check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jenelle Hatch

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Chesapeake Bay/Rappahannock River with Private Sandy Beach and

23 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

White Stone House Rental Photos and Description

Mouth of the Rappahannock River where it meets the Chesapeake Bay.

Welcome to White Stone in the beautiful Northern Neck of Virginia! Our house is located on Windmill Point, at the mouth of the Rappahanock River on its northern bank, where it meets the Chesapeake Bay. We know you will enjoy your family vacation on the banks of the Rappahanock River. Here you will find a stay that is very private 2.5 acres of land, with 250 feet of water frontage, 150 feet of sandy beach, a dock for fishing and jumping, a half basketball court, corn-toss, fire pit, and plenty of room to play. We can sleep 10, we have three bedrooms (two with queen size beds, and a bunk room with two bunkbeds, and a futon. Two bathrooms, and a spacious outdoor shower.

From our beach, the river is five miles wide, directly across from Deltaville, and a quarter mile northwest of the Chesapeake. Our 2.5 acres of land boasts 250 feet of shoreline, a private sandy beach, a dock, a waverunner lift, a basketball court, and enough room to toss around a football, frisbee, baseball, lacrosse ball, or anything else that flies. We have two sea kayaks available for your use, as well as a paddle board, and you are welcome to bring your own sunfish, waverunner, windsurfer, or other beach toys that will enhance your vacation. But don’t worry about bringing your own beach chairs or beach umbrella – we got that covered!

No slimy sand on our beach – at low tide with the slow sloping beach an adult can walk 100 plus yards off the shore and still be standing. Bring your own waverunner and put it on our lift to use at your leisure without having to tow in and out with each use. We often have schools of dolphins in the river, particularly during the late summer. Tall pines on the front yard (river facing) provide excellent shade in the afternoon if you need a break from the sunny beach to play a game of corn toss, or to set up the fire for the evening in the fire pit to sample some smores with the kids. Catch some fish off of the dock, or, if you are as bad as we are at fishing, drive in the morning to the commercial fisherman up the road to get some flounder fresh from his morning catch. Try throwing some bait in our crab trap (chicken necks often work) and with some luck you may be eating blue crabs for dinner. Enjoy your morning coffee on the outdoor patio, play card games on the front screen porch, take an overexposed picture of the spectacular sunsets, or just kick back with a cold refreshing drink and let the summer day just stretch on!

Walk to the Pelican Bar/Restaurant on the water to catch a live band on a Saturday night, head up the road to Irvington to catch breakfast at the Tide’s Inn, from there sample some local wine and oysters at the Dog and Oyster, head into Kilmarnock for some antique and specialty shops. Hit the links at either Golden Eagle or King Carter golf course, each about 10 country miles away (if you are used to waiting to take a shot at a crowded city course, prepare for having the course to yourself). Take a day trip to Busch Gardens, historic Williamsburg, Yorktown and Jamestown, Richmond (each between 1 and 1.5 hours), Virginia Beach (2 hours), or even Washington D.C. (2.75 hours). We know you will have a fantastic vacation at an affordable price.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Jenelle Hatch (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jenelle Hatch

John and Jenelle have been married 17 years and have four wonderful sons. We are a very athletic family and have come to love being at the river and all it has to offer. Last year (2012) our life took us from Arlington, VA to Austin, TX. We are now not able to spend as much time at the river and would like to share it with others. Our kids have spent the last five summers here, attending sailing and baseball camp, wakeboarding, water-skiing, tubing, and just playing in the water. The kids have also enjoyed catching rockfish, flounder, and spot off the pier. Crab pot off the dock too. I'm sure you will enjoy it just as much as we have.

Jenelle Hatch purchased this house in 2008

What makes this house unique

Quiet getaway with your own private beach!

Reviews

4.8
based on 23 traveler reviews

Chesapeake Bay/Rappahannock River with Private Sandy Beach and
average rating of 4.826087 based on 23 reviews
4

Good Experience!

  • 4 of 5

Great house! We fished and crabbed right from the deck. The fire pit was perfect for nighttime smores! The dog also loved swimming and surprisingly enough the kayak trips!!!! Perfect house for quality family time.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, VA
5

SUMMER DELIGHT

  • 5 of 5

My family had a WONDERFUL time the last week of June - went too quickly!! Thank you for sharing your lovely RIVAH home. We appreciated your prompt replies, Jenelle. Loved the outdoor shower and water views. Kids really enjoyed the basketball court and the tire swing. We liked the master bedroom separate from the other two bedrooms/2nd bathroom all down the hall - gave a sense of privacy for guests. Bright turquoise kitchen has all you need to prepare meals. We spent most of our time on the porch or outside on beach, kayaking, on dock or patio with comfortable seating, especially since we had several low humidity days with a wonderful breeze. Caught crabs - yummy! Great sunset photos for memories. Hard to leave and we hope to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

4 out of 5

  • 4 of 5

Nice property in a quiet location. Played golf at nearby courses and ate at several local restaurants. We had great weather which made stay even better.

Would recommend up dating bathrooms. Would recommend with updates.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Robin for staying at the Rivah! This summer we are updating the master bath. Have a wonderful rest of the summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fredericksburg
5

Fantastic Turkey Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Our trip to the Rivah was exactly what we wanted...and more! What a fantastic holiday getaway to unwind and enjoy the simple things in life. We put our watches away, took full advantage of all that was amongst us...and the awesome Fall sunshine was pure joy. We explored the area on foot, played basketball daily, enjoyed the dock, kayaked, walked the beach, took advantage of the fire pit, cooked...ate and drank...and we loved the family time. It was our first trip to the River and we can't wait to go back! Jenelle was awesome to work with...smooth and easy on all administrative fronts. Thanksgiving at the Hatch River House was a memory we'll forever treasure! Until next year....

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington, DC
5

Lovely getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I (and our dog) had a wonderful long weekend here! The best part of the house is the outdoor space: beautiful beach, fire pit, large yard, dock, and picnic table overlooking the water to watch the gorgeous sunsets. Lots of beach toys to use (kayaks, etc.). Owners were very easy to work with--we were so happy to be able to use their house after our other VRBO fell through. House has everything you would need for a fun getaway!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Germantown, MD
5

Our third visit was the best yet!!

  • 5 of 5

This is the fb post I made the day we returned from the Rivah: "For two glorious weeks, we woke up to the sound of seagulls and gentle waves, watched dolphins play, ate fresh seafood nearly every day, daydrank Sangria and Red Stripes, and bought gas for the boat (which we drove pretty much everywhere we needed to go) for $1.88/gallon. This morning, we woke up to the sound of police sirens, stepped over the minefield of deer poop in our yard, paid $2.39/gallon to fill up the tank, and drove to a farmers market that had almost no produce - let alone fresh seafood. What does this mean for me? It means (*sigh*) we're back in Montgomery County. What does this mean for you? It means our summer vacation is over - you can commence making Facebook posts about how excited you are to wear sweaters and boots and pumpkin spice everything without worrying that I will yell at you."

So what does my fb post have to do with you, the VRBO renter?? It lets you know that you will NOT regret a vacation here. The owners are amazing, the sunsets are blindingly gorgeous, we BOATED AND KAYAKED WITH DOLPHINS, the Tiki Bar down the beach has great live music on weekends during spring and summer (if you go - tell Rick and Ron Troy and Jodi will see them in 2016!), and it is our favorite place in the entire world!! What else should you glean from my fb post? Don't even try to rent the last week of August and the first week of September - that's our time! :)

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Pelican's Bar and Restaurant
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Pelican's Bar and Restaurant

Photos

Rates & Availability

White Stone House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
September/October
Sep 2 2016 - Oct 15 2016
7 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Non-Peak
Nov 1 2016 - May 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135
Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 6.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

White Stone House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , outdoor shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Great private outdoor shower is used almost exclusively for showering.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , This Futon in not in a closed off bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • freshwater fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties