward we will monitor the situation more closely. Regarding the uncomfortable mattress and the living room furniture having an odor: there have been no prior reports of these problems, and close examination after your post showed no evidence of either. The home is, of course, professionally cleaned thoroughly after each guest’s stay. The mattress is in excellent condition with no poking springs. The family that owns the home, and I as the manager, take great care to make necessary repairs and manage the general upkeep of the property. We encourage guests to contact us during their stay should a problem arise so that we might investigate and resolve it as quickly as possible. The feedback and reviews we have received from all of the other guests who have stayed here have been quite positive and complimentary, and I feel that this fact speaks for itself.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Naperville, Il

Healdsburg stay

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great stay. Everything was set up and ready to go when we arrived. The hot tub came in handy for our group. With 6 adults we all had plenty of room and loved sitting in the back yard on the deck in the afternoon.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Gorgeous cottage surrounded by redwoods, very peaceful, tranquil setting. Cottage was equipped with everything we could possibly want and the hot tub was an added bonus.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, CO

Perfect Healdsburg Stay

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying at the Wine Country Retreat, and definitely would stay again next time we are in the area. It was a little drive from down town, distance might be short but it is not walkable. There is a really nice market close by that we did our shopping at. The house was very clean and comfortable, it felt like being at home. Our group was two couples, the layout was perfect for the four of us plenty of space for everyone. I believe they allow up to 6, there is a futon upstairs next to one of the bedrooms, a little less privacy but definitely doable if you are good enough friends, or if you have kids! We used the hot tub every day, cooked a great meal with the grill, and played cards around the big dining room table every night, it was perfect. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco

A great place to stay and explore wine country

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for a weekend with my girlfriend and another couple, and we really enjoyed the place. A charming and private little house in a beautiful area surrounded by redwoods. Unique and modern interior is comfy and supplied with everything needed for a night in, or a great place to come back to and relax after a long day in wine country. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well-equipped kitchen, great communication, quiet location

  • 5 of 5

This property was exactly what we were looking for. It has an enclosed backyard. The floor plan was perfect for our family of 4, three generations. The house is well equipped. Communications with Debra were easy. It's a very quiet neighborhood but close enough to enjoy downtown. Only suggestion is remember to bring towels for the hot tub. We went to buy some because the bathroom towels are all white and they request you don't use them outside. There were good movies available. We would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Within easy walking distance of the Healdsburg Plaza, you will discover a variety of charming, boutiques, bookstores, art galleries and antique shops. After shopping, enjoy the finest, fresh local foods at one of the many restaurants and cafes. The beautiful scenery and lovely weather make bicycling and hiking popular activities in the area. You can take a wine tasting tour of the many vineyards and award-winning wineries surrounding Healdsburg. The Russian River runs through Healdsburg, and visitors enjoy beaches, swimming, canoeing and kayaking.


Rates & Availability

Healdsburg House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer Rates
Apr 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 14.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager

You might like these similar properties