check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Donna - Katy Conley

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Long Range, Layered Views Overlooking 2 Ponds

32 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Vilas Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom Cabin with fireplace and gorgeous views!

Breathe ... It's time to take that long awaited vacation in the North Carolina mountains. Mountain Song Cabin is the perfect retreat from the busy world. It is located in a quiet, private neighborhood just 8 minutes from downtown Boone, NC. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy getting back to this peaceful retreat after a long day on the trail.

Grab a glass of your favorite beverage and sit on the porch and watch the breathtaking sunsets and the indigenous wildlife feeding on the apple, pear, and cherry trees or even the wild blackberry bushes.

Inside you have all of the comforts of home. A well equipped kitchen, a cozy living area to enjoy the fireplace, a nicely remodeled bathroom and comfortable beds with heated mattress pads for those chilly nights.

Unplug and enjoy the fresh mountain air by the stream fed ponds. Have a fire; roast some marshmallows and enjoy s'mores at the large fire-pit! Enjoy your downtime listening to the spring peepers, crickets and chirping frogs. Chase lightning bugs like you did when you were a kid. Appreciate nature right here in your own backyard! Be on the look out for deer, groundhogs, wild turkey and foxes and there is always an orchestra of songbirds close by.

For your 'plugged in' entertainment and connectivity needs, there is a Bose iPod docking station, cable TV, a video library and of course wireless internet service.

Mountain Song Cabin is your peaceful retreat in the Appalachian Mountains but don't forget to get out and enjoy the activities in the area. There is a wonderful farmers' market every Saturday morning from May to October at the Horn in the West parking lot. All of the wonderful fresh foods of the area are recommended. There are artists that create amazing works of art. There is usually live music and even fresh flowers for your table. Check out the 'Area Attractions' page for the links to many of the area's activities.

Thank you for your interest in Mountain Song Cabin. We look forward to seeing you!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Donna - Katy Conley (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Donna - Katy Conley

We love the mountains but can't get there often enough! So when we're not at the cabin, it's available to you. Enjoy this slice of heaven.

Donna - Katy Conley purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Donna - Katy Conley chose North Carolina

Stunning views yet only 3 miles to downtown Boone.

What makes this cabin unique

Stunning views; close in to town yet nice and quiet!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved staying in this log cabin. It was just what we were looking for. Katy & Donna were very attentive - they email back immediately if you are having any issues - which, judging by our stay, you most likely won't have. I only emailed them because I couldn't locate the thermostat. It was so modern I didn't recognize it as the thermostat. But I found it in 5 or ten minutes and they had already emailed me back to tell me where it was and how it worked. It heated the place up very quickly. Almost too quickly. We didn't have time to take our jackets off. The place itself has everything you need to entertain yourself. I could've just stayed there the whole time & not ventured out but we did venture out to Blowing Rock, Boone & Gtrandfather Mtn which were all very close by. We drove the Parkway from Grandfather to BR one afternoon and ate at the Blowing Rock Ale house and it was a day well spent to say the least. They have a lot of information on places to hike, and things to see and do to get you started. From there you can go online or just ask people around town and you're sure to find what you're looking for in terms of NC mountain adventure. They even had a couple stamped postcards that you were welcome to use to tell your fiends about the beautiful sunsets you'll see from the large swing on the huge porch. Theres even a guitar you can play while you sit around the fire pit under the brightest stars I've seen in long time.
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

4.9
based on 32 traveler reviews

Long Range, Layered Views Overlooking 2 Ponds
average rating of 4.90625 based on 37 reviews
Florida
4

Awesome views!

  • 4 of 5

The views are awesome as advertised! Although the cabin is remote, it is only a 4-mile drive to downtown Boone. The kitchen is well equipped and the fire pit was fun for cooking marsh mellows a few nights. It is difficult to walk or run in the neighborhood because of the hills but the Greenway trail in Boone is only 10 minutes away.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Nice view and comfortable accomadations

  • 5 of 5

Very enjoyable

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful vacation.

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cabin. It had everything we needed, was charming, and had a spectacular view from the porch. We loved all of the surrounding towns and filled our vacation with sight-seeing, tubing down the New River, walking on the mile-high swinging bridge on Grandfather Mountain, a silly trip to Mystery Hill and a ride on Tweetsie. The cabin was perfectly located so that no activity was that far of a drive. A great place for a summer vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A gem of a property

  • 5 of 5

We had the pleasure of staying a full week here and enjoying both the house and the area. We started out the week loading up on supplies at the Harris Teeter. The kitchen was exceedingly well equipped, even with small things like spices that you tend to forget at the grocery store. It made cooking at the house really easy. We loved doing so because we could have dinner while enjoying a gorgeous view of the sun setting over the mountains from the back porch. The two ponds in the back were a constant source of fascination for us, as we enjoyed watching the tadpoles and frogs, which serenaded us night and day. The property also draws all kinds of birds, though I don't think the wrens that live in the birdhouse enjoyed sharing the porch with us. We also had a daily morning visit from a sweet skunk that patiently let me photograph him (without getting too close), several groundhog sightings, and an evening stop through by a fox. It was all just lovely.

The property is fairly quiet except in the evening when someone's hounds are getting ready to be fed, but the barking subsides pretty quickly.

We also appreciated the iPod and the owners' taste in music. We love Bach, and Abba.

While in the area, we hiked at Grandfather Mountain, visited Linville Falls, and took a lovely stroll at Moses Cone Memorial Park off the BGP. We also took a whitewater rafting trip. I strongly suggest anyone interested in doing so, read the TripAdvisor reviews very carefully, both the good ones and the bad ones, before making reservations. Most of the trips leave from locations an hour or two away.

I have to say one of my favorite parts of the day was coming back to the cabin! So relaxing, clean, and off the beaten path but not so much so to make it inconvenient. We will be back!!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We'd love to have you back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Amazing experience, perfect location with a incredible view. Ultra cozy cabin, having all the conforts of home, heated cabin, super well kept and clean. Really close to town but very independent at the same time. Sugar mountain and Grandfather mountain is a mere 25 min drive from this spot. Definetly our future go-to spot when visiting the mountains.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great View, Lovely House, Quiet Neighborhood, Easy Access

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful rental. The furniture and beds were comfortable, and the kitchen well maintained. If you have dogs (as we do) the wrap-around porch with a gate is a boon. The weather was very pleasant, and we spent a good deal of time on that porch with the mutts.

The heart of Boone is about 10 minutes away, and the access is easy. If you come in the winter be prepared for the curvy and hilly roads in.

We have rented in the Boone area for several years now, and this is by far the best place we have found.

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Charlotte
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hwy 321/421
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Vilas Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Leaf Peeping
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,000
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
cleaning fee $75 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Vilas Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties