Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lodge Cabin, Stunning Panoramic Mt. Views, 4BR/3BA, GameRm, SPA, Blue Ridge 4 M

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Lodge Cabin, 2,000 Sq.Ft. 4Bed 3Bath Guest House, Game Rm, Hot Tub, Screen Deck

Mi Cielo Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Northwest Georgia, just a short trip from Atlanta's Northern suburbs.

Mi Cielo is not simply our vacation home, its a manifestation of our hard work, love and dreams. To us Mi Cielo is the perfect place to exit the pace of the modern world to enjoy life with our family & friends in the wholesomeness of nature's beauty.

Translated from Spanish, Mi Cielo means 'My Heaven'. A dear friend of ours helped us arrive at the name on a early visit to the lodge, we thank her for that inspiration and we hope to share our little piece of heaven with you sometime very soon!

Mi Cielo is perched high on a private mountain ridge overlooking stunning unobstructed views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and surrounded by densely wooded private acreage around the house.

The roads are well maintained with ample gravel and grading, passable with most any vehicle year round. As images indicate we get light snow in the winters. Pets welcomed.

It's our earnest goal to ensure all our guests enjoy an easy booking & payment process, quality stay experience, cozy mountain home comforts and stunning views.

When visiting Mi Cielo Lodge, you will experience lush forest verdure visible from every room and patio. While Mi Cielo is high on the ridge that affords its magnificent views, the road is well maintained and accessible by car. Hemptown Creek runs below and can be heard flowing effortlessly on quiet nights.

Sit comfortably on various furnished screened decks as you take in the lush trees, magnificent forest verdure and stunning panoramic mountain views. Or perhaps watch the setting sun cast its vibrant colors along the mountain ridges to the South and East from the hot tub. Perhaps relax with a beverage of choice in the rocking chairs lined along the covered breeze way deck overlooking truly inspiring mountain views. If that doesn't fit the mood, try a pleasant swing or head inside to enjoy the amenities the lodge has to offer.

Among the amenities are a fully appointed kitchen with island and eating area with seating for eight, relaxing great room with wood burning fireplace and HDTV with surround sound, a second family room in guest house also with HDTV with surround sound and Wii gaming console. Additionally, in our guest house you can enjoy a wood burning fire place, pool table, air hockey, dart board, mini-bar table and clothes washer and dryer.

Mi Cielo comfortably sleeps a maximum of eight people. With 3 BR & 2 BA in the Main Lodge and a 1 BR & 1 BA below the game room in the Guest Lodge.

Reminiscent of the Adirondack mountain towns of Northern New York visited often in our youth, the quaint mountain town of Blue Ridge is literally minutes away, as are numerous access points to Blue Ridge Lake including Blue Ridge Marina. The quaint charm of downtown shops, eateries and activities provide a truly memorable experience for individuals and families. Of course the area is well known for its exceptional fishing and year round seasonal produce strawberries, blue berries, peaches, apples and of course beautiful fall mountain foliage.

More Details

Owner
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 25, 2017

About Owner/Property Manager

Originally from the Upstate Region of New York State near the Adirondak Mountains, Kathy & Matt met in a geology course as part of our business degrees Accounting & Economics. After college we settled into corporate careers, traveling and relocating broadly including moves to Raleigh, Tampa, Cleveland and Atlanta. We were married in 1997 and moved to Atlanta a year later in 1998. We've lived in Alpharetta, Georgia longer than anywhere lese in our lives and consider ourselves Southerners now! We are fortunate to have two beautiful and kind children Allyson, 14, and Matthew, 11, both of whom are very active in school activities, educational and athletic pursuits. Kathy loves being a wonderful wife & mother, traveling, enoying our mountain home, decorating and is a true wine enthusiast! Matt enjoys coaching kids sports, golf, fishing and of course maintaining two homes!

Owner/Property Manager purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Owner/Property Manager chose North Georgia Mountains

Mi Cielo Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Northwest Georgia, just a short trip from Atlanta's Northern suburbs. Mi Cielo is not simply our vacation home, its a manifestation of our love and dreams. To us Mi Cielo is a place to exit the modernity of world to enjoy life with each other and our children in nature. Translated from Spanish, Mi Cielo means my heaven, we hope to share our little piece of heaven with you!

What makes this cabin unique

Lodge rests high on a private mountain ridge surrounded by dense forests. While home is in mid 1970's development, cabins are set far apart on lots of several acres. Our lodge was built in the 1970's and complete renovated with modern kitchen and amenities in 2007. Forests are dense offering wonderful privacy. Home hits high on our private mountain ridge and offers inspiring 180 degree mountain views from the south east to south west. Great proximity to downtown Blue Ridge, Lake BR access points, fishing and more. Owners sincerely care about the quality of your experience. We make every effort to keep the house clean, to ensure all amenities are operating correctly, and that the home is generally organized and thoughtful for your stay. In return we simply ask that you enjoy your time, that you take care with our belongings and that you report issues.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Lodge Cabin, Stunning Panoramic Mt. Views, 4BR/3BA, GameRm, SPA, Blue Ridge 4 M
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 27 reviews
5

A fun place for family

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time, and would definitely recommend this cabin for a quite relaxing time. The cabin is comfy, with a nice TV, and fireplace in the family room. It was very clean and quite. The kitchen was very well stocked. There are really nice views from the screened porch. And we made good use of the hot tub. I personally am not tied to the Internet on vacation, but it seemed very slow. We made a big breakfast everyday and cooked all our meals there, watched movies, and played in the game room. We were a little worried initially, because there seemed to be so many rules in the rental agreement -ex. "if you move a book, put it back in its place" "your not renting a hotel, it's someone's home". This makes it a little hard to relax. I guess that they have been burned by inconsiderate people in the past, - however I will say that we cleaned up behind ourselves and we had no issues. I would like to see a few extra towels. And, While there is a pool table, it's a bit difficult to play a decent game as it's to close to the walls. And, just a suggestion, I would personally rather pay $100 - $150 extra at the outset, and have the wood for the fireplace supplied when you get there. But, thanks for the cabin and we were already talking about returning before we left.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Roger: Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feed back and take action to improve renter experiences. Based upon your feedback we re-drafted the Instruction Guide reducing it from more than 14 pages to just informational essentials in 7 pages. We agree that there were just to many "rules" that we included that are plain "common sense". And yes you are correct that we've had mostly perfectly terrific renters, but then there are people that have torn the place appart and forced us into reminding renters of every detail. Over this past weekend we purchased new towels, so that we can leave more out for renters. And we are considering options for relocating the pool table to a bigger spot. One option is to remove the post for the stair way which would create more shot making room.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

not much living space

  • 3 of 5

we had a good time at Mi Cielo but I wouldn't go there again. It is the only property we've ever rented that we had to provide our own firewood. The owner's provided the name of someone who delivered it, but you have to buy much more than you will need . Just an inconvenience. There are three bedrooms in the main house but the living space is very small. There is the guest lodge but we didn't use it at all. If you like to play pool or air hockey you might like it but other wise it's a waste of space. Lots of rules.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cindy: I am sorry that you found it inconvenient not to have fire wood included in your rental. As we explained, supply of firewood is wrought with complexities, but we try and take all feedback seriously so purhaps we can identify a firewood solution. However, there are significant reasons why we've elected not to include firewood service, for most renters it works out best. As I clearly indicated throughtout the booking process, we do not supply wood for three key reasons: 1. Because we cannot control the quality of firewood, we've determined it best to allow renters to select dry aged wood in person so that they can best control wood aging, species and quantity available for their enjoyment. 2. Because it is impossible to control how much a specific renter burns during a stay, assigning charges proved untenible. We've had numerous renters accidentally leave the house packing split wood thinking that they paid for the whole wood pile. In short, controlling what was actually consummed and billing accordingly proved impossible. 3. Because some renters have allergies or are otherwise not insterested in fires, including wood in the rental rate would in effect overcharge those people for wood they didn't use, which we decided wasn't fair. Rather than supply wood directly we provided you with several options. Our delivery service has been terrific for quality, service and cost, but does offer 1/2 cord minimum In addition, I indicated that you had options to buy smaller quantities of in a number of local establishments all within a short distance of our property including: Home Depot, Wal-Mart, Ingles and the many convenience and road side spots in the area. I would have been happy to provide additional assistence, should you have elected to call me when you were not happy with the minimum wood smount our service indicated. On the day of your departure I found about a dozen logs near my front steps it looked like you were able to burn most of the delivery, so that is good, too bad you were not able to pack it up and take it with you. Lastly, I am sorry that you found the house too small for your needs. Most renters seem to find that it is cozy, has great views and generally speaking people love to enjoy the game room. We clearly state the square footages of the house on the VRBO site and numerous pictures and descriptions of the property make all this it quite clear. It sounds like the firewood situation upset you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful Property with Stunning Views

  • 3 of 5

Overall the property was very very accommodating and it had everything you needed and could think of. Just a few things though, there are only three queen size beds. The fourth bedroom is not a queen size bed it's a queen size sleeper, not a Murphy bed not comfortable at all and there were no curtains . The one person cot is not comfortable for a child to sleep on so don't count on it. We were bummed we were not able to use the fire pit because owner advised they were on a drought and due to the fires. We would have loved to use it because it was perfect. I will not give five stars because there were just too many rules to follow of which are all common sense and I understand the past guests may have caused owners to be that way but I found myself referring to the 18 page instructions that the owner sent us every once in a while to be sure we were doing everything the way we were instructed. On our instructions the first thing was to open cabin turn on lights and set thermostat. The lights were easy but the Thermostat was an electronic programmable one and we all tried to set and we had no idea how to use it and miraculously there were no instructions for it. I contacted the owners by phone and text and I never got a call back. The next day I got an email asking did I figure it out. No we waited for a phone call. Needless to say that evening we slept uncomfortable. The next day I finally figured out how to use it, however I had tried and tried the day before to no avail. Very frustrating. And the 5 minute showers was a joke amongst our group so that we would not pass the 5 mins shower limit and not run out of water or be charged additional for water usage. The idea that our utilities consumption was being monitored daily was a little much. The neighbors were nice and friendly especially the German Shepard next door. Views amazing property very nice and well appointed.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Cathy: We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our property, Mi Cielo Lodge. We will take immediate action to address accurate concerns, and items that are addressable, but did want to point out a few concerns we have about your comments. With regard to use of the fire pit and water. As I indicated when you rented the property, Fannin County local government had issued an outdoor fire ban edict for the entire area due to the severe drought this summer that led to massive wild fires in the area. I know that several of our renters this summer & fall had to find places near BR as a result of these fires. To help ensure your safety and enjoyment, I asked kindly that you follow the fire ban and consider shorter showers to preserve water so that you would not run out for cooking, cleaning and restroom use. We do have a neighbor that closely watches water consumption for the benefit of all. I didn't ask you to time showers or anything of that nature. The area was in one of the severest droughts on record, massive fires burned hundreds of homes displacing thousands and killing scores. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced during a critical and emergency time in the mountains of TN, GA and NC. The thermostat was recently installed, it's a Honeywell i-Home digital version that is remote programmable with a simple round turning dial for adjustment. I actually installed this so that it would be easier for renters. I can see how this would be difficult for some not used to digital devises, so I will add instructions in the Information packet I provided at the risk of making the document even longer. And on the point of the information packet, it would have been more honest to let people know that the reason the packet is 18 pages is because it includes directions to the house, operating instructions for the spa and other general guidelines. Most of the information content references local activities, shopping and restaurants we've tried that we thought would be helpful to renters. It's not 18 pages of rules, but helpful information! My wife and I have decided to add curtains and replace the sofa bed. I am sorry you didn't find it comfortable. Renters, please read very next comment from a renter that stated how responsive we are as owners.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful Property With Incredible View

  • 5 of 5

We had a terrific stay at Mi Cielo and highly recommend the cabin. The owners were very responsive and the cabin has an incredible view. We definitely would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Peter: That is terrific! We hope you come stay with us again! We are planning some changes to improve the accommodations in the guest house!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect Place for your family to Kick Back away from it all

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at Mi Cielo for 5 days and it wasn't near long enough. We enjoyed the views, sitting on the porch and the game room. Waking up with hot coffee and the views of the mountains was incredible. During the day we were just a short drive from many fun activities. One day we rode the Blue Ridge Scenic Railway, another day we went hiking on the Aska Trails and visited the Mercier Orchards. Another day we scheduled a local photographer (Spring Wishart) to take family portraits at a near by vineyard. After putting the kids to bed in the evenings, having the game room separate from the house was great because we could get loud and competitive during air hockey and pool. The game room was close enough to the main house we could use our video monitors to keep an eye on the little ones while they slept. We had all the tools necessary to cook our meals at the lodge so we could spend even more time away from the hustle and bustle of daily living. There were very few things to complain about with the lodge. My only recommendation to future guests is make sure the vehicle you travel in has all wheel or 4 wheel drive. The location of the lodge high on steep gravel mountain roads, were sometimes a challenge in places where the gravel was loose or in low supply. We were able to easily contact the owners during our stay to help us navigate an alternate route down the mountain for when we needed to leave the lodge. Our family will most certainly keep Mi Cielo in mind for future getaways.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hannah: Thanks for the nice feedback regarding your stay at Mi Cielo Lodge! I am glad I was able to help navigate you to the reccomended route to the lodge! It was much easier to get in once we got you on the easier route! We've had many renters do just fine without 4x4, infact both of our cars are front wheel drive. The secret is to keep moving on the roads and follow the easier route! You guys are experts now :)!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Starkville, Miss.
5

Comfortable, fun, and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We spent 3 days/nights here before "back to school." This property was perfect for our family of four - kids age 10 and 6 - and our labrador. The living room and bedrooms were comfortable, and the kitchen had all the essentials we needed. My 10-yr-old wished for blinds on the upstairs bedroom window so she could sleep a little later, but other than that it was great! We all enjoyed the air hockey and pool tables in the game room, and the views on the porch were incredible. We liked the location and that it was a few miles out of town, so it was very quiet, but still close enough that we could be at any activity in just a few minutes.

The owners of Mi Cielo were very friendly and easy to work with, and the home was clean and well-maintained. We will recommend to our friends in the future, and hope to visit again ourselves.

As for the area, our favorite activity was tubing the Toccoa River - great for all ages. We also did a little trail hiking and strolling downtown with our dog. My husband and 10-yr-old had a blast at the Adventure Park zip/obstacle course, while my 6-yr-old and I enjoyed the BR Scenic Railroad trip. And our super competitive family enjoyed mini golf (and gem mining) at Cohutta Cove.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy: Sounds like a fun family vacation was had by all, so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the advice on the window blinds! That's one item we will definately consider adding to the bedrooms; we've been sort of torn by that decision as we dont want to absrtuck the gorgeous views from those rooms! Hopefully we can find some blinds that can be pulled back! Kathy & Matt
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Atlanta Hartsfield International
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Blue Ridge
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Union Bay
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Blue Ridge Senic Railway
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 60/515
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Blue Ridge
Nearest Ski
150 Miles
North Carolina
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Lake Blue Ridge
Car: necessary

Blue Ridge Mountains, Chattahoochee National Forest, Lake Blue Ridge, Aska Adventure Area, Taccoa River, Nottely Lake, McCaysville, Morganton, Blairsville, Cohutta Wilderness Area, Chattahoochee National Forrest, Ellijay, Murphy NC Casino, NC Ski Area

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mineral Bluff Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter Season
Jan 9 2017 - Mar 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$165
$1,100
$4,000
 
 
Spring Season
Mar 6 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$170
$1,130
$4,500
 
 
Summer Season
May 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$179
$1,200
$4,800
 
 
Peak Season
Sep 4 2017 - Mar 4 2018
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,300
$4,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$170
$1,130
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $35 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Non-Refundable Damage $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owners are flexible, we are willing to negotiate special pricing terms as specific circumstances warrant, e.g. rates for longer stays. All stays including a US holiday will be priced at the standard rate, even if dates fall in off season: New Years, MLK, Valentines, Presidents, St.Pats, Easter, Mothers, Memorial, Fathers, 7/4, Labor, Columbus, Holloween, Veterans, Thanksgiving & Christmas.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Mineral Bluff Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • All bathrooms are clean and appointed with cozy new towels/high quality. All 3 bathrooms have either a shower or bath/shower combination. And have natural slate and laurel treatments to give you that cozy mountain feeling. At present tubs are not jetted, we will be making some upgrades - for now enjoy the jetted hot tub instead! There is now a towel warmer in the main house bathroom upstairs!
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 murphy bed , Bedroom 4 is a pull out couch bed in guest house family room
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main House - Master On Main
  • All bedrooms are appointed with windows offering either mountain or wooded views, ceiling fans, Ipod alarm clocks, dressers, closets, reading lamps and HIGH thread count/quality sheets, towels, pillows and blankets. A small TV & DVD can be moved to bedroom of choice for nighttime movies.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Check-In time 4:00 PM EST Check-out time 10:00 AM EST

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties