Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Largest Ski Home in Sandy, Licensed for Short Term Renting

Bedrooms 7
Space 4,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights


About the property

7 Bedrooms 4 Baths, Sleeps 7-15 Lift/Lodging Specials. usskilodging online

Stay N Ski Packages- Home plus Lifts package rates available

This extraordinary 7 bedroom 4 bath 4500 square foot ski home is licensed as required in Sandy City to legally rent nightly or weekly, and is located right at the base of the Alta/Snowbird resort access road about 10 miles to resorts. Easy access -Brighton and Solitude in 15-20 minutes.

The Bluff Ski Home is the Largest Ski Home in Sandy/Cottonwood! Seven bedrooms, Four baths - This home sits on a private bluff with fabulous views of the Salt Lake valley and some of the Wasatch Mountains! From your private hot tub on the large deck, you can see forever on a clear day! Two living rooms on the top level, seventh bedroom has no window with a queen and a twin bed. Free high speed internet, cable HDTVs, plus a large family/recreation room on the lower level with foosball and ping pong.

This Cottonwood Bluff Ski Home is one of the only 8 legal & Licensed Vacation Ski Homes in all of Sandy City which usskilodging C0M has all - avoid problems.

11 real Beds are: king, Qn, Qn & Twn, Qn & Twn, Qn & Twn, Qn, & 2 twins, additional movable beds available in addition to the 11.

More Details

Kevin Roberts
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About Kevin Roberts

The Cottonwood Bluff Ski Home famous for its online packages is one of just 9 homes that are legal to rent nightly or weekly in all of Sandy/Cottonwood, and we have most of the others. Non Licensed rental homes are targeted by zoning agents in Sandy City to be closed down, so no worries about that in this home.

Why Kevin Roberts chose Granite Ridge

Right on the access road to Alta and Snowbird, and also just 2-3 minutes from the base of Big Cottonwood Canyon going to Solitude and Brighton.

What makes this house unique

This home is the best located Ski home, right at the base of the access road to Snowbird & Alta, and just minutes from the access road to Brighton and Solitude! Large and private.


Granite Ridge House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 5:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 17
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • There are 4 full or 3/4 bathrooms
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Largest Ski Home in Sandy, Licensed for Short Term Renting
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
San Francisco

Great home, great vacation!

  • 4 of 5

This home was great for our three families (14 people). We rented it the week before Christmas. We were minutes from Snowbird/Alta and just a few more minutes away from Brighton/Solitude. The hot tub was perfect after long days on the mountain and the view of the entire Salt Lake Valley was incredible! The grocery store is a minute down the street, so very easy and convenient to grab some steaks and throw them on the BBQ. We will definitely rent this home again next year!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Best Trip Ever!

  • 5 of 5

The Bluff Ski Home is a lovely and spacious ski home that easily accommodated our 3 families of 16 people. It is well appointed with everything you need in the kitchen, 3 living rooms good for a large group, comfy firm beds and an AMAZING view overlooking the entire Salt Lake Valley best viewed from the large Hot Tub while we soaked our tired leg! The home is right at the entry to the resort access road to Snowbird and Alta, but also just 2-3 minutes to the other canyon road to Solitude and Brighton. Quick 1-5 minute drive to grocery, restaurants, and any other shopping. We've stayed at many VRBO's in Colorado, but we will definitely stay at this home again for any of our future ski trips due to a great home, Utah ‘s better snow, and convenience from the airport (just 25 minutes, NOT 2.5 hours), and a great home. The owner was very nice and made our reservation process simple, and checked in to make sure we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything we needed. He sold some of us his “superpass” lift ticket that works at any of the resorts we went to and we found that it saved us a lot. You will not be disappointed if you stay at the Bluff Ski Home! See you next year! :)

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great House + Great Snow = Great Time

  • 5 of 5

Our recent stay at the Ski Bluff Home for skiing and riding was great. The house is VERY spacious and was very comfortable for our large group of 10 adults + 1 child. The large dining table allowed everyone to eat together and look out the window to gorgeous views of the mountains. The kitchen is spacious and there is a lot of varied cookware that allowed us to prepare great meals each morning and night for our large group. There were 2 fridges which proved to be necessary after stocking up at Costco for the week. The hot tub was great and has AWESOME views of mountains and the city.The house was clean and some complimentary sample size toiletries were provided in the bathrooms. At the time of our stay most of the house was carpeted and it seemed to be new.

We booked Super Pass ski tickets through Kevin which was easy to do as he lives nearby. Kevin was able to quickly give us some more lift tickets late in the week since we skied more days than originally planned because of the AWESOME SNOW!!!

The location of the house is ideal for traveling to any of the resorts in the Cottonwood Canyons. A grocery store is nearby and so is Ski-n-See. If you have a large group, you will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Washington D.C., USA

Great Place! Great Views! Can't wait to go back next year!

  • 5 of 5

We love this House and especially the location, our group of "young" retirees have been here 5 years in a row! This time we came earlier than usual in the season but had the great Utah snow anyway. The Bluff Home, as the name describes is located on a private bluff with 360 views. The open kitchen is well supplied with anything we needed for cooking a basic to gourmet meal, and the dining room table is large enough for everyone eating together all at once. The 2 upstairs family rooms are great for hanging out together, one with a big screen HDTV, both with fireplaces, and the family room downstairs works well for our annual ping pong tournament. Maybe the biggest plus is the best hot tub I've been in, with a foot massager (great after wearing ski boots all day) plus incredible panoramic valley views sitting on the top of the hill- especially fabulous with a Corona, at night watching the lights of the entire Salt Lake valley.

The manager Kevin is very responsive, through him we usually purchase the package that also includes our lift tickets. He even arranges discounts on our rental equipment and rental SUVs saving us our time and money. We will be back next year!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: January 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
United States

Great time Skiing in Utah!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at this home the first part of January 2013, and we had a great time! The home sits ups on a hill and overlooks the entire Salt Lake Valley and Mountains. The home is very spacious and accommodated our large group nicely. The view is unbelievable, especially while doing apres ski in the hot tub!! The kitchen is large and open and completely stocked for a large group, it even had a separate wine cooler for our wine enthusiast. The managers of the home were fantastic and saved us money on our all of our lift tickets, rental equipment and our rental car. The lift tickets were even hand delivered to us! The Utah snow was great as always (it never disappoints). The location was right on the canyon access road and 2 minutes from two grocery stores and restaurants. The kids loved the game room with a large flat screen TV and the ping pong table was a huge hit.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2013
  • Stayed: January 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your input, we hope to see you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

A lovely setting but multiple problems.

  • 2 of 5

This house was adequate for our needs but had many deferred maintenance and safety issues. I believe the price was quite high for the quality of the establishment. There were leaks under the kitchen sink from a cracked garbage disposal, water sprayed the user from the lower level bathroom sink aeroator. The 4 lower level bedrooms had safety issues (2 had windows which would not open, one had no window at all and the 4th had 2 screws preventing the window from opening). Dresser drawers overall were dirty and functioned poorly.One dresser had to be propped back against the wall with ping pong paddles as it threatened to fall over on a small child who pulled on a drawer pull. The kitchen cabinets are very worn and functioned poorly. On arrival there was no dust pan or vacuum cleaner and no promised BBQ. This situation was later rectified. The hot tub was cloudy until 7 days into the rental when a maintenance person came and it then improved.the wall outlets were substandard and it was most difficult to keep chargers, etc. plugged in.

The location of the property is ideal for outdoor enthusiast.The kitchen was well equipped with tableware and pots and pans but no trivet for placing hot items on the table. The stove was dirty upon arrival.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: December 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your input online. The gas BBQ that you specially requested was delivered to you the next morning after your evening arrival. Vacuum- this house is equipped with a central vacuum system (which you were maybe unaware of), yet when you requested a vacuum, our staff delivered one to you within 2 hours. The hot tub was freshly filled for your arrival and was checked several times during your stay, each time looking a little cloudy but chemically balanced. The semi cloudy water was due to one or all of: dirt from more than normal in and out of the tub (as with kids feet), body oils from not showering prior to use, and removing the chemical floater from the hot tub that we put back in the tub twice. We had to completely drain and clean it after your departure (without a charge). We found sparkler stems in the filter housing, a toy car and 3 other plastic toys in the hot tub. We are glad our guests enjoy the tub but getting cloudy after just a few days means overuse. Thanks to your review bringing these items to our attention, we quickly fixed the water issues, and checked the electrical outlets. The kitchen cabinets all work well and the kitchen is stocked with numerous hot pads for hot items to be placed on the table. Basement windows checked, all lower level windows have safety locks, and open smoothly once you turn the safety lock. We lubricated the tracks anyway. These small maintenance items you mentioned would have been easily rectified for you if only you would have contacted us about them while here. We pride ourselves on our great response and service. You learned first hand how responsive our staff is when you requested special items.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 6


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Light rail between Sandy and Downtown & airport
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-215, I-15
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
.1 mile
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Snowbird, Brighton
Car: recommended

Best central ski home for Alta/Snowbird, close to Solitude & Brighton also.

Legal and licensed(required) to rent nightly/weekly, one of just 3, this being the largest ski home- allows you to avoid big problems and have your home actually available when you arrive!!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $135
Booking Fee $245

Spring Fling Offer must be reserved direct with MWP and booked prior to Feb 15th.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties