Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Street's Retreat- Great Seaside Cottage In A Family-Friendly Area Of The Beach

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Street's Retreat is a beautiful beach side cottage with great views and all the conveniences of a modern home!

If you are looking for a beach cabin where everyone has their own space, this is the place. With 4 bedrooms and 4 baths, this is one of the only rental cabins where every bedroom has it's own bathroom! There are two bedrooms downstairs (on the main floor) and two bedrooms upstairs. Three bedrooms have queen size beds (All have been replaced as of 11/14) and one bedroom has a full size bed. The smallest bedroom downstairs shares it's bathroom with the hall in order for your guests to have access as well. One bedroom upstairs also has two additional full size built-in bunk beds! All bedrooms have their own cable TV for those late night movies or when the kids want to plug in their PlayStation/Xbox's!

The house has its own dedicated WiFi signal just in case you need to send that last email or need to get on the internet.

You can wash the sand out of your bathing suits in the stackable washer/dryer so that you don't go home with any dirty laundry. Did I mention when you get back from the sandy beach that you can just rinse off in our enclosed downstairs sand shower!!! If you aren't too sandy then just rinse your feet off with the foot sprayer at the bottom of the stairs!

Everyone will feel like part of the action in the fully furnished kitchen that opens into the great/family room with it's 20ft. ceilings! The couch and loveseat is just the place to catch a nap or watch a little television. You'll also notice the dining room table is a beautiful custom table made from reclaimed wood that was from historical homes destroyed during Hurricane IKE in 2008.

After dinner you'll want to go for a leisurely walk to look for sea shells down the beach while the sun sets or just hang out on the deck in a lounge chair and listen to the waves take all the stress away!!

Wherever or whatever you decide to do at Street's Retreat you will not go wrong. Remember, your on vacation.....relax and enjoy!!!!

More Details

Owner
Jenny Overstreet
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2017

About Jenny Overstreet

My wife and I grew up about an hour from Crystal Beach and each of us have our own fond memories of being on the beach while growing up in this area. After having three wonderful kids, we knew we wanted to get a beach house so that they could make their own great memories with their friends and family. We always feel relaxed and are able to shed the stress away from whatever is going on with our jobs, etc. Even though the city is just a short drive away, we always feel like we are on an island!!

Jenny Overstreet purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Jenny Overstreet chose Texas Gulf Coast

Our family had bought this as an investment in 2005. After having the property for just a short period, we realized that we loved the area so much that we just couldn't sale it and decided to keep it for ourselves. We did a complete remodel in 2007 only to have Hurricane IKE completely level the house in 2008 after the house had stood for 51 years! We didn't think twice about rebuilding because of all the great times and many memories that we have down at the beach.

What makes this cabin unique

The location of this house in such a family-friendly area and the incredible views make this house one of the best in Crystal Beach. Having 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms makes it very nice for older kids, other couples, or even other families that are vacationing together! Having the clean, vacant lot in front of our house is a huge plus for the kids or just so that you are guaranteed a great view of the beach forever!

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Hobby Airport
Nearest Ferry
9 Miles
Galveston
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Ranch Caribe
Car: recommended

Crystal Beach is just a short ferry ride from Galveston! Galveston has water parks, an amusement park on the pier, great restaurants, bars, movie theater, and excellent shopping! There is Schlitterbahn Water Park, Moody Gardens, The Pleasure Pier, Duck Tours, Imax Theater, Museums, Historic Homes, Performing Arts, etc.

Amenities

Crystal Beach Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - outdoor shower
  • 4 Bathrooms-- 3 with Bathtub and 1 with Standup Shower 1 Outside Sand Shower Renters must provide their own towels and toiletries.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Upstairs
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , Upstairs w/double bunk beds
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Downstairs Master
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • 4 Bedrooms-- 1 King, 3 Queens and 2 Fulls Renters must provide their own linens, sheets and pillow cases. We do provide a linen service for $10/bed or $50/all 6 beds. Please email us to set that up.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(57 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Street's Retreat- Great Seaside Cottage In A Family-Friendly Area Of The Beach
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 57 reviews
4

Awesome place to spend time with family!

  • 4 of 5

Celebrated my 60th birthday weekend at Streets Retreat! We loved it! Accommodations were great and the time of year was perfect!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, Texas
4

Family week

  • 4 of 5

This home is super. Each son had a room with the grandkids in the bunk room. Plenty of space and very quiet. It must have internal insulation. One night, we lost electricity due to a storm and while there was a flashlight, it had no batteries. Wish that would be corrected. Be prepared to have a gentle shaking. The house sways when there are people walking around. It was actually relaxing and a great warning that others were up and about. The reason it wasn't a 5 star stay was the hours we spent cleaning. We aren't dirty people but wanted to show our appreciation to the owner by leaving it clean. However, I wish I could have paid someone to do it. It kinda ruins the week to work so hard at the end. Thanks for letting us use your home.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Cora for your review. I appreciate you taking the time. We have had some pretty scary storms this year including Hurricane Harvey. I am very sorry that the batteries were not working in the flashlight. We will definitely take care of that. We strive very hard to earn 5 stars. I am sorry that there was obviously a miscommunication regarding the cleaning. You actually paid a cleaning fee when you booked your reservation. We have the home professionally clean between each rental. In addition, the email that I sent with check in and out info stated upon check up we request that you just sweep, take out the garbage and load the dishwasher. I apologize that you spent so much time cleaning. We hope that you will come back and next time we will be able to achieve 5 stars. Thank you again for your review and choosing "Street's Retreat."
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tyler,Texas
5

The location and the size of the house was perfect

  • 5 of 5

Loved being there with my 5 best friends and everyone loved the house

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are so happy to hear that you were able to make memories with your best friends. We look forward to having you all back soon! Thanks again for choosing "Street's Retreat." Jenny
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5

It was wonderful. Great to have so many bathrooms for all the kids. Great house will rent again

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are very glad that you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Jenny
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect Little Beach House

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time at Street's Retreat. The minute we got there we went straight to the beach after a 10 hr drive :) The house was a perfect size for 5 adults and 2 kidos. We got to Crystal Beach 1 day after the Tropical Storm had just passed and everything at the house was clean and ready for us. We called to check on it, and they said it was ready and even told us that it was ready if we wanted to come earlier then check in time. The house is inviting and has a fresh feel to relax in or on the amazing deck, which is where we spent most of our time. The cabinets are stocked fairly well, but if you are going to cook four course meals, you would need to bring your own stuff. It was to hot for us to cook alot, so for us it was stocked perfect. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were spacious. I thank Streets Retreat for the outdoor shower that they provide. It was a blessing to our family as our little ones loved to get sand in every part of their swim suits! The wi-fi was not working when we were there, but for my family it wasn't a problem.

The beach was just 30 to 40 yards from the house. The beach has a great shallow to deep progression, so that the kidos and adults can both enjoy it. The area that we were in was not crowded at all, like alot of the other beach access roads were. The beach itself was clean, but up by the dunes, for me had a lot of trash. My family did our part to clean up as much of it as possible. They do allow people to drive their vehicles on the beach, so keep an eye on the kids. (they do drive slow when on the beach)

The only thing that needed attention was the washer seal had some mold in it, but can be corrected easily. Also the air vents need a little cleaning, but that's it. PS bring off for the Mosquito, as they are bad on the bottom floor of the house. Not a problem on top deck, but think that is everywhere you go around dark. They are huge too!

This house is defiantly the best we have stayed in since going with VRBO. Thanks for the great hospitality and can't wait to come stay again. Maybe the adults only next time! :)

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
huffman, tx
5

Perfect Beach Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely Fabulous! We are two families who always vacation together. This time we each had our adult children with us and a few grandchildren to boot. Street's Retreat was the perfect location! It is a second row house, but being on the corner gave us a straight shot to the beach. We could set up camp on the beach within eye sight of the house so it was easy to see where the other members of our group were and what they were doing. The house was large and very spacious. Even with multiple of us in the kitchen working on meals at the same time we had plenty of room. The deck is also roomy and has a great view of the ocean and the night sky. The other thing we really loved about Street's Retreat was that every bedroom had its own bathroom. Most of the other rentals we looked into had a max of two. With so many bathrooms, it made showers and baths so much easier!

Aside from just lounging around on the beach, we spent our days fishing and crabbing and walking the beach looking for seashells. I have never found so many whole shells at one time! We also rented a golf cart from Golf Car Connection and it was so much fun! It was delivered within minutes of our arrival and we used it constantly! My favorite was using it for sand crab hunting at night!

We did not really eat out while we were there (We are quite familiar with the area because we live in the Houston area and make day trips down all the time. Tiki Hut which is very near Street's Retreat is awesome as is the Stingaree Restaurant!)... we took full advantage of the spaciousness of the house and just cooked our meals there. You can get most of what you need at the Big Store, but selection is limited and it is a bit pricier than the stores at home.

My only complaint is that the vacation ended too soon. If I could afford it, I'd stay there all summer! This vacation is one that we will remember for a LONG time to come! Thank you Ms. Overstreet!!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! What a review. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are so happy that you had a wonderful time. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for choosing "Street's Retreat" to make many memories. Jenny
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 6.0%

Off Season: After Labor Day till Memorial Weekend
$700/wknd (Fri 4pm-Sun 12pm).. $1600/wk (7 days, 6 nights)
Summer 2017: (Memorial Weekend-Labor Day)
$2,400/wk (7 days, 6 nights)
Weekly check ins Monday, out Sunday, OR Check in Friday, out Thursday.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties