check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Janet Soest

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Charming Wine Country Home Minutes From Downtown Napa

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Napa House Rental Photos and Description

Private 2 bedroom Da Vita Style 1941 Bungalow

Welcome to Valencia House! This beautiful 2 bedroom home tucked away in the Alta Heights neighborhood on the east side of Napa has plenty of indoor and outdoor amenities. You are in walking distance to the Oxbow Market, wine tasting, downtown restaurants and nightlife.

The backyard includes one of the largest Valencia Orange trees in Napa! Feel free to pick some oranges and squeeze your own breakfast orange juice with the juicer provided in the kitchen.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Janet Soest (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Janet Soest

We have owned this property since 1985 and truly enjoy sharing our home with you and hope you enjoy the Napa Valley as much as we do.

Janet Soest purchased this house in 1985

Why Janet Soest chose Napa Valley

We have the best of both worlds, a wine country retreat in a secluded quaint neighborhood, yet only minutes to downtown.

What makes this house unique

In the backyard of this home is one of the largest Valencia orange trees in Napa County. Feel free to reach up and hand pick some fruit for breakfast!

Conveniently located close to Silverado Trail, home to some of the best wineries in the Napa Valley.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)
Charming Wine Country Home Minutes From Downtown Napa
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 24 reviews
5

Amazing, great location!

  • 5 of 5

This rental has everything you need! It was a lovely place to stay and if we came back to the napa area would definitely contact Janet. We came for the 4th of July (our 6th year wedding anniversary). We were extremely grateful for the military discount, not only was it nice they offered one, but it was also nice they acknowledged our question regarding it (the only owners that did - all of our other inquiries COMPLETELY ignored the question. If you don't offer one, that's fine, but it's annoying if you ignore the question as if it were never asked). Janet seemed to genuinely be excited to have a military family stay at her home for the 4th and I have to say I don't think we would have had a better time anywhere else.

The house was in a great location - near walmart, gas, shopping, but not right there in the hustle and bustle. 5 minutes from the wine train (which I'd highly recommend to ANYONE - we did the dinner train for the 4th of July and enjoyed fireworks without having to park or deal with crowds.

The house had everything we needed to cook, bake and grill (my dad's an amazing chef & my mom makes a mean lasagna!) The usb plugs in the back of the alarm clock were very convenient and the helpful notes around the house were nice. The house was extremely clean and we have no complaints. I guess the only thing that we could have used was a scale (to weigh our wine case - to see if we were over weight, ha) but other than that, plenty of towels and cooking gadgets. The coffee maker is the fancy expresso kurig so regular kurigs don't work (might recommend a note for that - we bought the wrong kind).

She has a nice set up for dogs too and everything you need minus the food. We sure hope to get stationed in California sometime during my husbands career and who knows many next time we'll be able to bring our little munchkins. :)

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My gosh Rebecca! What a thoughtful and thorough review. We were very happy to have you for the holiday weekend and certainly appreciate your husband's service to our country. I'm so sorry we didn't have the espresso pods stocked for the Keurig machine. We have the "old school" coffee maker and the espresso machine and usually have coffee plus the espresso pods on hand for our guests. We look forward to having you back and thank you for your wonderful words. Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute, quiet, and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We would definitely stay here again. Getting in and out of the property was easy and the off street parking for our rental car was a bonus. My father and I were in town taking care of a family member and appreciated having a place to retreat to after some trying, emotional days. There is a Keurig coffee maker with instructions in the cabinet, a nice gas stove, and the furniture is comfy. The beds are pretty good and the backyard is nice quiet retreat. Everything was clean and private. We did need to contact Janet about one issue and she was very pleasant and appreciative of our call - a very good experience overall.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review and for contacting us about the issue at the house. We appreciated the heads up and have fixed the problem / found the culprit! We are so glad you were able to have a place to relax and regenerate. We hope to see you again. Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home base for a stay in Napa!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a nice time at this sweet property! Very comfortable, lovely back yard, well furnished kitchen. And we so appreciated the owner's letting us add another day on short notice! Would definitely cone back again!

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us! We were glad to help and hope to see you again. Janet & Bill
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scottsdale, AZ
4

We enjoyed our stay in this nice cottage in a very quiet neighborhood.

  • 4 of 5

The home was well equipped for the three of us to be comfortable. There were three items that could be improved. Cable channels should be enhanced to include sports package and some premium channels. Couldn't watch football on thanksgiving. Couch in tv room was not comfortable to sit on. Need instructions and wood to use the woodstove. Overall a great stay. These would make it perfect.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are in search of a new sofa for the TV room. We're not sure why you were not able to watch football on Thanksgiving - we have all those channels in HD. And we will put together instructions for the wood burning stove - great suggestion!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Annandale, NJ
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. The house was clean, great kitchen, just a nice place all around. Janet was very accommodating and the house had literally everything we needed to make our stay truly enjoyable! Good location to explore Napa. Everyone who stayed was very happy with the choice. Nearby Oxbow market was really nice to shop for things to snack on while enjoying a glass of wine out back or in front of the fire.

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is my favorite time of year at the house - a book, a glass of wine and some cheese in front of the fire. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. Thank you for choosing our home. Bill & Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Carlos, California
5

Great Location, Cozy, Immaculately Clean

  • 5 of 5

Our group of three adults and two tiny furry friends greatly enjoyed our four-day stay in this darling home and hope to return soon. It was warm, cozy, immaculately clean, and also included ample supply of linens and well-stocked kitchen. The neighborhood is safe and quite, within a 15 min. walk of the amazing Oxbow Market. The back yard is well-maintained also, and an excellent, safe venue for furry travelers. (No holes in the fence!) The owners were responsive, kind and welcoming!

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review! Though our main objective is to create a clean, comfortable and relaxing wine country experience for our guests - it's so exciting to hear that our four footed friends enjoyed their vacation with their families, too. We can't wait to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
59.4 Miles
San Francisco
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Bounty Hunter
Nearest Ferry
15.7 Miles
Vallejo Ferry Terminal
Nearest Golf
4.4 Miles
Silverado Country Club
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Napa Wine Train
Nearest Motorway
5.4 Miles
Highway 29
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
World famous Napa eateries
Nearest Ski
160 Miles
Tahoe
Nearest Beach
54.7 Miles
Bodega Bay
Car: recommended

This beautiful 1941 Da Vita home is quietly nestled in Alta Heights on Napa's east side. Easy walk to shops, restaurants, galleries, river excursions, spas, and tasting rooms. Less than 1 mile away is the Oxbow market, farmer's market and chef's market, Napa Valley Opera House, and the Copia Gardens. This pet friendly home features a large landscaped backyard perfect for entertaining and relaxing in the Napa Valley.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Napa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Harvest Season
Aug 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$335
From
$375
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,200
$9,575
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$290
From
$320
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
$8,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee Weekly $125
Refundable damage deposit $300

Contact owner for more information and availability.

Rates are subject to change prior to reservations.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Napa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The recently renovated bathroom includes bathtub/shower with subway and glass tile.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Valencia House comfortably sleeps 4 guests. High end linens provided. Additional single pull out bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • tennis
Notes:
Feel free to borrow one of our picnic baskets and supplies for your wine, cheese and gourmet food purchases. Fully fenced backyard, pet friendly-please inquire. Pets are considered with prior approval. It is expected pets will be kept off furniture, kept up to date on vaccinations and flea/tick treatments. Absolutely no nuisance barking which could disturb neighbors.

Partner Offers