check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Dan Taylor

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english, mandarin

SPACIOUS HOUSE IN AN EMERALD FOREST

40 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Royal Hawaiian Estates House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2-1/2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4, views into tree-tops and stars at nigh

Very quiet, secluded open-style home. End of a gravel road, 2-1/2 miles from the Volcano Highway. Two Master BR upstairs, open-style kitchen and living area on the ground floor, with a wood-fired stove and a good supply of firewood. One-car garage. Secluded wooden 'Chofu' hot tub. Spacious 3-acre property with no nearby neighbors.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Dan Taylor (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english, mandarin

About Dan Taylor

Retired National Park Ranger, devoted to forest conservation. I am intimately familiar with the nearby national park, and with most other recreational and cultural features in Hawaii Island. I enjoy sharing my knowledge of Hawaii natural and cultural history with travelers, and am happy to lead adventurous folks to places off the beaten track, if they ask.

I speak a little bit of Mandarin Chinese (Putonghua), and I especially hope travelers from China and Taiwan will feel welcome here.

Dan Taylor purchased this house in 2007

Why Dan Taylor chose Volcano

This property is part of the mid-elevation rain forest of Hawaii, now being broken up by development. I built my house here because it is as close as I can get to the natural forest and still feel connected to it. The house is built with big windows that look into the nearby treetops during the day and into the stars at night. Hot water is heated by solar panels; electricity is powered by photo voltaic panels, with backup from the electric utility. The property is a dedicated Conservation Easement --the first of several in the community.

What makes this house unique

Most travelers think of Hawaii as a place for beaches and warm surf, a welcoming spirit, and glitter. A little known feature of Hawaii, equally important and not very extensive, is the native rain forest, which abounds with interesting plants and animals. There is no other tropical rain forest in the US. Here a traveler can step into the natural, wild forest just 40 feet from the front door, and can hear the calls of native birds and insects, while sipping a morning coffee on the lanai. There is no car traffic and no nearby neighbors to disturb the peace. There is nothing lovelier than soaking in the hot tub on a cool evening, during a full moon, in the nearly absolute silence of the forest night. This is the life I have chosen for myself, and I am pleased I can make it available to others.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This family were the perfect guests. They found peace and quiet, away from their urban environment, and enjoyed the space and seclusion they wanted. They enjoyed visiting the national park nearby, both during the day and especially at night, where they could see the glowing vent of Kilauea Volcano after dark. It is an amazing sight!



The three adults and two pre-teen boys had plenty of room. I look forward to a return visit.
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 40 traveler reviews

SPACIOUS HOUSE IN AN EMERALD FOREST
average rating of 4.95 based on 41 reviews
5

Amazing, cozy, with plenty of room. Dan was incredible!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful!!! Waking up to see the beauty of Hawaii right outside our window was an incredible experience. Each night it cooled down and Dan provided plenty of firewood for our use. It was truly a home away from home. Close enough to all the areas we wanted to see, but far enough away to keep the feeling of home.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice large house very secluded property

  • 4 of 5

The house is nice and large. It is located at the end of a cul de sac next to park land. No barking dogs , frogs or chickens. So, yes it is very very quite. We enjoyed the soaking tub on one evening. I did have some trouble getting the fire going but once I did everything went well. Interior is very comfortable to relax and read or watch tv. It is approximately 15 minutes give or take to the park. My suggestion is to find the house during the day and become familiar with the route because at night it might get tricky to find the house. The bottle of wine was great and overall a very nice weekend.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming House in the Rainforest

  • 5 of 5

Our family of five spent two nights at this spacious house in the woods in August and had a very pleasant stay. Dan was a terrific host and met us on arrival and provided us with everything we needed. It is remote (down a long gravel road) but well situated for visiting Volcano National Park (maybe 10 minutes away). The house is beautifully decorated and well furnished. Dan even helped us fix a flat tire on our rental car on our way out (thanks Dan!) I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the park, which was also great!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Private, quiet, and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Dan's place for a little over a month, and found it a perfect place to appreciate mid-elevation Hawaiian forest. At the end of a long driveway, the property backs onto forest reserve. The only sounds we heard were the wind, rain, and the singing insects and birds. The house is comfortable, with upstairs bedrooms and baths with nice views of the forest. The kitchen had everything we needed to make our own meals over the month. Dan is a friendly host, and we enjoyed getting to know him. Thanks for everything, Dan.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply amazing

  • 5 of 5

Needed a break from town (kona). Between work, and rushing hours of Kona it was becoming a bit crazy. This was exactly what the doctor ordered. It was so amazing we invited our friends for a night. The hot tub was so AMAZING!!!!! This is definitely going to be our go to spot. I felt so at home, the fire place definitely took me back to Idaho days.. sitting in a log cabin with snow. But this was even better.. thank you so much for sharing your home to us! Hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo Dan and Aloha! !!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house, great owner

  • 5 of 5

Fun to relax by the wood stove and read. Spacious, rustic, comfortable, beautiful. We liked that the property is eco-friendly and off-the-grid. Although the house feels so private & remote, the location is very convenient for visiting Volcano National Park. The park is just a few minutes up the road, as are the restaurants in Volcano Village. We did hikes and activities at the park during the day, returned to Emerald Forest to relax in the evening, then zipped back up to the park late at night to look at the lava glow from Jaggar. The owner, Dan, is a great guy, a really warm, kind human being. Great to work with. We'd highly recommend Emerald Forest and would happily return.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Hilo International
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Volcano Village
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Volcano Golf and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hawaii Route #11
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Volcano Village
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Hilo
Car: necessary

Volcano Village is well known for local graphic arts and handicrafts that are related to nearby volcanoes and Hawaiian culture. The Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is nearby, with dozens of interesting trails, guided walks, and activities, such as hula performances and artist seminars. Active lava flows are accessible for adventurous travelers.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Royal Hawaiian Estates House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
$700
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 9.25%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Royal Hawaiian Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , twin wash basins
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , twin wash basins
  • Two bathrooms, with shower, two wash basins, one toilet in each bathroom. Hardwood floors.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Two master bedrooms, on second floor; Queen-size beds. Hardwood floors, with area rugs, dressers, chairs, mirrors, closets.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
Notes:
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is nearby, and is the primary attraction in this part of Hawaii. This house is on a 3-acre lot, in a remote and partially developed, rural subdivision. Lots are mostly forested. A 30,000-acrea natural forest reserve is adjacent; nearest neighbor is 300 yards away. This part of Volcano is exceptionally quiet and serene. The property is a conservation easement grant, intended to maintain the native forest in perpetuity

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties