check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bolivar Birdhouse: Great Views, Birding, Beach Access, Privacy, GOLF CART

31 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Crystal Beach House Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 10. 3 bedroom, 2 bath + gameroom. Incredible Views, Gourmet Kitchen, RV

Come enjoy this newer home, built in 2013; includes a double lot for outdoor recreation, a second living area/ game-room upstairs, downstairs master, and 3rd story lookout deck where you can see for miles and miles! Our home features a gourmet kitchen, granite countertops, vinyl and travertine tile flooring for easy clean ups, double dishwashers, indirect lighting and windows galore. Your view will not be obstructed by neighboring homes here, because we are bordered by natural area. Privacy Galore! The game room on the 2nd store can also function as a second master suite or living area, as desired. Two families can be very comfortable in this home! Master suite is downstairs and 2 bedrooms, a bath, and the game room is upstairs. Plenty of closets, on demand hot water heaters, travertine tiled showers, also outside private shower. Enjoy the ocean views and breezes from all areas of the wrap around decks on both levels of this two story beauty! Picnic on the ground level on the concrete patio or simply relax in a hammock. We have a 4 seater golf cart and 30 amp RV hookup available for reasonable rent if desired also.

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Hadley Montgomery
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2016
Call Owner

About Hadley Montgomery

Two families (siblings and spouses) own this beauty and have truly attempted to design it to be the perfect vacation home. We hope you and your family will be able to make memories here just as we have.

Hadley Montgomery purchased this house in 2013

Why Hadley Montgomery chose Texas Gulf Coast

The property has one of the best beach views on the street, currently from several angles. We basically have no immediate neighbors that have rebuilt their homes, offering privacy galore! The home is a short walk to the beach, on a beach access paved road. Our golf cart (available for rental) can make the short walk to the beach even shorter drive. we have a washer set for your entertainment, and plenty of outdoor room for fun and games.

What makes this house unique

The Bolivar Peninsula, particularly this area, is known for its winter bird watching- nation wide. Our property neighbors wetlands and with local area bird preserves there is much offered for the nature lover. High Island and other birding areas and events can be investigated nearby.


based on 31 traveler reviews

Bolivar Birdhouse: Great Views, Birding, Beach Access, Privacy, GOLF CART
average rating of 4.580645 based on 31 reviews

Extremely disappointed ROACH problem don’t recommend to anyone! Terrible service

  • 1 of 5

I stayed at this location 08/18/16 – 08/20/16 with a group of guys for a fishing trip / business meeting we had in the area. At first glance the house looked great. Fairly clean on the inside very spacious with a great floor plan. Now the bad…… All the patio furniture on all decks were broken plastic chairs besides two wooden chairs. The owner of the home told the cleaning lady we weren’t supposed to check in till 08/19/16 so we had no towels in any of the bathrooms and had to fold them out of the dryer. Now for the REALLY BAD!! We were watching TV in the living room the first night and killed two large roaches. Later that night two more large roaches were located in the upstairs bathroom and were killed. We went to bed that night and one of my guest woke up to a roach in his bed and actually left the business trip loosing me money…… I attempted to call home owner the next day and phone went straight to voicemail. The rest of the stay we killed approximately 5-7 more roaches in the living room / kitchen area. I was finally able to make contact with the homeowner the Monday I got home and she advised her family stayed in the house in July and killed two roaches and had recently had the house sprayed for bugs because of it. I advised her whoever sprayed didn’t do a good job and I felt it wasn’t okay I paid all that money to stay in a place like that and have to lose money from a client over there roach problem and have to deal with the nasty bugs. Homeowner advised all they could do was offer me a free night at the house. I advised her I did not wish to stay in a house infested with ROACHES she could just refund me one night of my stay. She refused to do so and make it right. I don’t advise anyone stay here unless you don’t have a problem sleeping with ROACHES at night. She also tried to say the ROACHES cam in the house because of the rain and the house is by a wooden area. So I guess as long as they came in because it rained that makes it okay…. Terrible guest service and a horrific experience to say the least. The way these homeowners treated me service wise they will probably take my deposit since I wrote this review. But everyone should know the truth before spending this much money.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You, the reader, can see that under normal circumstances we read our reviews, respond and attempt to correct for each concern. However, in this case, the guest violated his rental agreement, attempted to take advantage of us financially, and then wrote a review that has so many falsehoods that it does not dignify a detailed response. I will say that he received his full deposit, despite us having ample grounds to keep it. You and other future guests, may rest assured that we take pride in offering a high level of customer service and a beautiful comfortable beach cabin that affords an enjoyable stay for our guests
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful family vacation home for adults & kids.

  • 5 of 5

Bolivar Birdhouse great place to live for a week. 10-minute walk to beach but to beat the heat I'd advise getting beach sticker for your car - makes taking your gear much easier. Nice long beach, good waves, and no sharks or jelly fish. Enjoyed jumping fish, seagulls and pelicans. Plenty of shells on the beach, and the ocean wind makes for perfect evening boogie-boarding. Close to ferry to Galveston, and short drive to The Big Store for everything you need. Enjoyed the Johnson Space Center/NASA also. Owners pleasant to deal with. Highly recommend for a good family vacation. Unexpected bonus: leaving Port Bolivar got immersed in cattle drive on the road - no problem - a fitting Texas 'goodbye.'

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We had an amazing time....

  • 5 of 5

Their was 3 families that stayed there for 7 days. We cooked our meals there, and enjoyed the beach almost every day. The house had everything that we needed for a comfortable stay. We would definately recommend this for anyone who wants a home away from home vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Birdhouse made our vacation even more perfect!!!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in the Birdhouse during our trip to Galveston for our daughters 16th Birthday and our very good friends joined us. She chose the destination and we found the house together. The house is amazing inside and out. We saved money by cooking our dinners at the house and very much enjoyed the well stocked kitchen. Its the perfect distance from the beach, close, but just far enough to be away from other travelers partying. The views were breathtaking, especially before and after a few little storms we had. The only thing that would have made things easier on us would have been a little more attention to the floor, it was pretty dirty when we arrived, and there were no cleaning supplies available. We ended up purchasing our own. If we had any questions Hadley answered almost immediately and was very helpful. I would definatly recommend this property to friends and consider staying again. We were not ready to leave. We didn't really get a chance to enjoy the few things available on Crystal Beach, per our own fault, we kept finding things we wanted to do on the island and the ferry took away from some of our time. We did however get to go through the Big Store and it has anything and everything you could imagine, gift shop, groceries, tools, you name it, I recommend you stop by.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

A group of 10 of us went to Cyrstal Beach for Jeep weekend and stayed at this beautiful property. Couldn't ask for a more perfect spot and the house was immaculate! Will definitely book here again!

  • Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Bird house Bolivar

  • 5 of 5

Great location , great house close to the beach.

House owners are great to deal with ..... Highly recommended

Great value for money compared to other rentals in this location

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
105 Miles
Houston Hobby Airport
Nearest Barpub
3.5 Miles
Ships Wheel Bar & Club
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Bolivar Ferry Landing
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Crystal beach Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Hwy 87
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
The Coconut's Restaurant & bar
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Crystal Beach
Car: recommended

The Bolivar Peninsula/ Crystal Beach area is an easy going, family friendly area. Plenty to do for kids and adults! Let your worries wash away and enjoy your stay at this wonderful get away home in a quite area, with wide views of the beach and bird/ nature preserves nearby.


Rates & Availability

Crystal Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $350
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 6.5%

Security Deposit is $350; cleaning fee is $75 payable at time of booking. Golf cart rental fee is $75/ daily.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Crystal Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , travertine tile/ shower. pretty granite countertops
    Upstairs Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , large full bath upstairs. Travertine floors and shower
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , outdoor shower on ground floor
  • The Master Bathroom has travertine tile floors, tile shower, pretty cabinets, and adjoins the master bedroom.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , private access to upstairs porches
    Bunk Room - 2 bunk bed , 2 sets of bunk beds
    Gameroom - 2 sleep sofa /futon , two sleeper sofas (double sized)
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , new king bed located on main living floor
  • There are 3 official bedrooms. The Master Bedroom is downstairs and has a new KING Bed, beach view window, large closet, and adjoining bathroom. The game room can also function as an additional bedroom and large open area, with 2 sleeper sofas.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
We have a 4 -seater gas club car (golf cart) available for rent with advanced notice. Please let us know at the time of your quote if you would like to rent the golf cart. Rental Rate is $75/ day. We also have a 30 amp RV hookup if you would like this for your group please also let us know at the time of quote. Rate is $25/ night.

Partner Offers