check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Madeira Island Direct

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese

Large one bedroom apartment in exclusive private complex with pool

14 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Funchal Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Quiet location with extensive views over Funchal. Sleeps two. Free Internet

This extremely spacious one bedroom apartment brings you right into the heart of Funchal, but in a very quiet and peaceful residential area where you can relax on your balcony and watch the cruise ships and ferries coming and going or lounge round the communal pool and soak up the sun – a real oasis of calm just minutes from the city centre. The elevated balcony gives a perfect view of the cable cars making their way up to Monte and firework displays in June and at the New Year. There is a large double bedroom with sliding doors to the balcony that extends the full length of the apartment, a full bathroom and a well equipped kitchen. The lounge is spacious with dining area, DVD player and cable TV, again with sliding doors bringing the balcony into the room. High-speed internet access is free. The pool has loungers and umbrellas for your use - beach towels are provided. The complex has just been fully redecorated. Cafes, restaurants and supermarkets are all within 5 minutes’ walk. Reserved car parking is available in the secure garage beneath the apartment.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Madeira Island Direct (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese

Guestbook comments from the manager

We are for the first time in Madeira and it is in Madeira, and it is a fabulous discovery. Thanks for your whole welcome in the apartment, great pleasure for us to stay, plenty of good things to tell our friends and family on this. Thank you. Very pleasant holidays.
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

4.9
based on 14 traveler reviews

Large one bedroom apartment in exclusive private complex with pool
average rating of 4.928571 based on 20 reviews
5

Amazing Honeymoon, Amazing Food, Amazing Country

  • 5 of 5

This apartment was everything we expected. Close to Old Town, and not too far from New Town. The only thing that was a pain was driving in this country and specifically in the older sections as the roads are narrower and there are lots of one way roads. Once we got used to it, it was much better. Lots to see in Madeira. The couple we rented this apartment from were very nice. The apartment was clean, close to a supermarket and had a great clean pool. If we go back to Madeira I would rent this apartment again. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location.

  • 5 of 5

Remarkably quiet location considering that it is so near the city centre - just a short walk away, with a short steep hill coming back - but the elevation gives you the views across the bay, so it's worth the exercise! Large sunny balcony. Everything you need - the fancy TV is almost too good!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes - the TV is a bit over the top but appreciated by some! Pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Spacious accommodation

  • 5 of 5

Great location - we hired a car but didn't need to, as the city centre is only ten minutes walk. Considering that it is so close to the centre it was very quiet. Good views from the balcony - watching cruise ships coming and going. Rooms spacious compared to some we have stayed in. Highly recommended - we have booked for next year - can't wait.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes - the views across the city and bay are great! Look forward to seeing you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Das Appartement entspricht voll und ganz der Besch

  • 5 of 5

Das Appartement entspricht voll und ganz der Beschreibung. Es ist sauber. Die Bettwäsche wurde nach einer Woche gewechselt. Handtücher genügend vorhanden. Waschmaschine - sehr praktisch. Die Küche ist einfach, aber genügend ausgestattet (Geschirr, Töpfe).

In knapp 10 Minuten ist man zu Fuß im Zentrum von Funchal, an der Markthalle noch schneller. Bushaltestellen (Busbahnhof) sind ebenso sehr nah.

Wir haben viele Örtlichkeiten mit Bussen erreicht - Busfahrplan liegt in der Wohnung :-) - nur um in den äußersten Westen der Insel zu gelangen haben wir ein Auto angemietet.

Nach den Levadawanderungen und Besichtigungstouren in anderen Orten war die Abkühlung im Pool sehr angenehm.

Wenn wir noch einmal Urlaub auf Madeira machen würden, würden wir dieses Appartement wieder nehmen ... und auch Freunden empfehlen.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Vielen Dank für die Empfehlung!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Just as good as before

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit to this apartment, but at a different time of year, when the pool was a big plus for cooling off. We didn't walk as much this time, but instead strolled round the city for most of our short stay. The location is difficult to beat, as you walk to both the older and newer parts of Funchal within minutes. Great being able to enjoy a meal out without having to drive or get a taxi. Will return - spring next time!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great apartments and a lovely pool

  • 5 of 5

We had a one bedroom apartment in the block and our friends had a two bedroom apartment. We spent most of our time by the pool or exploring Madeira, but the apartments were clean and with lots of amenities - hairdryer, hanging space, storage, maps, wifi...

Everything you could need is a walk away - shops, restaurants, the sea, marina, cable car - and Peter was very helpful, so it made for a perfect holiday. We also used the recommended taxi service a lot - so useful!

Thanks for a great stay with perfect weather!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the positive review - appreciated!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Funchal
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
Funchal Port
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
Junction 12
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
Old Town
Car: not necessary

Varandas do Funchal is situated just above the centre of Funchal, within a 5 minute walk down hill you will find yourself amongst shops, supermarkets, restaurants, bars and the famous fruit, flower and fish market where fresh produce can be brought daily. You can also get the cable car from the old town which will take you up to Monte with excellent views over the city and port. The apartments have just been fully redecorated on the external of the building with new tiling on the balconies and communal areas giving a very fresh feel to the property.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Funchal Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 20 2016 - Sep 26 2016
5 night minimum stay
$73
$443
 
 
Late summer
Sep 27 2016 - Oct 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$56
$365
 
 
Autumn
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 18 2016
5 night minimum stay
$56
$365
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 19 2016 - Dec 26 2016
5 night minimum stay
$79
$477
 
 
New Year
Dec 27 2016 - Jan 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$90
$556
 
 
Spring 2017
Jan 5 2017 - Jun 19 2017
5 night minimum stay
$56
$365
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Funchal Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 100 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Bottled Water
  • Elevator
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Security System
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
  • Towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Towels and linen are provided. The bedroom fronts straight onto the main balcony with sea/harbour iews
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties