check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Quiet wooded lot in Ouray

6 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Ouray House Rental Photos and Description

Three Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, With Mountain Views And Forested Backyard

Enjoy the best of beautiful Ouray and the surrounding wilderness at our vacation house that is within Ouray city limits but sits on a forested lot that looks over the Uncompahgre river. The river, and the river trail, can be accessed at the end of our driveway. The Ouray hot springs pool is a 10 minute walk from our house along the river trail. Our dining room looks out on gold hill where snow melt creates a waterfall in spring and early summer. Shop and recreate in Ouray and return to a quiet home in the woods where deer often wander through the yard.


- three comfortable bedrooms sleep 6 people (1 queen upstairs, 1 bunk bed with twin mattresses upstairs, 1 queen downstairs).

- two bathrooms (upstairs and downstairs)

- washer and dryer

- satellite tv (48' flat screen in living room, 25' in downstairs bedroom) and wireless internet

- coffee maker, toaster, microwave

- gas fireplace

- ceiling fans throughout the house

- no automatic diswasher

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Carl Cockle
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 5, 2016
Call Manager

About Carl Cockle

We are two brothers who live with our families in Southern California. Our parents retired to this part of Colorado and we have visited them every year since then. They own an antique store on Main St. in Ouray called RB Horse Trader and would love to have you stop by and say hello.

Carl Cockle purchased this house in 2013

Why Carl Cockle chose Southwestern Colorado

Over the years we have been overwhelmed by the natural beauty of this area and the quaintness and hospitality of Ouray so this year we purchased this house so that we would have a place to stay for years to come. Ouray and the surrounding area has so much to offer. You can hike, jeep, and climb until you are exhausted or you can just sit down and watch the aspen shimmer in the breeze.

What makes this house unique

We love this property because it is so close to the amenities of town and yet you can also enjoy a bit of seclusion. Our property runs about 100 feet up the hill behind the house. If you hike up a bit you will catch glimpses of wild roses and deer. The dining room has windows that stretch from end to end giving an unobstructed view of the dramatic canyon walls.


based on 6 traveler reviews

Quiet wooded lot in Ouray
average rating of 4.5 based on 6 reviews

Great Property

  • 5 of 5

This is a great property. Carl was easy to work with and the property was very clean and well maintained.

We brought our Jeep on a 30ft gooseneck trailer and there was no issue getting the truck and trailer into the driveway with plenty of room left to park multiple Jeeps if needed.

As soon as our club picks a date for next years Ouray trip we will be reserving this home again.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States

nice little spot - group of 4 adults

  • 5 of 5

everything was as expected, the beds had a good range of soft --> firm so we could put people on what they felt most comfortable on. great little rental. We had a trailer with 4 atvs and a RWD truck, easy to pull up and back down each day with someone spotting you for any passersby on the road.

given 5 stars based on an accurate description, expectations, and of course - Ouray. Don't expect anything fancy, but homey and comfortable at this rental. highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 3 of 5

We liked the proximity to town, the view from the dining room, the fire pit and that there was a washer/dryer available for use. The road is quiet and the house is relatively private, despite being near other houses. Plenty of driveway space. But the house could use some maintenance, renovations and updating (i.e., the ceiling light in the main upstairs bedroom did not work, even after changing the light bulb; using the toaster and coffee pot at the same time blew a fuse in the kitchen; and the clawfoot tub in the upstairs bathroom is pretty much unusable as a shower).

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have since fixed the ceiling fan and light in the upstairs bedroom. We have never experienced a problem with the kitchen outlets running more than one appliance at a time. I ran the coffee maker and the toaster at the same time all last week and had no problem so I am not sure what may have caused the circuit breaker to trip, but I will double check the wiring to make sure that everything is working well. The claw footed tub has a traditional hand-held shower head. Previous renters have jury-rigged a hanger to hold the shower head from above. This isn't so much a maintenance issue as a preference issue. However, I will look into adding a permanent shower head.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Black Forest Colorado

Great stay and quite relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Our group has taken a lot of mini vacations around Colorado. This was the absolute best. The unit was as advertised. Each morning we took walks along the river, enjoyed both scenery and wildlife. We've been to this area before, but this time the accommodations were perfect. We will certainly be back. Thanks for everything Carl.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Gorgeous views and quiet surroundings!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Ouray and we were very happy with this property. It was plenty big for my husband and I and our four children ages 8-17. Everything was clean and tidy and they had just about everything available you could need. We really enjoyed having the outdoor patio and firepit for our use as we sat and took in the breathtaking scenery. It was nice being close to town, but not right in town. I was worried about our large pickup and trailer with our Jeep being able to fit up the driveway, but we didn't have any problems at all. The owner Carl was very easy to work with and his parents own a fun antique store in town so make sure to check that out too! We hope to make it back next year and stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Just good

  • 4 of 5

Honestly, if there'd been a lawn mower in the garage, I'd have used it--and loved doint it. The place needed a shave and a haircut and some TLC outside. The inside was fine, livable, and accommodating; but one's first impression takes a primary spot in the consciousness, and our first impression was a little, well, fearful. I won't complain about the place itself, nor the price. Furthermore, we decided on Ouray late, and we're very happy to even get a place. All of that was fine and good. But of the VRBO places we've previously rented, this one doesn't rank with the finest. It's quite a distance away from the center of town, too, but the walk did us good. Most important, we had a great time with our adult children. This place made for a fine base camp for all the activities one can do in the gorgeous mountains surrounding the town.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Because our house is in the woods, our "lawn" is comprised of native grasses and wildflowers. We do not water it but during times of heavy rains (mostly in July) it can get over grown pretty quickly. We do trim it back from time to time and we will make sure that that happens more often in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1



Rates & Availability

Ouray House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Nov 1 - Feb 28
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 8.9%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Ouray House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1160 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Downstairs Bedroom - 1 queen
    Upstairs Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Upstairs Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties