check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jim

Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Enjoy This Family Fun Cottage With Sandy Beach Frontage

32 Reviews
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 8 nights

Overview

Forest Lakes Cottage Rental Photos and Description

4Bdm, 2Bath, Large Cottage, Sleeps 16

Located in Traverse City Michigan, this lovely 4 bedroom cottage sits 45 feet from the water on a private 1 acre lot with 90 ft. of sandy beach frontage on beautiful High Lake, a peaceful 50 acre lake with very low water traffic but much natural beauty including the wild life and water fowl. Even the bald eagles nest here. Located only 4 miles from the Cherry Capital Airport and just 7-9 miles from the beautiful East & West Grand Traverse Bays, High Lake is wonderful for any water/ice sport winter or summer.

This 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom beach cottage can easily accommodate 3 families sleeping up to 16, 8 in the upper level Bunk House which has 3 bunk beds and a futon and up to 8 on the main level. There is 1 queen bed in each of the 3 main level bedrooms and 2 couches in the living room that will sleep 2 extra persons. Sheet sets, pillows and comforters for the beds are provided for your use. There are 2 bathrooms each with a shower. Towels (hand and bath) and wash cloths are available for your use. The kitchen is fully equipped. There is a pool table and five televisions throughout the house. All soaps are provided for your use and there is a washer and dryer on the main level. There is a large 2 level deck that has built in benches, a fire pit table with chairs and other deck furniture for your comfort as well as a gas grill. Great swimming in the summer with a dock, swim raft and paddle boat for your use. A pontoon and kayaks can be rented. There is a fire pit with chairs and a picnic table on the beach. Firewood is available. In the winter you can Snowmobile, Cross Country Ski, Snowshoe or Ice Fish right from the Cottage, only ¼ mile to groomed trails, maps are available. A list of other activities and interesting places to visit while you are here and the addresses, phone #’s and maps for them will be available at the Cottage. There is a Restaurant/Pizza (with delivery), country store/gas station and Fire and Rescue just ½ mile away on the opposite side of the lake. Sorry, No Pets/No Smoking.

Please call Jim Spadafore (248 701-8937) for reservation and rate information to start planning your relaxing get-a-way!!!

Don’t forget these events!!!

The Red Wings Training Camp September 2016. Call 231-933-7465 for additional information.

The National Cherry Festival is held every July! In 2016 the festival starts July 2nd and ends July 9th. The Blue Angels are scheduled to be here every other year during the Cherry Festival. Traverse City has boasted being titled as the 'Cherry Capital of the World' and this Festival is known worldwide. 1 week of many wonderful activities for young and old, large carnival, parades, and fireworks on July 4th and on the last day of the festival. Another popular event is the Traverse City Film Festival, which runs from July 26-31 in 2016.

Traverse City is also home to the Beach Bums, a Class A minor league baseball team which plays its home games mid-May to September at Wuerful Park in Traverse City. The Beach Bums won the Frontier League championship in 2015.

Traverse City and the Grand Traverse area are widely known for winter activities and great trails for cross country skiing(Vasa trl.) snowmobiling and snowshoeing.

We hope that once you have vacationed here at “The Family Fun Retreat”, we will see you again next year or even before!!!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Jim (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 32 traveler reviews

Enjoy This Family Fun Cottage With Sandy Beach Frontage
average rating of 4.90625 based on 32 reviews
5

Perfect, relaxing, peaceful retreat accomodating to multiple families at once

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our time on High Lake at Jim's home at the end of June/early July. The cottage provides great space and for our party, accomodated two separate families with children with 2 bedrooms on either side of the home, which created a nice separation and the ability to retreat to your part of the house. The inside has plenty of room and the outside where we spent most of our time was awesome with very large deck, sandy beach and dock. The lake is relaxing and very peaceful. We used the pontoon and it worked very well for our needs. Additionally, downtown Traverse City is just 7-8 miles away and an easy drive for back and forth as needed. I'd recommend this cottage to any single family or multiple families. We have a 2 year old and my in-laws had an 8 and 10 year olds. We all found it a great place to vacation. Not to mention, our landlord was extremely responsive and accomodating. Thanks Jim!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Neill and Carey thank you so much for the very nice review. I'm so happy that you had a great time at the Family Fun Retreat. My goal is to make sure everyone has a memorable vacation. Thanks for leaving the cottage in good shape. I really look forward to seeing you again at the Family Fun Retreat. Thanks so much, Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Greatarea

  • 5 of 5

The house was a great place for a girls retreat. We enjoyed the beautiful lake and peaceful neighborhood. The city is close enough to run into for a quick bite or shopping, but the house is away from the hustle and bustle. We had 12 women for a wine tour and the house fit us comfortably and had a great layout for socializing. We will definitely keep this beautiful property in mind for our next weekend to Traverse City.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everyone had a wonderful experience!

  • 5 of 5

First. The manager is great. He helped make the week successful for all of us. You can depend on him. Thanks Jim.

Second. All adults and their five children age 11 to 17 had a very enjoyable time. From water sports/boating and swimming to campfires and grilling out to playing pool and inside/outside games,we all relaxed had fun and highly recommend this rental.

The cottage is close to Traverse City and the peninsulas. Lots of activities and places to visit and explore. Great vistas.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: William I'm really happy you and your family had a great time. That's what I strive for. And thanks for the very favorable review! I hope your family comes back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We Had an Amazing Time!!!

  • 5 of 5

We visited the Family Fun Retreat during the 2016 National Cherry Festival in Traverse City. We had 9 adults and 9 children ranging in age from 18 months to 17 years. We all head a great time!!! There was plenty of space for everyone - we never felt like we were sitting on top of one another. We spent most of our time on the deck (which is probably my favorite feature of the house!) or outside on the beach. High Lake is a very pleasant and both kids and adults enjoyed playing in the lake!!! The property is close to many area attractions, including Sleeping Bear Sand Dune, etc. It is also a pretty quiet, laid back area and we had no problems with the neighbors.

A rundown of the property:

The kitchen is fairly well stocked for cooking/dining. The living area has a nice sized flatscreen, while most of the other rooms have older CRT screen (all of the other bedrooms and the game room have them). We liked that all the bathrooms were located outside of the bedrooms so people didn't need to walk through (both contain stand-alone showers - no bathtubs). The three main bedrooms are all good sized, and the bunk room in the upstairs area is huge - it's like being at camp! There are two fire pits (a "table" one on the deck, and one near the beach). There is plenty of outdoor seating and we didn't need the camping chairs we brought with us. And the owner, Jim, was always available to speak with for any questions or concerns! He is truly invested in ensuring that everyone is having a great time!!! I would definitely love to stay here again in the future!!!

Thanks for everything, Jim!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jessica thanks for a very nice review. I'm really glad that you had a great time and created some fond memories on this vacation. You gave a very favorable description of everything you liked. One of my biggest concerns is that you and your family and friends have a great time and you said you did. Great!! I hope your family returns real soon for another vacation. Sincerely, Jim S.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

lake front cottage

  • 5 of 5

Our family stay at this lake front property was very enjoyable. Our weather wasn't the greatest, but we still got to do majority of what we had planned on this vacation. It was close to the town of Traverse City, and not too far from the dunes. The house itself was very clean and well stocked. Jim was always very helpful if I had any questions. It was so nice having the whole family together!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Stay

  • 5 of 5

We recently met up with my brother and his family at Jim's place and it worked out perfectly for everyone. The house was very clean and well stocked. Sitting out by the lake and cooking out on the grill is very relaxing, and if you don't feel like cooking there is a nice restaraunt/bar just down the street. Jim also checked in with us a couple times to make sure all was well.

Would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Doug I'm really glad you had some great bonding family time at my home. Thanks for the very nice review. Hopefully you'll come back!! There's nothing like Traverse City in the summer. Thanks again....Jim S.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Cherry Capital Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Peegeos
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Elmbrook
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
U S 131
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Peegeos
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Mount Holiday
Nearest Beach
50 Miles
Right on my backyard

Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan where:

AOL Travel News has named Traverse City as one of the top 10 beach towns in America.

Bon Appetit has awarded Traverse City in one of the top 5 'foodie' towns.

Livability has placed Traverse City as the #4 winter vacation spot in the United States.

Cottage is two miles from where Detroit Red Wings hold their training camp.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Forest Lakes Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$295
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,490
 
 
Memorial Day wkd
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,200
Flat fee
 
 
Early Summer
May 29 2017 - Jun 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$295
$1,890
 
 
Summer
Jun 16 2017 - Jun 23 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,590
 
 
Week before Cherry Festival
Jun 24 2017 - Jul 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,990
 
 
TC Cherry Festival
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
8 night minimum stay
$3,390
Flat fee
 
 
summer
Jul 8 2017 - Jul 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,990
 
 
TC Film Festival
Jul 22 2017 - Jul 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,090
Flat fee
 
 
Summer
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,990
 
 
Labor Day weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
From
$295
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $100

If there are more than 14 in a party during your stay it costs an extra $10.00-$25.00 a night for every person over 12. Also available for rental is a 16-foot pontoon for $125.00 day or $490.00 for the week. A paddle boat can be used for free.

FULL WEEK: A 50% initial payment is due when you make the reservation. Your balance payment is due 60 days prior to check in. All payments are fully refunded as long as we are able to rent the property without a loss of income.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Forest Lakes Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2356 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 3 bunk bed
  • 1 queen bed, chest of drawers, fan and TV. in each of three bedrooms. 3 bunk beds, a futon and small drawers and TV in the 4th bedroom and two comfortable couch's in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Other Activities: Attractions are almost too numerous to mention: Beaches: Beautiful East and West Grand Traverse Bays, Wineries, Breweries, Golf Courses, Antiquing, Casinos, Charter Fishing, Skiing: Down Hill, Cross Country, Water, Snowmobiling, Snowshoeing, Snowboarding, Sledding, Hot Air Ballooning, Sports/Ball Courts and Fields, Horseback Riding/Horse Shows, Dirt Bike Trails, Cinemas, Museums,Water Parks, Fitness Centers, Snorkeling/Diving, Cycling/Hiking, Paintball, Target Practice, Hunting, Sailing/Parasailing, Wind Surfing,Bowling, Arcades, Shopping, many Restaurants, Sight Seeing: Sleeping Bear Dunes, Mackinaw Island, Etc! A Guide for these activities and others will be available for you. ~ Many of these activities are just minutes from the Cottage!!!

Partner Offers