check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

EMR Vacation Rentals Inc.

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Tranquil and Stunning Victoria 4 Bedroom Lake View and Acreage Estate

12 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

Vancouver Island House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, Sleeps 8

The stunning Lakeshore Country Retreat is a real pleasure to visit. The location is spectacular, the house is truly beautiful and the lake is one of a kind. Lakeshore Country Retreat is owned and maintained by an old world European couple who meticulously care for both the house and the gardens. You will be amazed at both the appeal of the styling of the house and the spectacular acres of gardens rich with plants, flowers, fruit trees, berry bushes, vegetables, and a wondrous mix of grassy area and quiet forest all leading down to the quiet edge of Elk Lake.

The home at Lakeshore Country Retreat is a wonderful mix of European flair and North American practicality. As you enter the home, you are greeted with floor to ceiling windows showcasing the view of the gardens with Elk Lake as a backdrop. To your left is the living area with the large sitting room and brick fireplace, beyond that is the dining room with seating for 8. At the far left of the house is the kitchen and TV area, both with excellent views.

The sleeping area of the house to the right of the entrance contains 4 good sized bedrooms all with a European flair. Each has a bathroom and the three main rooms all have views of the grounds of the estate. A wonderful feeling of peace and tranquility will come over you while enjoying this part of the house as all you can hear is the slight trickle of water in the gardens and the faint sounds of the farm animals in the estate below.

Proceed out of the floor to ceiling windows through one of the sliding glass doors onto the full sized covered patio ideal for entertaining with an outdoor fireplace and barbecue. Enjoy a short stroll to access the path that encircles Elk Lake for walking cycling or running. You can travel a short distance along this trail to get to the public beach or stop at a small swimming platform and dive right in.

This country retreat is absolutely perfect and offers an experience like no other.

Please note there is a private caretaker or renter suite on the property

Please note that term rates apply for the summer peak season period only unless booking within 21 nights of arrival. Nightly rates will vary dependent on the term rate value and the length of stay required. Term periods run from Saturday to Saturday.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
EMR Vacation Rentals Inc. (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.6
based on 12 traveler reviews

Tranquil and Stunning Victoria 4 Bedroom Lake View and Acreage Estate
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews
5

Lakeshore Country Retreat - June 2016 stay

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful home! The house is very clean, pretty, and bright. The three large bedrooms all have ensuite bathrooms, the fourth bedroom has access to a fourth bathroom just down the hall, there is a fifth bathroom near the family room too. The kitchen is large and well-equipped. The deck, view, and grounds are beautiful, and we really appreciated the fresh eggs and raspberries! A very nice place to come home to after sightseeing each day. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NY/Westcheter
3

Good and Bad

  • 3 of 5

The house is an amazing space and the farm and views spectacular. The owners are kind, lovely people who took a great deal of time to show us their farm and brought us fresh honey and eggs. Unfortunately the management company was horrific and lied about it truly being a no pet home. A cat lives on premises and suns itself on the deck furniture making it unusable for an allergy/asthma sufferer. We discovered the cat as soon as we arrived and management made it difficult to find out if the cat had ever been inside the house. If it had we would not have been able to stay and management didn't appear to understand the severity of the problem. We asked for compensation since we could not use the deck as the furniture was full of hair and management rudely refused. Management stated they had no record of an allergy but that was in fact due to their lack or proper record keeping. The House itself needs updating and better maintenance as the rugs are worn and the master bath drain didn't work. The house was clean but not kept well enough as dishes were put away unclean, the master bed box spring wasn't covered and had ugly stains, the pillows in one room were musty smelling. We arrived to find no soap in most of the bathrooms. Usually houses have start out things and then the vacationers supplement. We told the greeter there was no soap and she said she would bring it next day and she brought it 2 days later. One bathroom does not have a real shower. It is a tub with a handheld faucet. It was not usable for my elderly Mother. That was not clear in the in the description. With Proper maintenance and some upgrades the house is fantastic and the owner truly lovely. We write this true constructive criticism so that they can get the most renters going forward.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good and Bad

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The property owners are delightful people who took time to show us their farm and all the fantastic things they grow and their sheep. They brought over fresh honey and eggs. The farm experience was fantastic and the owners made the stay special. They could not have been kinder or nicer. The management company however were insensitive to severe allergies and when we arrived a cat was on the deck. Cat hair was all over the outdoor furniture and management basically said too bad, we are not responsible for the outside. When you rent a no pet home, that should mean no pets outside where one would sit as well. Management said they had no record of an allergy issue when we submitted papers. That was their issue not ours. If their staff didn't take good records that is not our problem. The woman who did the booking apparently doesn't work there anymore. The cat appeared to be part of the farm and was not governed. The owners kindly put him away in their garage during our stay but we still could not use the deck. We asked for compensation and the management company wrote a curt letter refusing. The house itself is beautiful but in need of upgrading. Management does not govern the cleaning and maintenance well enough. Carpets are worn and shabby looking. The shower in our bathroom wouldn't drain. The mattress box spring in the master was not covered and there were disgusting stains on it. The pillows in one bedroom were musty smelling. Pots and pans put back in the cabinets were not clean. With a makeover and better management this house is a real find.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We wish you stay could have had a better outcome. However, we feel this review is unfair and not accurate. This is a farm property and advertised it is located on farm overlooking Elk Lake. There are farm animals and no where did we guarantee there would not be animals on the property outside. The inside of the house is pet free, however, outside can not be governed to the same level of the inside. Yes, the owner who lives in a separate unit on the acreage does have a cat and did put him away after your complaint and the owner did come to clean the 1 chair for which we received the complaint. We were also told by another member of you party that not to worry about it and that it was an overreaction. We like to point out the key word here is "compensation". It seemed from the word get go you had looked for a way to discount your stay during a prime time period. You know this property receives terrific reviews because you read them yourself. Our company does to give in to the "give me what I want with cash back or else I leave a bad review" guests. In our eyes it is a form of extortion. We did everything in our power including the help of the owner to make your stay a terrific one. If that was not met, even though other's in your group would say otherwise, there was nothing more we could do than wish it could have been better for you personally.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved this Bit of Paradise on Earth

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

I woke up and wandered about in my night gown, snapping photos of the orchard, chickens, herbs and all manner of berries. The house was immaculate. The view sublime. What a great home base for seeing southern British Columbia. But, don't be surprised if you find yourself wanting to linger over breakfast on the terrace. If you are looking for some peace and tranquility - look no further. Owners are delightful.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review for Lakeshore Country Retreat! The terrace is wonderful and a great place to have your breakfast or morning coffee. The owners, are delightful and we appreciate all they do for us!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Calgary, Alberta
5

Fantastic Home in Victoria

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This was an excellent property owned by a lovely couple. The home is spacious with huge bedrooms and a great porch. The yard is gorgeous and truly a self sustaining acreage.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your terrific review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A most wonderful country retreat

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Our rental property -- house and grounds -- was truly beautiful, tranquil, and perfect for a large group family reunion. The house offered all the space we needed to be together and to separate out. Love the 5 bathrooms! We felt relaxed and inspired by the setting. The freshly picked fruit and vegetables delivered by the owners was a warming surprise. The property description was mostly accurate. 'Lakeshore' is actually not easily accessible to the lake. The rental company told us there was a dock on the property available to us. When we arrived we learned we had no access to this dock. So our visions and expectations of fishing off the dock of our property, of jumping off the dock to swim, and of renting a boat we could tie up on this dock were dashed upon arrival. This was a big disappointment for everyone. I place responsibility for this on the rental company. The rental company also along the way was tardy in responding to our questions, and generally not very helpful. The greeter never did show up, although the owners were there to give us access at the predetermined time. Overall poor customer service from the rental company. I am not sure we would use this rental company another time if we didn't need to. BUT we may want to rent this property again. The owners and their home made up for the experience with the rental company.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. However, we wish to address the dock issue as the property has never ever been advertised including a dock with the property. There is a public dock pictured at Elk Lake but its not listed anywhere in the amenities or the listing description to include a dock. The rental agent explained this to the guest and even arranged with the property owner to assist with getting this guest and their family access to the neighbours dock next door. We believe this review is being unfair to label our company with not being very helpful or not quick to respond. Our agent assisted this guest at every step of the way. The guest was greeted at the property as arranged by our company to be done by the owner. To say the greeter did not show up is misleading as it was arranged that the owner would open the property up for these guests. Lastly, due to privacy laws in Canada we can not discuss customer accounts with people who are not authorized to do so. The primary guest, who booked and paid for the property, is the only one we are by law able to discuss the rental account. In this case, the person that kept calling our office was not on the account for the rental agreement. We take client privacy very seriously. We hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Saanich House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season (Min)
Jun 25 2016 - Sep 9 2016
3 night minimum stay
$379
$2,276
 
 
Peak Season (Max)
Jun 25 2016 - Sep 9 2016
3 night minimum stay
$569
$2,276
 
 
Shoulder and Low Season Holiday
Sep 10 2016 - Oct 9 2016
3 night minimum stay
$280
$1,897
$3,984
 
 
Low Season
Oct 10 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$247
$1,480
$3,415
 
 
Shoulder and Low Season Holiday
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$280
$1,897
 
 
Low Season
Jan 2 2017 - Feb 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$247
$1,480
$3,415
 
 
Shoulder and Low Season Holiday
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$280
 
 
Low Season (Min)
Feb 13 2017 - Apr 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$247
$1,480
$3,415
 
 
Low Season (Max)
Feb 13 2017 - Apr 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$247
$1,480
$3,642
 
 
Shoulder and Low Season Holiday
Apr 13 2017 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$280
 
 
Low Season
Apr 16 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$247
$1,480
 
 
Shoulder and Low Season Holiday
May 1 2017 - Jun 23 2017
3 night minimum stay
$280
$1,897
$3,984
 
 
Peak Season
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
$569
$2,276
 

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Vancouver Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 3 Queen beds, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties