check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Simmy

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Private Home Walk to Kahalu'u Beach 3 bedroom $200/ Night up to 4/ Sleeps 10

14 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Keauhou House Rental Photos and Description

HUGE COVERED LANAI, GREAT FOR RELAXING,BBQ, OCEANFRONT VIEWS, GREAT LOCATION.

PRIVATE HOME 3 BEDROOM ON ALII DRIVE. ITS ONLY A 4 MINUTE WALK TO THE BEST SNORKELING BEACH IN HAWAII, "KAHALUU BEACH" . PROVIDED ARE SNORKELS, MASK, FINS, BEACH CHAIRS, BOOGIE BOARDS, SURFBOARDS, BEACH UMBRELLA, BEACH TOWELS. VERY FAMILY FRIENDLY, EVEN A BABY CRIB. WADING POND IS GREAT FOR JUST COOLING DOWN DURING THE HOT SUMMER MONTHS. YOU WILL LOVE THE LOCATION!! WALKING DISTANCE TO KAHALU'U BEACH PARK, KNOWN TO BE THE BEST ON THE ENTIRE ISLAND OF HAWAII. WALKING DISTANCE TO WHITE SANDS BEACH, KNOWN TO BE THE BEST BODY SURFING BEACH ON THE ISLAND. YOU CAN ALSO CATCH THE KEAUHOU SHUTTLE BUS NEARBY, IT TAKES YOU TO THE KAILUA KONA TOWN FOR ONLY $2.50.THE NEAREST GROCERY STORE IS ONLY ONE MILE AWAY AT THE KEAUHOU SHOPPING CENTER. NEAR THE FARMERS MARKET, KEAUHOU AND KONA SHERATON RESORT. IF YOU WANT TO TAKE ANY SURFING LESSONS, ITS ONLY A 4 MINUTE WALK. IF YOU WANT TO STANDUP SURF, I HAVE A SHOP IN TOWN "PACIFIC VIBRATIONS SURF SHOP". WE ARE RIGHT ACROSS FROM THE KAILUA KONA PIER, WHERE THE HULIHE'E PALACE IS LOCATED. THE HOUSE SITS NEXT TO 58 ACRES OF HISTORICAL PRESERVATION LAND, KAMEHAMEHA I, AND III LIVED HERE.

THE HOUSE IS A SPACIOUS 2 BEDROOM, 2 BATH HOME, AND CAN SLEEP 10 PEOPLE. THE MASTER BEDROOM HAS A KING SIZE BED AND A SINGLE BED. THE SECOND BEDROOM HAS A QUEEN SIZE BED AND A BUNK BED (2 REGULAR SIZE SINGLE MATTRESS). THE LIVING ROOM HAS A FOLD OUT QUEEN SIZE BED, AND A SINGLE BED. THE LANAI HAS A FULL SIZE FOLD DOWN FUTON BED. THERE IS AC !! AND CEILING FANS. THERE IS CABLE, DVD PLAYER AND WI-FI. THE KITCHEN HAS A COFFEE MAKER, COFFEE GRINDER, BLENDER, MICROWAVE, TOASTER. THERE IS A WASHER AND DRYER.

YOU WILL WAKE UP TO SOUNDS OF THE OCEAN AND BIRDS . THE YARD IS FULL OF FRUIT TREES, AND ALSO A WADING POND FOR DIPPING. ITS VERY FAMILY FRIENDLY, BUT, IT YOU NEED A BIGGER HOUSE, YOU CAN ALWAYS RENT OUR HOME NEXT DOOR. ITS A 3 BEDROOM HOUSE THAT SLEEP 10 PEOPLE. RENTING BOTH HOMES IS IDEAL FOR FAMILY REUNIONS, BIRTHDAY AND ANNIVERSARY. THE LISTING IS VRBO # 400030. EACH HOUSE HAS A MINIMUM, ANY ADDITIONAL IS $25 PER PERSON, PER NIGHT PLUS TAX.( SURROUNDING HOMES RENT FOR MUCH MORE, HIGH $300'S ON UP). CAN'T BEAT THE PRICE FOR THIS PRIVATE HOME AND LOCATION. ALSO, YOU MAY BE ASSURED YOUR RESERVATION IS SECURED. WE ARE REGISTERED IN HAWAII AS A VACATION RENTAL. THE STATE IS LOOKING TO SHUT DOWN ILLEGAL ONES WITH DAILY FINES.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Simmy (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Simmy

Born and lived in Hawaii all my life. Owner of 'Pacific Vibrations Surf shop' since 1978. First Surf Shop to open in Kona, when there were no Traffic lights! Our whole family Surfs even the grand kids!

Simmy purchased this house in 1981

Why Simmy chose Kona Coast

LOCATION! Its the most beautiful part of the world. Its was registered in the National Historical Kahalu'u District in 1974. Rich in HAWAIIAN cultural, landscape, and the ocean! The Hawaiian Chiefs resided here, love of the aina (land) and Surfing. In the back of my property is wilderness, full of birds singing all day!

What makes this house unique

You will have the feeling" Home in Hawaii". The lanai is huge, and the view of the ocean and palm trees is spectacular. We have boogies boards, surfboards, snorkel, mask, beach chairs and beach towels. They also rent all of this at the beach for a hefty price. So, its a plus, everyone enjoys. Best of all its private, and the location is key.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Mahalo Simmy!

What a wonderful home you have provided for our family!

We leave with many fond memories!

Corinne and Tom
Nov 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 14 traveler reviews

Private Home Walk to Kahalu'u Beach 3 bedroom $200/ Night up to 4/ Sleeps 10
average rating of 4.928571 based on 15 reviews
5

Wonderful Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

Simmy's wonderful home could not have been better. The home is perfect and in a perfect location. Our three teenagers enjoyed the short walk to the beach where they were able to enjoy the snorkeling and surfing. The furnishings and amenities were perfect for our family! It was the greatest place to relax and enjoy our time on the Big Island. We will certainly be back. Thank you Simmy for making our stay wonderful!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Richard, I'm so glad you and your Ohana enjoyed my home and the Location especially Snorkeling and Surfing! Its nice the teenagers were able to just walk to the beach. Glad the furnishing and amenities was perfect too! Yes please come back to Enjoy and Relax !! Much Mahalo!! Simmy Mahalo! Simmy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Experience!

  • 5 of 5

Being a first-time user on VRBO, Simmy went above and beyond to make sure that our family was comfortable with the entire process.

The home is situated back from the main road and is spacious with a huge lanai and multiple bedrooms. There's a huge amount of items to use (kid's toys, sand toys, beach umbrella, snorkel gear, etc) which let us pack a bit easier.

Definitively recommend this property and Maholo Simmy!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Eugene, Thank you so much for taking the time for the review. It was great to meet you and your Ohana. I'm happy to know I was able to make your vacation comfortable, and you enjoyed my spacious home. Glad you enjoyed all the beach gear too, it makes life at the beach Fun. I hope you will come back someday soon. Mahalo Nui Loa! Simmy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado
5

Great family hale in Kona

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed at Simmy's Hale in January. It was an excellent home for exploring and enjoying the Kona area. There are two excellent beaches you can easily walk to, a nearby grocery store and restaurants. The home is also well stocked with kitchen supplies, beach toys, boggie boards and more. My kids especially enjoyed all of the kids' toys, sand toys and small wading pool. Oh, and the porch/lanai is spacious and comfortable. I highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Much Mahalo for your stay! It was nice to meet all of you, and I'm so glad your Family enjoyed my Home! Aloha! Simmy : )
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Christmas Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our party of two couples and three 20 somethings stayed at this Hale for our Christmas break. The only thing that might be a problem for some may be the lack of privacy if you have more couples. We were all family so it was not big deal! My brother joined us from the Hilo side one night and we had eight adults all sleeping comfortably. With that said the house was so comfortable and convenient. The lanai was our favorite hang out. There was ample seating for all for those lazy mornings and evenings as we lounged around. The table on the lanai comfortably

seats 8 and we took many meals there. If you head left out the front gate you are 5 mins walking distance to one of the best snorkeling beaches!!! If you head right about 8 mins walk you have a nice sand beach with some of the best boogie boarding around!! One day while the old folks went to Hilo the 20's walked to Alii shopping-about an hour walk. The grocery is about a 5 minute drive. Needless to say the location is perfect. AND Simmy has EVERYTHING you need to enjoy your stay, beach towels, beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards, surf boards(a little worn), snorkel equipment ( we used it and it was fine). If you have kids with you there are beach toys and kiddie pool out front for them. Lots of bang for your buck! Wish I was relaxing on the Lanai now!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Much MAHALO for your review. HAU'OLI MAKAHIKI HOU, (HAPPY NEW YEAR) Here's wishing you and your OHANA good health and happiness !! I'm so glad to hear 8 adults were comfortable at my Hale! and Yes, the lanai misses you! Hope you will come back someday soon! : ) Aloha! Simmy........ I should note for future guest who don't want to walk too far, there is a "All Aboard The Kona Trolley" located only a 4 minute walk to the bus kiosk. Its located at Kahalu'u Beach at the crosswalk. The cost is $2.00 and runs from 9:00 am.- 9:15 pm. There's is a bus schedule online. The bus is pretty cool looking too, and it will take you to Kailua Kona town Also, I have a Surf Shop since 1978 in town "Pacific Vibrations" right at the Kailua Kona Pier and the Hulihee Palace. You could also go for a Stand Up Paddle and cruise the scenic ocean. Many have seen pods of Dolphins. The surfboards at the Hale are great for beginners and are easy to catch waves. Its best to take lessons from surf schools, and we can recommend some licensed ones. A few of the boards are worn but they are super durable, and they don't make them anymore. If you are advanced surfers, I have them at my shop. We also sell high performance boards like Firewires and JS ,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect vacation home for a family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this home this past year for our family Christmas. The house was a perfect set up for our family, including two small kids. The house has a crib, high chair, stroller, and endless toys for the kids. It was so nice to know that we didn't need to bring any of these things with us and our kids were so excited to see all of the things there for them. The small outdoor wading pool was shaded and perfect for the kids too!

The house is also in the perfect location: views of the ocean, a 5 minute walk to one of the best family beaches that is also perfect for snorkeling and learning to surf.

Simmy was so easy to work with and helpful throughout our trip. We really appreciated all that she did for us and we really felt at home here during our vacation.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relax on a lovely lanai, listen to the waves, watch the sunset through the palms-Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

This wonderful home was perfect for our mixed group of 5 family members and it was located about 4 minutes walking from one of the best and most convenient snorkeling beaches on the island. Kahaluu Beach Park was the reason we chose this area and we went snorkeling at least twice a day...usually rewarding ourselves for a nice workout with a Mango Shave Ice at the food truck! The house was EXACTLY as described in the literature and the pictures are perfect representations of the house and property. Simmy, the owner, was so nice and very informative. Location is great-Kailua-Kona with shopping and dining options is just down the road, there is a shopping center a three minute drive away with shops, eateries, movie theater, farmers market on Saturdays, and a grocery store. Remember to take your shopping bags as you will pay for them in many stores. Sam Choy's Kai Lanai is above the shopping center and we ate multiple meals there during our two weeks and enjoyed them all (the sunset is fabulous from the Lanai!) Speaking of Lanais...the one at the house was huge and we used the lounges A LOT and ate all our home meals at the dining table set up outside. The house is set back from the road, Alii Drive, a main thoroughfare, but don't let that worry you...the speed limits in Hawaii make mainlanders feel like they are driving backwards and you won't hear horns unless you are an instant from actually being hit...seriously...horns are just not "done" in Hawaii...so the road is not intrusive on the peace of the property. There are rental houses on both sides, but we still felt we had all the privacy we needed. (Vacant land behind the house) There is also a fresh water wading pool on the property which really helped alleviate some of the heat and humidity, especially dipping your toes in with a frosty beverage in hand. We stocked up on some Costco items, which is on the way from the airport, and then hit the farmers market the next morning for fresh produce and fish since it was Saturday. The owners have another lovely house next door that we got to see and as far as I can tell is just as marvelous as our rental. As the day wanes, so does the traffic, and you can hear the waves clearly from the lanai, the birds in the morning are lovely, and the scents of the island flowers are all free in the rental cost. We could not have asked for a better appointed property and it is definitely on our list for next time!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Hapuna Beach Park
Pu‘uhonua o Hōnaunau National Historical Park
Kealakekua Bay Historical Park
Kua Bay Beach Park
Kahaluu Beach Park
"One block away from the best Snorkeling Beach on the Island. Famous for half mile wide bay, ..."
Laaloa Beach Park
Hulihee Palace
You Make The Roll
Ba-le Sandwich Shop
Kahaluu Beach Park
"One block away from the best Snorkeling Beach on the Island. Famous for half mile wide bay, ..."
Nearest Airport
12.7 Miles
Keahole Kona
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Sam Choy's
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Keauhou Golf course
Nearest Motorway
1.2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.05 Miles
Keauhou Shopping Center numerous restaurants
Nearest Beach
Kahaluu beach,4 minute walk, not even a blockaway.
Nearest Point of Interest
Hale O Makai
Nearest Point of Interest
Kahalu'u Beach Park, & St.Peters Blue Church

National Register of Historic District Kahalu'u Beach!! The Best Snorkel Beach in Hawaii. It was King Kamehameha's favorite for Surfing, and he loved coconuts. So much that he had a caretaker guarding the trees. The most important, Surfing Heiau "Kuemanu" dedicated to the ancient Hawaiian Sport of Surfing, is only steps away from my home. It was where the Hawaiians prayed to the God to bring waves to the Bay. Kahalu'u has ancient ponds, and a menehune breakwater built by the Chief, Kalai'kini, that encloses part of the bay. Kahalu'u is one of the most popular beach on the entire Island of Hawaii. You will see an abundance of Reef fishes in this protected Bay. Many turtles will frequent this area. Surfing the Bay is popular and many Surf schools to teach beginners and teach people to respect our ocean as well as being safe. There are two lifeguard stands, pavillions, picnic tables, bathrooms, showers, and lunch wagon with shave ice. The weather is almost always Sunny all year round. The Big Island is the largest of all, so the weather varies around the entire Island. Kahalu'u is one of the Best! You can sometimes see Dolphins right in front of my home! Also, you will love the Sunsets above the ocean on the huge lanai.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Keauhou House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $250
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.42%

Cancellation in advance of arrival. Upon written notice, charge of $250 if cancelled more than 120 days before arrival, 1/2 of the rent if cancelled 119-90 days prior to arrival, (100%) of the rent if cancelled 90 or less before arrival. Owner shall refund all but $250, if another person reserves the time cancelled at the same rate for the same period subsequent to guest's cancellation. Charge cards accepted with processing fee. Personal checks are accepted, if for any reason it is returned by the bank, $25 fee will be charged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Keauhou House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2) Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) full size, Bunk Beds (1) bunk bed, 2 twin mattress, crib(1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
We have two side by side homes available. Great for large groups. Combined we can accomodate 18 people, with lots of space for all to enjoy! Check out on VRBO listing # 400030

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties