check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ocean Front Community-Gorgeous Water Views Labor Day Week Available!

14 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Surf City Townhome Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Pharma Sea…it is just what the doctor ordered! Come experience the magic of Topsail Island! Spring is a great time to relax and chill before the Summer Season. Our Summer season offers the best that the Topsail Beaches have to offer. Fall is a wonderful time to experience all that the Island has to offer in the off season. The Island features many restaurants and some fun nightlife as well as its tranquil uncrowded beaches. This luxury town home is located in the Oceanfront community of Sea Star Village, approximately 2.5 miles from downtown Surf City.

This updated home boasts 3 levels of living space with a reverse floor plan. The ground floor features an entry foyer and a storage room for you traveling gear or bicycles. The beach is less than 150 yards away with an easy access point and the community features a private pool that is approximtely 100 feet from our unit. There is an enclosed outside hot/cold shower at the rear of the home. Bed, Bath and Kitchen Linens are provided for your convenience. A gas grill is located on the ground level for your use for those vacation cookouts. We also feature 3 Adult bicycles and one girls smaller bicycle for your use.

The second level features a queen en-suite master with both ocean and intracoastal waterway views from its own covered private deck. The middle bedroom features two twin beds and intracoastal waterway views from its windows. The third bedroom on this level features a queen bed and a private sundeck that offers intracoastal waterway views. A hall bath is shared for the middle and third bedrooms and the laundry facilities are also on this level. The third level of this home offers an open concept living space. The living room and dining area span across the back of the home and offer access to the large sundeck that offers fabulous ocean and nice intracoastal waterway views. From sunrise to sunset the views from this deck are fantastic! This level also features one of the two Master Bedrooms, with this one having a King Size Bed and full bath with tile shower. The lower entry level features a full size sofa/futon to accommodate 2 more people. The kitchen is exceptionally stocked for the most discriminating cook, as the owners are enthusiastic cooks. It features granite countertops and upper end Whirlpool Gold Stainless Steel Appliances. There is enough place settings for up to 12 people and plenty of cooking/baking utensils.

Topsail Island offers gorgeous beaches without the crowds of other coastal destinations. Surf City itself offers many shops, restaurants and activities for the entire family to enjoy. There is grocery shopping on the mainland accessed to the south about 3 miles away or to the north about 10 miles away. Boat and jet ski rentals are available on the mainland as well at both aforementioned points.

This home was built in 2006 and we did a major update and freshening up to it in 2011-2012, and continue to add features for our comfort and our guests comfort each year.

The updates included:

• new flooring and carpet

• new televisions and electronics

• new washer and dryer

• totally repainted

• new beds and furniture

• new outdoor furniture

• new blinds and window treatments

• gas grill for use on ground level

• new dining room furniture 2016

• 4 Bicycles for our guests to use

• new HVAC systems 2014 and 2016

• countertop ice maker

The Brass Pelican located behind our home they often do jazz or other local bands on Saturday afternoons or early evenings in the Summer. Feel like dancing? The Hula Bar Restaurant and Bar is across the road from our complex. There are many restaurants in the heart of town and on either side of the Swing Bridge in Surf City. Topsail Beach holds an annual Autumn Festival and Sneads Ferry to the north holds an annual Shrimp Festival.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Ron Woytowich
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2016
Call Owner

About Ron Woytowich

Both owners are licensed REALTORS.

The owners have been coming to Topsail Island for many years. Beginning in the late 1970s as a teenagers, and have always compared other beaches to Topsail Island. We found Topsail to be a sanctuary of peace and solemn for ourselves and had always wanted to own property at this lovely beach. After achieving this goal, we have opened our home for a limited amount of rentals per year to share this experience. We strive to maintain the level of quality amenities that we are offering to our guests and try to ensure that the home is well stocked. We hope that you will consider our home and make it a regular part of your vacation plans for years to come.

Thank you in advance for considering Pharma Sea as your Topsail Vacation Rental.

Ron Woytowich purchased this townhome in 2011

Why Ron Woytowich chose Topsail Island

The homes location and the community's pool made it an easy choice for us to choose Sea Star Village as our site for our vacation home.

The friendly atmosphere within the community and the proximity to the easy direct access to the beachfront are fantastic pluses! The amenities of the property itself along with the floor plan just made the decision that much easier.

Its approximately 2.5 miles North of the center of town, so getting to shops, restaurants, seafood markets and other amenities is quite convenient.

What makes this townhome unique

The views from the living room deck are fantastic. Sunrise to the East with our fabulous ocean view and sunsets to the West overlooking the Intracoastal Waterway. The open feeling of the main living area with its soaring ceilings and the amount of windows brings the outdoors inside. The layout of the home with the two master suites makes it great for two families to share the space. The proximity to local night life with The Brass Pelican next door, offering a premiere seat to the occasional bands they have on their rear patio, and Hula's Restaurant and Bar tucked away across the street offers great burgers, dancing and karaoke.


based on 14 traveler reviews

Ocean Front Community-Gorgeous Water Views Labor Day Week Available!
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews

Well appointed home, but next door bar and lack of view were a turn off.

  • 3 of 5

The home is very well maintained with a lot of great personal touches! Kids enjoyed the bikes that we there for our use. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook our meals! Beds were all comfortable! Everything was very clean and Ron was very quick to respond to any questions we had before our trip.

I gave the house a 3 because of the noise factor. There is a bar right outside the 2nd floor master suite. There were extremely loud people and cars there all but one night during our stay. A lot of squeezing car tires and foul language between 12 and 3 am each night. I realize there is nothing the owners of the home can do, but for us it was a huge problem.

Our other issue is that the pictures were decieving. In the photos the upper deck shows a nice view of the ocean, which isn't there. There are 2 large homes blocking the view almost completely. The road directly in front of us was also very busy so it wasn't enjoyable to sit out there with cars driving by at 45 mph.

In review if you are looking for a clean well appointed home this is great. If you want an ocean view or peace and quiet I would not recomend this home.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are terribly sorry to hear this guest did not have as enjoyable a time as our previous 64 vacation renters had experienced, some of which are repeats. The noise from the bar, is of course beyond our control, and we appreciate the guest acknowledging that fact. I understand some people have different tolerances of noise levels than others and can see where that might be an issue. Some people do enjoy the live music from the Brass Pelican, which is mentioned on our write up. The view is there looking off of both our upper deck and middle level master deck to the east to the ocean at teh center or right of our deck. That vantage point does not have two large homes in the line of site, in fact the only home in that line of site is a 1.5 story bungalow and to the north of that view is a larger home. Further to the North, there are some larger homes, which do block the view looking North up the coast. Prior to their arrival, the renter thought our unit was ocean front. That was communicated in their email after they checked in, which led me to believe that maybe they did not read the entire description of our property. Our map and our description clearly state that our unit is ocean view and that the two north side decks are the decks that get an ocean view. Our unit is an ocean view unit in an ocean front community with a pool as indicated in our write up in the VRBO bullet points and required descriptive notations. Again, we are so sorry that this guest did not get full enjoyment out of their time at PharmaSea and hope that their future vacations are more enjoyable at their future destinations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing family vacation home

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year staying here. Ron is AMAZING to work with, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

The home is perfectly stocked, and so conveniently located to the beach, as well as local dinning.

We love topsail, and PharmaSea! Highly reccomend both!

The Quillen/Tedrow Family

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Traci- Its always a pleasure having you all stay with us! We love having our "regulars" stay and that is the very reason we always add something else every year! Hope to have you back soon! Enjoy the rest of your summer!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent - great location, clean, well-equipped, and very responsive owner

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time renting at Top Sail. We had our family of 7 and another couple which stayed comfortably in this 4 bedroom 3-1/2 bath unit. We were pleased with the cleanliness and up to date amenities in this townhome. There were many extras which we did not expect, like some of the beach stuff available for us to use. The laundry was conveniently located on the second floor. The bedrooms were spacious with enough room for all our kids. The kitchen was well equipped. The futon on the first level entry was separate from the rest of the guest bedrooms, but it worked out. The air conditioning kept all levels comfortable - including the first level. There are decks on both sides of the unit on the 2nd and 3rd level which we enjoyed. Having two suites with private bathrooms were great for the two married couples staying during this visit. Ron was very responsive throughout our visit. When we checked in, we needed to have some toilet paper in each bathroom to get us started. There was a mistake on the part of the cleaning person, but Ron took care of it immediately and had us covered until we made it to the store. The access to the beach was great, and the pool was conveniently located. With the amount of townhomes associated with the pool, we expected it to be more crowded on fourth of July week, but it was not. Even the beach was not crowded. Top Sail is definitely a return vacation spot for us and we would rent from this owner again.


  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Shaun- So happy to have you and your family stay! Look forward to having you all come back again! Regards, Ron and Jeff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous week at PharmaSea

  • 5 of 5

Just home from our week in Surf City. PharmaSea was a great place to stay. The kitchen was well stocked, great beach decor and a great view of the ocean. On our second to last day we had a dryer issue and it was fixed the next day! Quick walk to the beach and not crowded. We look forward to another visit to Topsail and a stay at PharmaSea!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michele: Was so happy to have you as our guests! We are so happy to share our home with people that want a home away from home. We strive to make it a well stocked home in regards to the kitchen and amenities. We look forward to having your party back again! Topsail is wonderful in the Fall as well! Best Regards, Ron and Jeff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pharmasea is is the perfect prescription for stress

  • 5 of 5

Awesome time at Pharmasea! The place is clean and decorated to the max! everything you need and more

is on site. Smack Dab in the middle of paradise.We had 10 people and we fit just fine.We would definatley recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mark, Thank you so much for the fabulous feedback and for staying at PharmaSea! We are so happy you all had a wonderful time! This is exactly the type of experience we envisioned when we opened our home to select rentals. PharmaSea is also wonderful in the Fall! For those of you reading this review and considering a post season getaway, we will have some very late September and October rentals open this fall as well. Check our calendar for availability and rates. Ron and Jeff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time staying at the Pharma Sea! The owners went above and beyond to make this home so comfortable with all the amenities of home. Fully stocked kitchen, beach chairs, umbrellas, bikes, etc. The beach and ocean were amazing!!! We will for sure be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Traci, Thanks so much for staying with us! Hope that you all will come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Daddy Mac's Beach Grille
"Nice mid priced menu and good variety of food fare. Ocean front dining on their deck is avai..."
Sears Landing Grill & Boat
"Great food, ability to drive up and dock with your boat for dining. Slightly more upscale."
Long Island Pizza
"Love the owner here! Always so friendly and welcoming. Pizza is good, nice sized and good se..."
New York Corner Deli
"Super Sandwiches and great place for a bite with friends when you want to relax and not feel..."
Surf City Pier
"Great place to walk out and catch some of the ocean breeze, good fishing and nice snack bar ..."
Hula Bar surf city
"Dennis and his crew are a great bunch of people. Always Always get there at least two nights..."
Island Delights
"Great basic diner style burger/sandwiches. Great Ice Cream, its a little confusing on the ic..."
Topsail Island Trading Co
"Fun shop. Great greeting cards and what nots."
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
The Brass Pelican
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
North Shore Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
40 Metres
Nearest Beach
33 Metres
9th Street Access
Car: recommended

Karen Beasley Sea Turtle Hospital- Offers tours of their work in the rehabilitation of injured sea turtles.

The Missiles and More Museum-April-October

Belle of Topsail-Riverboat style boat that offers tourism cruises and sunset diinner cruises.

Jet Ski Rentals in Surf City at the Swing Bridge-2.75 miles or on the mainland in Sneads Ferry- about 8 miles North of PharmaSea


Rates & Availability

Surf City Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Awesome Autumn!
Oct 8 2016 - Nov 23 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Between Holidays 2016
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 16 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
Winter Getaway
Jan 7 2017 - Mar 3 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
Off Season Spring
Mar 4 2017 - Apr 21 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
Spring Special
Apr 22 2017 - May 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
Spring Value Season
May 13 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
Spring Value Season 2
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Fall 2017
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 13 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
Awesome Autum 2017
Oct 14 2017 - Nov 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $441
Cleaning $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Surf City Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1951 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Hall Bath Middle Level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Middle Level Master Bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Powder Room Upper Level
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Upper Level Master Bath
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Twin Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Two Twin Beds Inter Coastal Waterway Views
    Middle Level Master - 1 queen , North Side Master-Large Deck with Ocean/Inter Coastal Views
    Upper Level Master - 1 king , Upstairs Master South Side Private Deck -Inter Coastal View
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , South Facing with private deck-Inter Coastal Views
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Located on the ground level entry area.
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 bicycles
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers