check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Michelle Clough

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

'Bikini Bottom' Invites You to Relax and Play By the Sea

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Corolla House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedroom/3 Full & 2 Half Baths -- Sleeps 10-11

Get away from it all... escape to Bikini Bottom, our playground by the sea. Accessible only by 4WD, Bikini Bottom is located 8 miles up the beach from the end of Highway 12 and is well appointed to ensure your perfect vacation.

After leaving Highway 12, you will immediately feel your stress slip away as you drive along the beach and experience the serene beauty of the Northern Beaches. Along the way, you'll see natural dune lines decorated with sea oats bending in the offshore breezes.

Once you settle in to our beautiful Bikini Bottom, take a stroll along the gorgeous beach to unwind and collect shells left by the changing tides, watch the dolphins play and the pelicans glide, and if you are lucky get a peek at the wild horses and their families grazing in the dunes or playing along the shore. Return to take advantage of our many ocean facing decks or relax in the second floor hammock to listen to the rhythm of the waves crashing against the sand!

Your days at Bikini Bottom can be spent relaxing at the beach or pool, crabbing or surf fishing, walking for endless miles along the shore, or kayaking in the sound. You can also explore all that the Outer Banks has to offer. Shop at the many unique shopping areas in Corolla and Duck, climb the Corolla Lighthouse, or take a tour of the Historic Corolla Village. Many fine restaurants can also be found in these areas, or pick up some fresh fish and steaks and head back to Bikini Bottom to create your own masterpiece! Our grilling gazebo is a relaxing spot to hang out and enjoy a cold beverage while preparing your dinner by the sea.

The well appointed kitchen is a perfect compliment to the grilling gazebo. Enjoy meals in the dining room, at the bar, or enjoy the evening breeze on the screened porch! The master bedroom is also on the top floor, with a large tiled bathroom and private deck. Additionally, from the top floor you can sneak up even farther to the cozy Ship's Watch to relax, read, or take an afternoon nap! The second floor has another master bedroom with a private bathroom. Also located on the second floor are two additional bedrooms which share a full bathroom. All bedrooms have sliding glass doors which open to large decks. The ground floor has a queen sleep sofa, half bath, kitchenette (with refrigerator, microwave, sink and storage cabinets), television and dvd player. Outside, enjoy the large private swimming pool and hot tub. Also, enjoy our two person kayak to explore the canals and even out to the bay. Launch from the public boat launch just a couple of blocks away!

Enjoy all the amenities that we have provided to help make your vacation a spectacular one, but most of all relax and enjoy the unique beauty of Carova and all it has to offer....we know you'll be back!

Keywords: House, Beach, Carova Rental, Vacation Rental, Rental Home, Ocean Views, Close to Ocean, Carova Beach, Off Road ,4X4, OBX House, OBX Rental, OBX Vacation, Single family Home, Private Pool, Hot Tub, Wild Horses, Dolphins, Game Room, 2 King Master Bedrooms, 5 Bedrooms,4.5 Baths, four wheel drive, 4WD, New, fishing, surfing, paddle boarding, kayaking

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Michelle Clough (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Michelle Clough

Shelton and I met at Virginia Tech and have recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary! We have spent our entire married lives in Virginia Beach and have two great kids, Morgan and Trey. We all love the beach and we as parents love every opportunity to get away from it all with our kids and our close friends and family. Bikini Bottom is the perfect getaway!

Michelle Clough purchased this house in 2012

Why Michelle Clough chose Outer Banks

In 2011, our son was lucky enough to visit the 4x4 beaches with a classmate. He came home insisting that we all go down and take a look. We have vacationed in the Outer Banks many times, but this was our first experience with the 4x4 area. Immediately after turning off of Highway 12, I fell in love. The wide open beach and the salt air took all our stress away and we immediately began searching for the perfect house for our family to get away from the hustle and bustle of Virginia Beach, but still enjoy the things we love...walking on the beach, collecting shells, paddleboarding and fishing. We are looking forward to opening our beach house to other families to enjoy the uniqueness of the Northern Beaches and creating a lifetime of memories.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)
'Bikini Bottom' Invites You to Relax and Play By the Sea
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
4

Had a great and wonderful time!

  • 4 of 5

Pros:

Quick drive to the beach.

Secluded away from other houses.

Beach was never too crowded.

Plenty of bathrooms.

Had extra beach chairs and boogie boards.

Hot tub and pool were very nice.

Cons:

Internet didn't work the first day and a half.

Cell service is very limited.

The beds were not made, we had to make them ourselves.

Couldn't find bedding for the pull out couch.

Would've liked more games (pool table, foosball, etc).

Not enough refrigerator space.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, So glad you enjoyed your time at Bikini Bottom. We strive to make it a wonderful family vacation spot for ourselves as well as our guests. While we can't provide every amenity without interruption we do our best! With this in mind I'd like to quickly address your " cons" We do offer linens and bath towels as part of the rental fee. For an additional fee we will also have the beds made up for you. Regarding the wifi outage: We did call Century Link as soon as you notified us that you didn't have service but we are at the mercy of their technicians and they scheduled the service call as soon as a spot was available. Additionally, we provide corn hole and lots of board games and puzzles. Unfortunately our house isn't large enough to accommodate a pool table or football table. We try to provide outdoor amenities in addition to the pool and hot tub such as the kayak for exploring the canals and sound. Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly try to make Bikini Bottom a great family vacation spot. I consider each comment and try to improve where we can. Hope you come back and stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect House....Perfect Week

  • 5 of 5

Our family has been going to the coast every year for as long as I can remember and we've always rented houses to stay in so we've had plenty of experiences to compare to. That being said, this is one of my favorite house and favorite beach to date. The description in the listing was very accurate. The owners were excellent to work with and answered questions promptly and accurately. The house was clean and very well laid out with great spaces inside and out for coming together as a group but also has plenty of room to get off by yourself when you need some downtime. The kitchen had everything we needed from cookware to dishes to small appliances. The house does have well water which has naturally high sulfur content but the filtration system for drinking water in the kitchen worked great so the water wasn't an issue. Bedrooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. On the outside the pool, hot tub, and grilling area were just added bonuses. We saw wild horses from the deck everyday we were there and had deer in the yard on several occasions. Beach access by vehicle or foot was a piece of cake. I wish I could think of one thing to mention for improvement just to give the review more objectivity but there's not one thing I would change about the house or the location. We'll definitely rent this house again, hopefully as soon as this Fall.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! It sounds like you feel the way we do about Bikini Bottom and Carova! It's a little piece of heaven! We are always trying to improve and make our home a great vacation spot for our guest families! Glad you are planning to come back....more changes coming :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Very relaxing

  • 4 of 5

The house was beautiful with great features including the pool, outside shower, and grill. We loved the hammock and all the decks. It made for a very peaceful and quiet stay. One thing that was concerning was that the papers we were given it said the water was filtered and drinkable. The water was yellow to brown in color with a strong sulfur smell. When we washed clothes, our clothes smelled like sulfur as well. Other than that, the stay was amazing. I'd definitely recommend this house to others and I'd love to come back and stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. As you know there is no community water system for Carova so each house in on an individual well. We normally can get the water adjusted to eliminate the odor and iron color which is present in the water table. Hopefully after you notified me we it was straightened out for you! Glad you had a wonderful vacation otherwise! Hope you come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Southern Shores, NC
5

Moms weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

This house is such a great house! Very spacious and the floor plan is perfect for hanging out while others might be sleeping! The house is well stocked and beautifully furnished! There owners are great people who are very easy to work with! While staying at the house we saw numerous horses and a double rainbow! If you want a relaxing vacation with a beautiful landscape this is the house for you! I cannot wait to go back!

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

1 week comfortable stay at Bikini Bottom Carova Beach, Corolla

  • 5 of 5

This was a great spring break stay for our family of 4. The property is very comfortable and cozy. It felt like home and everything was provided. There is actually room here for 8-10 people, so the 4 of us had ample space. Owner did a great job introducing the property, and even provided a booklet explaining do's and dont's, things to do in the area, etc. This was our first time using the VRBO booking site and are very satisfied.

The weather didn't cooperate as this time of year is notoriously fickle. We had some high winds and cold weather. Ocean was too cold to get in, but we still manage to have a great time. The hot tub was awesome and we used it plenty of time. There is even a clean, large swimming pool that we could have used if the weather was a little warmer.

Games were even provided and we got hooked on "blockus", so much so that we purchased one upon our return!

We are looking forward to stay here again, hopefully when the weather is warmer :-)

One word of caution! You will have to drive 8.5 miles on the beach and over sand dunes to get to the house. Do not attempt this without a proper 4WD truck or SUV. An AWD little car (Subaru, BMW, etc) won't cut it!

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! We try hard to provide everything a family needs to have a memorable vacation. And yes you are right, a four wheel drive is needed! So glad you and your family had a wonderful time. I hope you come back and stay when the weather is notoriously better!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Highly Recommend This Home

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year at Bikini Bottom and we had another great vacation at this home.

Great house in a great location.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Norfolk International Airport

Photos

Rates & Availability

Corolla House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer 2016
Aug 28 2016 - Sep 10 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,650
 
 
Late Summer 2- 2016
Sep 11 2016 - Oct 1 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
Fall -2016
Oct 2 2016 - Nov 5 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,150
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 2 2017 - May 13 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
Summer 1 2017
May 14 2017 - May 20 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,350
 
 
Summer 2 2017
May 21 2017 - May 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,650
 
 
Summer 3 2017
May 28 2017 - Jun 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
 
 
Summer 4 2017
Jun 4 2017 - Jun 10 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,400
 
 
Summer 5 2017
Jun 11 2017 - Jun 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,950
 
 
Early Summer 2017
Jun 18 2017 - Jun 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,400
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 25 2017 - Aug 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,800
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Aug 13 2017 - Aug 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,050
 
 
Late Summer 2-2017
Aug 20 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,050
 
 
Late Summer 3-2017
Aug 27 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
Late Summer 4 2017
Sep 3 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
Post Season
Sep 10 2017 - Dec 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Corolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Located within 3rd Floor Master
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Mid Level Between 3rd and 2nd Floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located on 2nd Floor in Master #2
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shared Bathroom on 2nd Level for Bedrooms 3 & 4
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , 1st Floor Half Bath
    Bathroom 6 - outdoor shower , Outdoor shower for easy post beach/pool rinse
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 3rd Floor Master with Private Deck
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2nd Floor Master with Full Bath and Deck
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2nd floor, shares full bath with Bedroom 4
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Full bed with Trundle, shared full bath with Bedroom 3
    1st Floor Game Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Fold out Sleep Sofa
    Ship's Watch - 1 twin/ single , Day Bed located upstairs from the 3rd level.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers