Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Just Around The Corner From Chesterman Beach

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,050 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6-7

*VRBO lists all rates in USD- please go to rate page and click on Canadian flag for CAD or go to HomeAway. We have a 2 night minimum stay requirement in the winter, holidays are a 3 night and summer is a 7 night*

Beautiful, private 3 bedroom vacation rental with hot tub, jetted tub and 2 full bathrooms within a 5 minute walk to South Chesterman Beach.

1 king bdrm, 1 queen bdrm and 1 bdrm with single over double bunkbed, fridge, stove, microwave, washer, dryer, fireplace outside shower with a large hot tub on very private deck.


Owner
Julie Hughes or Brian Buckle
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2017

About Julie Hughes or Brian Buckle

Brian and Julie completed construction on this vacation rental in June of 2006. Built by themselves, it was created to provide a comfortable lodging for family and friends when they come to visit in Tofino. It has proven to be extremely well liked by numerous groups and always has repeat guests.

Why Julie Hughes or Brian Buckle chose Vancouver Island

The Abalone Inn is situated on an amazing 2 acre property that is completely surrounded by trees which makes it very private but still very close to the beach. You feel like your in your own little paradise here surrounded by ancient cedars. Still lots of sun on deck and you can here the surf.

What makes this house unique

The Abalone has beautiful fir logs supporting the ceiling which were salvaged and milled by Brian and Julie. The ceilings are cedar tung and groove and the floor is solid hardwood.

There is a beautiful large jetted tub in the master bathroom to provide that spa- like atmosphere.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Julie, it was great dealing with you and arranging everything for our weekend. The place was great for 6 people, the location being steps away from the beach was perfect and being so close to everything one would need. Great to be close to surf, rental shops, coffee shops and restaurants.

Loved the hot tub and the kitchen had everything we needed. 2 bathrooms!! One with soaker, excellent!! Being nestled in the forest provided the perfect getaway. Thank you for everything,

Jen
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Tofino House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1050 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Just Around The Corner From Chesterman Beach
average rating of 4.612903 based on 32 reviews
5

Cozy home around the corner from the Beach

  • 5 of 5

Location of this house is fantastic and a fraction of the cost of an ocean front but literally so close it took me longer to load my kids in the car then to walk the 2 minutes to the beach!

The house was fully stocked of everything you could need and more!

I didn't meet the hosts but they were great at communicating and very kind.

The boardgames and hot tub were the icing on the cake for my family and perfect for down time and rainy day breaks.

We will definitely be back on our next island vacation!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

exactly what we needed in a forest getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great stay in this simple cozy home super close to the beach! complete seclusion surrounded by glowing green forest made us feel right at home. It was super clean and no frills, but had everything we needed, which is great when you have kids, we've stayed in fancy homes before that are lovely, but uncomfortable. This place you could move right in and make it your own. The beds were so cozy, the outdoor shower a treat! Easy access to town, to beach and hosts were great communicating before and during our stay. We would love to come back!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver
3

Nice Master Bedroom & Amenities but Odd Interaction with Owner at Checkout

  • 3 of 5

Nice spot in the woods near Chesterman Beach.

Hot tub wasn't working at the last minute before our stay & the owner was very unfriendly at checkout. (Bit of a long story involving us being 15 min. late / doing long list of stuff at checkout).

Keep it Friendly in Future Abalone Inn!

All being equal wouldn't stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes, we are very sorry that the hot tub was not working for your stay. We were doing everything we could to get the parts to repair it. You were given the opportunity 3 days in advance to cancel with a full refund and you chose to stay and we gave you a discounted rate refund. We also let you stay with additional people and happily lent you a mattress when you had forgotten yours. Check out time is 11am. You were still there at 11:30. A quick call or text would have been the considerate thing to do.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful and beautiful

  • 5 of 5

The cabin has everything you need! We enjoyed the hot tub and then cozying up in front of the fireplace afterwards on our raining romantic weekend away. Listening to the rain on the roof at night and waking up to make use of every utensil in the kitchen for breakfast. We got some fresh crab one night and thankfully there's even crab crackers!! Loved our weekend in Tofino! Will definitely be back to stay here!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice place

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time. Love the house and location was perfect as well. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice place! Very private

  • 5 of 5

We liked the seclusion of the property, large nice house, easy to cook and enjoy dinners.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

beautiful beaches, excellent hiking, Pacific Rim National Park, whale, bear, wolf and couger watch and tours

surf lessons, kayak rentals and guided tours, bird watching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tofino House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring Rates
Mar 3 2017 - May 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$184
From
$202
Fri,Sat
$1,157
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $22 per night, per additional guest
 
May Long
May 19 2017 - May 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$771
Flat fee
 
 
Pre Summer
May 22 2017 - Jun 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$220
From
$242
Fri,Sat
$1,396
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $22 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Rates
Jun 23 2017 - Aug 31 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,928
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $22 per night, per additional guest
 
Labour Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$771
Flat fee
 
 
Fall Rates 2017
Sep 4 2017 - Oct 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$220
From
$242
Fri,Sat
$1,396
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $22 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$257
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $22 per night, per additional guest
 
Remebrance Weekend
Nov 10 2017 - Nov 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$257
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $22 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$257
$1,620
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $22 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$202
From
$220
Fri,Sat
$1,157
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $22 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $22.03 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.75%

Rates are in Canadian dollars. GST is 5% and an additional 3.5% booking fee for a total of 8.5% will be added to the nightly rate.
Rates are based on 6 people- we will accept up to 1 additional person only, at a rate of $30 per stay. We will not accept any more than 7 guests at any time.
Holidays are a minimum 3 ngt and a rate of $350.00
Christmas break beginning on the Friday prior and up to and including Jan 1st is $350.00 per night and a 3 night stay.
CANCELLATION POLICY:
If cancellation occurs prior to the 30 days of arrival there will be a small fee of $3.5% charged.
If cancellation occurs within 15 and 29 days of arrival you will receive a refund of 50% of the amount paid if we are able to rebook all of the dates you cancelled.
If cancellation occurs within 14 days of arrival there will be no refund.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable