check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Conveniently Located Near Downtown, OHSU, College, Light-rail, Air-Cond. unit

35 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Brooklyn Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 6

Starfish Vacation Rentals is pleased to offer this newly renovated bungalow for those seeking an urban adventure. Brooklyn Cottage is conveniently located near downtown Portland, multiple universities and colleges, numerous cultural and entertainment activities, top-notch restaurants, spas and gyms, and a number of major medical centers. It’s a warm, inviting abode that has been thoughtfully equipped to serve as your home away from home when visiting the beautiful City of Roses.

This private, tastefully decorated bungalow is tucked behind lush landscaping and the property’s main house. The two are separated by a peaceful courtyard that’s perfect for lounging with a good book or for enjoying a homemade meal you can prepare with the onsite gas grill and fully equipped, modern kitchen. That is if you aren’t too tempted by the many nearby Portland eateries.

Brooklyn Cottage has easy street parking and close access to public transportation. After a day exploring Portland, you’ll appreciate a good night’s sleep in the comfortable beds (one queen, one twin trundle bed), both of which are wrapped in high-quality linens. A queen-sized sofa sleeper in the family room provides an additional sleeping option, for a house total of six guests. The family room features several entertainment options—a cable-equipped HDTV, DVD player, high-speed broadband WiFi, and selection of board games. The bungalow’s nicely appointed bathroom will beckon with its full-sized, cast iron tub and tile shower enclosure; soft, fluffy towels; and eco-spa amenities. A convenient full-sized washer and dryer are also available in the home, along with an environmentally friendly heating and air-conditioning unit to keep you comfortable in all seasons.

Every detail about this premier property exudes the owners’ discriminating taste, attention to detail, and graceful hospitality. Whether it’s a family vacation or a romantic getaway, you are sure to have the experience of your dreams at the Brooklyn Cottage.

The City of Portland has issued Permit #14-224495-000-00HO to The Brooklyn Cottage indicating it has been properly inspected and is a legal rental in Portland.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Danna Kittell (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french

About Danna Kittell

The owners of the Brooklyn Cottage are also travelers who stay in VRBOs when they explore the world. Having the experience of travel makes them great hosts as they know what travelers need and want. Since the owners have lived in the Brooklyn Neighborhood for more than a decade, they will be able to guide and help you in finding what you are looking to see or experience during your stay in Portland. One of the owners is a born and raised native Oregonian who knows this beautiful state’s nooks, crannies and hidden gems. We both enjoy outdoor activities and can also direct any of our guests to wonderful hikes and outdoor adventures.

Why Danna Kittell chose Portland

We choose this property because of its proximity to downtown Portland and so many other amenities like restaurants, grocery stores, bus lines, bike trails, running trails, Oaks Bottom Wildlife refuge, museums, and other activities and conveniences.

What makes this cabin unique

Location, Location, Location. It is close to so many attractions. The Brooklyn Cottage is comfortable, modern, and clean.

Reviews

4.7
based on 35 traveler reviews

Conveniently Located Near Downtown, OHSU, College, Light-rail, Air-Cond. unit
average rating of 4.6857142 based on 35 reviews
TUCSON, AZ
5

Great cottage next to public transit for easy access to downtown

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

After arriving and traveling by rail from airport into downtown, I was pretty tired and hot. I hopped on the Orange Max (rail) from downtown and was delivered to the SE 17th Ave and Holgate rail stop; from there I walked around the corner to the lovely cottage. I entered to a very clean, modern, air conditioned space. I've stayed in similar vacation rentals but this one was about the best. The owners had it stocked with a welcome basket of coffee and biscotti for the next morning, plus many of the essentials needed for a convenient stay. The freezer was even stocked with ice for our stay! The only thing to know is that if you are in Portland without a car, make sure to pick up groceries along the way while you have access to public transit; otherwise at the cottage, it's a little difficult to catch transit to the nearest grocery without going back down town(you could take a taxi or a bus to a nearby grocery if absolutely necessary). Other than that, this is a perfect spot and I would definitely stay here again. The photo on VRBO is exactly the way the place looked- clean, cool, refreshing and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
columbus, OH
3

Near downtown.

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

My main complaint was it was a bit farther out and rather industrial; tram. The house itself was clean. My one complaint was it smelt overwhelmingly like a wet dog. We opened windows for 2 days due to overwhelming wet dog odor.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always open to suggestions/feedback on how we can make our guests' stay more comfortable. This review is makes contradictory remarks though so we want to clarify. The home is a 10 minute drive to downtown Portland and 1 block from the MAX station. It is very convenient to many popular Portland venues - OMSI, OHSU, Reed College, the Moda Center, and the Hawthorne District, to name a few. The Brooklyn neighborhood itself is transitional - a mix of light industrial and single family homes. There are nearby coffee shops, restaurants, small market, and fitness, but it is not a main pedestrian district. The house is professionally cleaned after each guest and quality checked. None of us detected a wet dog smell, and since our no-pet policy is strictly enforced, there has never been a dog in this home. We are very attentive and even checked in with this guest during their stay and no mention of an unpleasant smell was made by them. We would have made an immediate attempt to respond and address any issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lino Lakes, MN
5

Brooklyn Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This was our first time renting a home and we are now hooked! It was nice having so much space and privacy. The location was excellent being only a block away from the light rail and conveniently located within 10 - 15 minutes of driving distance from great shops and restaurants. Parking was always available on the street. The cottage had everything we needed! Thank you for hosting such a pleasant trip to Portland.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Brooklyn Cottage

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We enjoyed our stay at the Brooklyn Cottage. It was perfect for what we needed. The only complaints I have is the musty smell and the ants. Parking isn't that bad if you don't plan on staying at the house all day. ok one more complaint. There is cable but no channels. every channel we tried o watch was blocked. Oh well. We didn't go o Portland to watch TV. We didn't use the patio and I'm glad we didn't need to use it cause it seems to be shared and is not well kept or nice. Again it served the purpose we needed it for.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Starfish Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: We appreciate the feedback you've provided. The owners are ultra careful not to use any harmful substances at the cottage. A natural exterminator has been called in to treat the sugar ants. We haven't noticed a musty smell, nor had we had prior reports - the cottage is regularly used, but will monitor. The patio is shared with the main house, and since this guest stayed during the transition from winter to spring, the colorful umbrella and roman blinds had not been brought out yet.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Inver Grove Heights, MN (south of Saint Paul)
3

I had to give up my garage, because 'we' wanted a baby!

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The accommodations were nice, clean and relatively new. Parking is available most nights around the corner and days down the street because it is primarily a commercial area 'with no parking 'in front of the home (across the street)' and there is no on-site parking. It felt like the owner 'reprimanded' us for giving up and parking in the drive-way. Supplies of some consumable products (soap and laundry detergent, etc.) were not provided, but needed.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our description of the cottage indicates that it is in an urban setting and that it offers "street parking and close access to public transportation." Our check-in instructions also indicate that there is no onsite parking and that the driveway is to be used for loading and unloading only. The owner very politely requested that this policy be adhered to. During the week this guest stayed, the City had cordoned off some of the street so it was more difficult to find nearby parking. We encourage our visitors to take public transportation which is a block away and a very "Portland way" to get around town. The home is very well-stocked with soap and paper supplies above and beyond a typical rental - we want our guests to feel at home when they stay here. The kitchen is stocked with lots of spices, sugar, etc., and we leave a welcome basket of coffee, tea, and treats so that you are treated as a guest. There was an extra container of laundry soap in the entry closet - we're so sorry it was missed and we didn't hear from this guest during his stay so we could have pointed him to it.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Everything was as described. My husband and I enjoyed staying at this super-clean, well located house.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

The Brooklyn Cottage is central located and very close to downtown Portland, the Oregon Zoo, Portland Art Museum, Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, Portland Children’s Museum, Portland Children’s Theater, Hoyt Arboretum, Portland Rose Garden, Forestry Center, Chinese Garden, Japanese Garden, Oregon Historical Society Museum, Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge, Portland Willamette Waterfront recreation area, Oaks Amusement Park, Reed College, Oregon Health Sciences University, Lewis and Clark College, National College of Natural Medicine, Portland State University, and a number of restaurants, grocery stores, boutiques, museums, gyms, spas, farmers markets, parks, and attractions. Conveniently located near several freeway entrances, bus and bicycling routes.

Multnomah Falls is located just outside of Portland in the beautiful Columbia Gorge. Within an hour drive are 3 major ski resorts, hundreds of hiking trails, the Oregon Coast, Wine Country, Mount Hood, the Columbia River, the Willamette River, wildlife viewing, bird watching, hunting, world class fishing, rafting, sailing, water skiing, stand up paddle boarding, paddle sports, kite boarding, wind surfing, wave surfing, scuba diving, and many more sights and activities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Visit starfishluxuryrentals.com for a complete quote
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Brooklyn Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • American Kitchen
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full bathtub and shower combined with tile surround.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • There are two bedrooms that sleep two people each. An additional sleeper sofa is in the living room that can sleep two more people. A total of 6 people can sleep in the Brooklyn Cottage.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
Outside:
  • Courtyard
  • Garden Table & Chairs
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties