check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Kathy Somerton

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

NEW CONTEMPORARY UNIT ON THE BEACH/CENTRAL AIR

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kihei Condo Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom/2 Bathrooms with sweeping panoramic ocean views

Situated on Keawakapu Beach, consistently voted as one of the best beaches in all of the Hawaiian Islands. Unbeatable and unobstructed ocean views. Unit 412 has been completely rebuilt, all new contemporary furnishings. The kitchen has everything you need, 2 coffee machines, blender, barware, electric candles for the lanai.

Excellent swimming and snorkeling off our point, it is some of the best on island, paddle boards, kayaks and all beach/snorkel equipment can be rented reasonably on site.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kathy Somerton (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

About Kathy Somerton

This is us enjoying the sunset whale watching cruise on the Kai Kanani, which is known for their Molokini snorkeling, and whale watching tours. They depart three miles down the road from Makena Beach. Our other favorite things to do while on Maui include kayaking, bicycling and golf at the beautiful Wailea courses which are only a few miles from the condo.

Kathy Somerton purchased this condo in 2012

Why Kathy Somerton chose Maui

We chose this property because we believe Keawakapu is the best family beach and it is continuously voted as one of the most beautiful beaches as well as the setting for multi million dollar homes down its half mile plus length. And most of all we like the warm sunny weather for which the Kihei/Wailea area is well known.

What makes this condo unique

The Mana Kai recently underwent a multi - million dollar renovation of the exterior, restaurant, bar, and lobby area, as well as a complete remodeling and expansion of the swimming pool. As of October 2013 we completely rebuilt and customized unit #412. Larry is an award winning California and Hawaii architect and we hired a local interior design firm for purchase of all new contemporary furnishings.

All floors were replaced with crema bottocino tile, the kitchen was expanded and top of the line appliances were added including a Sub-Zero refrigerator. All new bathrooms, toilets, showers and tub as well as an upgraded air conditioning system for the entire unit was installed. The front bedroom unit has a King size bed (luxury mattresses utilized by Four Seasons and Grand Wailea Hoolei Resorts) have been selected. The back bedroom has two Extra long twin beds which can be pulled together and utilized as a king as well; and a second full size bathroom.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)
NEW CONTEMPORARY UNIT ON THE BEACH/CENTRAL AIR
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 24 reviews
1

Beautiful condo and location but....

  • 1 of 5

I’ll start with the background. This was my 2nd time suing VRBO. The 1st visit was for a stay in Kona a few years back and it was flawless. I was looking for a quiet place to celebrate my 50th birthday when our plans to go on safari in Africa fell through for personal reasons. My husband, 5 yr. old son and I live in San Francisco and were looking for a quiet place to relax. Away from all the people and noise that come with living in a big city. The Mana Kai condo looked perfect. The pictures on the website are pretty accurate. The furniture’s is a little worn , but otherwise the place looks nice and well maintained. The grounds are well manicured and the condo faces a gorgeous beach that’s very kid friendly and clean. The sunsets are stunning. The pool is very nice and there are lots of shady palm trees for respite from the Maui sun. The condo itself is one of I’d say 50 or more condos in a building that was built maybe in the 70’s. As a result, there is a lot of remodeling going on in different units.

We arrived on a Saturday and on Sunday a sign went up in the elevators indicating that remodeling would commence on 6 units Monday through Wednesday of that week. The list included everything form “hammering demo all day” to “exterior AC enclosure’s concrete jackhammering” . Incidentally, the remodeling went on all day and into Thursday. The note advised it would cease at noon.

We were not advised of this by the owner before we arrived.

The condo we were in was on the 4th floor. Even though all of the units in question were located on other floors, the noise and vibration from the demolition was noticeable and bothersome. So much for peace and relaxation! If I would have known about this we would have stayed somewhere else.

When I reached out to the owner about the noise and how frustrating it was, she claimed she has no prior knowledge of the remodeling going on. Her exact words, “ I just received the notice about the construction yesterday. I have no control over when individual owners decide to remodel & and with 90 different owners, they almost never notify us until the last minute as to who is doing what.” She offered a free night for my trouble. I went back to her and told her it was not enough. My 50th birthday was essentially ruined. At the end she refunded me 25% of my stay,. In my opinion, if there was even the slightest possibility that remodeling was going to be an issue, she should have never rented the condo.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry this guest was disturbed by construction, but as with most of Hawaii, summer is both very active and construction season for property owners, and timing of noisy renovation work is very hard to predict. The Mana Kai is owned by 98 individuals. The site manager tries his best to keep other owners apprised on their neighbors' construction activities, however they set their own schedules and their contractors frequently deviate from schedule, so it is nearly impossible to predict when annoyances will occur. The site manager does, however, post advisories and also enforces restrictions as to hours during which construction is permitted, so that early mornings and evenings are quiet. Recognizing these potential disturbances, we, as do most other owners, set our summer rates considerably lower during construction season. In this case, we would have notified our guests as soon as we were notified of the construction schedule had they not contacted us first. We then agreed to a substantial rental refund. We believe we did the best we could and as much as could be expected to recognize and mitigate the inconvenience to our guests. Kathy & Larry Somerton
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time spending a week in April. Condo was fabulous. Cooked most of the meals for the week - most cost effective for our family of teenage boys. Kitchen missing some basics but was able to make do with what was there (for example: no pitcher for tea so used the food processor). Boogie boards & chairs available to use as well. Condo building very clean. Only downside I would say is the very narrow parking spaces. Few times came back after our exploring only to find somebody in our numbered space. Notified the office & they told us where to park so we wouldn't be towed. Condo is right next door to a state park so there's lots of people around. Most enjoyed my morning & evening/sunset walks on the beautiful beach. Can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing condo!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay. In my opinion, the best location on the island and also the best beach. The condo was just perfect. Very modern and well equiped. We would definitely choose this condo again if we ever return to Maui. Thank you Kathy and Larry!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Marilyn and we truly do hope that we see you in Maui again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Best location in South Maui! Gorgeous beach with swimming, snorkeling, boogie boarding and lounging. The condo was just as described in the listing, no surprises or disappointments; high end and nice yet very functional. We had an issue with the outside closet door lock and not only was the owner quick to respond but the property management staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. They had a lock smith there in no time and fixed the problem. The restaurant was nice and the yoga studio was awesome, I highly recommend the sunrise yoga on the beach. Great place, we'll be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We agree Keawakapu Beach is the best location in all of Maui - fabulous snorkeling and so easy to rent kayaks, paddle boards and any other beach gear you might need. And many of us that live in the area enjoy the yoga classes on a weekly basis at Dani's beach front Mana Kai location. Thank you for making time to write a review on our behalf, we appreciate hearing from our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Condo!

  • 5 of 5

This condo is beautiful, updated with modern conveniences and sparkling clean. We had a great time and would definitely go back. The condo is exactly as it is advertised online and it fit three adults perfectly and can fit four easily. Pool is great, as well as only a few feet away from the beach. There is a nice restaurant on property as well as a general store to purchase food, trinkets, snacks and anything you may have forgotten without having to go to the store. There is a large chain supermarket nearby, restaurants, snorkeling, hiking, going to Lahaina--so much to do and see. We can't wait to go back! Reserving online was easy, got our refund back promptly, Kathy always answered quickly--All good just like the other reviewers said!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonnie - we are glad to hear that you so enjoyed your time on Maui and staying in our condo and truly do hope you make it back next year. Happy holidays and again thank you for the outstanding review, we greatly value your review and the time you took to post it.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Weddingmoon in PARADISE!!!

  • 5 of 5

Condo was as described. Best place to stay on the island.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: John - thank you so much for the positive review especially with all of the work going on theses last few weeks around us. We truly hope you will consider returning for an anniversary or just a fun vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Kahului, Maui
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Wailea Old Blue
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Pi'ilani Highway
Nearest Restaurant
5 Palms
Nearest Beach
Keawakapu

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Dec 16 2016 - Apr 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$525
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$395
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 13.42%

For stays less than 5 nights there will be an additional charge of $150. for housekeeping.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , All new cabinets, fixtures and tile
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , all new tile, fixtures, cabinets and appliances
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Bedroom One has the lanai overlooking the beach and ocean
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 2 Twins or together as a King Bed/partial ocean view
  • Two Bedrooms, sleeps 4, One King Bed, Two Twin Beds Bedroom One: King Bedroom Two: 2 XL Twins
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Surf Shop also rents beach chairs and umbrellas as well as surf and boogie boards and the equipment listed above. (We also have an owners closet which has a few beach chairs and soft coolers for the beach.) The activities Desk: Conveniently located off the lobby level can make all arrangements for luau's, whale watching, snorkel and scuba trips or boat trips to Lanai and Molokini.

Partner Offers