NEWLY UPGRADED - Spacious Tahoe City Cabin perfect for large groups & pets!
About Tiffany Chiu
I reside in San Francisco, California, and over the past few years I have grown to love Tahoe . With the desire to enjoy Tahoe with friends and family, I found just what I had been day dreaming about… a large, open, communal Tahoe home in a peaceful Sierra setting. The location and the home are just the ingredients needed for me in creating the perfect Tahoe memories for years to come. Please reach out anytime, I am happy to answer any questions at all!
Tiffany Chiu purchased this House in 2013
Why Tiffany Chiu chose Tahoe City
I absolutely love Tahoe City and the West Shore! There is no other location for me on Lake Tahoe! Tahoe City is simply the perfect mix of Tahoe, with an abundance of mountain, lake, and river activities so incredibly accessible, and with such amazing Sierra and Lake Tahoe vistas. I also love how we have modern conveniences for grocery shopping and seasonal supplies, along with adorable cafes, restaurants, and bars set on the lake and river that provide iconic Lake Tahoe views!
What makes this House unique
From my perspective, the most cherished and unique moments are waking up to the silence of the Sierras, seeing nothing but beautiful forest through the large cathedral windows, brewing fresh coffee while waiting for the others to slowly rise one by one bringing this peaceful house to life. For the early risers, it is so incredible to walk to the trail head overlooking Lake Tahoe and watch the sunrise. It is beyond words how beautifully draped the brilliant colors of the sky are over Lake Tahoe. The experience is so pure and surreal to me each and every time. In the winter, a morning snowshoe hike or cross country skiing run after a fresh snow is an amazing start to the day, or a full day excursion if planned well! Especially with the view of the cobalt blue lake against the white backdrop! Now from the male perspective, I am told the unique benefits of the home are the great atmosphere for big games, with the 55” HD TV, the hot tub, the back deck with the grill, the spacious mud room for their snowboarding and ski equipment, and the foosball table. For kids or all ages, they love the 'fun room' with their 4 bunk beds, with the parents loving that this room is distant from the other 4 bedrooms. Since the backyard is on the Greenbelt it is perfect for playing in the snow!
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Pet Fee of $100
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Loads of room and fun
We had a great stay at this location. We piled three families in this house with plenty of room and comfort. The kitchen was well stocked with plenty of dishes, pots, and pans. We fully utilized the empty shelves and hooks to keep our items as orderly as possible. One of the families brought their boat. We went to the private beach and hung out while different groups hopped on and off the boat. We were able to use the docks at the beach to load and unload. There is a state-run ramp about 5 miles away for input, and the hot tub was nice to use after a day in the chilly Tahoe water. It was a 25 minute run to the casino. We would definitely stay again.
We rented for 4 nights with 13 of us. Property was perfect size and great layout. We drove our out Jeeps for the Rubicon trail and the location was perfect for all our activities. No AC but fans cool off house well in the evening. Dogs loved the outdoor space. We would definitely stay again.
Great location but house was less than satisfactory
We were a party of 13. The house (living/dining area, bedrooms and baths) was spacious enough for our group. Good arrangement for adults and children.
The property location is fantastic and a real plus
Access to the Tahoe Beach Park was a nice perk
There were some problems with the property that would prevent us from using it again:
- 6 of the 10 dining table chairs wobble and are unsteady
- the lighting throughout the house is poor, with many fixtures missing light bulbs
- kitchen and living room lighting is dim
- there were not enough forks for 13 people
- the kitchen was very disappointing -
- knob on the cooktop is loose and hard to light,
- several drawers were stuck shut, cabinets were a gigantic mess, hard to find anything
- some utensils broken
- the kitchen wall where the trash and recycling bins are kept is splattered with dried-on food
- some dishes/bowls & utensils in the cabinets/drawers were not clean
- there is no cover on the floor heater in the laundry room - heater coils are exposed
- the shower in the upstairs bath doesn't drain properly
- there were cobwebs on windowsills and when we moved the couch to make more sitting room for tv watching, we found grime and dust bunnies under the couch
All of these things give the house a feel of disrepair and being uncared for.
The last point is that on our last day, as we were doing our final walk-through and packing up, the cleaning crew arrived ½ hour early and started cleaning and were underfoot. We felt like we got the bum's rush out the door. Not a good ending.
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoy the location and our HOA amenities and thank you for your feedback.
We rely on our housekeeping staff to be our eyes between guests, and clearly we needed to work with them to better our guests’s experiences.
I reached out to understand why the kitchen was in a disappointing state and the reason her crew started to clean while you were still there. She took responsibilities and have communicated to her staff. She also went to the house herself and cleaned the areas that were overlooked.
I also drove to the cabin to check out the other areas for improvement you mentioned.
1. We replaced the 1 lightbulb over the kitchen table as well as the one above the sink in the bunk room. One light was unplugged in the upstairs bedroom.
2. Baseboard heater covers - we had to special order the parts and find a break in our schedule to install them. They had just been installed.
3. Wobbly dining chairs and stuck drawers- our handyman had addressed them. Thank you for letting us know.
4. As for cooktop, I didn’t see any issue, one needs to turn to “lit” for a few seconds to light the burner, then turn the knob to adjust the setting.
Beautiful home great for large family’s! Tiffany the property owner is so easy to talk to! Whatever we needed she was on it right away!
Only this is hard is the bear bin outside is small so when you have lots of trash it’s hard to fit it all in , but Tiffany has us leave it in the house and put bear cables up and she took care of it! Fans in every room ! Peaceful place !
Great house for a large group of close friends!
We had a group of 11 sleep very comfortably in this house. We enjoyed the bbq and hot tub and large central dining table and open floor plan
This residence is for winter rentals
We actually enjoyed this home except for a few things. There are 5 bedrooms and NO fans, it was usually too hot to sleep. The kitchen was missing several items I expected to find-salt and pepper, garbage bags, a can opener.
We did not use the fireplaces or hot tub. It was big enough for our group but as mentioned in other reviews it is in need of TLC.
Thank you for sharing your experience. We have purchase fans for each room.
Must see California State Parks (Summer) for quintessential Tahoe views with beaches, lake view hikes, piers, and/or picnic areas:
Sugar Pine Point (West Shore)
D.L Bliss (West Shore)
Emerald Bay (West Shore)
Sand Harbor (East Shore)
Also a beautiful stop on the way back from the West Shore parks, make sure you stop at Chamber's Landing for the Chamber's Punch overlooking a beautiful Lake Tahoe setting.
If spending the day on the Truckee River, you will run dead into the River Ranch, a historic lodge with beautiful river and sierra mountain views, along with an outdoor patio/bar right on the river. Then take the River Taxi back to where you launched.