check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Monteverde Casa Inspiracion-All Proceeds Support Sustainability Demo Center

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
7
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1

Description

La Lindora House Rental Photos and Description

Fully equipped spacious rustic home, 2 Bd, 1Ba & bathtub, sleeps 7, Ocean View

This cabin and its sister homes, Casa Inspiracion, Rancho el Rio and their newest addition, La Granja, fund all the animal welfare, environmental and social welfare programs their owners run at the Sustainability Demonstration Center depicted in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BN3SdOncMTU&feature=youtu.be

IMPORTANT: After May 2017, Casa Inspiracion will only be available for medium to long-term rentals with a minimum stay of 2 weeks. There will be an adjusted price for long-term stays. Please get in touch with us directly to inquire.

The Center is located along the main route to Monteverde and right now there is a SPECIAL PROMOTION: FREE TOUR of an animal sanctuary, the historic Sustainability Demonstration Center, an Organic Farm, and the surrounding tropical paradise of forest & river! Other special ADVENTURE, CULTURAL, SPANISH LANGUAGE, RURAL, AND NATURAL EXCURSION packages for a unique Costa Rican experience with DISCOUNTS available! Contact us for more details.

Casa Inspiracion is surrounded by lush vegetation and fruit trees, and the birds and wildlife that live on them. Yet you are on a mountainside, so you get to see hummingbirds feeding right outside your window, AND the majestic views of the mountains and the Nicoya Gulf right from your kitchen window. It is Casa Cielo's sister and it is situated on the same 5-acre preserve but a little lower down the mountain slope.

Casa Inspiracion is truly a Bird-Watcher´s Paradise. The birds and wildlife come to freely enjoy the tangerines, oranges, water apples, grapefruits, bananas, avocado, rose apples, lemons and mangoes, and drink from the pond. Our guests enjoy the organic tea and coffee. Children like to feed our free-range chickens and play with our friendly dogs, - ONLY 15 minutes to Monteverde, 7 mins to the nearest town of Santa Elena.

Situated right off the main road to San Jose, but nestled in the mountains, it is a 5 minute drive to grocery stores, banks, restaurants, etc.

Enjoy the Cloud Forest attractions during the day, but at night, retreat to the low-land drier and warmer climate and its diverse wildlife.

Wake up to the sound of parrots flying overhead and chickens coming to your back porch, then warm up with a cup of herbal tea straight from our garden or organic coffee from the San Luis Valley. We provide you with free organic coffee for the first morning of your stay as we are coffee producers in Monteverde and want to make sure you have an awesome start to your first morning with us! If you want to purchase more organic coffee for your stay or to take home, you can order it through our food order form.

Later on, take a walk on the trails and see beauty and biodiversity all around... you could even feed the chickens and fish.

In the evening, watch the amazing sunset from the back porch swing and curl up in a tub for two.

Less than 2 hours to the beach, 3.5 hours to Volcan Arenal, 30 mins to Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve and zip-lines, 20 mins to Children´s Eternal Rain Forest, 7 minutes to ranarium, herpetarium, horse-back rides, orchid and butterfly gardens.

It has a double bathtub and a full bed (sleeps 2) in the master bedroom, another full bed and a twin (in the style of bunk beds, sleeps 3) in a second bedroom and a full futon in the living room (sleeps 2). It has a fully-equipped kitchen (stove & oven, fridge, toaster oven, blender, kitchen utensils, dish towels, etc.) and access to a washing machine.

It is a totally rustic and cozy home. Through the large picture windows, you can watch the ever-changing color display of the magnificent sunsets right from your kitchen, bathtub or your hand-crafted swing on your back porch. You can cook indoors or outdoors as there is a wood-burning stove on the porch. There is a smaller front porch with a table and a bench.

There is free wi-fi and your own phone line with free calls within Costa Rica.

Email us for daily, weekly or monthly rates.

Keywords: cabin, casita, vacation rental, romantic, family, rustic, nature, cloud forest, mountain, birding

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
veronica sheehan
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 28, 2016
Call Owner

About veronica sheehan

Alexander was born in the San Luis Valley in the Monteverde region and has lived all his life here. He started working when he was 11 years old helping his father herd oxen to take milk to the local cheese factory. At the age of 15, he began working for the Children´s Eternal Rain Forest, then he worked for InBio (Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad) researching snails all over Costa Rica, he then worked for ProNativas, an non-profit organization that promotes the use of native ornamental plants as a conservation effort. He believes in changing the world one person at a time, starting with ourselves.

Veronica was born in Mexico and spent 25 years in the States. She worked as a biologist, then as a licensed clinical social worker in various settings including private practice with people suffering from chronic physical illnesses and hospice care. She arrived in Monteverde a few years ago with her 5 year old son, Stuart. She founded PAWS costarica (Promotion of Animal Wellbeing Society), a non-profit organization to help educate people regarding the responsible and compassionate treatment of animals. She believes, like Alex, in changing the world from the inside (OUR inside) out. Everything we do, our choices and lifestyles sum up to our current state of affairs… we have the power to choose again so we can heal ourselves, our planet and all living beings.

Their work with their ecotourism business, their Sustainability Demonstration Center, and the community helps visitors understand the intimate connection that we have to the land. The entire community gets to benefit from the tourism that comes to this very rural area and get to share their own wisdom. Everyone wins.

Stuart is 12 years old and attends the public school in Guacimal. He shares our family dream of enjoying the simple things and having lots of fun playing soccer and bird-watching.

Our dream is to achieve sustainability in harmony with nature

veronica sheehan purchased this house in 1991

Why veronica sheehan chose Monteverde

22 years ago, Alexander bought this land. It had been used for cattle and was pretty devoid of tress. He wanted to reforest it and turn it into a safe haven for birds and animals. Alex, Veronica and Stuart lived in Casa Inspiracion while they tended to guests at Casa Cielo on this same property before moving to Rancho el Rio. This house was built about 65 years ago and was remodeled recently. The property it sits on is now a 5- acre paradise where you get to enjoy Nature at its best!

What makes this house unique

We love the peace and quiet, the sounds of the parrots flying overhead, and of the birds on the trees. We like having lots of space to roam and filling our eyes with the beauty all around. Our animals are happy here too and we enjoy seeing them free and happy. We feel in harmony with nature. The property is close to everything, but when we are home we have our privacy and space. There is enough peace that you can relax, renew and reconnect. Being here allows one to become inspired and moved to action toward a better life and a better world.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Monteverde Casa Inspiracion-All Proceeds Support Sustainability Demo Center
average rating of 4.3 based on 10 reviews
Albuquerque
5

Rustic Retreat with gorgeous views

  • 5 of 5

My family of five wanted to visit MonteVerde, but prefer having more room to spread out, and places with more personality than hotel rooms. We stayed at the Casa Inspiracion house for two nights, and really enjoyed the stay. We ordered a homegrown, "Casita" meal from the neighbor (with a Flan dessert to die for), and had enough food for a couple more meals. As the only lit dwelling on a mountain jungle hillside, it will attract moths, butterflies and spiders, and a few may sneak past the screens. Our biggest issue was as Americans we didn't recognize the Costa Rican coffee maker. Perhaps the biggest joy was correspondence with the proprietor, Veronica. We received a tour of the Sustainability center, and really felt like visiting family. As of 6/16 the road to MonteVerde still has long unpaved sections to discourage tourists, though not Turismo vans, and takes about 20-25 minutes to reach the National Park Entrance from the house.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy to see families take the time to write reviews to help others choose the right property for them. We feel the description was accurate as indeed you are the only lit dwelling in the midst of a forest and all that comes with it, the elements, the critters, big and small. Many people enjoy this type of Nature immersion and communion, and we hope future guests also get to feel the peace that is felt at Casa Inspiracion.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautifull setting, complete privacy, wonderfull vieuw

  • 4 of 5

The House fits fully in its natural, sustainable, environment. Nice walking on the large site. Complete privacy, clean and safe. We have had 2 impressive storms but the House is resistant to these elements. Together enjoyed the large bath, the fresh water and the beautiful view. We did almost every day our own home cooking. Enjoyed the porch swing. With the 4WD a good base to discover the environment.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thankful for this review which points out that at times, specially during the months of December and January, the winds can be pretty strong. Many people have told us they actually enjoy feeling the strength of the elements and being part of it. If you are the kind of person that enjoys very close to Nature and all it offers (the storms, the sun shine, the mountain beauty, the wind, the rain, the clean crisp air of the morning, the bright stars at night), then this is your kind of place.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Buyer beware!

  • 1 of 5

We booked this place for 2 nights but had to leave after one night. In fact we arrived late evening and left early next morning as we could not sleep through the night. The wind was howling and the house has virtually no protection against the elements. There was no hot water, the whole house including the beds were dirty and there were literally no utensils in the kitchen. I use VRBO quite often and have never had to leave a bad review or check out early before. Do yourself a favor and book a nice hotel in the area. You will find luxury at the same rate you pay for this house just a few yards away.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We feel the reviewer was upset because we were not able to welcome them personally as they arrived quite late. We understand people have come to expect special care which we love to give, but we are in a very fierce battle to save the rivers in our region and there are times now where we simply can’t come in direct contact with every guest. We sense this hurt the reviewer’s feelings. In fact, right at the moment all the rivers in Costa Rica are in danger. Below I am including a link to a video (https://youtu.be/BCsoQSDZJ1c) so you can understand more about it. We also run a Sustainability Demonstration Center and have many programs for the local people, animals and the environment. Regarding the claims: 1) The house sits in the middle of a forest and it is not hermetically sealed, so when there is wind, you may feel and certainly hear it and if it is extreme, dust could get in through the screens and doors and windows. It is true the wind can be very strong at times specially during December and January and can cause noise. Our guests have no problem with it because they come to experience Nature and wind is part of it. 2) We had issues with the hot water heater but they are fixed. Perhaps the guests did not know they needed to press a button on the heater itself and did not ask. 3) We have many reviews and we always get excellent marks on cleanliness. Contrary to the reviewer’s claim, when they arrived, the house was clean. 4) The kitchen is fully equipped. If we had no kitchen utensils, we could never have gotten a single five-star review. It is a rustic, comfortable, safe and clean home in a peaceful setting surrounded by Nature.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Nice place in Monteverde

  • 3 of 5

We stayed in Casa Inspiracion for three nights this past Dec. I have mixed feelings of this home. Veronica and Giselle were so sweet and so accommodating. The place was nice and quiet. We were able to visit Giselle's farm the neighbor) which was a nice bonus. The issues that we had with the location is that it was a bit further than we expected from town. In a previous review someone mentioned that they walked to Santa Elena...which would have taken long time. I guess it wouldn't be an issue if you have your own care, but we had to constantly call taxis (which was fairly easy), but we really had to plan our day so that we would keep going back and fourth to town. The house had many spiders and trancillas which we weren't prepared for. The hot water didn't work and Veronica was very accommodating and as soon as we mentioned this to her (the second day of our trip since we arrived at night) she sent someone to fix it, but it still didn't work as we would have accepted. The biggest issue that we had was the big hill that lead to the house. Since we didn't have a car, the taxi's waiting for us on the top of the hill. On our last day we had a car pick us up at 6 am (we had tour) and my husband had to carry all our luggage up a steep hill will the luggage on his head. You really do need a 4 wheeler to use their driveway. I would recommend this place if you are adventurous and have your own care. Otherwise I would pass (even though the owner is lovely).

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Deep apologies for the hot water issue...there are some things we can not control. We do not spray the house or the land with harmful chemicals and you are in the middle of the forest, so on occasion spiders or tarantulas get in; they are not harmful and they actually are a good thermometer of the health of the environment. Since your visit, we have installed foam around the screens to minimize their entry. Most people focus on all the beauty, this organic oasis brings, such as the family of toucans that lives there, and the amazing hummingbirds and butterflies that you often see right from your window. And yes, there is a steep driveway. If you do not have a car, it would be best to ensure the taxi you call is 4x4 so you can be picked up right at the house. I am happy to help you secure such vehicle. We have had MANY guests who do not have a car and have had a wonderful time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manhattan Beach CA
5

Look No Further...This is the one!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 stayed at Casa Inspiracion this past June and were blown away by the accommodations! The house far exceeded our expectations and the convenient location to many area sites was an added bonus! The house has everything a traveler would need, including a washer and a full, updated kitchen. The property manager, Veronica, went above and beyond to make our stay memorable! Be sure to stop by her Discovery Center before leaving the area! It's an experience you won't want to miss! We would definitely return to Casa Inspiracion!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Jose, Costa Rica
5

Incredible value for money

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriend and I stayed at Casa Inspiracion over the May Day vacation and we could not have been more delighted with our choice. The house was exactly as it looked in the pictures and is surrounded by lush forest which is abundant with wildlife (particularly birds). The house is located in a convenient location with Santa Elena being little more than a 5 minute drive away. The administrators were extremely friendly and welcoming and I cannot recommend the meal service provided by Giselle highly enough. All in all I would definitely recommend this beautiful house to anybody seeking a relaxing holiday.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
125 Kilometres
Liberia
Nearest Barpub
3 Kilometres
Bar Amigos
Nearest Ferry
70 Kilometres
Puntarenas
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Kilometres
Hwy 606 right at your entrance lane
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
Tree House Restaurant- Eat on the canopy of a tree
Nearest Beach
65 Kilometres
Playa Dona Ana
Car: recommended

Quiet private Paradise in rural área just 15 mins by car from Monteverde and 7 mins from Santa Elena. Cloud forest preserves nearby, ziplines, birding tours, night hikes, world-famous Monteverde Cheese Factory, chocolate factory, butterfly, frog and orchid gardens. Horse back riding to hot springs 2 minutes away.

We conduct rural tourism tours.

Photos

Rates & Availability

La Lindora House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My standard rate
Apr 1 2016 - Apr 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$110
$660
$2,640
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$110
$660
$2,640
 

Additional information about rental rates

Charge beyond 2 guests $5
Tax Rate 13.0%

The basic rate is for two guests. Beyond two guests, there is a $5 charge for each guest per night.
$100 refundable pet deposit

Payment upon arrival, cash USD. For reservations longer than 2 weeks, a deposit is required.
$5 for each additional guest beyond two guests.
1 day off for every week-long stay
2 days off for 2-week reservations
3 days off for 3-week reservations
4 days off for four-week reservations

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

La Lindora House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 108 m²
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Plenty of hot water
  • A DOUBLE BATHTUB IS LOCATED IN THE MASTER BEDROOM ADJACENT TO THIS BATHROOM
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , Romantic bathtub for two in this master bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Rustic, comfy bunk bed sleeps 2 on bottom and 1 on top
  • Baby crib/play pen available upon request at no extra cost A full size extra-comfy futon in living room sleeps 2
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • spelunking
Notes:
Our neighbor can delight you with delicious typical Costa Rican food served at your home or hers for only $10 per meal. If you enjoy water, a natural hotspring you get to by horseback is available only 2 mins away by car. Trails and a pond on site

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties