check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Beautifully Updated Mt.Chalet, View, Lake Access, Close to Lake, Good Dog OK

62 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights


Lake Arrowhead Chalet Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

*Our calendar is always up to date!*

*Questions before booking? Click the blue button to the right to "Send E-Mail" or call us.

*We may accept up to 2 good, clean, well trained dogs over 3 years old.

*If you are using BOOK IT, please enter correct number of guests and pets for proper invoicing and tell us a little about yourselves!*

Morningside Chalet is located at the end of a flat cul-de-sac with plenty of parking and no traffic. Our home is adjacent to acres of protected forestland so it is very private, quiet and relaxing but close to everything. It’s perfect for a family getaway or a romantic retreat. Walk down the hill to Blue Jay for shopping, movies, restaurant and grocery store. It’s a three-minute drive or a ten-minute walk to access the lake walking trails. We also offer use of our guest pass to the two private beach clubs (only a five minute drive) for swimming and sunbathing. We have umbrellas, rafts and cooler for your use.

It’s a short five minute drive to Lake Arrowhead Village where you and your family and friends can enjoy the summer concerts, ice cream and candy stores, galleries, shopping, boat trips and dining.

Come in the autumn for beautiful fall color and Oktoberfest or in the winter to ski Snow Valley, a short sixteen mile trip away.

The cabin sleeps six comfortably. Our master has a king bed with a private 3/4 bath while the second bedroom has a queen bed and nearby full bath. Both, bedrooms have beautiful, peaceful views. The large cheerful loft has 2 twin beds (great for kids), flat screen TV, DVD player, DVR, game table, and a closet full of games, puzzles, and books. Additionally, there is a small private deck with a view of the Little Bear Greenbelt.

All the beds have down pillows or optional hypoallergenic pillows, and luxurious new linens, comforters & quilts.

The airy yet cozy chalet has twenty-foot ceilings, eclectic high end furnishings, hardwood floors, an impressive stone fireplace in the great room and a kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless appliances. The kitchen is stocked with cookware, utensils, flatware, coffeemaker, and everything you’ll need for a 4th of July barbeque to Christmas dinner.

The ultra clean bathrooms also have granite counter tops, plenty of fluffy towels, make-up or shaving mirrors, hair dryers and personal soaps.

There are four flat screen TVs equipped with Direct TV, DVRs and an X-Box with games and NetFlix. Each TV has it’s own DVD player. Our great room TV has a sound system that will also accommodate your own Ipod or Iphone for music and the DVD player also plays CDs. We offer free WI-fi, internet service and land line telephone. We have two additional large decks with comfortable furniture, barbeque, umbrellas and dining table.

Very romantic, also great for family fun and those over 55 (as long as 10 steps down to the front door aren't an issue). People with alternative lifestyles are welcome.

Pack your clothes, food and family or friends and come up and escape the city.

This is not a party house and we ask that you respect us (and our neighbors) by not renting from us if this is what you are looking for.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Ray and Christie
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2016
Call Owner

About Ray and Christie

Ray grew up in the mid-west. Christie grew up in Southern California. We met while both working on the road with a famous rock band in the seventies. We dated briefly at that time and then went our separate ways. Twenty years later, we met again, fell in love and were married. We just celebrated our thirteenth anniversary.

Ray and Christie purchased this chalet in 2013

Why Ray and Christie chose Inland Empire

Christie had vacationed in Arrowhead since she was a child. When we reunited this became our favorite vacation spot as a couple. It's always been our dream to buy a home here. It has finally become a reality. Its close proximity to our home in Ventura County makes it a perfect quick escape from our busy work lives. We love it so much we plan to retire here in the future.

What makes this chalet unique

It is just a spectacular house. We walked in and saw the 20 foot cathedral ceilings, floor to ceiling fireplace, wall of windows and huge deck and fell in love. Our home

is located at the end of the street so it is very quiet and feels far away from everything. It's really just above Blue Jay and at the west end of the lake. If there weren't so many beautiful trees we would have a lake view. We have plenty of parking.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Would love to stay here for another week or two! Reggie loved your deck with squirrels and jays to keep him alert-also our long walks around the neighborhood. Thanks so much!
May 2014
  • 1 of 5


based on 62 traveler reviews

Beautifully Updated Mt.Chalet, View, Lake Access, Close to Lake, Good Dog OK
average rating of 5.0 based on 67 reviews

Beautiful yet homey cabin!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful homey cabin. The comfortable furniture, well supplied kitchen beautiful ,wood beam architecture ,were only a few of the positives and reasons why we plan to return.

We enjoyed our cocktails on the great deck with tree top views.

We hope to return in the spring with our grandchildren and go fishing at Lake Arrowhead and Lake Gregory just 10 minutes away.

Thank You

Christie and Ray

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anita, it was our pleasure having you all stay! We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and caught lots of fish. We look forward to hearing from you again. All the best. C&R.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well maintained home with beautiful deck and great location!

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend Morningside Chalet! It's such a great location, tucked away up in the woods, quiet and private yet SO conveniently close to all the amenities in the town of Blue Jay.

The owners keep the house well maintained and offer all kinds of information to make sure your vacation is everything you want it to be. They are easy to get in touch with and quick to respond, which is very nice.

This is a great family home, if you have teens they will never want to leave the fun loft! The beautiful deck was my favorite place to sit and watch the blue jays and just look out into the beautiful trees. It's a big bonus that it's located at the end of a cul-de-sac on a single loaded street. They have neighbors on only one offers you that much more peace, privacy and wooded open space. If you're up to tackle a few hills, the walk down into Blue Jay and back is easy, and if you drive you're at the best grocery store around in minutes.

Owners have access to both beach clubs, which is important for parking and lake access, and have everything you need there, coolers, umbrellas, even floats for the lake. Lake Arrowhead village is a short 5-10 minute drive away. So much to do in this area.

The king bed in the master was super comfortable, and each room has a TV with access to DirectTV, and the loft closet is stocked with games, DVDs and Xbox. WiFi worked great too...everyone will be happy staying here!

Thanks again Christie and Ray for having us at your lovely home! Can't wait to stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jen. What a wonderful review! We are so glad you all had such a good time. We really enjoyed the photos you texted during your stay. It was really great to see you all having fun. We really enjoy the deck too. We've tried to make it comfortable because it's so nice outside this time of year. We all need a place to relax! We are also pleased your teens and almost teens liked the loft. Thanks for noticing that we try. Please bring your family and the kids, and the kids friends and come back. We would love to have you all stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Returning Bliss

  • 5 of 5

We returned to the Chalet to rest and relax and we were not disappointed - mission accomplished! This is one of our favorite get-aways and I can't say enough about it. You will not be disappointed! All the best...

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jim, Thanks so much staying again. We are so glad you and your family enjoy it. Thanks so much for the great review. You are wonderful guests and we always look forward to hosting your family. Hope to hear from you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A wonderful time at Morningside chalet

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough good things about our stay at Morningside chalet !!! The home was beautiful -all our needs were met !!We were there with our kids and grandkids and they had a terrific time- we also brought our dogs who enjoy there stay also !

We look forward to staying again next Fourth of July!!!We wish we could come more often -It was fabulous from start to finish !!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words Diane. We are so glad you all had a good time over the July 4th holiday. We hope to host you again next year or any time! You were great guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

We want to thank Ray and Christi for providing such a nice atmosphere to vacation at! The master and guest bedrooms were wonderful, we loved the peaceful tranquility that surrounded the house and the fact that it was so close to the store and Blue Jay was an extra plus. The kitchen was well appointed and great TV's and channel selection! The large deck had peaceful mountain/tree views and was large with lots of seating and perfect! We recommend it completely, and we'll be back again and again!

Thank you, again and again!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ken and Diane, Thank you so much. We are so glad you had a good time and enjoyed the chalet. We would love to have you come back again and again! Please do! Ray & Christie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect in every way.

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The house itself is beautiful. We enjoyed the decks. Would recommend unconditionally.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Cathy. It was a pleasure having you stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


El Papagayos Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
"Food is pretty good. Fun atmosphere. It can be really crowded at times. Family friendly but ..."
Belgian Waffle Works
"Everyone loves this restaurant. On the lake, really great food."
"Great little market right down the hill from us. They have surprisingly good prepared food t..."
"It Starbucks! It's at Jensen's."
Ice Castle International Training Center
Woody's Boathouse Restaurants
"The food is fine. Burgers, sandwiches and greasy fries. Great view of the lake. Fun for the ..."
Stone Creek Bistro
"We love this restaurant. The food is really good. It's casual inside but the food is pretty ..."
Loueddie's Pizza
"The best, best pizza around here. Very small and casual. Craft Beers. Really cute little place."
Lake Arrowhead village
"Touristy as one would expect. It's the place everyone wants to go while they are here. Lots ..."
The Grill At Antler's Inn
"Great food and atmosphere. Close by in Twin Peaks. Grill and Sushi. Casual."
Lake Arrowhead Sports Grille
"Food is OK. It's a fun little sports bar right down the street."
Arrowhead Queen Tour Boat
"Riverboat ride around the lake. Nice."
Lollipop Park
"Good for kids. Merry go round, bumper cars, swings. "
Bin 189
Lake Arrowhead Repertory Theatre Company
Cedar Glen Malt Shop
"Good breakfast and lunch. Low key. Not usually crowded."
Blue Jay Cinema
MacKensies Water Ski School
"Take water ski lessons or charter a ski boat for a ride."
Rim of the World Historical
"Great little local museum. Fun for history lovers."
Tavern Bay Beach Club
"It's a nice big beach. A little crowded in summer and sometimes windy. "
Burnt Mill Beach Club
"Nice little beach. Quieter than Tavern Bay. Good for little kids. Has more shade than Tavern..."
Bill's Villager Coffee Shop
"The food is pretty good. It's easy and in Blue Jay. Great place to eat if you don't want to ..."
Mountains Community Hospital: Motamedi Bijan MD
"Not really sure about the rating. Haven't had to use it but it's great to have a hospital he..."
Peninsula Park
"You can fish here. There is a fishing dock. Nice way to be on the lake."
The Tea Exchange
"It's good. They have nice pastries and also a decent coffee bar., "
Nearest Airport
41 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.7 Miles
Lake Arrowhead Sports Grill
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.8 Miles
Bill's Villager Coffee Shop
Nearest Ski
16 Miles
Snow Valley
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Burnt Mill Beach Club
Car: necessary

Lake Arrowhead has four beautiful seasons. Enjoy boating, water skiing, mountain biking, hiking, shopping, restaurants, snow skiing, ice skating and the movie theatre.


Rates & Availability

Lake Arrowhead Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Oct 21 2016 - Nov 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
4 night minimum stay
Standard Winter Rates
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 13 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Holiday Season
Dec 14 2016 - Dec 20 2016
2 night minimum stay
Christmas Week
Dec 21 2016 - Dec 26 2016
5 night minimum stay
New Years Week 2017
Dec 27 2016 - Jan 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
Holiday Season
Jan 2 2017 - Jan 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
Late Winter Rates
Jan 11 2017 - Apr 8 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Spring Break
Apr 9 2017 - Apr 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Late Spring
Apr 24 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Memorial Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
Standard Summer Rates
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
Independence Day
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
Mid Summer
Jul 6 2017 - Aug 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
cleaning and linen $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 7.0%

Rates are for 4 guests where shown. Additional charges may apply for up to 6 guests. Summer rates are for 6 people. We MAY allow up to 8 guests for the family winter holidays in Dec./ Jan for an extra fee of $10 per person over 6. Dog Fee $25. Cleaning & Linen Fee $100 (sheets, bedding and towels included) $350 refundable security deposit.

Call for better rates if you want to stay for a week or more at Xmas, New Years or Winter Holiday.

$100 cleaning fee is added to the rental rate. If our housekeeper's invoice exceeds the cleaning fee, we will deduct any amount in excess of the $100 from your $350 refundable security deposit and return the balance due you along with a copy of our housekeeper's invoice.

Cancellation 60 days before check in date 100% refund. Cancellations 30 days before check-in date (45 days for holiday periods), 100% refund less $50 cancellation fee. Cancellations less than 30 days before check in date no refund unless we can rent chalet to another guest for same dates. $50 cancellation fee will still apply. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

* If you are using BOOK IT, please enter correct number of guests and pets for proper invoicing.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Lake Arrowhead Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1448 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , granite counters, make-up/ shaving mirror, hair dryer
    Master - toilet , shower , granite, makeup/shaving mirror, hairdryer
  • Both bathrooms are clean and newly renovated
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , Attached 3/4 bath w/ separate sink vestibule
    Loft - 2 twin/ single , Also a game room with flat screen, game table and small deck
  • All bedrooms have down or down alternate pillows, ultra soft sheets and bedding, flat screen TVs w/ DirectTV, DVD & DVR players and peaceful mountain views.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Our home is beautifully furnished and has been renovated. We offer lake access from the two private beach clubs. There are beach lounge chairs, umbrellas, rafts and cooler for your summer use. There is also a sled for winter fun.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties