Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom/2 Bathrooms with sweeping panoramic ocean views

Situated on Keawakapu Beach, consistently voted as one of the best beaches in all of the Hawaiian Islands. Unbeatable and unobstructed ocean views. Unit 412 has been completely rebuilt, all new contemporary furnishings. The kitchen has everything you need, 2 coffee machines, blender, barware, electric candles for the lanai.

Excellent swimming and snorkeling off our point, it is some of the best on island, paddle boards, kayaks and all beach/snorkel equipment can be rented reasonably on site.

Kathy Somerton
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2017

About Kathy Somerton

This is us enjoying the sunset whale watching cruise on the Kai Kanani, which is known for their Molokini snorkeling, and whale watching tours. They depart three miles down the road from Makena Beach. Our other favorite things to do while on Maui include kayaking, bicycling and golf at the beautiful Wailea courses which are only a few miles from the condo.

Kathy Somerton purchased this condo in 2012

Why Kathy Somerton chose Maui

We chose this property because we believe Keawakapu is the best family beach and it is continuously voted as one of the most beautiful beaches as well as the setting for multi million dollar homes down its half mile plus length. And most of all we like the warm sunny weather for which the Kihei/Wailea area is well known.

What makes this condo unique

The Mana Kai recently underwent a multi - million dollar renovation of the exterior, restaurant, bar, and lobby area, as well as a complete remodeling and expansion of the swimming pool. As of October 2013 we completely rebuilt and customized unit #412. Larry is an award winning California and Hawaii architect and we hired a local interior design firm for purchase of all new contemporary furnishings.

All floors were replaced with crema bottocino tile, the kitchen was expanded and top of the line appliances were added including a Sub-Zero refrigerator. All new bathrooms, toilets, showers and tub as well as an upgraded air conditioning system for the entire unit was installed. The front bedroom unit has a King size bed (luxury mattresses utilized by Four Seasons and Grand Wailea Hoolei Resorts) have been selected. The back bedroom has two Extra long twin beds which can be pulled together and utilized as a king as well; and a second full size bathroom.


Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , All new cabinets, fixtures and tile
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , all new tile, fixtures, cabinets and appliances
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Bedroom One has the lanai overlooking the beach and ocean
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 2 Twins or together as a King Bed/partial ocean view
  • Two Bedrooms, sleeps 4, One King Bed, Two Twin Beds Bedroom One: King Bedroom Two: 2 XL Twins
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
The Surf Shop also rents beach chairs and umbrellas as well as surf and boogie boards and the equipment listed above. (We also have an owners closet which has a few beach chairs and soft coolers for the beach.) The activities Desk: Conveniently located off the lobby level can make all arrangements for luau's, whale watching, snorkel and scuba trips or boat trips to Lanai and Molokini.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

average rating of 4.8461537 based on 26 reviews

My stay was awesome

  • 5 of 5

I walked in and there was champagne and a card welcoming me and my soon to wife into this beautiful condo by the beach. The condo looked exactly liked it did on the pictures. It was clean, comfortable, all the appliances were up to date and our view was amazing. The only minor issue was the construction but there were signs posted saying when and where the construction was taking place so it didn't bother us much at all. Besides we came to Maui to get married and enjoy ourselves not sit in the condo all week so the construction was completed about time we arrived back to the condo from our daily adventures. Kathy was very understanding when it came to how we wanted to make our payment arrangements, her response time was top notch, and she is very professional. I will be recommending this particular condo to my friends and family. Thank you Kathy.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful condo on the water!

  • 5 of 5

This property was the perfect start to our stay in Hawaii. With two teenagers, it was the perfect size and had everything we needed. It was clean and ready for us when we arrived. The owners did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. Communication with the owners was easy and immediate. The beach towels and chairs were very helpful. I would highly recommend this property for its location to activities and oceanfront views. Snorkeling was a favorite activity and the equipment was available right on site and very reasonably priced. Our pictures swimming with a sea turtle will always be treasured! Happy hour at the restaurant was great too. Having a designated parking spot was perfect too! We really enjoyed Mana Kai and would love to return.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Beautiful condo and location but....

  • 1 of 5

I’ll start with the background. This was my 2nd time suing VRBO. The 1st visit was for a stay in Kona a few years back and it was flawless. I was looking for a quiet place to celebrate my 50th birthday when our plans to go on safari in Africa fell through for personal reasons. My husband, 5 yr. old son and I live in San Francisco and were looking for a quiet place to relax. Away from all the people and noise that come with living in a big city. The Mana Kai condo looked perfect. The pictures on the website are pretty accurate. The furniture’s is a little worn , but otherwise the place looks nice and well maintained. The grounds are well manicured and the condo faces a gorgeous beach that’s very kid friendly and clean. The sunsets are stunning. The pool is very nice and there are lots of shady palm trees for respite from the Maui sun. The condo itself is one of I’d say 50 or more condos in a building that was built maybe in the 70’s. As a result, there is a lot of remodeling going on in different units.

We arrived on a Saturday and on Sunday a sign went up in the elevators indicating that remodeling would commence on 6 units Monday through Wednesday of that week. The list included everything form “hammering demo all day” to “exterior AC enclosure’s concrete jackhammering” . Incidentally, the remodeling went on all day and into Thursday. The note advised it would cease at noon.

We were not advised of this by the owner before we arrived.

The condo we were in was on the 4th floor. Even though all of the units in question were located on other floors, the noise and vibration from the demolition was noticeable and bothersome. So much for peace and relaxation! If I would have known about this we would have stayed somewhere else.

When I reached out to the owner about the noise and how frustrating it was, she claimed she has no prior knowledge of the remodeling going on. Her exact words, “ I just received the notice about the construction yesterday. I have no control over when individual owners decide to remodel & and with 90 different owners, they almost never notify us until the last minute as to who is doing what.” She offered a free night for my trouble. I went back to her and told her it was not enough. My 50th birthday was essentially ruined. At the end she refunded me 25% of my stay,. In my opinion, if there was even the slightest possibility that remodeling was going to be an issue, she should have never rented the condo.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry this guest was disturbed by construction, but as with most of Hawaii, summer is both very active and construction season for property owners, and timing of noisy renovation work is very hard to predict. The Mana Kai is owned by 98 individuals. The site manager tries his best to keep other owners apprised on their neighbors' construction activities, however they set their own schedules and their contractors frequently deviate from schedule, so it is nearly impossible to predict when annoyances will occur. The site manager does, however, post advisories and also enforces restrictions as to hours during which construction is permitted, so that early mornings and evenings are quiet. Recognizing these potential disturbances, we, as do most other owners, set our summer rates considerably lower during construction season. In this case, we would have notified our guests as soon as we were notified of the construction schedule had they not contacted us first. We then agreed to a substantial rental refund. We believe we did the best we could and as much as could be expected to recognize and mitigate the inconvenience to our guests. Kathy & Larry Somerton
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Excellent location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time spending a week in April. Condo was fabulous. Cooked most of the meals for the week - most cost effective for our family of teenage boys. Kitchen missing some basics but was able to make do with what was there (for example: no pitcher for tea so used the food processor). Boogie boards & chairs available to use as well. Condo building very clean. Only downside I would say is the very narrow parking spaces. Few times came back after our exploring only to find somebody in our numbered space. Notified the office & they told us where to park so we wouldn't be towed. Condo is right next door to a state park so there's lots of people around. Most enjoyed my morning & evening/sunset walks on the beautiful beach. Can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing condo!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay. In my opinion, the best location on the island and also the best beach. The condo was just perfect. Very modern and well equiped. We would definitely choose this condo again if we ever return to Maui. Thank you Kathy and Larry!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Marilyn and we truly do hope that we see you in Maui again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Best location in South Maui! Gorgeous beach with swimming, snorkeling, boogie boarding and lounging. The condo was just as described in the listing, no surprises or disappointments; high end and nice yet very functional. We had an issue with the outside closet door lock and not only was the owner quick to respond but the property management staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. They had a lock smith there in no time and fixed the problem. The restaurant was nice and the yoga studio was awesome, I highly recommend the sunrise yoga on the beach. Great place, we'll be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We agree Keawakapu Beach is the best location in all of Maui - fabulous snorkeling and so easy to rent kayaks, paddle boards and any other beach gear you might need. And many of us that live in the area enjoy the yoga classes on a weekly basis at Dani's beach front Mana Kai location. Thank you for making time to write a review on our behalf, we appreciate hearing from our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Kahului, Maui
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Wailea Old Blue
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Pi'ilani Highway
Nearest Restaurant
5 Palms
Nearest Beach


Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
high Season
Dec 17 2017 - Apr 14 2018
5 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 13.42%

For stays less than 5 nights there will be an additional charge of $150. for housekeeping.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties