Bedrooms 3, Bathrooms 2.5, Sleeps 6
First Island Realty
- english, french, spanish
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Missing essentials, wife's wedding rings stolen!
The house itself was fine, although it lacked some basic essentials (dishwasher detergent, soap/shampoo, paper towels, ran out of laundry detergent after one load). Struggled with a dying TV remote the whole stay during nights. There are air conditioning wall units downstairs (living room/kitchen area) and upstairs in 2/3 bedrooms. The smallest bedroom with single mattress, where our young child stayed, had NO AC unit. So his room was sweltering unless we ran the AC 24/7 along with fans redirecting air into his room.
The real issue was my wife’s wedding rings stolen on our second day there. And it was NOT a break-in. Someone used the door code (which we found out later the First Island Realty property management company only changes QUARTERLY), and grabbed them off the kitchen counter. Nothing else was missing or even gone through. Unfortunately, my wife left them in plain sight as she does at home out of reflex, no thought of being stolen. One of the property mgt staff was in the house that day while we were at the beach to troubleshoot a cable/Netflix issue. We weren’t expecting him to come in while we were out, unannounced. He also turned down the AC, which we spent all night cooling our son’s room—so back to square one. It could have been anyone, as the code was last changed in April, but you know…
Filed a police report with the Kona police, had the door codes changed, but my wife and older daughter felt unsafe for the remainder of the stay. Personally, I wish I picked THE OTHER place I had been considering…
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We provide all basic essentials to our guests. Housekeeping restocks these between each stay. If for some reason they were absent, this is the first we are hearing of it and we would have of course provided these items immediately had we been notified. We would have been happy to provide replacement batteries as well for the TV remote had we been notified. We did immediately respond when asked to troubleshoot an internet/Netflix issue. We informed you that we were going to be in the home. After we resolved and fixed the situation, we left the property immediately and informed you.
We have never had any complaints about the AC before and our experience has been that the house cools off quite quickly once turned on. We did request that you turn the AC off when you leave the home to conserve energy as it is quite expensive in Hawaii. Again, had we been notified of the issue, we would have been happy to provide a fan or alternate means of cooling in the 3rd bedroom. Your stay unfortunately coincided with one of the hottest weeks of the year. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced due to this.
Regarding the wedding rings, we understand in the everyday hustle how easy it can be to misplace something, particularly when the beach and ocean are involved. Misplacing your wedding rings is something that we cannot imagine and everyone in the office felt terrible. We understand that you were scared but we are very confident in our staff and the people that can enter the home would not take anything. We manage many vacation rentals, long term rentals, as well as multi-million dollar homes and have never had a complaint of theft before. We did change the locks and code for the home immediately and you were informed they were changed. Additionally, this property is in a small gated community with wonderful neighbors who all look out for each other.
Please know that we take security very seriously and locks are changed quarterly at a bare minimum and additionally as warranted. We will not discuss the specifics of our office policy regarding lock changes on a public website for security reasons, but we have no reason to suspect any sort of unauthorized entry or theft.
We understand that you are upset and these really cannot be replaced if not found but First Island Realty goes above and beyond for our customers. We have been working directly with Kona police to try and get this resolved.
Again, we're very sorry this happened as our goal is always to provide a 5-star experience.
It's better than what is advertised
I was blown away about the cleanliness of this property. The location is perfect. It's only a 10-minute walk from the beach. The property is big enough to house 6 people in 3 bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths. It is in excellent condition. I would definitely stay here again when we come back to visit Kona.
Mahalo nui loa for your kind words! We look forward to seeing you in the future!
The house was perfect for our adult children and grandson. A perfect vacation Highly rated
The property was safe yard had oranges and bananas for us to eat. Clean and two patios were wonderful as we had 6 adults and one baby in the house. We could play cards and party or relax privately when we needed alone time. Mark was amazing and made sure everything was perfect. You will not regret a moment if you rent this home.
This is a nice, spacious home with cute decor. The kitchen has most things you would need and a nice selection of spices. The house is off A'li Drive and about a mile and a half from magic sands beach. It is in a residential neighborhood, lots of trees, and there is a lot of bird life. We saw parrots, and a flock of waxbills comes to the yard every morning, along with a variety of other birds. The downsides are the house can get a little hot - especially the third bedroom, and the outdoor gear is not great. There should be a real cool box, not styrofoam, and the beach umbrella was sad. That said, we enjoyed our stay here.
We thought the house was clean, comfortable, and overall a great value.
My wife and I stayed here with our two daughters (12 & 14) and her parents. There was plenty of room, and our girls said it was their favorite place they had stayed so far in Hawaii. The central location made it convenient for accessing sites all along the Kona coast.
Mahalo for your kind feedback! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You and your family are welcome back anytime!
Perfect house for the family.
The house was very clean and comfortable. The master bed was a sleep number, and there were flat screens in every room. Beautiful exterior and close to amenities in town.
Thank you for your kind feedback! This home really does have everything you could need while on vacation.
We hope to see you again next time you're in Kona!