Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Crystal Beach Getawey on the Torch Bayou

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Four Bedroom, Two Bath On Torch Bayou

Our home is a totally renovated cape cod located in the town of Rapid City. We back up to the Torch Bayou, with space to park one boat during your stay. There is public access to the famous Torch Lake sand bar across the street for swimming. We are less than half of a mile from Torch River Marine where you can rent a boat to access Torch Lake and the rest of the Chain of Lakes.

The nearby town of Alden (4 miles away) also has a boat ramp and swimming area as well as several unique shops and restaurants. We are only about 25 minutes from Traverse City, home of the National Cherry Festival and many shops, restaurants, wineries, breweries and tap rooms. For those who enjoy craft beers, it is definitely worth the 15 minute drive to Short's Brewery in nearby Bellaire. Also, within an hour's drive you will be able to visit Charlevoix, Petoskey and Sleeping Bear Dunes.

Northern Michigan is not just a wonderful destination for spending time on the water. The area offers a multitude of activities. We are minutes away from world class golf courses, vineyards and casinos.

The house has four bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a fully stocked kitchen and ample space for eight people to relax after spending the day enjoying the best that Northern Michigan has to offer. We also have a large deck with gas grill that is perfect for a BBQ. There is a fire pit overlooking the Torch Bayou for roasting marshmallows or just relaxing and enjoying the view.

More Details

Owner
Jessica Wey
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

About Jessica Wey

My husband and I weren't looking to buy a cottage on Torch Lake, but a chain of unusual and complicated events led us to our Crystal Beach Getawey and we could not be happier. A lot of blood, sweat and tears have been shed renovating this home to make it a great place for our family and other families to enjoy for many years to come. We love everything about it, and hopefully you will too.

Jessica Wey purchased this cottage in 2013

Amenities

Rapid City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Main floor bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Upstairs bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Upstairs bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Upstairs bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Main floor bedroom - 1 queen , This bedroom has a sliding glass door that leads to deck.
    Upstairs bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Crystal Beach Getawey on the Torch Bayou
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
5

Great home!

  • 5 of 5

This is a great cottage! We have stayed two years in a row and keep coming back. Jessica is really easy to work with. House is clean and well stocked. Super close to the sandbar, but also peaceful on the bayou. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hamilton, Ohio
3

Nice location but a few issues.

  • 3 of 5

Nice house and great location right across the street from sandbar. Kayaks available also and grandkids loved that! The mattress downstairs was way to soft and very uncomfortable, and you will want to bring extra blankets if sleeping with door/window opened. Biggest issue was the water. It smells horrible! Hard to feel clean after a shower when it smells so bad.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as much as most of our other guests do. We have never had any complaints about either the mattress or the water. The mattress is only two years old and is the one that we personally sleep on when we stay. As far as the water goes, we are on a well and the contract does state that there is sometimes an odor associated with well water. Obviously we have stayed there many times, owning the cottage for the last five years, as well as many renters, and no one has ever had an issue with the water. If it was as bad as you mention in the review, it should have been brought to our attention during your stay so we could make sure there were no issues with the well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Torch River Bayou

  • 5 of 5

The cottage on Torch Lake Bayou is adorable. Very welcoming and perfect for our family's wants and needs. Great setting with easy access to nearby activities.

Owner totally on top of questions and very quick gettting back to us. 😊

We'd like to vacation again at this property.

The Caters

Reynoldsburg, OH

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One of our best vacations ever!!

  • 5 of 5

This property was very nice(pictures don't do it justice)!! Very clean house....awesome location!! Being on the river is so peaceful!! owners were very helpful and quick to respond to questions!! Would HIGHLY recommend this property for an awesome vacation on Torch Lake.....we had so much fun!!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marshall, MI
5

Up North Get Away

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year renting and it was even better than the first year. The owners are great to work with, the house is nicely decorated and very clean, and it's in a great location to access all the fun Torch Lake and the surrounding lakes have to offer. We loved waking up to the beautiful bayou, reading the local papers, and having some coffee on the deck. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chapmanville WV US
5

Cottage Rental

  • 5 of 5

Upon arrival we received very helpful assistance with docking our boat. The cottage was super clean and am looking forward to returning for my family vacation at this location in July. I would highly recommend your rentals.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Traverse City Airport
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Security Deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties