Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lovely, spacious, Modernised Townhouse, 2 double bedrooms- both ensuite. Sleep 5

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 92 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

2 double Bedrooms, Large lounge/ diner, 2 bathrooms,washroom, carport, parking

A very spacious, modernised and well furnished town-house with excellent reviews! Privately owned, it is the end 1 of a row of 5. Situated on a small residential complex, in a quieter area of Carvoeiro. The house has 2 floors, both on the level (built on an incline) . It is built with very high ceilings, to stay cool in the Summer.

The main entrance is through the gated, enclosed Carport and leads into the lounge/ dining area. The corner unit seating converts to a bed settee to sleep an extra guest ! There is a Tv with Portuguese channels plus British free channels. There is a DVD/CD player and a few DVDs, CDs and books.The dining area has a glass table with 6 chairs.

Patio doors lead from the lounge to a terrace/ balcony, which is a real suntrap! If you wish to dine 'Al Fresco' ,there is a table and chairs to seat 6, with an umbrella shade, 2 sun loungers and a washing line.

There is a separate kitchen with a 4 ring gas hob and electric oven, fridge freezer, microwave, toaster & coffee maker. All cooking utensils, crockery, tea towel, oven glove, detergent etc. provided

The 3rd washroom is located on this floor, which has a toilet and vanity sink unit, also a washing machine and clothes airer.

The wide staircase goes down to a corridor leading to 2 bedrooms (1 with en suite shower room and 1 with en suite bathroom) and a storage cupboard under the stairs. Each bedroom has a double bed, fitted wardrobes, bedside cabinets and also there is a chest of drawers . The main bedroom has a 4 piece bathroom toilet, bidet, bath with overhead shower. The second bedroom has a sink, toilet & shower.

The second bedroom has a door leading to the outside,

Bedding,towels, bathmats and liquid soap are provided.

Beach towels may be available on request (small laundry fee)


A Parking space is available immediately outside the house as well as a secure, undercover gated carport, with a small kennel, which is ideal for small pets. There is also a small paved front garden.

A welcome pack can be requested, this is to be paid for on arrival. We normally leave some tea bags and instant coffee, salt, pepper etc. (we ask guests to replace anything they use, for the next guests).

Our guests will be greeted and shown around the house, on arrival.

Internet access is available in the house via a mobile router (Pay as you go....the first 10 hours are free and then it can be topped up) or by purchasing a dongle plus a local sim card. Also there is free WiFi at many outlets across the Algarve. In Carvoeiro centre you will see signs at some of the restaurants, cafes, at the Chinese shop, or at a nearby hotel.

There are many choices of restaurants and bars in Carvoeiro itself, or in Monte Carvoeiro. 'Cheers Bar' serves the best American cocktails you could wish for! Alternatively you can travel a few kilometres into Lagoa. The main larger supermarkets are in Lagoa . There is also a 'gypsy' market in Lagoa on the 2nd Sunday of each month and a 'flea market' on the last Sunday, at the Fatacil..

The Hotel Solfeirias is a few minutes walk. It is currently being refurbished. They can normally book excursions for you, which enables you to be collected and dropped off at the hotel, so virtually door to door!

The Carvoeiro Tennis Club is nearby with its outdoor swimming pool/ childrens pool, tennis courts, mini golf and cafe. Our guests are welcome to use the facilities if you buy a drink or a snack.

The 5* Monte Santo resort is also nearby.

There are 3 golf courses close by.

There are several small bays you can visit, as well as the main beach in the centre of Carvoeiro. A spectacular viewpoint is at 'Algar Seco' which is on the opposite side of Carvoeiro, with its fascinating rock formations.

For children, 'Slide & Splash' water park is in Lagoa (only a few kilometres away). Zoomarine is in Guia, about 20 minutes drive and this is wonderful entertainment.

There are many places to visit, without travelling too far. Monchique is a mountain village, with spa. Portimao ia a town with a choice of shopping centres and a marina.

If by any chance, the sun doesn't shine, there are also cinemas in Portimao.

Praia da Rocha and Albufeira are much busier resorts, Lagos has a 'golden church' and a museum, also a marina. Sagres on the West coast is more exposed and these areas are of Historical interest.

More Details

Coral Stevens
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 12, 2017

About Coral Stevens

We bought this house to be our romantic dream home in the sun and we spent some very happy years living here. Due to family commitments, we needed to return to the UK. We come regularly in the Winter months to maintain our high standards. We love our house, our neighbours and the area.

Coral Stevens purchased this house in 2002

Why Coral Stevens chose Carvoeiro area

We chose this property after comparing it with several others, because it ticked all the boxes for us for the price we could afford! Having a house, rather than an apartment gives you much more privacy and plenty of space if you have guests or a larger family. It is particularly nice to have private bathrooms. It is ideal for parking. We fell in love with Carvoeiro as it is a smaller,quieter, picturesque resort. The people are very friendly and helpful. It is very quiet and peaceful during the Winter and yet transforms into a bustling town full of tourists in the Summer. Our house has the advantage of being well located for walking to the amenities, yet far enough away from the centre to avoid the noise.

Our house has everything you need to live there comfortably in Summer or Winter.

What makes this house unique

This house is deceptively spacious and very well built. It has a wide staircase leading downstairs to a corridor and the bedrooms. It was built with high ceilings and features a high dome over the staircase, to stay cool. It is so full of character!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a fabulous week & thoroughly enjoyed staying in Casa Amoreira...just perfect! Thank you xx.
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 8


Mato Serrão House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 92 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 5
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
  • Town
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , vanity sink unit
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , vanity sink unit & washing machine
  • Each bathroom has been totally modernised with new plumbing, fittings and tiles. There is a small bin each bathroom for the disposal of sanitary towels/ tampons (which cannot be flushed down the toilets please...or the drains will block). Toilet paper and liquid soap will be provided on arrival.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , Cot space available
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Built in wardrobes and bedside tables in both bedrooms. Chest of drawers also. Bedding & towels are provided.(not beach towels). Each room has a double duvet/ throwover. Small electric fans are available on request. The bedrooms have the advantage of staying comparatively cool in the Summer as they are downstairs and not South facing.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Terrace
  • 1 bicycles
  • 6 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
It is possible to use some of the amenities of the nearby Hotel Solferias,(only a few minutes walk, across the road) for a small charge or buy a drink or coffee. Just ask at reception. They will book excursions, (you will be collected & dropped back there), they have an outdoor swimming pool and tennis court.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Lovely, spacious, Modernised Townhouse, 2 double bedrooms- both ensuite. Sleep 5
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 17 reviews

Not sunny, very noisy and poor comms when problems

  • 2 of 5

The property is like a duplex apartment with a balcony, no back garden. The front garden is tiny, closed in, noises (dogs and cars) and is not equipped. The balcony is fine for two or even three to sunbathe but eating is ok for four.

The balcony needed cleaning, which we did to get rid of the urine smell and dirt. It's not pretty and has no morning sun. It is possible to squash up in a corner on the far right hand side and one person can sit in the sun from 12ish, though only on upper body. We were woken early (6.45) from the noise (the car park directly outside both bedroom windows up to 9 cars) the noise at 6.45 and there is no sunny retreat before midday at all. It was quieter during the day. The house was reasonable, though not clean enough and no bath towels. No wifi though difficult to access internet via a dongle, it's chargeable and a nuisance to buy time, though they do start you off with 10 Euros. so as long as you have the right connections and don't download, you're okay for a few days. The set up seems to be for laptops, so we had to buy a cable to use with iPads. There are instructions, but not easy to understand and follow, even for my techie husband.

Noisey dogs are common in Carveoiro, but there were two or three neighbours, which was too close for comfort. The house generally needs more tlc. Without being too fussy, I should mention, the cycle advertised was not accessible/usable and there is no tumble dryer (as advertised).

Kind gestures and positives were 50 euros towards drinks/lunches (on a 19 night stay) so we could use a nearby hotel pool. some emergency, milk, rolls, eggs and bread for breakfast the first day which was welcome and the positive way a delayed flight was handled by a super agent.

The worst thing of all is as the property was NOT as described, it's not quiet and not sunny, we reluctantly made a complaint.The lovely, professional attitude that we had experienced pre-booking, changed. We thought there was a real attempt to 'make us happy' by arranging a 'move' however the price charged for our two nights was grossly unfair. That's because we accepted the move but weren't told until AFTER that the additional charges could not be reclaimed from Homeaway as was suggested, as it was not Homeaway's fees, but the owners. HomeAway do not mediate, which is worth noting. The owner was not prepared to compromise or even discuss so we were upset and stressed.

Ended happily as new property was quiet, clean and sunny!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I will comment as little as possible to this review! All our other guests have been delighted with the accommodation as you can read in previous reviews. However I would like to say that the property is advertised as being in a 'quieter, residential area' of Carvoeiro. I do not advertise a 'cycle' nor a tumble dryer. Bath towels and hand towels are always provided. The house was and always is professionally cleaned. Unfortunately at this time, Carvoeiro was experiencing ash falling due to fires in the inland mountains and so some of the residue had fallen onto the balcony and its furniture. This was unfortunate but unavoidable.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Casa Amoreira

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at Casa Amoreira on several occasions and have always found it a very pleasant house, with all amenities, and each bedroom has an en-suite bathroom.

We like this house because of it's proximity to Carvoeiro and yet not directly in the centre, so therefore very peaceful, and you can still be in the village or at the beach in 5 minutes.

We will be returning to Casa Amoreira at the beggining of October and we are really looking forward to it!! :-)

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great review, just to clarify for future guests..... it is 5 or 10 minutes walk to the town and around 15 mins walk to the beach. Just a few minutes by car.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home from home

  • 5 of 5

A lovely, suprisingly spacious townhouse, in a quiet residential area with a mix of British and Portuguese neighbours, yet only a few minutes walk down the steep hill into town and the beach. I really enjoyed my stay there and really felt at home. It was clean and tidy and everything was just perfect!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ticked all the boxes

  • 5 of 5

Met by the agent, who was very friendly and gave us the "whistle stop" tour, answering several questions about the villa and Carvoiero.

This is a modernised, well maintained and very clean place to stay. Five mins walk down the hill to the nearest bar and few minutes further to the centre and restaurant hill for a huge choice of good food.

2 en-suites and 3rd toilet made life very easy. A fully equipped kitchen and choice of eating areas was also a bonus, but we used the terrace every time. This was bathed in sun all afternoon, so we were still eating after 9pm in the heat of the setting sun.

Plenty of space for a couple of golfing hackers to store our clubs, and ideally located for 2 golf courses (within 10 mins).

Would we return - most definately.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. So pleased you were happy with the standard of the house and found it to be the ideal location, with easy to access the amenities. Your review may be useful to other golfers!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shropshire, England

A real home from home!

  • 5 of 5

This holiday property exceeded my expectations. It is in an ideal location. A typical Portugise town house at its best and nicely tucked away. The property was clean and well maintained. The owners had left a file with all local information in it which was really useful. However, this was only as a backup for me, as I had already made contact with the owner. The owner was able to answer all my questions and was most polite and helpful. The property was in an ideal location. The beach, restaurants and shops were only a short walk away. It is an ideal base for those wanting to explore and see what else there is on offer. We will definately be visiting this property again!!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Tewkesbury Glos

Lovely holiday home highly recommend to others

  • 5 of 5

Well maintained, clean and tidy, kitchen well equipped, spacious lounge and dining area. Close to shops and facilities, good off road car parking, we travelled with our 9 month old son and found plenty of room for a cot and to self cater own meals. Close to lovely beaches and larger towns, lots to see and do. Would definately use again thanks

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2004
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do our utmost to ensure our guests will be more than happy!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


Nearest Airport
56 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Cheers Bar, Hemingways & others nearby
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
Vale do Milho
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Nearest Beach
800 Metres
Car: not necessary

Casa Amoreira, is situated in a quieter, small residential complex , above the village of Carvoeiro. It is a short walk ( approx. 10 minutes) down a (steep) hill to the town centre of Carvoeiro and just a few minutes more to the main square and beach. The property is located near to the Hotel Solferias, the new 5* Monte Santo resort ,and just a few minutes drive to Carvoeiro Tennis Club, with its outdoor pool, gymnasium, mini golf and excercise classes. The restaurant L' Orange is a few minutes walk. (All distances are estimated/ approximate). This a an approved holiday home (registered with the Portuguese Tourist Board ...licence no. 12187 AL).

The coastline in this area is absolutely spectacular.

Carvoeiro is well known for its golf courses- Vale de Milho, Vale da Pinta and Quinta do Gramachio. There are many beaches and bays around Carvoeiro with their interesting caves and rock formations. Scuba diving tuition is available nearby. It is only a few minutes drive to 'Slide & Splash' water park and the Fatacil exhibition park.

The town centre has a great variety of restaurants and bars to cater for all tastes.

Golf: There are 3 golf courses in Carvoeiro and many more in other resorts along the Algarve coast.

In Carvoeiro: Vale da Pinta, Gramacho (Pestana) and Vale de Milho which has 9 holes and is ideal for short game practice or beginners. There are always special promotions. The town of Portimao is about 15 to 20 minutes by car, there you will find the old part of the town with many shops and also new retail parks, where you can buy most things.There is also a Marina. In the larger resort of nearby Praia da Rocha is a Casino.

There are famous 'tourist' markets held in resorts across the Algarve, where you will be sure to find some terrific bargains ! Visit the local Tourist Information Centre in Carvoeiro and pick up an entertainment guide, to find out whats on and when.

If you want to explore a little further, you can book excursions locally in Carvoeiro 'Algarve Seco' viewpoint, with its spectacular rock formations is on the opposite side of Carvoeiro and an absolute 'must' to visit.

If you have a car and wish to travel a little further, you can visit the town of Lagos with its historical statues and the 'Golden Church' and museum. It also has a Marina. Travel to the hills of Monchique to visit the small villages and the Spa, or the historic town of Silves to see the castle. For shopping malls, Portmao 'Jumbo' retail park is only 15 minutes drive and 'Algarve Shopping' at Guia is around 20 minutes drive. Alternatively, travel in the opposite direction to Villamoura or Vale de Lobo or the historical market town of Loule.


Rates & Availability

Mato Serrão House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mar 1 2017 - May 13 2017
7 night minimum stay
Summer Low
May 14 2017 - Jul 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
Summer High
Jul 15 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
Sep 3 2017 - Oct 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Gas, Water & electricity are included . A weekly cleaning service, change of bed linen & towels is also included in the price.
Special rates may apply for long stay periods or odd durations- please check if applicable

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers