check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

EMR Vacation Rentals Inc.

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Tranquil and Stunning Victoria 4 Bedroom Lake View and Acreage Estate

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

Victoria House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, Sleeps 8

The stunning Lakeshore Country Retreat is a real pleasure to visit. The location is spectacular, the house is truly beautiful and the lake is one of a kind. Lakeshore Country Retreat is owned and maintained by an old world European couple who meticulously care for both the house and the gardens. You will be amazed at both the appeal of the styling of the house and the spectacular acres of gardens rich with plants, flowers, fruit trees, berry bushes, vegetables, and a wondrous mix of grassy area and quiet forest all leading down to the quiet edge of Elk Lake.

The home at Lakeshore Country Retreat is a wonderful mix of European flair and North American practicality. As you enter the home, you are greeted with floor to ceiling windows showcasing the view of the gardens with Elk Lake as a backdrop. To your left is the living area with the large sitting room and brick fireplace, beyond that is the dining room with seating for 8. At the far left of the house is the kitchen and TV area, both with excellent views.

The sleeping area of the house to the right of the entrance contains 4 good sized bedrooms all with a European flair. Each has a bathroom and the three main rooms all have views of the grounds of the estate. A wonderful feeling of peace and tranquility will come over you while enjoying this part of the house as all you can hear is the slight trickle of water in the gardens and the faint sounds of the farm animals in the estate below.

Proceed out of the floor to ceiling windows through one of the sliding glass doors onto the full sized covered patio ideal for entertaining with an outdoor fireplace and barbecue. Enjoy a short stroll to access the path that encircles Elk Lake for walking cycling or running. You can travel a short distance along this trail to get to the public beach or stop at a small swimming platform and dive right in.

This country retreat is absolutely perfect and offers an experience like no other.

Please note there is a private caretaker or renter suite on the property

Please note that term rates apply for the summer peak season period only unless booking within 21 nights of arrival. Nightly rates will vary dependent on the term rate value and the length of stay required. Term periods run from Saturday to Saturday.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
EMR Vacation Rentals Inc. (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)
Tranquil and Stunning Victoria 4 Bedroom Lake View and Acreage Estate
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
Naperville, IL
5

A Week in our Own Shangri-La!!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

For two weeks we looked at dozens of properties on line for Vancouver Island. When we saw this property with its spacious covered patio and large deck, fireplace and built in gas grill, magnificent views of the lush gardens & orchards, Elk Lake, the mountains and even the snow capped peaks of Mount Baker, we all agreed "this was the one" Sometimes pictures deceive and the "real thing" disappoints. In this case"the real thing" FAR SURPASSES the pictures! The home is open, spacious & immaculate with beautiful panoramic views from every room. It was hard to leave this "Shangari-La" to go sightseeing, but fortunately, everything was close & easy to access(Victoria, Butchart Gardens & Sidney to name a few) Peter and Vera were warm gracious hosts.We all enjoyed our conversations with them and the walks under the cool canopy of the many fruit, fig and nut trees as Peter identified all the many species of trees and flowers for us.We enjoyed sampling all the varieties of fruits, berries & nuts all week. He introduced us to Japanese Pears which were wonderful and became favorites during our stay. Peter even brought us cartons of yummy ice-cream made by his daughter. One night we had it with grilled caramelized fresh peaches made from a bowl of ripe, luscious peaches Vera had given us. Scrumptious! We could not have found a more perfect setting for for a week long reunion with my brother and sister-in-law( from California). It was hard to leave and hope we can return in the future. A truly beautiful property and lovely hosts.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pickering, Ontario
5

Lake front retreat

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The house was awesome Peter wa great. We gab a memerable vacation. The view was amazing. Thanks no issues at all

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review of the Lakeshore Country Retreat. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lakeshore Country Retreat - June 2016 stay

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful home! The house is very clean, pretty, and bright. The three large bedrooms all have ensuite bathrooms, the fourth bedroom has access to a fourth bathroom just down the hall, there is a fifth bathroom near the family room too. The kitchen is large and well-equipped. The deck, view, and grounds are beautiful, and we really appreciated the fresh eggs and raspberries! A very nice place to come home to after sightseeing each day. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review of the Lakeshore Country Retreat. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NY/Westcheter
3

Good and Bad

  • 3 of 5

The house is an amazing space and the farm and views spectacular. The owners are kind, lovely people who took a great deal of time to show us their farm and brought us fresh honey and eggs. Unfortunately the management company was horrific and lied about it truly being a no pet home. A cat lives on premises and suns itself on the deck furniture making it unusable for an allergy/asthma sufferer. We discovered the cat as soon as we arrived and management made it difficult to find out if the cat had ever been inside the house. If it had we would not have been able to stay and management didn't appear to understand the severity of the problem. We asked for compensation since we could not use the deck as the furniture was full of hair and management rudely refused. Management stated they had no record of an allergy but that was in fact due to their lack or proper record keeping. The House itself needs updating and better maintenance as the rugs are worn and the master bath drain didn't work. The house was clean but not kept well enough as dishes were put away unclean, the master bed box spring wasn't covered and had ugly stains, the pillows in one room were musty smelling. We arrived to find no soap in most of the bathrooms. Usually houses have start out things and then the vacationers supplement. We told the greeter there was no soap and she said she would bring it next day and she brought it 2 days later. One bathroom does not have a real shower. It is a tub with a handheld faucet. It was not usable for my elderly Mother. That was not clear in the in the description. With Proper maintenance and some upgrades the house is fantastic and the owner truly lovely. We write this true constructive criticism so that they can get the most renters going forward.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good and Bad

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The property owners are delightful people who took time to show us their farm and all the fantastic things they grow and their sheep. They brought over fresh honey and eggs. The farm experience was fantastic and the owners made the stay special. They could not have been kinder or nicer. The management company however were insensitive to severe allergies and when we arrived a cat was on the deck. Cat hair was all over the outdoor furniture and management basically said too bad, we are not responsible for the outside. When you rent a no pet home, that should mean no pets outside where one would sit as well. Management said they had no record of an allergy issue when we submitted papers. That was their issue not ours. If their staff didn't take good records that is not our problem. The woman who did the booking apparently doesn't work there anymore. The cat appeared to be part of the farm and was not governed. The owners kindly put him away in their garage during our stay but we still could not use the deck. We asked for compensation and the management company wrote a curt letter refusing. The house itself is beautiful but in need of upgrading. Management does not govern the cleaning and maintenance well enough. Carpets are worn and shabby looking. The shower in our bathroom wouldn't drain. The mattress box spring in the master was not covered and there were disgusting stains on it. The pillows in one bedroom were musty smelling. Pots and pans put back in the cabinets were not clean. With a makeover and better management this house is a real find.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We wish you stay could have had a better outcome. However, we feel this review is unfair and not accurate. This is a farm property and advertised it is located on farm overlooking Elk Lake. There are farm animals and no where did we guarantee there would not be animals on the property outside. The inside of the house is pet free, however, outside can not be governed to the same level of the inside. Yes, the owner who lives in a separate unit on the acreage does have a cat and did put him away after your complaint and the owner did come to clean the 1 chair for which we received the complaint. We were also told by another member of you party that not to worry about it and that it was an overreaction. We like to point out the key word here is "compensation". It seemed from the word get go you had looked for a way to discount your stay during a prime time period. You know this property receives terrific reviews because you read them yourself. Our company does to give in to the "give me what I want with cash back or else I leave a bad review" guests. In our eyes it is a form of extortion. We did everything in our power including the help of the owner to make your stay a terrific one. If that was not met, even though other's in your group would say otherwise, there was nothing more we could do than wish it could have been better for you personally.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved this Bit of Paradise on Earth

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

I woke up and wandered about in my night gown, snapping photos of the orchard, chickens, herbs and all manner of berries. The house was immaculate. The view sublime. What a great home base for seeing southern British Columbia. But, don't be surprised if you find yourself wanting to linger over breakfast on the terrace. If you are looking for some peace and tranquility - look no further. Owners are delightful.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review for Lakeshore Country Retreat! The terrace is wonderful and a great place to have your breakfast or morning coffee. The owners, are delightful and we appreciate all they do for us!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Victoria House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
Jun 25 2016 - Sep 9 2016
3 night minimum stay
$385
$2,316
 
 
Shoulder and Low Season Holiday
Sep 10 2016 - Oct 9 2016
3 night minimum stay
$285
$1,931
$4,055
 
 
Low Season
Oct 10 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$251
$1,506
$3,476
 
 
Shoulder and Low Season Holiday
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$285
$1,931
 
 
Low Season
Jan 2 2017 - Feb 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$251
$1,506
$3,476
 
 
Shoulder and Low Season Holiday
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$285
 
 
Low Season (Min)
Feb 13 2017 - Apr 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$251
$1,506
$3,476
 
 
Low Season (Max)
Feb 13 2017 - Apr 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$251
$1,506
$3,708
 
 
Shoulder and Low Season Holiday
Apr 13 2017 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$285
 
 
Low Season
Apr 16 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$251
$1,506
 
 
Shoulder and Low Season Holiday
May 1 2017 - Jun 23 2017
3 night minimum stay
$285
$1,931
$4,055
 
 
Peak Season
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
$579
$2,316
 

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Victoria House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 3 Queen beds, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties