Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

*Direct oceanfront* 4 suites - 3 King 1 Queen - all with ensuite bath and AC.

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

*Right above the ocean! * Over 50 5 star reviews!!* One suite sleeps 4 in beds

“…Heavenly. We could not have found a better spot for a family holiday on Kauai”.

"It kind of feels like the house is actually over the ocean".

"The word here is Epic!"

(When the bi-fold glass panel wall is open) "The living room becomes part of the deck overlooking the Pacific. It was an absolutely beautiful setting for our family activities".

"The stunning view was difficult to pull yourself away from, seen from the kitchen, great room, bedrooms, and even while showering. Some afternoons we simply didn't want to -- or need to -- leave the lanai".

We're not saying this; our guests are in the reviews below. Check out our un-retouched photographs, and see for yourself how spectacular Surf Song really is.

We allow small weddings. Our location is so beautiful that in 2015 a magazine named Surf Song in their "Top 10 Wedding Locations in Hawaii!"


* Last minute available dates are always reduced.

* Couples and small groups discount. (The perfect place for Honeymoons!)

* Longer stays and bookings which fill an existing gap in our calendar - even a short one - receive a discount.

*We want to fill our calendar and will always cheerfully work with guests to encourage bookings!

Please note:

- 5-7 day minimum stays are normally required - but we will take bookings of any length which fill even short gaps in our calendar.

- Saturday to Saturday stays are required in peak Summer season as this is the most popular arrival/departure date.

Christmas or New Years years bookings for one week ending or beginning on Saturday 12/29 respectively are welcome, however for both Christmas and New Years, a 12 night stay is required.

When you arrive at Surf Song's exclusive location at the very end of a private cul-de-sac and glimpse the ocean beyond, you will know that you chose wisely. On entering the home, you will be awed by what the previous owners described so well as its "drop dead" ocean view and be surrounded by the gentle sound of surf breaking on coral in the pristine bay below.

Why stay here? In a few words, peace, beauty...bliss! You could choose a property down at the beach - but you would be unlikely to be able to enjoy the peace and quiet, or the breathtaking views, found on this unique oceanfront bluff. And the path to the beautiful and little used beach below the house begins a two minute walk from the property (about 10 minutes to walk down to the beach from the house in all. ) Surf Song is also centrally located for Queens Baths, Hideaways, Hanalei and Anini beaches - all are within 10 minutes or so.

Dolphins and turtles may be seen up close in the bay - the turtles actually surf sometimes! In winter, humpback whales breach offshore here. (We have tripod-mounted and hand-held binoculars). Albatross court and nest right in neighborhood and teach their young to fly from the surrounding bluffs. In summer, both sunrise and sunset may be enjoyed from the lanai, which features a Dimension 1 Amore Bay Spa, said to be among the world's best.

Inside the bright, open 2500 square-foot home you will find a layout centered on an expansive living room, the center point of which is a fully screened 17 ft. Nana wall which opens fully to the ocean side lanai. Furniture throughout is top of the line Tommy Bahama Island Estate.

The gleaming, all new oceanfront kitchen with cafee cabinets and white quartz counters is fully equipped with everything from a wine fridge to Royal Doulton dinnerware and crystal champagne flutes. (Your welcome French champagne awaits you on arrival.)

Surf Song is perfect for four couples, each having bedroom with private ensuite bathroom. Two families works equally well, both families having their own "wing". Surf Song is also a popular honeymoon destination and is often rented by couples seeking a private and romantic oceanfront experience.

The house is centered on the large vaulted oceanside great room. Sleeping accommodations are divided into two wings, one on each side of the property, each with two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. The house sleeps up to 10 adults.

Details are: East side:

King oceanfront master suite. Oceanfront ensuite with double quartz vanity and toilet, with ocean and coral reef views from both soaker tub and Grohe rain shower.

King garden view suite which also features twin "Murphy bunk beds" - full size single bunk beds with Sealy Posturepedic mattresses for two additional guests, which fold away when not in use. Ensuite with pedestal basin, toilet, and large Kohler/Grohe shower.

West side:

Oceanfront master. King bed due to arrive in January 2018 to replace former Queen. Ensuite with double quartz vanity and toilet, plus walled/privacy glazed outdoor ocean view bathroom area with stainless steel rain shower and Balinese stone soaker tub.

Oceanview Queen with lanai with Bali Hai views. Ensuite with pedestal basin, toilet and Kohler/Grohe tub/shower combination.

Each bedroom walks out to its own lanai. All bedrooms give the wonderful experience of being lulled to sleep by the sounds of surf breaking on the coral reef below the house and palm trees in the breeze.

All bedrooms have individually controlled Air Conditioning with new top of the line Mitsubishi SILENT operation split units with external compressors. (Surf Song's direct ocean bluff location means that it enjoys a rare and wonderful tradewind-cooled micro climate almost all year round, making A/C usually unnecessary. A/C can however be great to have during occasional periods of "Kona winds" or other weather conditions when the trade winds die away sometimes for a day or two.)

The garage features a Kettler table tennis table, bikes in various sizes for rides around Princeville's many private roads and bike paths, and all the equipment you need for beach fun . (We supply Tommy Bahama chairs and sun umbrellas, coolers, a beach trolley, as well as lots of Surfboards, Boogie boards and two Stand Up Paddleboards.)

Surrounded by nature though it is, Surf Song lies only a few minutes’ drive or bike on quiet, private roads, from all of Princeville’s superb amenities. These include many beaches and a full shopping center with high quality shops, cafes, restaurants and entertainment.

This is our home, found after years of searching on the islands. It is the loveliest place to be that we know. We welcome you to it with Aloha. Our mission is to ensure that, like us, having discovered it you will want to return again and again.

Relax in the knowledge that unlike some offerings, this is a long-established, licensed vacation rental in the Princeville Visitor Designated Area with a caring and involved owner and under the scrupulous professional management of the Principal Broker of a local real estate office (who manages only a very few select properties) together with a dedicated professional team of cleaner, groundskeeper and maintenance personnel. We all care very much about your vacation rental experience, as the 5 star reviews show.

Our Transient Accommodations Tax number is TA-074-845-7984-01. Our local property Manager is Bill Gillette, R(B). This information must be disclosed on all advertising related to any Hawaii vacation rental which is legally compliant.

We require only 20% of rent and taxes to guarantee a booking. Balance is due 90 days before the stay begins (120 days for summer peak , and 180 days for Christmas/New Years)

We take time researching so as to be able to refer you to every type of concierge service - at no charge and usually at a discount on bookings: Wedding planner, Private chef, Massage or Yoga on the Lanai, and of course assistance with booking of all Kauai's attractions such as horseback riding, boat tours of Na Pali, zip lining, sport fishing, helicopter flight-seeing tours, luaus, and golfing. We receive no compensation from the people we suggest, leaving us free to recommend those who we believe will best serve you .

Note re COMMUNITY POOL: A large swimming pool and air-conditioned fitness center are located at the Makai Golf Club, about a five - ten minute walk or a few minutes by bike from the property. The swimming pool is set up for adult lane swimming only. At this time, only individual monthly memberships at $125 are available.

More Details

Simon Lord
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2018

About Simon Lord

We are a dad plus four family with ages from 15. Simon spent nearly 40 years in criminal defence, first as a British barrister and then in Canada, before selling up and moving to paradise. The girls and their partners work in real estate and property management in British Columbia and the boys are in school. We come to Surf Song with a whole range of perspectives - but we all think it's the best place in the world!

We are in the business of exceeding your expectations and making your experience completely positive. We want happy guests ...who will keep coming back.

Simon Lord purchased this house in 2013

Why Simon Lord chose Princeville

After several years of serious looking throughout the islands, the decision to buy this property was instant. It was simply the best property we had ever seen. Kauai's North Shore eclipses in beauty anything we know and has many wonderful beaches, but the land largely consists of a flat bench ending in an oceanfront bluff. Few private homes are located on the bluff, while even fewer look directly down onto a beach, coral and surf. We think you will agree that Surf Song is rare and stunning.

We had rented frequently on the North Shore before we made this purchase. We found being up on the bluff much more private and quiet than being right by the beach - and we love the views.

We also came to appreciate the many different "micro micro" climates of the North Shore. Trade winds freshen and reduce humidity. Rainfall is generally less away from the mountains - yet some popular beach areas are very close to them and as a result, we feel, may be more humid.

We felt that the right ocean bluff home could offer a perfect combination of almost constant breezes and lower rainfall, of peace and convenience. We think we found it!

Surf Song does all this in a timeless, classic Plantation style which invites elegant, easy living and an open plan which celebrates the beauty of its environment and invites in the perfect climate outside.

For us it was love at first sight! We've seen our guests react in the same way. We hope you will too.

What makes this house unique

The sound of surf as you approach the house - and throughout it. Ocean views from almost every room in the house. The expansive tropical hardwood oceanfront deck offering both sun and shade throughout the year as well as a tranquil shaded rear Lanai.

A bright open floor plan with room for everyone. Separation between the East oceanfront master suite and garden side suite, and the West Oceanside master suite and oceanview suite. Perfect for four couples or two families.

Dolphins and turtles year-round, whales and albatross in winter, stunning summer light. A heaven full of stars.



Princeville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 10:00 AM
  • /
  • Check-out: 4:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • A 20% deposit is required to confirm your booking. As Surf Song typically rents far in advance, this portion is non refundable.
  • The full balance is normally due 90 days before your stay begins. This is non refundable thereafter unless we can re-rent your dates.
  • Parties/events maximum occupancy is 20 guests. Advance written permission is required. Conditions and fees may apply.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • East Oceanfront Master Ensuite - toilet , tub , shower , Direct oceanfront ensuite. Tub & shower w Ocean & reef views
    West Oceanfront Master Ensuite - toilet , tub , outdoor shower , Indoor toliet and vanities. Outdoor Shower & Bali stone tub
    West Oceanview Ensuite - toilet , combination tub/shower , Ensuite with pedestal basin and Kohler tub/shower
    East Gardenview Ensuite - toilet , shower , Ensuite with pedestal basin and 5ft Kohler shower
    Guest half bathroom - toilet , Beautiful guest half bath with wave sink, quartz vanity
    Gardenside tropical shower - shower , Outdoor shower beside beautiful Balinese fountain
    Oceanfront tropical shower - shower , Oceanfront solar heated outdoor shower beside hot tub
  • All bedrooms feature full ensuite bathrooms. All bathrooms are new and feature genuine Grohe plumbing fixtures and pebble floors. Oceanfront master ensuites have solid bamboo vanities with quarzt tops and double undermount Kohler washbasins. East Master ensuite is direct oceanfront with views down to a coral reef, and features rainshower and tub. West Master ensuite features outdoor stainless steel rainshower and gorgeous Balinese outdoor soaker tub in a private oceanview enclosure. Oceanview and Gardenview ensuites have pedestal basins and Kohler tub/shower and large 5 ft. shower respectively.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • West Oceanfront Master Suite - 1 king , Direct oceanfront. Ensuite w oceanview tropical shower & tub
    East Oceanfront Master Suite - 1 king , Direct oceanfront. Oceanfront ensuite with tub and shower.
    West Oceanview Suite - 1 queen , Ocean views and Bali Hai sunsets. Ensuite with tub/shower.
    East Gardenview Suite - 1 king , 2 bunk bed , Murphy bunk beds fold away when not in use. Ensuite w shower
  • We also have two single folding beds with sprung mattresses which can be placed in several possible locations. They are adult size beds but a little narrower than the single beds on the Murphy bunks.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • luaus
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Lovely Sealodge beach ('A Real Gem' in the Kauai Revealed guidebook) is directly below the property and walkable in 10 or 15 minutes at most. The path is steep in places and can be slippery when wet so runner type shoes are much better than slippas! Full concierge services are available; Ocean or land activities, massage or private yoga on the oceanfront deck or private chef. Please ask the owner for more details. We would be delighted to help.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(56 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
*Direct oceanfront* 4 suites - 3 King 1 Queen - all with ensuite bath and AC.
average rating of 4.892857 based on 56 reviews
Langley, WA

Fantastic : The house is beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We had an incredible time in this beautiful home, going to sleep with the sounds of the ocean, hours on the awesome out side patio was great: from

Morning coffee to cocktails watching whales spout was magical. I love this place and our family had an incredible vacation.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property in a quiet neighborhood!

  • 5 of 5

We loved Surf Song! It is a beautiful home with all the amenities you could imagine. It was so relaxing and had a breathtaking view of the ocean. We had gone on a whale watch out of Port Allen Harbor on the west side of the island during our stay, but we saw more whales while sitting on Surf Song's lanai than we did on the whale watch. The owner, Simon, was very responsive to any questions we had. The home was very clean and tidy upon arrival. Well before our arrival we received very detailed information about the home, as well as great information about the island and things to do. At the home was a book explaining everything you need to know about operating things within the home. Although there was quite a bit of rain during our stay, there was an equal amount of sunshine and it was very pleasant on the covered lanai even when it rained. The weather cooled off during the evening hours and we found that we didn't need to use the A/C because the winds off the ocean along with the ceiling fan kept us perfectly cool all night (and I am the first one to get too warm most of the time). I was very impressed with not only the property but the fast responses to us with any questions we had. I would highly recommend Surf Song to anyone!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice home but “overlooking the ocean” would be more accurate.

  • 3 of 5

The home is beautiful but a number of things in the home did not work and the kitchen is sub-par for the price.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re glad that these valued guests found the home beautiful, and sorry that we weren't able to exceed their expectations, as this is definitely our goal. We hope that future guests will judge our proximity to the ocean and views for themselves from the un-retouched photographs and many enthusiastic reviews of our location and ocean ambiance. The only trouble call received during the stay concerned an error message on the hot tub. We had someone there to fix the problem within hours. On their departure, the guests left a note for the cleaners indicating that some light bulbs didn’t work, but on checking we weren't able to find any which needed replacement, so this was likely an issue with which switch to use. We always respond quickly to any question or issue as soon as it is brought to our attention. We have now labelled all our banks of multiple light switches! Our kitchen is regularly used by the professional chefs who cater to our guests in-home. No previous guest has commented other than positively. “Everything you could possibly need” is how one guest put it. All of us who work to keep Surf Song in top shape take guest satisfaction very seriously indeed. We would love to meet and exceed your expectations if you decide to stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Surf Song a fabulous experience

  • 5 of 5

Amazing house with all the amenities you could ask for. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful. House hugs the land & the views from each room are incredible.

  • 5 of 5

I almost do not want to recommend this home to’s lovely. Beautifully designed, and carefully maintained. From labels on the light switches, to YouTube videos on how to navigate nearby hiking, the owners take good care of their house & their clients.

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Amazing property

  • 5 of 5

We had the privilege of staying at this amazing property in Princeville for Thanksgiving this year, 2017. The house is updated and thoughtfully outfitted to accommodate every detail of comfort and relaxation. Our family truly enjoyed a wonderful stay, especially remembering peering out at the legendary views from the entire back side of the house. The word here is "epic".

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Susan, for appreciating Surf Song - and for finding the perfect word to describe those views and the experience of being there! We're so glad that you had such a great time! Aloha Simon and family, and the Surf Song team.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Tiki Iniki
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Car: recommended

Serene and private location at the very end of an exclusive private road, yet within walking, biking or short driving distance by private roads of Princeville's many amenities.

Several beaches are similarly close, while many more lie within a 10 to 15 minute drive including life guarded beaches with vehicle access.

It is hard to overstate the abundance and quality of outdoor leisure activities within a short drive of the house. Shopping, yoga, massage, dining in a large variety of restaurants and bars and entertainment are close at hand.

You may find however that you share our reluctance to leave Surf Song and that much time is spent enjoying the amenities of the house and the spectacular beauty of the oceanfront Lanai.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Outclean $690 + Tax
$5000 Damage waiver $190 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.42%

6-8 night Weekend to Weekend bookings are usually needed except to fill existing gaps in the calendar. Saturday to Saturday 7 night stays are required in peak summer excepting to fill existing shorter gaps in the calendar. The lower the season, the more flexibility! We also have more flexibility with longer stays.
Cleaning fee is $100 per person, minimum $600.

All reservations subject to cancellation fee of 20% of rental plus taxes.
Cancellations after 90 days before start date limited to amount recovered by re-rental less the 20% fee.
a future booking.

Mid cleans at $260 are required on stays of 10 days or more. ( ALL cleaning fees charged go to our excellent cleaners!)

Bookings are not confirmed until a deposit has been paid. Dates cannot otherwise be held.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties