check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Jordan

Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Suite by the Beach in Character Home

47 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Fairfield House Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, 4 Sleeps - Suite In Victoria's Best Neighborhood.

- LOCATION: Dallas Rd Oceanfront - steps to beach, park, amenities

- 1bed/1bath (+office nook) - new suite in restored heritage home

- Full size kitchen, washer/dryer

- Separate living room + 'nook' with office desk

- High definition TV, Wifi, DVD, Telephone

- Child friendly - ask about supplies

- Quality eco-friendly finishings

NO ADDITIONAL TAXES

3 Night min. but we may consider 2 night stays if we don't have a full 3 nights available.

Beautiful, new, 1 bedroom (+office nook) suite in a gorgeous character home. Complete kitchen with full size fridge, stove, dishwasher, microwave, and accessories. Full size front-loading washer/dryer. Shower/bath. Bedroom with queen size bed, living room with sofa bed. Wifi, high definition TV, blueray/DVD. Small office 'nook' has a desk if you need to get a bit of work done.

Beautifully finished and eco friendly. Cork, granite, stainless steel, natural wool carpet. All the charm and character of yesteryear on the outside with modern conveniences and comforts on the inside.

No view from the unit but step outside to the best view in the City, perhaps the country. The pacific ocean and snow capped mountains.

Private entrance to this lower-level suite, half above grade. Note that ceilings are under-height (6 1/2 ft).

***Looking for something a bit different? I have another suite available as well at this location:

vrbo 619798(1bed/1bath cottage)

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jordan (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Jordan

We fell in love with Victoria 16 years ago and have lived here ever since. We wake up every day and can't believe we are lucky enough to live in this beautiful place. We're both environmental professionals and when not working spend our time paddling, surfing, hiking, or just having gourmet coffee and people watching at one of the many local cafes. We live in the main house just above the suite.

Jordan purchased this house in 2009

Why Jordan chose Victoria

We bought this home because, quite simply, it was our dream house. We love its unique character, but most of all, its location. You can't beat being right by the beach and beautiful parks, but still just a short stroll from all the amenities and charm of Cook St Village. We always dreamed of raising a family in this neighborhood and are so grateful to be here.

What makes this house unique

Amazing location by the beach, the park, and all amenities. The house is also an incredibly unique character home with gorgeous features; featured in the City's book on heritage homes. Its an amazingly friendly area with great neighbors of all ages.

Guestbook comments from the manager

This needs to be renamed 'Gem on the Beach'. The suite is new, built with 'green' materials. It's absolutely lovely! The location is fabulous with easy access to the water, local interesting shopping areas and close enough to downtown. (If you really want to go there.) Jordan is a very kind and accommodating host.
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.7
based on 47 traveler reviews

Suite by the Beach in Character Home
average rating of 4.7021275 based on 49 reviews
4

Location, Location, Location! Excellent value for a small basement Suite

  • 4 of 5

We visited in July 2016 and had a wonderful stay at the small Suite by the Beach. We didn't initially realize the suite is a converted basement, but it was well equipped and an excellent value once that is known. The value is the location! It is walking distance to the park and ocean and wonderful views. Parking was always available and convenient. There is a small queen bedroom with a comfortable bed. The living room is very small, but does fit the sofabed when opened. We traveled with our teenager daughter who slept on the bed, but two people would have been too crowded in the living room. We would not recommend a couple or paying adult to sleep on the sofabed, at least until a new mattress is on there. The support bar underneath the mattress can be felt from end to end. The bathroom is very small with limited counter space, so the table in the hallway next to the bathroom doubled as a vanity. The bathroom has a motorized drainage pump that you can hear it activate after the toilet is flushed but it is not a disturbance. The kitchen was equipped with simple kitchenware for light meals and the washer/dryer was a bonus. When we arrived we referred to the information binder on the kitchen table, and unfortunately the wifi information was old, so for the first couple nights, the wifi reception was poor. However, once we contacted Jordan, we realized the information was old and the new password had excellent WiFi. Yes, this is a basement, so there is noise transference from upstairs. You can hear footsteps and muffled voices, and a vacuum cleaner! Since we were not on a tight schedule, that did not bother us. But, we actually were afraid we would keep the owners/residents awake from downstairs, so we felt a bit hindered in our movie watching, talking or using washer/dryer, etc. Despite these issues, we would stay here again if we return to Victoria, B.C.!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Suite by the Beach

  • 4 of 5

This suite by the beach is in a great location and is well outfitted for a small group. Proximity to Cook Street Village and the ocean walkway is a plus. The address on Dallas Rd, and the pictures of sunsets on the site, would lead you to expect ocean views, but since this is a basement suite views are non-existant. There is a fair amount of noise transfer from the living space above. If you are a light sleeper, this might be a concern. However, if you are looking for value for money, this is a clean, modern suite, great kitchen equipment for cooking, and great location for walking near the ocean.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location, average experience for us

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at this location in early August. The place was pretty much as described. It was easy to find, parking was readily available, the location of the unit was pretty much perfect (close to everything, safe, great scenery, calm neighbourhood, etc...), checking in was easy, and the bed was by far the most comfortable we had in the various places we stayed at during this trip. It was also roomy enough for our needs.

However, we can only describe the experience as average because we had some issues. The unit is located in a basement, so we had some issues with humidity and noise from above, often associated with a basement. Not bad enough to ruin a trip, but that certainly put a damper on our enthusiasm.

We addressed the situation with the owner after our stay, and we are pleased to confirm that the issues were treated with the utmost professionalism and will likely be resolved shortly.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We are sorry for the issues you experienced. I only wish we would have known about them during your stay so we could have addressed them early on. I hope you still had a great trip and we hope to have you again in the future. Best regards Jordan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Basement Suite with a great View

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed here this summer on our holidays in Victoria. We found the place to be clean and contained everything you would need for kitchen dishes and linens. It was easy to find and Jordan introduced himself to us during our stay. We liked that it was right near the ocean and walking distance to the fisherman's wharf and the inner harbour. We would say that this place is a typical old house basement suite in that we did find it to be loud especially with children upstairs. If you are just looking for a place to sleep when passing through this place is great but because we were on holidays and wanted to be able to relax in the suite and sleep in it was too loud for us. We would probably stay elsewhere if we were looking to do that kind of vacation in the area again.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Green River
5

Wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

Great location right on Beacon Hill Park just off the coast. It is walkable to many restaurants, but a little ways from downtown Victoria and the Fisherman's Wharf. The suite was clean, functional and had a home-like feel to it. The washer dryer was amazing, the bed was comfortable, and everything was there to cook meals. Plus you get all this for 1/4 of the price of a hotel. We would definitely stay here again if we were to come back to Victoria!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Perfect Location

  • 3 of 5

The basement suite is very clean and has all the basic amenities. The wifi is terrible, the tv works but very limitted channels especially for kids/toddler shows. We ended up renting movies to entertain our toddler when we were home. The couch itself is comfy but don't use it as a pull out bed unless you want a sore back/neck. We said hi to the owner Jordan, seems like a nice guy and left us our privacy which is great. We would stay here again due to the location.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Liberty. Thanks for your review and for staying with us. I'm sorry to hear about the wifi issues. I wish I had known you were having trouble as I'm sure we could have fixed the issue. I'm sorry you weren't able to find enough content on the cable TV package. I didn't realize you were having trouble - I'm not sure if you are aware but there is an entire section of the "on demand" service that is included with the digital cable package that has kids content, which might have given you what you need. I do hope you come back and stay with us again - if so please let me know if you are having any issues and we'll be sure to help in any way we can :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Beach
Dallas Rd
Car: not necessary

We're located ON sought after Dallas Rd across the street from one of the most beautiful beaches in the area & across the water from the snow capped olympic mountains. Bicycle, paddle board, or just stroll on the beach. While nature is just out the door we are just steps from the famous Beacon Hill Park, an urban oasis with beautiful gardens, ponds, activities, water parks, a petting zoo, and more. Amazing fishing and some of the best cold water diving in the world are just on the other side of the park. Its a very family friendly area with lots of kids parks close by - including the new Cook St playground complete with zip line and awesome new equipment. There is even outdoor exercise equipment for adults.

Cook St Village is a short stroll away, complete with multiple coffee shops, restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacy, a butcher, bank, pub, liquor store, and more. The City's best pizza, best coffee, and best pub are all here. While the suite is in a quiet residential neighborhood downtown is just over 1mile away.

While visiting Victoria there is tons to see and do. An incredible museum, undersea gardens, the empress hotel, heritage architecture, and all here. The famous Butchart Gardens and countless beaches, hiking trails, and parks are in driving distance. 1-2hrs west you'll find incredible rain forest and even spectacular surfing (but don't tell anyone).

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fairfield House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter 2016/17
Oct 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$80
$482
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$80
$497
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $54 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $153
Tax Rate 5.0%

Cancellation policy:

>60 days in advance: refund w/ 5% admin fee

>30 days in advance: you loose your deposit, but balance not due

< 30 days in advance: no refund :-(

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Fairfield House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Granite tile, tub/shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size bed. There is also a sofa bed in the living room for one extra adult or 2 children.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Family friendly. Ask about child supplies if you need them.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties