check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jim Brawner

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Stunning Ocean Views From Every Room.

22 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hawaiian Paradise Park House Rental Photos and Description

2 Master Suites - 1 additional bedroom - 3 Baths - Sleeps 7 - Next to Ocean

The Whale House has a huge wraparound lanai providing stunning ocean views. This 1400 square foot house includes a full size kitchen with a dishwasher, two identical master suites, plus an additional bedroom, with three bathrooms, a hot water outdoor shower, free kayaks, golf clubs, air conditioning, HDTVs, bicycles, large gas BBQ, free WiFi, hammock, and patio dining to enjoy whale watching. Kaloli Point has the best weather on the East side... some say better than Kona.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jim Brawner (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jim Brawner

We are full-time Big Island residents. We live one block from the Whale House, so we are available to assist you at a moments notice.

Jim Brawner purchased this house in 2013

Why Jim Brawner chose Hawaii

Once we stood on the lanai, felt the ocean spray, and saw whales breach in the orange sunset, we knew this house was a magical place.

What makes this house unique

Kayaks, bicycles, golf clubs, snorkels, coolers, and fruit trees. Whale House is the only rental where free kayaks are provided with instructions to the waterfalls. Kaloli Point is the very best area for bicycles both on and off trails. We also have fruiting coconut palms, papayas, bananas and pineapples on the lush half acre property. Plus a unique tropical outdoor shower with hot water overlooking the ocean. Oh, and great weather too!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wow! What and incredible journey we had in Hilo. We cannot thank you enough for the forethought extended to us during our stay. Your "whale binder" was the Holy Grail of Hilo for us. It provided us some extremely memorable destinations. We were so fortunate with the weather everywhere we went. It seemed we got sun when we wanted it and it became overcast when we didn't care. We learned a mind set that we have never really had before, and I have to say, it is one that really reduces anxiety and stress. The lava pool snorkeling was our favorite. The lavender corals were almost glowing and the variety if fish were gorgeous. We swam with a turtle when we were there. He didn't seem to care that we were flanking him as he swam. We saw a few turtles from the shoreline at the Whale House too. The Wednesday night dinner farmer's market at Uncle Roberts was so fun. We talked to some nice people and tried many different things. We did so much. And were so fortunate to relax at night in a wonderful home which provided for all our needs. We are sore, sunburnt, and mentally spent at the moment, but so happy we made this choice. Mahalo for the best vacation ever!
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.6
based on 22 traveler reviews

Stunning Ocean Views From Every Room.
average rating of 4.590909 based on 23 reviews
5

Sheila T. -KY

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the Whale House; the house was just as beautiful as the pictures on VRBO. Jim met with us when we arrived a little late and showed us all the great features of the house. He also gave us helpful ways to view the active lava flows, which was one of the highlights of our trip. If your looking for great views of the ocean and comforts of home, then this rental is the one.

Thanks again Jim for providing a wonderful house for our stay at Hawaii.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect family vacation

  • 5 of 5

From our very first contact with the owner, the Whale house met AND exceeded our wishes & expectations. This property had all the amenities as well as hospitality and guidance for making the most of our stay. The "whale house binder" was awesome & gave us great ideas, directions and suggestions. Jim was especially accommodating and has thought of everything. You can't find a better property as far as an all inclusive stay & for the value ( no extra cost to rent gear like bikes, snorkel gear, kiyaks, etc.. Our family of mostly adults, loved the flexibility of so many things to do: snorkel, hike, bike ride, walk, or just relax at the house. The property is beautiful & so well maintained. We are already talking about when we can go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Sights and sounds!

  • 5 of 5

We throughly enjoyed the whale house on our recent visit to the big island! Amazing views, the coqui frogs, and the crashing waves! The house was perfect, well stocked and well maintained. Jims introduction was thorough and the notebook was well appreciated! Enjoyed the outdoor shower after a long afternoon walk on the cliffs! Was an amazing place to stay and highly recommend to anyone considering renting this gem!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Property

  • 4 of 5

The property is on a corner lot with very nice plants, bushes, trees and view of the ocean.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Frankfurt, XX
5

Relaxed and lovely property

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Whale House for four nights and that was not even closely long enough to explore everything that Jim had told us about. The Whale House is equipped with everything you would possibly need. You can even go kayaking with the two Kayaks provided by Jim as well as biking, snorkeling and so much more. The living/kitchen area is very spacious + bright. The front porch is huge as well and we loved having both, our morning coffee and our evening BBQ out there. The bedroom is large as well and the bed is comfortable. There is also a small room in which you can lock your valuables if you feel like it (the area is pretty safe though). Jim met us personally on check in and gave us a great introduction into the house, the surrounding areas and the entire Big Island. He was super welcoming and friendly and we were so pleased to meet him. The pictures on VRBO are exactly what you can expect from the house, they are very accurate! As you live in the middle of the rainforest there are of course some bugs that you have to deal with. The entire house is equipped with mosquito screens/doors though, just make sure that you close them properly and promptly! At night you can hear frogs that sound like birds and you can hear the ocean waves. It was so peaceful we fell asleep right away every night. If we ever get back to the Hilo area we will definitely stay here again - it is such a peaceful escape especially when you are used to a busy city life.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

South Hilo Stay

  • 4 of 5

The house is very roomy. It would be great for two couples, and extra nice for one couple, like us. The ocean is across the street, through an empty lot (short walk). Despite the rain, we enjoyed riding the bikes through the very nice neighborhood. Don't miss the farmer's market on Sunday in Pahoa. The house is also nicely situated to visit the volcano.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Hilo International
Nearest Golf
13 Miles
Hilo Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Hwy 130
Nearest Restaurant
4.5 Miles
Blaine's
Nearest Beach
0.05 Miles
Walking Distance
Car: recommended

Whale House is located on the most beautiful street on the East side of Hawaii surrounded by million dollar homes. Enjoy stunning ocean views from every room. Feel the ocean spray while whale watching from the huge wraparound lanai. The Whale House is on famous Kaloli Point which boasts the best weather on this side of the island... some say it's better than Kona. This 1400 sq ft house comes with free kayaks, golf clubs, bicycles, Wi-Fi, a large hammock, HDTVs, snorkels, boogie boards, lots of parking, washer, dryer, gas BBQ, air conditioning, dishwasher, and a full sized kitchen with everything needed to prepare a gourmet dinner for six. Plenty of outdoor patio dining.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hawaiian Paradise Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$115
From
$115
Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Tax Rate 13.42%

$115.00 a night for one master suite. $135.00 a night for both master suites. $155.00 a night for all three bedrooms. Maximum occupancy of 6 guests. There is a flat $65 cleaning fee. We don't charge a damage deposit because our guests are nice people. Whether you book one, two or three bedrooms, you are occupying the entire house. This is NOT a shared home. Sixty-one day cancellation policy for full refund with a non-refundable $85 processing fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hawaiian Paradise Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Newly remodeled with designer vessel sinks, granite countertops, ceramic tile floors, and a jungle facing window.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master Suite One - 1 king
    Master Suite Two - 1 king
    Master Suite Three - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Three master suites each with a king bed, ceiling fans, closets, separate entrances and private bathrooms including a shower and bathtub.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Kayak up a river to six waterfalls. One single and one double kayak provided free of charge. Four bicycles. Two sets of golf clubs. A hammock, cooler, snorkels, masks, boogie boards, beach chairs, washer and dryer.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties