Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Family Friendly Home

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,510 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bdrm, 2 Bath (Mountain View)

Haulani House is our private vacation home nested in gorgeous Princeville, HI. The home has 3 bedrooms, one Master, one Queen room and one with two twins. The Master has it's own private bathroom and the others share a second bath.

There is a large living/dining area and a well stocked kitchen, one that can accomodate 4 to 6 people.

The hallway hides a full size washer and dryer, no having to run to a laundromat. There is an outdoor BBq and a large backyard deck.

We are less than a mile to the Princeville Center which has a Foodland and restaurants.

Our home has also been furnished with large flat screen TV's and an XBox in the living room and a BlueRay DVD in the Master. Also, wireless internet streams throught the home and 76 Cable Channels.

More Details

Property Manager
Penelope Hzayen
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2017

About Penelope Hzayen

My name is Penny and I live in California with my husband and my 3 boys. We love to travel and explore all corners of the world and meet new faces along the way.

I am from Massachusetts, which makes me overly chatty and outgoing. My husband is from California and is much more down to earth and practical.

Enter 3 boys of extremely different ages and attitudes. One is off to college, one is off to first grade, and one makes a perfect babysitter!

Welcome to life, and I just love it!

Penelope Hzayen purchased this house in 2010

Why Penelope Hzayen chose Princeville

My Husband and I vacationed so much to the Island that we decided to purchase a home. Over the past 2 years we have dedicated our time to redecorating and refurbishing this house to make it into our home away from home.

I love Kauai. From the food, to the beaches, to the peacefullness of the Island, down to the Roosters that I don't even seem to hear anymore, I can't seem to go more than a month without longing to be here again.

What makes this house unique

I have stayed on this island so many times that when my friends said they were going to Kauai I could give them a breakdown of every Hotel on the island. I would give them the pros and cons and then told them why I chose Princeville. Nighttime breezes and privacy blurted out of my mouth. Also, proximity to some of the best food I have ever had and I lived in Boston!

I prefer to be away from the bug bites you get staying down the beaches, and the winds you get coming up from the cliffs and down off the mountains.

Amenities

Princeville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1510 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
20% Complete
2% Complete
5% Complete
7% Complete
Secluded Family Friendly Home
average rating of 4.282051 based on 39 reviews
5

Great House, Great Location, Awesome price for a 3 bedroom house

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for letting us stay at your beautiful house, we had such a great time on our vacation. This house is located in the heart of Princeville, i would say its the best town in the northshore and Kauai, the house has 3 bedrooms and the layout of this house gives a lot of privacy and separation between the living area/ kitchen area and the bedrooms. The mattresses were very comfortable we had the best sleep in years, specially after a long day of activities or at the beach we knew that we will have a good night sleep. we have also enjoyed the new Grill that the owner just bought to replace the previous one, we grilled many times and had a great use of this grill and the fully stocked kitchen, these small things make a big difference , between the grill and the full kitchen, cooking at home honestly can save you a lot of money specially if you have kids or if you are on a budget, we also enjoyed the back yard a lot,, its very spacious and has a big deck as seen in he photos, specially in the mornings before we get on our way to whatever we have planned, the owner Penny was very helpful and informative about the house, the area, the beaches, attractions and shopping areas and stores, her direction to the house were awesome as we got there in the middle of the night and we had no problem what so ever. Our kids loved the house and did enjoy watching TV in the morning and playing on the Xbox at night, they really enjoyed it and loved Kauai so much that they didn't want to leave. We had a great vacation in Kauai and the main reason is staying at this house that made our vacation a million time better, we will definitely come back to Kauai and we will definitely stay your house. thank you again for letting us stay at you house.

Mahalo

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

This house was unbearably hot and stuffy after 10am - please fix your fans!

  • 3 of 5

This house was just fine when it came to most aspects such as the kitchen, washer & dryer, bathrooms, bedding, mattresses, etc.

HOWEVER there are 4 things to know about this property before renting it.

1) We would not have booked this house had we known that we would have so much trouble trying to remain cool in it. It was always very hot and stuffy during day. The frustrating part is that the problem is fixable, but appears not to be a priority of the owner. We understood before renting it that it had no A/C, however two out of the 4 ceiling fans in the house did not function properly at all, and 3 of the portable fans made a terrible racket. I mean, c'mon folks, ceiling fans are pretty necessary if there's no A/C and it's 90 degrees and muggy. The living room was bearable only in the late evening and morning, but even then the fans that were there made a LOT of noise. As I mentioned before, the problem was bad enough that we would not have rented this had we known.

2) While we were staying there, the house nearest to our rental had at least one sketchy kid (teenager?) living there. Twice he went off on swearing rants that sounded like they were right outside of our master bedroom window and made my wife pretty alarmed. He seems a little rowdy. They also had people coming and going and talking loudly late at night.

We were told to park only in the driveway (due to HOA rules) but these guys had trucks and motorcycle parked on the street and on the lawn, etc. The other two bedrooms were mostly not affected by this neighbor.

3) This one is strange, but worth mentioning for safety's sake: There is a large tract of grass just next to this rental house and the locals use it as a shortcut to prevent having to drive around the block to get to the main street. Some of them drive pretty fast through it. If you choose to venture outside in the yard, I would definitely consider avoiding this strip of lawn.

4) There are reasonably good outside spaces (as pictured), however there is no patio furniture to speak of. There is a small selection of foldable beach chairs, but not really anything comfortable or semi-permanent that would make sitting out there more enjoyable. Some resin chairs and a patio umbrella might blunt some of the heat criticisms listed above.

I'm giving this house 3 stars instead of 2, because I feel that the biggest problem (the heat) with the house is very fixable, and most of the house is functional and meets expectations.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you had some issues while you were staying at our house. We have had a heat wave at the time of your stay and July and August can be very hot, we have ceiling fans in every room like all Princeville houses we also provide floor fans throughout the house. all fans are working properly and we do check them constantly. We have basic beach gear to help our tenants, most houses provide nothing of that sort, we provide some gear to help with our guests stay on the island, we never guarantee these things because they get lost or ruined easily, most of the guests on the island bring their own gear, but we still provide them never the less. The parking on the street is not allowed by the HOA, we let our our guests know the rules, if others want to break the rules that's their own choice. We never heard of any problems with the neighbors kids, they could have been visiting or on vacation, but we'll keep an eye on it.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Comfortable 3 bedroom house

  • 4 of 5

Comfortable 3 bedroom house, well located and provided for, bathrooms need some renovation and sliding doors took a bit of effort to close. Surroundings tropical with well maintained suburbs. Easy drive to beach, would need a car if staying. Made travelling and cooking with a family easy.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Always our home on Kauai

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed here many times and it actually feels like coming home. This property and the owners are just fantastic. The house is well equipped, has everything you need to enjoy the beach, and is a nice place to come back to after exploring the beautiful island of Kauai. We used to go to different islands every year but now only come here. Penny is so fantastic I wouldn't want to rent from anyone else. So pack up and embark on a special and memorable family vacation or just enjoy the house for two. For the price you can't go wrong. It is truly a steal of a deal.

The Wells Family

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Private Home, Best value, Great Location, Comfortable and very welcoming home.

  • 5 of 5

We have spent 6 great days at this lovely house, we had everything we needed for our vacation, the location of this house is in a great neighborhood, we got a 3 bedroom house for a price of a studio, this is by far the best value in the north shore, the kitchen is very well equipped, the layout of the house is awesome, the bedrooms are on one side, the living area and kitchen are on the other side, while some are resting in the bedrooms the others would be watching TV, cooking or eating in the kitchen or dining area, the layout gives a sort of privacy and quietness. The master bedroom has one of the best mattresses i ever slept on, it is so comfortable after a long day we slept like babies.

We have used the beach toys, chairs and snorkel sets that the owner left us in the outside beach box which saved us a lot of money. We also enjoyed the massive back yard deck almost every day, great spot for a relaxing time after a day of activity, or barbecuing and enjoying the back yard of this house.

We have stayed in other houses and hotels in Kauai before, this is by far our favorite and best option, we will be back at this house on our future vacations. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shorewood, Minnesota
1

VERY disappointed!!!!!

  • 1 of 5

The one good thing we can say about this the location of the property is ideal, but proper upkeep is BADLY NEEDED!! Unfortunately we have more bad than good reviews. Little or no propane for the grill (wasn't even enough to finish grilling our hamburgers and that was the FIRST time we even attempted to use the grill) we had to go and fill up the tank. No grilling utensils.Grill is DEFINITELY on its last leg Falling apart/rusted BAD! No extra paper towels or toilet paper (we have stayed at previous VRBO rentals and the houses were well stocked). Deck is DEFINITELY not like it shows in picture! Deck is dangerous to sit on as boards are rotting and nails sticking up!! We were only able sit out there (carefully) 1 day because of the coconuts in the trees above the deck! We had to call homeowner on Friday (2nd day into our vacation) to make arrangements to cut the coconuts down before they fell and hurt someone! We were first told they would have someone there that next Tues/Wed however, that didn't happen and we had to wait another day/2 to have it done!! We even spoke to the grounds keeper and he told us he noticed that we were staying there and he contacted the owner stating the trees are dangerous and need to get the coconuts down before hurts someone but they had never gotten back to him nor made arrangements prior to our visit (he had also showed us a text he sent them back in May stating the exact same thing but wasn't taken care!) Patio screen doors DO NOT lock and doors were hard to open and the front screen door needs to be replaced. Kitchen was not well stocked as they stated. Stove hood was FILTHY with bugs/dust underneath we didn't even want to use the stove after noticing that!! Back patio lights were burnt out and no extra in house. The dryer vent HAS to be taken out when drying clothes (per Penny homeowner) because it ruined a few of my daughter's clothes!! Vacuum had not been emptied for who knows how long was packed so full so no way that was picking up any dirt! Twin BR Light on ceiling doesn't work only small light on bedside table--Master BR Ceiling fan light not working only 1 of the small table lamps working/no light bulbs in lights above bed. Got very hot in there during day so just suggestion of drapes/blinds (even just cheap ones) on west side would make a HUGE difference! We enjoyed our vacation on Kauai, but unfortunately not the home we rented for our 16 days!!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at our house, I have talked to your father 4 to 5 different times while you were at the house and he never mentioned any of these issues other than the dryer(16 months new dryer) lent trap is sticking out, which we told him to take it out, this was the first time i ever heard about this issue from anyone that stayed at my house, so i suggested to take it out so you continue using the dryer. We did have an issue with the coconut trees when the landscaper that we hired didn't show up to trim them and we had to call all over the island until we found some that take care of them that took an extra 2 days, but it was done as soon as we could possibly find someone to do it on a short notice. The propane tank was half full when the maintenance crew checked it, we also left you the property manger that lives 2 minutes away and they could have replaced the tank in few minutes. The stove is 2 years old and i never had any complaint about using it, we do have a property manager that could take care of any issue from a light pulp any simple other issue, you just have to inform them of any issue that might arise at any property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Lihue Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Hanalei Bay
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Princeville Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
CJ's Bar & Grille
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Hanalei Bay
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Tax Rate 13.42%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties