Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Holiday Villa, Pool, on “Picasso’s Street” in Céret Centre

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 2,690 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

4 BEDROOMS – PRIVATE POOL – PARKING – WIFI - Beach, Mountains + Spain within app

Situated in a quiet street, yet only 1 minute walk to the restaurants and shops, it is easy to see why Pablo Picasso chose this location for his studio (just a few doors away). With several terraces and outdoor spaces around the house you can choose to enjoy long lunches in the sunshine or seek shade on the hotter days. With a glass of local rosé in hand, looking towards the mountains at sunset is a joy. A fireplace and radiators mean the villa can be used throughout the year.

We often have couples with friends and family in the area book our villa as it is ideal to invite people round for a swim in the pool or a lovely dinner. The office space is also a favourite for those who need to stay in touch work while away.

For larger families, the house includes four bedrooms and two bathrooms. The well equipped kitchen has a large oven and 5 ring hob as well as the usual amenities making cooking for the masses much easier and cheaper than eating out. The spacious and airy living/dining room makes meals convivial.

This villa is a great place to base yourself for exploring the local area and has off-street parking spaces for 2 cars. However, with restaurants and cafes on the doorstep you have the option to eat in or out without needing the car.

 Just 5 minutes walk will take you out of the village and into the mountains, with gentle trails and bubbling streams. Here you have the option to relax and de-stress while also being a great base to explore and experience the local area.

Located between mountains and beaches, Céret is ideal for relaxing as well as exploring, mountains hikes, long sandy beaches and Spain accessible in approximately 30min drive. The region boasts over 300 days of sunshine per year. Céret has a long and interesting history which can be seen by the by the medieval buildings and battlements. More recently the town has been home to some of the most important artists of the 20th Century including Picasso, Chagall and Braque. The Museum of Modern Art proudly exhibits some of these artists work. The town has a wide selection of restaurants and shops and is well known for its Saturday market.

Céret is easily accessible with major motorway networks nearby. Local airports include Perpignan, Gerona (1hr), Bezier (1.5hrs) Carcassonne (1.5hrs) or Barcelona and Montpellier (2hrs). For those who wish to travel by train rail links from UK, France and Spain can bring you to Perpignan where the train and bus station are together. Buses throughout the region are well networked and cost only 1€ per trip, no matter how far you travel, making this an affordable option.

More Details

Property Manager
Jay Hewitt
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, Filipino
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017


Nearest Airport
38 Kilometres
Perpignan, Carcassonne or Girona Spain
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Nearest Golf
35 Kilometres
Nearest Train
35 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
11 Kilometres
Le Boulou
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Nearest Beach
25 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

Ceret is a quaint and very delightful town set on the slopes of the Pyrenées and close to the Mediterranean and Spain. Céret is famous for its production of cherries, Sardanes festivals, folk festivals, and open air festivals especially the Feria: Bulls festival. It has a very strong Catalan influence although there are more and more diversified communities. One of the most acclaimed place to visit is its modern arts museum, where every year they feature different known artists who where inspired by the town some time in their lives. T

he town also offers a combination of cobble stone alley, lines and lines of 19th century 'maisons de village' (town houses), delicious cuisine restaurants, friendly wine and tapas bars, boutiques and mouth-watering patisseries where you can enjoy strong coffee with crisp croissants.

Other Activities: badminton, running


Céret Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2690 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Town
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sunbed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • All bathrooms are fully tiled and of high standard. Hand, bath and beach towels are included. The shower facilities are excellent with plenty of hot water.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • All bedrooms are a good size and have high standard beds, mattresses and furnishings. All bedding's sheets, duvet (if required) and duvet covers, pillows and pillow cases are included. A weekly change of linen will be included if the booking is for 2 weeks or more.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 2 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Holiday Villa, Pool, on “Picasso’s Street” in Céret Centre
average rating of 4.571429 based on 14 reviews

Perfect getaway in charming downtown Ceret

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year visiting Ceret, FR and again we loved both our accommodations and the region. We were a large group of 9 staying comfortably at the house. Each day we ventured around the region, took strolls around Ceret and the surrounding hills or we relaxed on the patio with a bottle of wine listening to nature. There is something for everyone so long as you are not in a rush and enjoy getting off the beaten path!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic Location. Large Villa

  • 3 of 5

My wife and I and our 3 children (13 ,11, and 7) found Cerét to be a fantastic little town with a great vibe and plenty to see and enjoy.. It’s also a good base for travelling around the region. The property is large, secure with good parking. Downstairs has a large twin room, a large double room along with a third room with bunk-beds and a large bathroom. Upstairs has a very large lounge-diner with loads of space and good light, a large office, another family bathroom and another well-sized double room, a separate toilet and of course the kitchen. The kitchen is well equipped with good quality appliances and utensils. This villa has a certain charm, the entrance, the hallway and the stairs are inviting but are the only part of the house that gets close to luxurious (as description states). The rest of the villa is a little tired generally… the upstairs bathroom is defiantly the worst room in the villa it smelled awful to be honest, one of our daughters used the shower once or twice but other than that we all used the bathroom downstairs which in itself suffered from very slow drainage; both bathrooms were far from luxury. The kitchen is smallish but usable even for a large group and although it has good equipment most of the cupboard doors need replacing. The lounge is big, table and chairs are good. The TV and equipment is good, Wi-Fi is working but only upstairs no signal downstairs. The Pool and pool area is alright but it was a bit dirty when we arrived, we found out later in the week that the filter pump had broken and it did eventually get cleaned late Wednesday. The bedding was ‘Clean’ but not ‘very clean’ and it felt kind of old. The wardrobes were also pretty smelly, especially upstairs and with old garments in the bottom. There are quite a few light switches that didn’t work with bare light-bulbs in the ceiling and quite a few plug sockets that were a bit loose from the wall and the place could do with a big clean especially the rug in the lounge – I could not get the dog hair out (and we don’t have a dog) Although this all sounds negative, its actually not all bad and the location is fantastic – the service received from everyone evolved was great, we had contact numbers of people to call - I feel that they would have sent some cleaners if we made a fuss - but we didn't want to be disturbed.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect location and fabulous villa but very tired

  • 3 of 5

Spent a lovely 11 nights at the villa in easy walking distance to Ceret with its excellent restaurants, cafes and shops, not to mention its history and fantastic Saturday market, not to be missed.

The villa has excellent private gated parking that would accomodate 2 cars, important to us.

The villa is certainly substantial, far too big for the two of us, but really not luxurious as stated in the property description. It is very tired and in serious need of updating. The settee was very badly stained and not pleasant to sit on, kitchen not particularly clean (everything you touched left a deposit of grease on your hands) and bathrooms just about OK but not luxurious. First floor outside terrace and barbecue also were not particularly clean. I gave up trying to light the barbecue.

The main problem was the fact that the Internet connection did not work despite 2 visits from Orange engineers. As a consequence the TV did not work either other than from about 10.30 in the evening until about 8.30 in the morning.

Jay did her best to try to get this resolved and in fairness she can only work with the standard of property that the owners provide.

Sorry, you asked for our opinion and we have given it.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comment. There has been a plan to replace the setee. I have discussed with the cleaning about the matter. It would have been helpful or we could have done something about it if you have told me about the issues while you were in the premises. Never did I had such problems with the Orange, I was frustrated. Anyway, thank you very much for your review. It will help us improve our services.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

An absolute delight!

  • 5 of 5

The house is so well located to popping down the street to the Boulangerie, a store, a restaurant, or the farmers' market on Saturday. We loved the beautiful tree-lined streets! And the Ceret Museum of Modern Art. There is so much culture and history in this town in addition to being a fantastic jumping off point for day trips in the surrounding areas -- Carcasonne, Perpignan, Colliure, Point Vendres, Bayuls Sur Mer, the vineyards/winery, or Barcelona Plus, you can hike right up the mountain from the house -- either on the road or the trails. We are already contemplating a return trip to Ceret and this lovely house.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

spacious house in great location

  • 4 of 5

The house was really nice and very generously proportioned inside and beautifully and cleverly landscaped outside so that you feel more remote than you are. We used the pool every day and although the kitchen is a little small, it was well equipped. Besides, being close to the centre of town meant we rarely cooked anyway. In fact it is the location that is so good about this house. We had about 6 bakeries within a 5 minute walk and tried a different one each day for croissants (all were good but Baguepi on Victor Hugo was best!). The property was clean and the manager, Jay, was as helpful as she could be. She did everything she could to get the TV to work (but it never did). It wasn't an issue for us but as there were only two DVDs in the house. I would recommend you take a few - especially if you have children.

In fact we had only two minor concerns really. One was the bed in the upstairs bedroom. It is one of those with a sort of wooden shelf around the mattress; our shins are still bearing the scars of knocking into it on an almost daily basis! The other issue was just unfortunate. The lovely morning terrace where we enjoyed breakfast was marred by the amazing acoustics that channelled practically every sigh from next door over to us. We couldn't see them, but they had two small children one of whom was never quiet from about 6.30 onwards. So with different neighbours (I'm assuming they were French holiday makers) a more peaceful breakfast might be possible. It isn't a deal breaker, but a portable radio on the verandah might make it easier to cover any external noise of this sort.

In terms of restaurants, try Peruchon (different and lovely courtyard) and the Fountain. And avoid Al Duende if you can. Pretty awful experience all round. The Sardane was a great spectacle and worth a drink at the Grand Cafe to watch. Don't miss the Saturday morning market - it's seconds away from the front door and great fun.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic, luxury villa in a perfect location

  • 5 of 5

This is a fantastic luxury villa in a beautiful corner of France, in the foothills of the Pyrenees, only minutes away from the Spanish border. The villa is luxurious, spacious, like a hotel, tastefully decorated throughout and equipped for anything and everything! Lovely pool and terrace surrounding. There are walks up to the hills from the back of the villa if you are energetic, beaches within easy reach. Stunning view of the Canigou from the upper terrace. The walk down to the center of Ceret from the villa is only a few minutes through enchanting, picturesque narrow streets. Ceret has something for everyone – art galleries, shopping or just relaxing with a coffee. The market is an absolute must. Cannot recommend this villa highly enough – we were a family of 8 ranging from 7 to 70 and everybody had a fantastic time. Eleri Jones, Wales .

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $589.62

The owner of this property accepts payment in the original currency specified (Euros), before use of conversion tool. The conversion tool is provided for your convenience only.

The owner may accept other currencies if specifically agreed in advance.
A refundable security deposit of £500 (or €500) will be collected upon booking.
Full rental amount must be paid 6 weeks in advance.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.