Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Direct Ocean Front at World Famous Banyan's Surf Break; fully updated with WiFi

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 808 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 10 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Our direct ocean front condo (Unit 219) sits 30' behind the Kona Bali Kai seawall. You can't get any closer to the sea without getting wet.

If you want DIRECT Ocean Front, next to the most popular Island surf break in a TOTALLY remodeled unit at a great price point look no further. The view is world class - it just does not get any better!

Important note: Our 2 day minimum ONLY applies if you book next to an existing booking (Calendar is kept current). Otherwise the normal minimum (except xmas & Ironman) is 6 nights. This is covered under the notes section at the bottom of the rates area. Email or write us if you have any questions.

The 2BR/BA unit recently completed an $80,000 wall to wall full remodel in early 2014. The new 5 star interior is unbeatable with custom Cherry cabinetry, solid granite counters, new windows, new patterned tiled floors and new stainless steel appliances. The MBR King bed was just replaced again in April, 2017.

Total square footage including lanai is about 1,000'. You will notice different sizes quoted in KBK adds. To my knowledge all 2BR ocean front units are the same size? Interiors are about 806 square feet + the 200 square feet lanai.

Enjoy our full width lanai with new top of the line Pella double glass, low e, Fiberglass sliders adjoining the master bedroom and Greatroom. If the surf noise at night is to loud just use the doors to control the sound level.

Entertainment center includes 39' Samsung TV with cable box to receive Hi Def Programming, radio and dedicated Router for free Wifi.

Each major room has a quality Casablanca All Weather Ceiling Fan to keep you cool along with a new, 12,000 BTU A/C in the Greatroom for those rare late summer sticky days. Most Ocean Front units @ Kona Bali Kai do not provide AC (its rarely needed!).

Note: We reluctantly placed a 2 hour timer on the AC unit - we gave up on asking guests to not leave the unit with the A/C on (power in Kona is incredibly expensive).

We provide free long distance calls to the US and Canada Mainland.

The famous (site of frequent competitions) Banyan Surf Break is just offshore from our unit so you'll enjoy watching the surfers in between checking out the frequent turtle (Honu) visitor in the natural lava pond directly in front of the lanai.

Our unit is on the convenient 2nd building level with quick access to free ground level parking, courtyard pool and no steps to apartment if you prefer to use the elevator. Just a narrow strip of lawn separates you from the ocean. The natural lave rock pool in front forces the waves to break out from shore further, reducing the surf noise level, a plus.

Custom shoji type silhouette sliding glass panels (Unique to Kona Bali Kai) separate the Greatroom from the MBR.

The coastline in front of Kona Bali Kai has accessible tide pools and sandy areas - perfect for poking around on a lazy afternoon. Free Oceanfront propane fired outdoor Barbecues with adjacent picnic tables are available for guests.

White Sands County Park is 1 mile south, Kahaluu snorkeling beach/bay is 2 miles south and there is a great small hidden beach cove a short walk away I'll tell you about in my client letter after booking.

We live 1 mile south most of the year at an ocean view condo which we managed as a vacation rental for 10 years before retiring and moving to Kona in 2009. We understand how important our guests vacation time is and do our utmost to provide a positive experience.

We provide a detailed, exclusive 16 page guest letter to our clients listing our favorite guide book and information on a host of our favorite beaches, day hikes and snorkel spots to help you with your vacation planning. We also provide tips on how to save airfare & car rental expenses.

Sharon is a part time commercial artist specializing in tropical flower water colors. You will enjoy several examples of her paintings in the condo. Painting are available for sale or can be done from a favorite photograph; prices start at ~ $200.

Master Bedroom has a full size king bed with nightstands and chest of drawers; 2nd BR has a queen bed with nightstands, dresser and large LCD TV.

This is our 2nd Kona Bali Kai Direct Ocean Front Rental. See VRBO listing 329786 for details and pictures of our sister unit a few doors away that sits directly in front of the Banyan's surf break. Both units are currently listed on VRBO..

Note: Unit 219 matches unit 305's layout and size except the layouts are reversed.

State of Hawaii Tax ID: GE/TA-203-587-7888-01

More Details

Owner
Lynn Noffsinger
Member since: 1999
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Lynn Noffsinger

Lynn Noffsinger (retired Intel Engineer) and Sharon Noffsinger (retired Elementary Educator) were able to achieve a long term goal by moving to Hawaii in early 2009. Our nearby residence (1 mile south from Kona Bali Kai) was a successful VRBO vacation rental for 10 years from 1999 to 2009. We understand the importance of our clients vacation time and make every effort to provide an outstanding value. Many of our former clients were repeat visitors or friends and family of previous clients.

Except when off island we accomplish all turnovers ourselves to insure the condo is perfect for your arrival.

This is our 2nd purchased ocean front unit @ Kona Bali Kai. Lynn set up a special IRA fund which allowed him to purchase this unit directly and market under the name of Konanoff LLC but after all the legalese its just Lynn and Sharon's 2nd great unit.

Lynn Noffsinger purchased this condo in 2013

Why Lynn Noffsinger chose Kona Coast

Direct, fully refurbished (after being stripped to block walls) oceanfront next to a world class surfbreak with the best climate in the world. What else can we say other than how do you spell Pina Colada??

What makes this condo unique

First you need to make the impossible choice of enjoying the lanai view or hop in the rental car and go exploring.

For lunch why not utilize the ocean front barbeques or check out the small 'POKI Shack' lunch spot just down the steps next to the lobby for some island 'soul' food and a brewski?? Poki is the island version of Ahi (Tuna) sushi.

Across the street is a convenience store for those forgotten condiments, drinks and snacks.

Free island and local ($2/trip/person on Keauhou Trolley) bus service is available in front of the building.

Too many options, not enough time - recommend enjoying the lanai view, watching the surfers wipe out and say hello to the Turtles while you think about it.

There is a small, secluded sand beach a short walk away I'll tell you about it in my Guest letter.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have a lovely time here - so enjoyed this beautiful location - we truly appreciated how well equipped the Kitchen is, supplies were well stocked and utensils were plentiful. Thank you - we will be back.

The view is so unbelievable.
Nov 2016
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 808 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom off Master Bedroom - toilet , shower , Oversized granite sink counter with large linen storage.
    Guest Bathroom (near greatroom) - toilet , shower , Beautiful Custom Shower with Granite Threshold
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , With Dresser and 2nd LCD TV
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Chest of Drawers for cloths and large Mirrored Closet
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Sharon is an artist specializing in Hawaiiana flower watercolors. Several pictures are in the apartment and are available for sale. $500 large as low as/$200 small framed. Any floral type picture can be painted and mailed via tube to any US/Canada address - inquire.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

Direct Ocean Front at World Famous Banyan's Surf Break; fully updated with WiFi
average rating of 4.757576 based on 36 reviews
5

The property was awesome. everything we needed

  • 5 of 5

Lynn always responded very quickly. Everything we could possibly need was there. Beautiful condo. Only one AC but has ceiling fans in EVERY room which made it pleasant. Beach front covered parking who could ask for more!!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

You won't find a better sunset!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay with Lynn and Sharon. We have stayed in both of their units and each is completely furnished down to last detail. Kona Bali Kai is the perfect location and provides unobstructed sunsets. Seeing the whales and dolphins from the lanai is an added bonus. We will book our future stays around the availability of their units.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

The location & price are amazing. Unfortunately, the apartment is poorly furnished. All the furniture is very uncomfortable. Sofa & chair in livingroom are painful to sit on. Outdoor sofa & chairs: same story. Beds are very cheap/poor quality. Not even a box spring under the master bed. It's more like a cot. I could feel the springs poking me all night. Sheets were stained, floor was so dirty our feet were black within a few hours of checking in. Noisy neighbors on all sides.

I guess you get what you pay for. Sadly, we will not be back.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As the proud, responsive and "in it" for the long haul owners of KBK219 this review on our my scale of frustration is a solid 10. KBK219 has 24, 5 star reviews and 6, 4 star reviews before this recent surprise over our 3 + years of ownership so why this? I can only assume this review was due to the client requesting a special filter for the tap water vs. purchasing a $5 case of bottled water (which was declined due to maintenance concerns) or they were just having a bad week? This was our only communication with them during their short stay. Additional feedback: Based on this review and speaking with recent clients we replaced the 3 year old MBR King mattress with a new $1,000 unit along with a foam topper for added comfort. Beds should last a minimum of 10 years? Many if not most condo's, cruise lines and also many local homes use pedestal beds. The higher frame allows suitcases to go under the bed saving room. Apparently the reviewer is not aware of this. My caretaker when we are off island does an excellent job of turning over the unit. With the windows open and the constant salt air exposure from the tradewinds your feet will indeed turn black when walking on the tiled floors. This is part of the direct ocean front experience and should not reflect in a negative manner! Ocean front unit environments are very different from what you may be used to. Our client letter speaks to this. Apparently the reviewer didn't bother to read our client letter and is not aware of the Hawaiian ocean environment? KBK219 was fully remodeled for ~ $80,000 after being demo'd to block walls in late 2013. It seems this reviewer did not like the furniture comfort either? Furniture is modern, Hawaiian Rattan based and comfortable in our and our historical guests opinion. All furniture is newer and well maintained. The primary seating Hideabed was recovered/ mattress replaced 3 years ago and frame replaced a year ago. Interior Dining room table chairs are extra large and very comfortable. Lanai wicker furniture is designed to be light in weight for easy movement for your particular application. Upon receipt of this review we did replace the seat cushion foam to be more comfortable/supportive in both of our units. Hopefully future reviews will continue to be a solid 5 and our future clients will better communicate with the owners if they have the rare concern. We live in Kona 2/3rds of the time and can quickly respond when on island.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Redwood City CA
5

Fabulous oceanfront condo in Kona!

  • 5 of 5

Lynn and Sharon are great hosts! The condo can't get much closer to the ocean. The unit is well appointed, newly updated and one of the cleanest VRBO units we have ever stayed in. Lynn and Sharon paid extra particular attention to mitigate sensitivity to chemicals and allergies.

We are coming back next year. We love it. Bill and MaryAnn

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect place to stay on Big Island

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay in this condo and we really enjoyed it. The condo is well equiped and has a great view on the ocean. Just in front, there are some tide pools where we saw sea turtles every day. It is also located not too far from a White sand beach and from a good spot to snorkel.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What A Way to Stay In Kona!

  • 5 of 5

Staying here was the best value around for what you get. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a beautiful kitchen, and a view to die for! Used the air conditioning the first night, and slept to the sound of the surf the rest of our stay. Plenty of water toys available right in the condo, and plenty of great beaches to visit close by. If I go back to the big island, I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
11 Miles
KOA
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Huggo's at south edge of Kailua Kona
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Belt Highway
Nearest Restaurant
Poki Shack (Lunch) is on site
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Top of Mauna Kea
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
La Aloha/Magic Sands
Car: recommended

Kona has the best climate in Hawaii; perhaps the world. Little rain and what there is comes mostly in the evening and nighttime. Enjoy waking up to sunny mornings and enjoying your Direct ocean front Lanai.

Lots of beaches/ocean activities/golfing/restaurants and hiking to keep your days as busy as you want them.

When booking our condo we provide you with the name of our favorite guide book and our favorite activities with a 'difficulty' rating!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
2017 Low Season
Apr 5 2017 - Oct 6 2017
2 night minimum stay
$149
$4,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
2017 Ironman
Oct 7 2017 - Oct 16 2017
10 night minimum stay
$189
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
2017 Low Season
Oct 17 2017 - Dec 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$149
$4,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
2017 Holiday
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 1 2018
10 night minimum stay
$189
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
High 2018
Jan 2 2018 - Apr 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
$175
$4,650
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$149
$4,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning @ end of stay $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

Important: Stays under 6 nights must normally be booked adjacent to an existing booking. Please call or write if you have questions on this. Autobookings will be cancelled if they don't meet this requirement.

Cleaning fee is waived for stays of 2 weeks to 1 month. Cleaning fee applies for a 1 month or longer stay.
Exact calendar dates for Ironman and Holidays are flexible; nights over 10 will be at seasonal rates.
Add 2% to VRBO Direct booking cost for out of USA Cards.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties