Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Premium Stand-Alone Beauty. Close To Village. Ski-in Ski-out. Top Quality!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,619 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom, 4 bath, on three levels, stand alone chalet, sleeps 10

We offer premium ski accommodation on three floors. The top floor, where you gather, has large bay windows providing great views of the Village and the slopes. It contains a beautiful kitchen, dining area, living room, a small bathroom and access to the hot tub. The middle level provides entry from a flat driveway to a foyer with a heated floor. Here is the spacious master bedroom which includes a luxurious en-suite. The second bedroom, also on the middle level, has two single beds which can be combined to make a King, and across the hall is an elegant bathroom. The lower level sports a deluxe den with TV and fireplace, a mini kitchen, a bathroom, and the laundry room. It also has the third bedroom with two double bunk beds (sleeps four). The den sofa converts to a queen bed. A spacious ski room on the lower level conveniently stores all your gear and exits directly onto the ski-way with access to the slopes. Quality finishing throughout, includes some heated floors, superior ventilation, central gas heating, ceramic counters, flooring of carpet, hardwood and tile, beautiful oak detailing, elegant window treatment -- the photos tell it all! This is upscale deluxe accommodation.


Owner
Sue Steinke
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, german
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

About Sue Steinke

We purchased this beauty to provide joy for ourselves, our children and four young grandchildren, all crazy about skiing. We intend to keep Deep Blue in pristine condition, and enjoy all Silver Star offers year round. The easy access to the spectacular x-c skiing snowshoeing and skating is a bonus.

Sue Steinke purchased this house in 2013

Why Sue Steinke chose Vernon

We are the second owners. Deep Blue was custom built by a highly respected local builder, and it oozes quality and elegance. When needed, it comfortably sleeps all ten of us (grandparents, parents, grandchildren). This is a stand alone house, so no shared walls. It has a great view of beautiful Silver Star, a magical winter wonderland. We have easy access to the whole mountain on skis or cross country skis, and when we want, a five minute walk to the Village.

What makes this house unique

You will live on three floors: top - elegant living, dining, visiting. Middle - sleeping. Bottom - a den where the kids (or anybody) can play and have fun, but away from the grownups. An intercom keeps everyone in touch. This is great rental for two families, but you should also invite grandpa and grandma.

Map

Nearest Airport
85 Kilometres
Kelowna International YLW
Car: not necessary

On the Knoll, overlooking Silver Star Village. Silver Queen and Silverwoods Chairlifts very near. X-C ski trails a few steps away. Or a 5 minute to Village shops and restaurants.

Amenities

Vernon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2619 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This bathroom is on the lower floor next to den.
    2 piece Bathroom on upper floor - toilet , On upper floor. Tile counter and floor. Across from hot tub.
    Master En-suite - toilet , tub , shower , Deluxe ensuite with 4 bay windows. Heated floors.
    Bathroom #2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Tile floors, Across the hall from bedroom #2.
  • All bathrooms are immaculate, with high-end fixtures, ceramic counters, tile floors. En-suite has heated floor for amazing comfort.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Den - 1 queen , Queen hide-a-bed, gas fireplace, mini kitchen
    Bedroom #2 - 2 twin/ single , Slide together to make a King, two closets, carpetted
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , large bay windows, great views, deluxe en-suite.
    Bedroom #3 - 2 bunk bed , Sleeps 4 in double bunk beds on lower floor.
  • Quality duvets and linens. Bedrooms have carpet; direct access to bathrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
Ski room on lower floor provides access to ski way. It has a stamped concrete heated floor, security pad entry, boot racks, ski racks, benches and glove hooks.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Premium Stand-Alone Beauty. Close To Village. Ski-in Ski-out. Top Quality!
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
5

Superlative experience all around

  • 5 of 5

Our extended family spent 4 glorious days at Deep Blue the first week of March 2017. One couldn't ask for more spacious and beautifully decorated accommodation with easy access to Silver Star. With fresh powder 3 out of 4 mornings we were truly impressed. It felt like home, not just another condo. The Steinkes really put effort into being great communicators and gracious hosts, leaving personalized notes and goodies for us.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Ski Holiday

  • 5 of 5

We just returned home from a most fantastic ski holiday at Silver Star Mountain Resort. This was our fourth stay on the mountain and had always stayed at Snowbird Lodge. This year, we decided to try something different and rent a house. There were no disappointments! We totally appreciated the space, all the amenities of our own home, lovely views, and very notably - working with Sue and Wally who were responsive, attentive, and very hospitable. We can't wait to return and hope that we can rent Deep Blue again. Special thanks again, to Sue and Wally for working with our family and helping make great memories!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you K. H. for the terrific endorsement. We try very hard to provide every guest with an opportunity to have a great experience on Silver Star. So glad you had a great time at Deep Blue. W & S
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house and location, owners very accommodating and great to deal with

  • 5 of 5

House was exactly as advertised, plenty of room, with everything you need. Our family of six all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Wally & Sue are lovely people and go out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic place for family ski holiday

  • 5 of 5

Our party consisted of 2 parents, 3 adult children and 2 partners. Deep Blue was perfectly situated for our one week vacation over New Years 2017.

Silver Star was just over one hr drive from the Kelowna airport. Food shopping in Vernon was convient and the large stores satisfied all of our needs (including local wines). The drive had breathtaking views.

Deep Blue is situated on the knoll overlooking the village, tub run and south ski slopes. Digital door lock avoid keys. Heated floors in front and rear vestibules help to dry out gear. Welcoming 3-storey gift basket was a nice touch. House is stack on 3-storeys like most others with lower floor having walk-out access to connecting ski trail, lounge with TV and gas fireplace, bunk bedroom and bath. Street entry level has one car garage, master bedroom with large bathroom (jacuzzi), 2bed bedroom and bathroom off hallway. Upper floor is open plan with large kitchen (eat at counter), dining, lounge and reading nook. Hot tub is on adjacent outdoor deck (quite private).

Fully equipped kitchen with crockpot, blender, hand-blender, pots, pans and all that we required. A stock of spices, flour and other items was also provided.

Village was just a few minutes walk or ski. Ski return was short distance from collector trail at rear house or at Johnson's Lane across the street.

Tips:

- take advantage of Brewer's Pond ticket/rental shop. This location has low traffic for lift ticket sales and passes compared to the village centre location. It also handles x-country, bike and skate rentals. Alpine rentals are only available ar village centre.

- ride the magic carpet conveyor up the hill near Deep Blue at end of day from bottom of tube slope.

- pick up groceries in Vernon on way. Several full service stores available. We bought about $400 of food to feed 7 adults (including 3 big boys) to last 7 days. We ate all meals at house.

- try skiing up the hill. Our youngest is a dedicated Nordic skier and he got us into going up the south slope (about 5 kms and takes about 1 hr or less)

- snow shoe trails were well packed and could be travelled in boots.

Sue and Wally were responsive to our inquiries. Everything went according to plans.

Would definitely recommend Deep Blue for stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Allan. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family for New Years week. We really appreciate your time and effort in writing this review with details, very helpful to others coming for a snow vacation at Silver Star, and especially for those who might stay with us at Deep Blue. We are so pleased you had a great time and a great stay. Best wishes, Sue and Wally
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Deep Blue for five days of skiing, and it exceeded expectations! The house was clean and comfortable, with great views and a location convenient to the slopes and village. The owners, Wally and Sue, were extremely responsive and made us feel welcome and completely at home. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent House

  • 5 of 5

Our XC ski club had an excellent stay at this house! Sue and Wally were very helpful. We hope to stay here again in the future.

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $311.16
Tax Rate 5.0%

$400 booking deposit required at time of booking and is held as the security deposit; is refunded promptly after check-out when unit is left in good condition.
Cancellation Policy:
The Full Rental Amount is due 60 days prior to check-in and is non-refundable after that time.
If the rental is cancelled more than 60 days before check-in, all funds are except the booking deposit are returned.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.