check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Your Tropical Home Away From Home

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 10 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
7 - 10 nights

Description

Kailua-Kona House Rental Photos and Description

Please note: This house is NOT in Holualoa. VRBO has the location listed as such.

This Kona house and yard gives room to roam. The house is 2072 sq. ft with 3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths. There is a king bed in the master suite across the house from the other 2 bedrooms, a queen in one bedroom and 2 twins that can function as a king in the third. It's ideal for either a family or 2 or 3 couples to rent together. There are quality linens for bedding with pillow protectors and fluffy towels. When this neighborhood was built in 2002 this was the model home so has some up-grades. It does have A/C but it would be rare that it will be needed. Throw the windows open and use ceiling fans which are in every room. The house has beautiful Australian teak floors in the living/dining rooms, tumbled stone tiles in the kitchen/sitting rooms/baths and carpet in the 3 bedrooms. The yard is a half acre with a waterfall spilling into a blue-tiled swimming pool. There are lush, tropical plants in abundance, even pineapple plants and banana trees. At the top of the yard is a 300 square foot gazebo with ocean views which looks over the rooftops to the ocean; perfect for entertaining! There is a high top table, 6 bar chairs and wrap-around benches to seat a group. Kids will love this yard and the geckos that live here. There is also a large grassy park within the neighborhood just for residents.

The house is in a gated community called Kahakai Estates. There is a walking path to get to Alii Drive which runs along the coast and one can be there in 10 minutes walking from the house. Driving into the village of Old Kailua-Kona is just a zip down the hill where you will find all kinds of eating establishments and shopping. Also right along Alii Drive are easily accessible beaches with great snorkeling. The Iron Man Race takes off from this town as well. Of course, there is much to do elsewhere on the island but these are the highlights of what is close by.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Wren Mead
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 2, 2016

About Wren Mead

We are a retired couple living on the central coast of California who desire spending time in both locations. When not on the island, we would like to share our home with others looking for a quality get-away in paradise.

Wren Mead purchased this house in 2013

Why Wren Mead chose Kona Coast

When we walked in the front door, we loved the house and layout......then we saw the back yard and waterfall into the pool. It felt like being in a private resort and we were smitten! The location to the "village" of Kailua-Kona is only about 5 minutes drive making it very convenient (we are not in Holualoa which is up the hill a few miles).

What makes this house unique

The pool, waterfall and yard. Who else has a hillside filled with jungle plants and a gazebo for entertaining at the top? And did I mention the waterfall? The melodious sound is music to the ears.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Your Tropical Home Away From Home
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 22 reviews
5

Perfection in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This was our first experience with VRBO and we could not have picked a more perfect home. The owner answered all of our inquiries quickly and kept us informed every step of the way. Our family of 6 adults traveled to the Big Island for my husband to participate in the Iron Man World Championship triathlon. The location of the home was ideal for all of our activities, with the highlight being the bike turnaround at the entrance of the neighborhood. We were there to cheer my husband on and he had a great smile when he saw us.

The set-up of the house was perfect with the Master bedroom on the opposite side of the house from the other bedrooms. We have stayed in condos before and this home was so clean and everything was ready for us when we arrived. We appreciated all of the things that were already at the house, such as paper towels, tissues, and dish soap. The washer and dryer got a lot of use and laundry items were also already there.

The house was beautifully decorated in island style but not over the top! And the pool was so beautiful and relaxing with the waterfall. The one comment I would make is because of the heat and the pool being in full sun most of the day, we used the pool a lot in the evenings and it would have been nice if the waterfall had stayed on past 7 pm. And the landscaping! Wow! I have never seen so many tropical plants and it was just extraordinary!

The kitchen also included many items so we didn't have to purchase salt and pepper and cooking oil and coffee and tea. Thank you for that.

Conditions on race day were brutal, but my husband did finish and we were there to see that. An experience we will never forget! This house made it all so convenient and comfortable. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ironman and family, We didn't know that we were your first VRBO home until reading your review but I'm pleased that it was a positive experience. CJ, our housekeeper, does a great job of cleaning and keeping everything ready if we are not available. Our gardeners also deserve kudos for managing a half acre yard. This was our 3rd year of being able to host an Ironman participant and we are so humbled by what the human body can do in that grueling race. As someone also a senior citizen, I can say you have to be incredibly fit.....but also a little bit crazy! As I remarked in another response, we are waiting (still) for the approval to get our solar panels turned on. At that point, running the a/c and waterfall won't be costly as it is now using electricity which is expensive on the island. I know it would be magical to run the waterfall at night with the pool lights on. Thank you for your communication leading up to your stay and for your feedback after. We were so happy to have your family for this momentous event. Mahalo and may the spirit of aloha stay with you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four, plus an aunt, stayed at Nakukui house for 11 days. The house has a lot of space and had plenty of bedrooms for our group. My daughter even found the living room couch very comfortable to sleep on. The house was very clean when we arrived and was well maintained. The backyard was beautifully landscaped. I especially enjoyed the view from the gazebo.

My teenage kids loved the backyard, especially the swimming pool. We spent a lot of time swimming in the pool. The geckos and anoles were fun to watch and photograph. We also enjoyed all the birds that gather over the waterfall.

The house is ideally located in Kona. It only takes a few minutes to get to the downtown area for restaurants and shops. Several beaches are about 10 minutes away from the house. It takes about 1 1/2 hrs to get to the Hilo side. We went to the Hilo side for a helicopter tour, zipline tour, and a hike around Akaka waterfall. I also enjoyed a night manta SCUBA dive, which was only about 15 minutes from the house.

Wren was very quick to answer any e-mails or questions that came up. I would definitely recommend this property to friends, family, and co-workers. If we return to the big island, I will definitely check to see if the house is available.

Thanks for the use of your beautiful house!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dale was extremely prompt in writing his review from the airport as they were traveling home from the island. We are pleased that Noah and Ellie enjoyed their time in the pool and yard. We enjoyed seeing the creative artwork that Noah did about one experience (inside joke!). Thank you for being our guests and for the good care that you gave to the property during your stay. If you do return, it would be our honor to have you stay at Nakukui again and do appreciate word-of-mouth recommendations very much. Mahalo nui
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Private Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 adults (plus one 17month old) had a wonderful stay at this property for a week in February. It was incredibly spacious but the best part was the private pool!! We lounged by the pool for hours (particularly in the afternoon while our son napped! :))... listening to all the birds and enjoying the surrounding gardens. The flowers were amazing and my son loved looking for geckos. We found the house to be very central for visiting nearby beaches/restaurants/shops in Kona and the kitchen was well-equipped for cooking meals at home. The owner, Wren, was very prompt in responding to our numerous emails and questions when planning our trip - and she went above and beyond to accommodate our requests (including providing us with highchair for my son to use!). Although the pool is not fenced (so you have to be careful with little ones), we found the house to be quite "toddler friendly" in that it was all on one-level and the walk-in closet in the master bed doubled as our son's room (there was ample room for the playpen in there!). Our only complaint was that the snorkel masks were broken (thus not useable) but we told Wren and I'm sure she'll replace them for future guests. We were also confused with the air conditioning policy and didn't use it very much as we thought it wasn't included in the cost - but after we left Wren clarified that it is included but should be used sparingly as electricity is very expensive on the island. We would have used the AC more as we found the house to be too warm at night (and there wasn't much of a breeze with windows opened). Overall we had wonderful stay and would recommend this house as a great vacation rental.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sydney and Family, We appreciate your well-written comments regarding your stay. Unless we get feedback from our guests, there are some things that we can't know about unless told, i.e. the broken snorkel masks. Since we haven't used them ourselves in awhile, we didn't have a way to know there is a problem. Also because of your comments and one other review, we have changed our policy regarding a/c which we hope will simplify things for everyone. We are awaiting approval from the local electric company to install solar and are ready to go with that as soon as approved. That will mean running the air won't be a consideration much at all. However, I will say that we are on the island now with the temps in the mid-80s during the day and find that the evenings are fine using ceiling fans. It's a lot about what is comfortable for some vs. others. We are pleased to know that you and your little one enjoyed your time here in our island home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Chillin' by the pool...

  • 5 of 5

Our family including 5 adults stayed at this property over the Christmas/New Years break, 2015. What a great holiday we had, including snorkelling, boogie boarding, hiking, shopping, eating, and of course...chillin' by the pool! We cooked most meals at home in the well-equipped kitchen, and chowed down at the big table on the lanai, located conveniently right off the kitchen. The big barbecue also got a lot of use, and made me think that I need to upgrade my barbecue back home!

Behind the beautiful pool is a fantastic garden running up the hill-slope to a big gazebo. We watched the sun go down over a glass of wine more than once, and also hung out there at midnight on New Year's eve, checking out the multitude of fireworks clearly visible. I'll also confess to snagging a few oranges fresh off the tree for breakfast.

The house is huge, with plenty of room for six. Best VRBO yet!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear BC Family, Thank you for saying that we are your best VRBO property yet. Your compliments are appreciated as we strive to make this a great environment. We were happy to have you there for the holidays and to welcome the New Year; fun that you could see fireworks from the gazebo! I'm sorry that we didn't have any ripe bananas and our pineapple plants aren't producing at this time or you could have had a fruit salad. They are certainly there for the taking. Our next idea is to plant papayas! Please come back to visit anytime you need a warm climate. Mahalo and Hauoli Makahiki Hou (Happy New Year).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Tropical luxury

  • 5 of 5

My family and I (6 Adults in total) stayed at this property for the Ironman World Championships in October.

The home is truly amazing. The pictures do not do justice to how nice this home is.

We spent so many nights out in the pool area and found it such an easy base for our holiday. It was such a welcome change to be able to cook (the kitchen has just about every appliance you would ever need) and do all our laundry.

We did have a car to drive into Kona but also used push bikes to ride back and forward between Kona town and the house...it was only about 3-4kms.

I have not used a site like this before but Wren was so lovely to deal with and made me feel very at ease about the whole process.

If my family are luck enough to get to return to Kona to race I would not think twice about staying at this home again.

Thank you again Wren. My family and I had a fantastic holiday and cannot speak highly enough of your home.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ironwoman Ashley and family, Since we will never in this lifetime be able to do a race such as this, we are pleased to participate in a very peripheral way. We were proud to have a world class athlete all the way from Australia be our guest with your family. Thank you for your generous compliments and we are gratified to know that you were comfortable and happy with this as your base. It's rather amusing how Ashley and I came together since she started her search on a different site. Neither of us knew how to navigate it and so I suggested she look at our number on VRBO. Thanks for persevering to find me, Ashley! If you and/or your family want to put yourselves through such a grueling challenge again, we would welcome having you back.....and the bikes await! Mahalo~
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice property for a family stay

  • 4 of 5

Our extended family of two adult couples and two children stayed here and had a great time. There was plenty of room for everybody. The house was well kept and the pool and grounds were an enjoyable place to spend time. The kitchen was well stocked with all sorts of spices and things that helped when we made meals at the house. Do be aware of the A/C policy if you are coming during the hot season as we did, as there are significant extra charges. There was not any of the larger beach equipment which would have been nice (boogie boards, umbrella(s) etc.). Overall don't let those minor quibbles hold you back - it is truly a lovely property and the location is very convenient to the best of Kona. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Morgan, Although we are disappointed to lose one star, we thank you for your critique. We have tried to be fair about the use of the a/c but this summer has been an extraordinarily hot summer. In the 2 years we have had the house listed on VRBO we have only had guests feel the need for it twice and both times they understood the extra charge (explained in our contract) going in. We try to accommodate to the extent of having snorkel equipment but have not gotten in the larger items, it's true. To be honest, we haven't ever thought about it since it's not been mentioned by anyone! We are pleased to know that overall, the house and yard made it an enjoyable base for your family time on the island. Thank you for making us your tropical home away from home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kona International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Jackie Rey's
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.02 Miles
Kuakini Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Jackie Rey's
Nearest Ski
65 Miles
Mauna Kea…..extinct volcano!
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
White Sands Beach Park
Car: recommended

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Holiday
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 3 2017
10 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
High season
Jan 4 2017 - Feb 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$375
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $200 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 13.25%

This is a non-smoking, no pets property

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2072 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower , 2 sinks, soaking tub
    Guest Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , single sink
    Powder Room - toilet , Pedestal sink
  • Master bath has shower and tub, 2 sinks Guest bath has shower/tub, 1 sink Powder room has toilet and pedestal sink
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Can be made up as king
  • Master bedroom has 1 king bed Bedroom #2 (shells and seahorses) has queen bed Bedroom #3 (coral) has 2 twins or 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is a Christmas tree pre-decorated with lights should you be here at the holiday.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties